Paella Time Reviews

24 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Paella Time

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

24

11 User photos

Order by:
  • D

    Dianne Werner · Married on 10/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing service, delicious food, HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    We hired Paella Time to cater our backyard wedding. Thank you for the amazing service from the first phone call, and equally delicious food that we're still receiving compliments on. Tiffany and Ralph were super easy to work with, providing everything we needed including tables, chairs, linens, glasses, and their team was professional, friendly, and attentive. Loved the live cooking. HIGHLY recommend.

    Sent on 12/03/2020
  • Karen

    Karen Choy · Married on 09/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Service and Paella

    Everything from the communication, coordination to the set up the day of our wedding went smoothly. Ralph's team and staff members were wonderful and the service was great! Not to mention the paella was amazing and we finished off all the leftovers over the next few days. I could probably eat that for a month straight.
    Thank you so very much for serving at our wedding and we definitely recommend you guys to anyone that is considering.

    Sent on 09/25/2020
  • Lexii

    Lexii Bergman · Married on 09/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most fun dinner idea!

    10/10 would recommend! Paella Time was so yummy, great staff, professional, included in-home tasting. I loved that it was something different that no one else does. I also loved that it wasn't a served over the shoulder type of dinner, I loved that the guests got up and did buffet style where they got to see the giant paella pans. It was such a fun idea and different than what everyone else normally does. Plus it made the vibe a little bit more casual which I wanted.

    Sent on 10/16/2019
  • M

    Maria Elivadez · Married on 08/16/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous paella and service

    Thank you Paella Time for helping make our backyard wedding perfect. Fabulous paella and service from start to end. Many, many compliments on the food. Loved that you provided the tables, chairs, linens, and all of the set up and clean up, and we didn't need to involve our family and friends allowing everyone to relax and enjoy the day. Maria and Edgar

    Sent on 09/25/2020
  • S

    Steve Higgins · Married on 08/13/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Backyard Wedding

    Due to Covid-19 our wedding venue, that was also providing the caterer, cancelled only a few weeks before our wedding. So, we down-sized our wedding, held it in our backyard, and found Paella Time to cater. Since I've been in the US, I haven't had a good paella. I can honestly say not only was this easily the best paella I've had here, but honestly one of the best I've had. Lots of great feedback from our guests. Besides the amazing paella, we also enjoyed sangria and an assortment of tapas - all delicious. Paella Time also provided tables, chairs, linens, plates... basically everything our venue was supposed to. We can't say thank you enough to Chef Ralph and his team for a superb job.

    Sent on 09/01/2020
  • D

    Debra · Married on 06/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Vendor!

    I cannot recommend Paella Time enough! Ralph and Tiffany are a DREAM TEAM! I have talked on the phone and sent countless emails to both of them figuring out the catering for our wedding and they have absolutely gone above and beyond this whole process!

    They worked with our budget, really listened to our requests, and created the dream catering package for our wedding day. They will really listen to what you are looking for and work with you. They provided so much support and made us feel so at ease for our big day. They have so many different options and really tailor to make sure there is a package for everyone. Truly truly recommend them!

    Sent on 05/24/2020
  • S

    Scott H · Married on 03/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars, and highly recommend!

    We wanted something different than the boring, bland wedding food we've experienced at many of the weddings we've been to, and Paella Time was exactly what we were looking for. Everyone loved the live cooking. The food was fresh, hot, and full of flavor. Easy to work with, and responded to emails and phone calls promptly. Exceptional service on our wedding day. Couldn't have been easier. ABSOLUTELY 5 STARS, and HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Sent on 12/11/2019
  • Steve

    Steve Peck · Married on 06/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Paella Time

    Paella Time was an excellent addition to our wedding! From the planning process, to the in-home tasting, to the reception, Ralph and his team maintained a high level of customer service. Watching the chef create the paella at the reception was sensational and the quality of the food was exceptional. Our wedding guests continue to rave about the experience and the paella. Thanks again Paella Time!

