Orange September, an event company Reviews

19 | Albuquerque, NM
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Orange September, an event company

Recommended by 100%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

3 User photos

Orange September, an event company 1
Orange September, an event company 2
Orange September, an event company 3
Sort by:
  • Shawna

    Shawna Hemphill · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Ode to Orange September

    A piece of our minds regarding the gift of planning peace of mind.

    It is our great privilege to tell you about our experience with Vicki and Jerry Newsom.

    As we looked for help planning our New Mexico wedding, a close friend offered us a few recommendations. Orange September immediately stood out to us after learning they are a husband and wife team, working in unison to help other couples celebrate this momentous event. Our first conversation over the phone highlighted one of the great keys to their success - they are incredible listeners. The discussion was in many ways like a first date, or a mutual interview; a collaboration that asked both sides if they wanted to dance with the other. The “date” went smoothly because of the ease at which they put you, giving us permission to freely express who we are and how we wanted to celebrate. Our decision to let them guide us on this adventure was a simple one.

    As the business of planning moves forward, you begin to see the staggering amount of details required to complete the dream that we, as couples, formulate and are continuing to develop during the months leading up to the wedding - details we never would have considered, nor would we have time to. Vicki and Jerry deftly guide you with recommendations, using their vast network of connections to maximize your budget. To witness the reciprocal respect between the vendors and Orange September continually validated our decision to hire them. Multiple vendor solutions were always presented, matching us with potential partners in the shared mental model we had developed, and without exception every vendor we chose gushed about coming together again to work with Orange September.

    It was not only us who noticed the care involved in this process. Members of our families sought out Vicki at the wedding, expressing heartfelt gratitude for finding ways to care for the many specific needs of various family members. From accessibility issues to dietary restrictions, their attention to detail allowed us to simply be in the moment of the celebration. This never could have happened without the trusting relationship Vicki and Jerry cultivated with us.

    Our wedding experience was all we could have hoped for and more. Vicki and Jerry are truly gifted in articulating your wishes - they look into your heart and deliver an event that makes you feel like you are their only client. Their own vision statement says it perfectly, "We take pride in seeking the road a little less traveled, pulling inspiration from the daily lives and real life to create timeless and effortless experiences for couples and their guests. Every event should be visually inspiring from the moment your guests arrive until it's time for them to say goodbye. Our goal is to create just that … environments where people will want to stay a little longer, reconnecting with family and friends and depart wishing it to never end."

    That is exactly how we felt.

    We feel so lucky to have chosen them as our wedding planners, and even more lucky to now call them friends.

    Shawna and Joey Hemphill
    est. September 22, 2018

    Sent on 05/10/2019
    Orange September, an event company 4
    Orange September, an event company 5
    Orange September, an event company 6
  • C

    Casey · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply put, Vicki and Jerry will put their heart and soul into making your dream wedding come true! We were planning a wedding in Santa Fe from long distance and they seamlessly pulled out all the stops. They facetimed us through venue visits, walked us through various vendor choices and were our voice to the vendors throughout. They offer up incredible advice throughout the entire process, but never force their opinions on you! They want to make the wedding that you want happen! They take so much care to understand your vision and truly enhance it with their experience and incredible creativity. We love to sail, so Vicki and Jerry collected cholo cactus wood from their own backyard and hand made the most beautiful whimsical sailboats to tie in our love of sailing with the desert. It also helps that all of the vendors in NM love working with them, makes everything run super smoothly. Their team was so amazing on the day of, that our wedding was truly about the things that matter, they take care of everything and not begrudgingly but like you were family. Best decision we've ever made! We're still reeling from our absolutely perfect day!

    Sent on 09/13/2018
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vicki and Jerry were SO extremely helpful with helping us coordinate our wedding day! We hired them for their day-of services and wow, we know now that we really couldn't have done it without them. There are so many small details when planning a wedding that we wouldn't even have realized unless they had mentioned it, so we were very grateful to have people who were so knowledgeable and confident in their services. They were very organized and always on-top of everything that needed to be taken care of in order to make our special day perfect! We felt so comfortable working with them and they were always full of suggestions that helped us figure out the atmosphere we were going for. Highly recommended and we thank them once again for helping to make our wedding day truly perfect!
    -Sara (Bride)

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • B

    Bina and Nitin · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired a wife-husband, event planner team, Vicky & Jerry, the owners of “Orange September” for our daughter’s wedding. The challenge for us was a guest count of ~400 guests for three culture wedding event at the Casa Rondena Winery, near Albuquerque. Previously, the venue had not hosted more than ~250 guests and had many rules and restrictions, which the planners handled with aplomb. We highly recommend Orange September, without reservation, as wedding planners.

    Orange September provided us recommendations based on our requirements, developed a detailed timeline for the event, suggested vendors they knew and trusted and coordinated with them in ensuring the vendors were aware of our needs. Orange September did a wonderful job coordinating fusion ceremony of three cultures (Hindu, Muslim, and Christian). They seamlessly blended all three cultures into one big beautiful wedding. Orange September also created beautiful paper flowers for venue decorations, bridal bouquet, table centerpiece, etc. The Vicky-Jerry team was terrific.

