Paella Time Reviews

35 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Paella Time

Recommended by 96%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

9 User photos

Paella Time 1
Paella Time 2
Paella Time 3
Paella Time 4
Paella Time 5
Paella Time 6
Paella Time 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Brandy

    Brandy Williams · Getting married on 10/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Personable and professional

    While we did not select Paella Time as our caterer, we would still highly recommend anyone looking for a caterer to check them out. They were very willing to accommodate all of our requests. They provide a full service, fun, and unique catering option. Every person that we interacted with from Paella Time was very professional and friendly.
    Our decision to hire a different caterer had nothing to do with Paella Time at all. We just met with a caterer that we felt an instant connection to and did not want to risk losing our date (caterers book fast, so you have to jump on them). Upon receiving our message informing them of our decision to hire a different caterer, Ralph, was very gracious and respectful. He told us that while he was sorry that he would not be catering our wedding , that he was happy we were able to find a caterer that was a great match for us and wished us the best.
    If you are looking for a unique, beautifully presented, one stop catering option, we would highly recommend giving Paella Time a try.

  • B

    Brenda S · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Paella Wedding

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Thank you for making our wedding extra-amazing and taking care of us! We really appreciated you attentiveness and feel you really went above and beyond working with us. We really enjoyed the opportunity to sit down and get to know you. You really helped us with your insights and suggestions for the wedding. To this day everyone talks about how amazing your paella was!!! Thanks again for EVERYTHING!

  • M

    Matt R. · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Epic wedding food and service!

    Paella Time and Ralph are more than caterers, they really make events happen and memorable. Our backyard wedding was all we could have hoped for. We had 50 guests, and some spaces would have to double as the wedding site and reception. Ralph came to our property several weeks before and drew up a plan of how to make it all work. The staff he had the day off took care of it all. We didn't need to hire out a few companies to handle various tasks, like bartending and general site servicing, it was all bundled into one. Two friends acted as day of coordinators and it all easily worked out.

    The food was seriously delicious. Many compliments and comments about how exceptional the food was. The 4 foot paella pan made for an awesome display when folks came up to get their serving, and few veggie, etc dishes paella dishes were easily prepared, as well. Lots of meat, seafood and saffron - no corners cut, ample for seconds and lots of left overs! The appetizers were also excellent. Ralph did an in home tasting session with us, so we had a chance to try and select everything in advance.

    Ralph was very professional and easy to communicate with. You can tell right away he's very experienced with events by the details he includes in his communications; this in my book is a plus. I've organized events for 150+, and it's better to address details early on, not 3 days before. We felt very comfortable in the days leading up to the wedding knowing we had covered all relevant topics with Paella Time.

    Do yourself a favor and at minimum contact Paella Time to learn about the services and packages they can provide your wedding or event. We're so glad they were a part of our wedding. Thanks again, Ralph!

    Paella Time 8
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am the owner of Cassandra White, Weddings and Events. I had the pleasure of working with Paella Time's owner Ralph and his wonderful team on a recent wedding in San Francisco. When it came to planning for the wedding, Ralph was responsive, accommodating, organized and promptly provided any information I requested. The food was delicious, their presentation was incredible, the staff was attentive to the guests needs, right on top of things and easy to work with. You need to consider Paella Time for your next event!

  • S

    Susan · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ralph catered our wedding in September and it was an excellent experience. We knew that we wanted paella so we did a bunch of research and got in touch with a few different caterers. Ralph was immediately the most professional caterer that we spoke with - he sent an extremely detailed questionnaire that we filled out to get things started which was super helpful in starting to get us organized and thinking about the day. Paella Time provides plates, silverware and linens which is so easy and helpful. It makes a huge difference to cut down not only on costs but also the simplicity of cutting down on vendors. Ralph came to our house for the tasting and he is incredibly personable and passionate about his work which we loved. The food was excellent- not only did people love the paella, the tapas and the sangria, but having the paella chef cooking on the deck during cocktail hour was such a blast. It really is part entertainment and part food - it sets such a festive and fun environment. Our chef was Daniel and he and the rest of the serving staff were all excellent, professional and friendly.

    I will say we had a little bit of trouble getting in touch with Ralph in the very beginning when we first contacted him for quotes and more information - we had to send quite a few follow up emails, and that is because he is incredibly busy because Paella Time is so popular. I say that only to tell you that if you DO have trouble getting in touch in the very beginning, do NOT give up, it's worth it. A busy caterer is truly a good sign! And all of that said, after we booked him, he was ALWAYS responsive, even just to say that he didn't have time to answer our questions right then, but would be in touch within a few days.