    Sent on 07/24/2019
  • Chienhui

    Chienhui Hsu · Married on 05/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional and delicious!

    We hired Paella time for our wedding in Sanborn County Park. Ralph is very helpful and organized. From the time we got in touch, he listed a detailed checklist which help us to plan our wedding better and reminded us a lot of things that we don't even think of at first. Ralph also scheduled a site vist and tasting. I noticed that along the proccess, Ralph and his staff, Tfff are very proactive and professional, they actively asked questions such as the resources at the venue site.
    On our big day, they did a great job working with other wedding vendors. it actually rained that day and thanks to the great staffs from Paella time, they overcome the cold and the rain, delivering great quality food and did a thorough cite cleanup. they even packed the food for us !

    Sent on 06/05/2019
  • M

    Matt R. · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Epic wedding food and service!

    Paella Time and Ralph are more than caterers, they really make events happen and memorable. Our backyard wedding was all we could have hoped for. We had 50 guests, and some spaces would have to double as the wedding site and reception. Ralph came to our property several weeks before and drew up a plan of how to make it all work. The staff he had the day off took care of it all. We didn't need to hire out a few companies to handle various tasks, like bartending and general site servicing, it was all bundled into one. Two friends acted as day of coordinators and it all easily worked out.

    The food was seriously delicious. Many compliments and comments about how exceptional the food was. The 4 foot paella pan made for an awesome display when folks came up to get their serving, and few veggie, etc dishes paella dishes were easily prepared, as well. Lots of meat, seafood and saffron - no corners cut, ample for seconds and lots of left overs! The appetizers were also excellent. Ralph did an in home tasting session with us, so we had a chance to try and select everything in advance.

    Ralph was very professional and easy to communicate with. You can tell right away he's very experienced with events by the details he includes in his communications; this in my book is a plus. I've organized events for 150+, and it's better to address details early on, not 3 days before. We felt very comfortable in the days leading up to the wedding knowing we had covered all relevant topics with Paella Time.

    Do yourself a favor and at minimum contact Paella Time to learn about the services and packages they can provide your wedding or event. We're so glad they were a part of our wedding. Thanks again, Ralph!

    Sent on 02/12/2019
  • S

    Susan · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ralph catered our wedding in September and it was an excellent experience. We knew that we wanted paella so we did a bunch of research and got in touch with a few different caterers. Ralph was immediately the most professional caterer that we spoke with - he sent an extremely detailed questionnaire that we filled out to get things started which was super helpful in starting to get us organized and thinking about the day. Paella Time provides plates, silverware and linens which is so easy and helpful. It makes a huge difference to cut down not only on costs but also the simplicity of cutting down on vendors. Ralph came to our house for the tasting and he is incredibly personable and passionate about his work which we loved. The food was excellent- not only did people love the paella, the tapas and the sangria, but having the paella chef cooking on the deck during cocktail hour was such a blast. It really is part entertainment and part food - it sets such a festive and fun environment. Our chef was Daniel and he and the rest of the serving staff were all excellent, professional and friendly.

    I will say we had a little bit of trouble getting in touch with Ralph in the very beginning when we first contacted him for quotes and more information - we had to send quite a few follow up emails, and that is because he is incredibly busy because Paella Time is so popular. I say that only to tell you that if you DO have trouble getting in touch in the very beginning, do NOT give up, it's worth it. A busy caterer is truly a good sign! And all of that said, after we booked him, he was ALWAYS responsive, even just to say that he didn't have time to answer our questions right then, but would be in touch within a few days.

    Paella Time was so much fun, made our wedding planning a breeze and your guests will LOVE it. I highly recommend working with them for any event.

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time is BEYOND AMAZING. They took care of EVERYTHING, and made the entire process so easy. Saying the food was delicioys is an understatement. The service was professional and attentive. Nice touch bringing us our own platter of tapas, so we didn't miss out while taking photos LOVED the leftovers @ 1 am! Thank you so much for everything. HIGHLY recommend.