    On the day of the wedding, Orange September kept the event flowing smoothly. We were able to spend quality time with our family and friends while they handled all of the logistics without us. They enabled the beautiful and special day that we had dreamed of. My daughter and son-in-law were able to have the wedding of their dreams! Vicky & Jerry were very professional and courteous. The wedding was essentially flawless and we are still having friends say it was “a beautiful fairy tale wedding”. We would once again hire Vicky & Jerry for future events.

    Sent on 10/02/2015
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vicki and Jerry are the nicest people and do a great job. We are so grateful to have worked with them.

    They did everything in their power to make our wedding stress-free. They connected us with fabulous vendors and then took care of all of the organization and logistics around the big day.

    In addition, they really did something magical with the lighting and decor. We gave them the decorations that we wanted to have and they made them come alive in a way that was better than we could have possibly imagined.

    Sent on 09/07/2015
  • M

    Mia · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely could not be more grateful for the hard work, creativity, dedication, and open heart presence that Orange September brought to our wedding and planning process. Vicki brought to the table a team of vendors that we could trust and be excited about. It was very important to us that our vendors be open hearted, creative, and passionate about their field and Vicki delivered. Her ability to feel so deeply helped us feel comforted in moments of anxiety in the planning process and excitement in moments of joy. We will forever remember her as part of our "family" supporting us in our marriage.

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • T

    Teresa · event on 07/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vicki and her team are wonderful to work with! Vicki is incredibly talented and creative, she can make any vision come to life. I highly recommend Orange September for any event.

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • M

    Maeve · Married on 10/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vicki, Jerry and the rest of the team at Orange September far exceeded our expectations for our wedding. Vicki was an amazingly creative and thorough wedding planner to work with, and she was able to take all of my ideas and turn them into a reality. From helping us select vendors, coming up with our theme and all the decor that revolved around that, staying within our budget, to the actual day and staging...she is AMAZING!! You will not find another more personable event planner that truly enjoys what she does, and puts her entire heart and mind into the event,

    Sent on 02/01/2014
  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have told every single person I know getting married that they have to hire Vicki and Orange September. Vicki was able to take my head full of ideas and turn them into the most beautiful and classy event; bending over backwards on numerous occasions to not only help me save money, but still go the extra step to make every detail of the day personalized and special to us as a couple. The care and detail she puts into her work truly reflect the beautiful person she is, as well as how much it matters to her that your day is perfect as well.
    I was planning my wedding from Seattle and I can't imagine what my wedding planning experience would have been like without Orange September. Not only did she help with decor ideas/creation and vendor organization/correspondence, she helped me mentally and emotionally survive the process as well, ensuring that the day of my wedding my only worries were which lipstick to wear....And she even helped me to make that decision too!
    Every little thing that Vicki helped with for our wedding truly came from her heart, and it was obvious every step of the way that it was just as important to her that we had the perfect day and loved every detail.

    Sent on 02/02/2014
  • T

    Tara · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kevin and I really didn’t want a ‘typical’ wedding that has been seen a thousand times before, which is why we chose Orange September.

    We originally hired Vicki and her team to just help out with the set up and tear down of the venue, but her services turned into so much more. Vicki really took the time to help execute every single detail that went along with our wedding day from the planning, centerpieces, backdrop design, rehearsal, vendor referrals, mock table décor set up, table number décor, special touches for our day and the first look with my dad, as well as a 20+ page detailed agenda (down to the minute) for not only Kevin and I, but for all of our vendors to follow on our wedding day.

    The most challenging aspect about planning our wedding was that my mom and sister live in Nebraska and I didn’t have them physically with me every step of the way, so I leaned heavily on Vicki’s opinion and professional insight. Throughout our process with Vicki, she really became a close friend to me and someone that I will cherish in my heart forever.

    It was really important for us to have someone very detail oriented and someone that really understood our vintage shabby chic vision for our wedding. Vicki really took the time to get to know Kevin and I as a couple, which I feel helped make our wedding so flawless. She was always available via phone, email or text and she was always there when the tears started to flow or when I felt I was losing sight of my vision, she was able to reel me back in.

    Planning our production of a wedding was no easy feat and I honestly feel that if Vicki could pull off our wedding PERFECTLY, she can absolutely handle ANYTHING!!!!

    Vicki is extremely detailed oriented, brilliant, wickedly creative, kindhearted and extremely talented at what she does. She was born to plan events!!! We are so blessed that she could help create the best day of our lives and we can’t thank Orange September enough for everything they did for us!!!

    Sent on 01/30/2014
  • L

    Linda · Married on 10/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Orange September literally transformed our 55 year old barn and our farm into a wedding wonderland! I can only describe Vicki Newsom's vision as magical. She was able to blend rustic & old with elegance & sparkle to create a truly beautiful setting...and she did so using machinery parts, old tools, tree branches...What an amazing imagination this woman has! I would recommend Orange September to anyone and everyone for any kind of event.