    Paella Time was so much fun, made our wedding planning a breeze and your guests will LOVE it. I highly recommend working with them for any event.

    Paella Time 9
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time is BEYOND AMAZING. They took care of EVERYTHING, and made the entire process so easy. Saying the food was delicioys is an understatement. The service was professional and attentive. Nice touch bringing us our own platter of tapas, so we didn't miss out while taking photos LOVED the leftovers @ 1 am! Thank you so much for everything. HIGHLY recommend.

    Paella Time 10
    Paella Time 11
    Paella Time 12
    Paella Time 13
  • S

    Stacey · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted to say THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Thank you for making our wedding extra-amazing and taking care of us! We really appreciated you attentiveness and feel you really went above and beyond working with us. We really enjoyed the opportunity to sit down and get to know you. You really helped us with your insights and suggestions for the wedding. To this day everyone talks about how amazing your paella was!!! Thanks again for EVERYTHING!

    Paella Time 14
  • G

    Gaston · Married on 02/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our spanish family, paella specialists, where pleased by this catering service!! Just wunderful!!! Thanks!! We love your food!!!

  • N

    Nikki · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THANK YOU Paella Time for a fantastic experience! From the first phone call you made everything so easy. I was almost skeptical. You we're willing to handle it all, and took almost all of the stress out of planning our wedding. All of the food was INCREDIBLE! Thank you so much for saving a tapas platter for us. That was so thoughtful. We've received countless compliments on what a great idea this was, how exceptional the food was, and how nice your staff is. 5 stars is NOT ENOUGH!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time made our wedding planning sooooo easy. Our venue only provided the space, so we needed a caterer that could provide everything, but we weren't even sure what we needed. We contacted a lot of caterers, and Paella Time was the ONLY company that was willing to take care of all the set up, glasses, plates, silverware, linens, tables and chairs. From the first email Ralph said yes to everything. The service was fantastic, and the food was amazing. Thank you so much Ralph and team.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for something different for our wedding. Not the same old boring "wedding food" - a chafing dish with either chicken or beef. We wanted something special, fun, and memorable for our guests to enjoy. Paella Time was the perfect choice. The live tapas and paella cooking added another element to our day, and the live flamenco performance after the ceremony really set a festive mood for the rest of the night. The service, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. Everything from the first email was so easy. We can't thank Ralph and his staff enough for a fantastic job. HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Do yourself a favor, and treat yourself to Paella Time.

  • Y

    Yuchi · Married on 12/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time catered our wedding reception at our backyard, and it was fabulous! The food was great, everyone loved it!

    Ralph is so awesome, he was there for us every step along the precess. The very first phone call I had with him went so well that it seemed suspicious. Ralph took care of everything from dishes, silverware, tables, chairs, drink containers, beverage buckets, which I would have otherwise had to look for party rental myself. Afterward, every email communications we had, he had such great attention to details, which made me feel so at ease as a bride to be that has gazillion things to do.

    Day of, his staff arrived 30 minutes earlier than scheduled, set up, poured champagne when guests arrived, served tapas, and then, everyone smelled the paella which smelled and look amazing, and of course they tasted amazing. Before we even noticed after cake cutting (which he included for free!!), the staff has cleared out the tables and chairs in the backyard, moved everything inside, packed the leftovers, and done with such efficiency.

    Morning after, Ralph called and asked if everything was ok because he staff returned 2 hours earlier than scheduled, he was worried that something went wrong. He said he'd refund me the 2 hours time. I said no, everything was great, we were just done and didn't need them there, instead of refund, just give it to the wonderful staff as tips. Ralph insisted that his staff was taken care of, refund there was!

    Thank you Ralph and your wonderful team. I'm sure our guests will reach out to you in the future should they need your service. They absolutely loved it.

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Paella Time cater our wedding and it was beyond amazing! The tapas, salad, and paella were all delicious, and the service was great! Ralph was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire planning process, and was very detail oriented to make sure nothing went amiss. If you are looking for a unique food option for your wedding, look no further! Paella Time is it, and will make your wedding a memorable one. I couldn't recommend Paella Time and Ralph more!!

  • I

    Ilya · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Food. Very easy to work with and outstanding professional service all around.
    While planning for the party Paella Time always responded very promptly.
    At the day of the event there was a logistics challenge that was beyond their control and Paella Time reacted very quickly delivering as promised an outstanding results. You can find many Chefs in the Bay Area who cook great food but it is not too often when great food goes together with fantastic customer service.
    A+.
    Thank you, Ralph and Gerry

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a gillion brilliant ideas for my wedding (pat pat pat) but this one had to be one of the best. Everyone raved about how good the paella was! And the tapas were still being passed while people were waiting in line for the buffet - great service and attention to detail. I had jokingly told Chef Ralph during our emails back and forth that I probably will be too busy to taste the food on my own wedding day and as I sat down for dinner, he quickly brought over a plate of all the tapas for me and my husband (squeal I'm married) to try. Thank you for the thoughtfulness!