    Sent on 04/09/2018
  • G

    Gaston · Married on 02/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our spanish family, paella specialists, where pleased by this catering service!! Just wunderful!!! Thanks!! We love your food!!!

    Sent on 02/14/2017
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THANK YOU Paella Time for a fantastic experience! From the first phone call you made everything so easy. I was almost skeptical. You we're willing to handle it all, and took almost all of the stress out of planning our wedding. All of the food was INCREDIBLE! Thank you so much for saving a tapas platter for us. That was so thoughtful. We've received countless compliments on what a great idea this was, how exceptional the food was, and how nice your staff is. 5 stars is NOT ENOUGH!

    Sent on 02/01/2017
  • Y

    Yuchi · Married on 12/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time catered our wedding reception at our backyard, and it was fabulous! The food was great, everyone loved it!

    Ralph is so awesome, he was there for us every step along the precess. The very first phone call I had with him went so well that it seemed suspicious. Ralph took care of everything from dishes, silverware, tables, chairs, drink containers, beverage buckets, which I would have otherwise had to look for party rental myself. Afterward, every email communications we had, he had such great attention to details, which made me feel so at ease as a bride to be that has gazillion things to do.

    Day of, his staff arrived 30 minutes earlier than scheduled, set up, poured champagne when guests arrived, served tapas, and then, everyone smelled the paella which smelled and look amazing, and of course they tasted amazing. Before we even noticed after cake cutting (which he included for free!!), the staff has cleared out the tables and chairs in the backyard, moved everything inside, packed the leftovers, and done with such efficiency.

    Morning after, Ralph called and asked if everything was ok because he staff returned 2 hours earlier than scheduled, he was worried that something went wrong. He said he'd refund me the 2 hours time. I said no, everything was great, we were just done and didn't need them there, instead of refund, just give it to the wonderful staff as tips. Ralph insisted that his staff was taken care of, refund there was!

    Thank you Ralph and your wonderful team. I'm sure our guests will reach out to you in the future should they need your service. They absolutely loved it.

    Sent on 01/10/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Paella Time cater our wedding and it was beyond amazing! The tapas, salad, and paella were all delicious, and the service was great! Ralph was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire planning process, and was very detail oriented to make sure nothing went amiss. If you are looking for a unique food option for your wedding, look no further! Paella Time is it, and will make your wedding a memorable one. I couldn't recommend Paella Time and Ralph more!!

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • I

    Ilya · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Food. Very easy to work with and outstanding professional service all around.
    While planning for the party Paella Time always responded very promptly.
    At the day of the event there was a logistics challenge that was beyond their control and Paella Time reacted very quickly delivering as promised an outstanding results. You can find many Chefs in the Bay Area who cook great food but it is not too often when great food goes together with fantastic customer service.
    A+.
    Thank you, Ralph and Gerry

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • J

    Julia · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you Paella Time for EVERYTHING. When we first found you, we were so overwhelmed by the all details involved with planning a wedding, and you made this so easy. The food was AMAZING. My guests are still taking about how delicious everything was. Paella Time not only cooks the food live in front of everyone (so fun), but also provides anything else you might need such as tables, chairs, linens, staff, and all the plates, glassware, etc... Our venue required that our caterer was a full service caterer, and Ralph handled everything we needed including all of the ceremony and reception set up and clean up. Thanks for helping to make our wedding day perfect!

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a gillion brilliant ideas for my wedding (pat pat pat) but this one had to be one of the best. Everyone raved about how good the paella was! And the tapas were still being passed while people were waiting in line for the buffet - great service and attention to detail. I had jokingly told Chef Ralph during our emails back and forth that I probably will be too busy to taste the food on my own wedding day and as I sat down for dinner, he quickly brought over a plate of all the tapas for me and my husband (squeal I'm married) to try. Thank you for the thoughtfulness!

    Sent on 01/10/2016
  • A

    Anette · Married on 11/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time catered my wedding, and was so great through the whole process! We chose not to hire a wedding coordinator, and were really relying on our vendors to help with a lot of the logistics of the event. Ralph was so great about helping with setting up the space before the wedding, and reaching out to our other vendors to make sure everything went smoothly on the big day. We ended up doing family style Paella which ended up working out perfectly! The food was amazing and the service was great!