    Sent on 02/28/2013
  • M

    Maya · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While planning my wedding, I quickly realized that I needed help with final planning and day of' wedding coordination. Orange September was recommended to me by a friend and within the first couple minutes of meeting with Vicki Newsom, I knew we had to work together.

    Vicki has amazing creativity, a sharp eye for detail, and is filled with unique ideas that helped make our wedding special, personal and totally unique to us.

    One of the biggest values Vicki and Orange September bring is piece of mind and day of event coordination. Looking back, working with Orange September was one of the best decisions we made. A wedding is such a busy time, and as the bride, I wanted to be able to enjoy that special time with my family, instead of managing vendors and running around handling last minute details. Vicki is extremely organized and managed our wedding expertly. She helped with the rehearsal, decorations, set up, vendor coordination - everything. With everything that needed to happen, it would have been impossible for us to handle on our own, and still be able to enjoy the day.

    With any large event, the unexpected can happen. It was important to me to have someone who would be able to problem solve on the fly and handle tough situations, if needed. While everything went flawlessly, I had the utmost trust and confidence in Vicki and her team to handle any situation.

    We enjoyed working with Vicki and her staff so much during the entire process. Our families were both so grateful to have had such amazing, reliable, detail-oriented help, as it allowed us to be present and enjoy the wedding without feeling the stress of last minute items on the to do list.

    I highly recommend that anyone planning a wedding, or any special event, consider working with Orange September. For us, it made all the difference and allowed us, and our families, to enjoy the wedding and focus on what was important.

    Sent on 02/09/2013
  • T

    Tomas · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was one of the most Beautiful and creative weddings I have ever attended! The attention to detail was really great, and was appreciated. I recommend this Company to anyone who wants a memorable and unforgettable event.

    Sent on 02/14/2013
  • L

    Lane · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was floored by the work from Orange September. I was skeptical at first, debating on if I really needed a planner and now I realize I would be lost without Vicki and Orange September. Not only is she professional and responsive, she is probably the most creative soul I've met. From ideas on decor to ways to help save money by using upcycled goods (how cool is that?!). Vicki has a true interest in turning my wedding day into the story of our journey. Thanks Vicki, you really are amazing. PS , she is now helping me on my baby shower! I just can't wait!

    Sent on 02/08/2013
  • M

    Marcia · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The details and design that went into planning the Martinez wedding left nothing more to be created by Orange September. Everything was so delicately and romantically thought out from the start by the invitations. Then the ceremony which included an elegant lace alter and lace chairs to the fabulous guest table settings to include the head wedding table of gorgeous crystal and antique china. Several details created just for the bride and groom that was personal to them will have people talking for many years to come. This wedding was truly a special occassion and a dream come true made possible by Orange September.

    Sent on 02/14/2013
  • V

    Virginia · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I attended a wedding that I knew would be unusual simply when receiving the invitation (you have to go to the website to see it- www.OrangeSeptember.com). When I got to the venue it literally took my breath away. I can say without hesitation, it was an amazing event from the moment I walked off the elevator. The anticipation of what was around the corner got the senses tingling – and it didn’t disappoint.

    From the eclectic theme of Shakespeare, to the banners of the bride and groom made into Dia de Los Muertos it was extraordinary. The venue was an empty loft undergoing renovations with marble floors peeking from underneath chipped concrete and unfinished walls (you wouldn’t think it a place to hold a formal wedding but what Orange September did was amazing).

    As I continued from the elevator, the white lace cut patel picado banners strung across the ceiling, the candles lined the walkway and the tables glistened against the walls with simple baby’s breath in beautiful recycled wine bottles wrapped with pearls, including playful red and white candy cane striped straws that the bride wanted, was stunning. Seeing those straws, I knew Orange September wasn’t just about a “style”, trying to talk the bride out of something others may deem silly (red-and-white candy cane straws – really) but about the couple and what they wanted to say and incorporating that into their memories.

    I can continue giving a step by step visual but you really need to visit the website to excite your senses and see what they can do for your event. Nothing was expected and nothing disappointed. Truly a wedding never to be forgotten!

    Sent on 02/15/2013
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I was planning my wedding I knew it was going to be very DIY and hands-on. I thought between my fiance, sisters and myself I had everything under control but as the day quickly approached I realized I was going to need help! A lot of help!

    My main concern was that I was not going to find anyone with my vision or style, Vicki and Orange September were a truly amazing find. Vicki provided me with so many ideas and so much direction. She helped me organize my thoughts and plan the day, but beyond that she is incredible creative and resourceful...bubbling over with inspiration. The day would not have been the same without her.

    Sent on 02/19/2013
  • M

    Marylou · Married on 10/09/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    orangeseptember is a delightful company with creativity popping out everywhere (visit her pinterest boards). Vicki is charming, smart, gracious, respectful and fun to work with.

    Sent on 02/13/2013
  • K

    Kendall · Married on 06/09/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Vicki and Jerry really went above and beyond to make our wedding day perfect. They're so committed to making sure that everything is what you want and that your day is perfect. We got all our vendors trough them, and every single one was amazing and had nothing but amazing things to say about Vicki and Jerry.

    Sent on 06/15/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review