  • A

    Anette · Married on 11/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time catered my wedding, and was so great through the whole process! We chose not to hire a wedding coordinator, and were really relying on our vendors to help with a lot of the logistics of the event. Ralph was so great about helping with setting up the space before the wedding, and reaching out to our other vendors to make sure everything went smoothly on the big day. We ended up doing family style Paella which ended up working out perfectly! The food was amazing and the service was great!

  • S

    Sue · event on: 07/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Paella Time to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday, and had a wonderful time. The chef was fun to watch, and very friendly & imformative about the cooking process. The server was attentive and helpful. Everyone enjoyed the evening. The food was great, and everyone commented how much they liked everything. Thank you for the time, and effort you put into making this event so special.

  • J

    Joannie · event on: 09/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So big birthday coming up, and been there done that with the taco guy. Looking for something different & fun this time around. Found Paella Time, and the rest is history. This birthday party is now referred to as the big paella birthday! Thanks so much for a fantastic night.

  • L

    Leticia · event on: 04/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time catered my Birthday Party this past April 21, 2018. Everything was wonderful - the food, the service, the Chef! Words are really not adequate to describe how please we were with Paella Time. Just an unbelievable culinary/paella experience for all attendees. We had so much fun. Thanks again!!

  • C

    Christina · event on: 12/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Paella Time to cater our company holiday party. HUGE success! The owner, Ralph, is super easy to work with. We have many weird eaters here, and Ralph made something for everyone. ALL the food was delicious. Really enjoyed watching Ralph make the paella. We're already thinking of another reason to invite Paella Time back. Thanks for a fun party.

  • S

    Stacya · event on: 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Paella Time cater for us for our 10 Year Anniversary Party! Having them there made everything look more festive. The presentation was gorgeous and of course the food was amazing. We ordered 3 appetizers, sangria, dessert and had a seafood Paella. The chef and his assistant worked well together. They even helped me cut some cheese and plated it very beautifully. We had leftovers galore that they packed away in ziplock bags for us, which we shared with our guests. They left my kitchen super clean and organized. I didn't have to think about anything. They knew when to serve what and at what time. I just floated around my guests happy inebriated from the delicious sangria as the evening progressed smoothly without worrying about anything. So so happy that we went with them!

  • H

    Heidi · event on: 02/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Paella Time's food was fabulous, and equally wonderful were our chef, Erica, and server, Nicky. Despite rain, they created an absolutely amazing atmosphere for our guests and were as courteous and professional as you can imagine. Working with Ralph was great, too; he was very responsive and accommodating. All in all, Paella Time made for a wonderful party.

  • C

    Cindy · event on: 07/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once a month we hire a food vendor for our monthly staff appreciation day. In the past, we've hired numerous food trucks and catered deliveries, and Paella Time ranks right at the top with a couple other favorites. They arrived about 2 hours before lunch and began setting up in the parking lot. It was fun watchig them cook everything from our windows. Everyone inside was really excited for lunch. Delicous flavors filled the air when we went outside to eat, and tasted even better. Thanks Chef Chris, Juliana, and Nikki for a great lunch. We'll have you back soon.

  • C

    Carol · event on: 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me start off by saying how impressed I am with Paella Time. We recently celebrated a huge event and wanted to celebrate with something fun and different. Paella Time really delivered the experience we were looking for. The owner, Ralph, is extremely professional, attentive, accommodating, personable, and organized. He answered ALL of our MANY questions, and asked many questions that we hadn't thought of making the planning of this a breeze. He customized a proposal with pricing that worked for our budget, and came to our home for a free tasting of his incredible paella. Which brings me to the food... Wow! The sangria, tapas, roasted beet salad, paella, and dessert were all spot on. You might think after tasting a few things that somewhere there might be a let down, but... no. Everything, I mean everything, was spectacular. Ralph tells his story that he learned everything from a paella chef visiting here from Spain. It definitely shows in every delicious bite. On the day of the event his staff showed up on time and brought everything with them: wine glasses, plates, utensils, cloth napkins, and a pretty impressive portable cooking set up and a giant sized paella pan. It was very entertaining watching Chef Gerry cook the paella while explaining the process. By the end of the evening, Tiffany had cleaned everything up. What a nice treat to not have to lift a finger. Thank you, thank you! Five stars isn't enough. Don't hire anyone else. Bravo!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review