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/03/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    You wrote a review for Paella Time Authentic Tapas & Paella Catering 33 minutes ago
    4.0 star rating 2/17/2018
    Paella Time catered our wedding on Sept 3rd, and we absolutely recommend them!

    Pros:
    - Delicious food that offers something a little more unique for your event than your typical run-of-the-mill
    - Visually appealing presentation; the chefs cooked in giant paella pans on the lawn during cocktail hour, which was cool for guests to see
    - Paella is gluten-free, and the variety of paella they offer (vegetarian, seafood, meat, or mixed) made us confident we'd be able to offer something for each guest, even those with dietary restrictions
    - Offers just the right variety of tapas, paella, salads, and dessert to customize for your event
    - Included flatware, silverware, and tablecloths; much easier to go with a one-stop shop!
    - Staff was extremely helpful and flexible, willing to go the extra mile on game day

    Cons:
    - Only thing keeping this from being 5 stars is the recommendation that they update their communications methods. Instead of sending long, text-based emails, it would be great to have a form to fill out online or some other more streamlined, efficient approach!

    We were very pleased with Paella Time and felt that our money was well-spent for the food, service, and overall experience.

    Sent on 02/17/2018
  • Alyy

    Alyson · Married on 09/15/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING food and range of service

    EVERYONE raved about the uniqueness of our wedding day caterers! Paella time served amazing food at my September outdoor wedding. All my guests were delighted it wasn't another steak, chicken or fish wedding! Because of timeline constraints, we did not allow our guests to watch the cooking of paella from start to finnish. That doesn't mean they still didn't get to gawk at the unique setup! The food was great! MANY people went back for seconds and all of the food was boxed and taken home at the end of the night! The tres leches cake is to die for! I wished we were able to try the cake at the tasting. Paella time was on time, professional and friendly. Communication is average, there was a lag before the wedding but makes sense since they do multiple weddings a month! I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 10/04/2019
  • S

    sarah · Married on 09/30/2017

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    We booked Paella Time because our venue (the amazing Shelldance Orchid Garden) had them listed as a recommended vendor. We figured we both like paella, and it could be a cool thing to have for our wedding, so we figured, why not? We booked a tasting, which was great -- everything was delicious, and Ralph (the owner) seemed cool.

    Then, over the next couple weeks and months, Ralph became intense to handle. Yes, he is organized, he is diligent, and he takes care of a lot of the details, but my (now) wife and I found him very stressful to deal with. Every time we would make even the smallest suggestion or adjustment, we would get so much pushback -- it was like PULLING TEETH to get what we wanted!

    BUT, luckily, none of that carried over to the wedding day itself... mostly because Ralph wasn't there! Everything went smoothly, the food was great, everyone loved the paella, the servers and bartenders were awesome, and all the details were completely taken care of. The only (not so minor) issue was that after the wedding Ralph apparently 'scolded' our wedding coordinator over the phone over something that completely wasn't her responsibility. Not cool.

    TLDR; if you can minimize the amount of time and energy you have to spend dealing with Ralph, everything else Paella Time offers is awesome and you should have a great experience!

    Sent on 11/24/2017
  • A

    anne · Married on 05/24/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Caution-poor business practices!

    Caution-POOR BUSINESS PRACTICES!
    As the mother of the groom, I have been working with Ralph, the owner /chef and Tiffany, the event coordinator for over two weeks to plan a rehearsal dinner. We had hammered out all the details so I told her we were hiring them, I just needed to get the go ahead from my son and his fiancé. I asked for the final invoice and was told they accepted another party’s reservation for the same night! NO ONE EVEN HAD THE DECENCY TO CALL ME FIRST BEFORE THEY ACCEPTED THE OTHER CHECK. It appears it’s all about the money with them. So incredibly disappointed, to say the least.

    Sent on 10/17/2018