Orange County Mining Co. Reviews

22 | Santa Ana, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Orange County Mining Co.

Recommended by 80% of couples

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 3.9
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 3.9

Awards

22

6 User photos

Order by:
  • Ashley

    Ashley L. · Married on 09/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Value & Excellent Service

    Christin was wonderful to work with. She was very communicative and patient with our dozens of questions throughout the planning process. OCMC decided at the last minute to build an outdoor dining area which could accommodate the events they had scheduled and they are the sole reason I did not have to have my reception in someone’s backyard. We had reservations about the tent after seeing initial photos (prior to any events being hosted) but seeing it in person removed any reservations we had. We got married on a sweltering weekend and OCMC set up a small area inside the restaurant where our guests could cool off if necessary. The service was great, our guests raved about the food, and the evening was perfect. We chose a package which included the cake and the flowers – both of the vendors were great to work with. We also hired a day of coordinator recommended to us by OCMC and she was great. I would not hesitate to hold a special event at OCMC again in the future. They were amazing.

    Sent on 09/22/2020
  • S

    Stacy S. · Married on 05/30/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great customer service!

    The coordinators, Cassandra and Christin, have been amazing! They have answered all my questions, been so accommodating, and so very helpful! This has been a great experience so far!

    Sent on 12/05/2019
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our weddding was BEAUTIFUL!!!

    Orange County Mining Co. by far exceeded my expectations. Casandra and Christin were extremely helpful and very responsive the whole way through. They definitely made this experience amazing for me. The banquet captain (I believe Alfredo) was phenomenal! He was there always checking on my new hubby and me to make sure we had anything we needed. We've already received compliments saying how nice the venue was. We had the perfect wedding! Thank you so much OCMC!

    Sent on 09/24/2019
  • Lori

    Lori L. · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    amazing venue

    I am so greatful for christana the rest of the event staf at OC minning co! I had a lot going on at the time of my wedding, my father in-law fell fatally ill/ Oc mnning co helped take off so much stress with our wedding. At one point we were gonna move it up due to the illness and they went above and beyond. The waiting staff and bartenders worked very well with my day of coordinators. The vendors they offer from the flowers, cake, and DJ services are top noch! Thank you to all of you for making my day so special!

    Sent on 10/23/2019
  • Maggie

    Maggie L. · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best day ever!

    Great service and friendly staff. The platinum package was worth every penny!

    Sent on 06/15/2019
  • D

    Devyn · Married on 02/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Team at Orange County Mining Company is so wonderful to work with! From start to finish, they were very knowledgeable and responsive, taking the time to work out all the details to make my event perfect. We had our ceremony in the lower of the banquet rooms, and transitioned into a cocktail hour/reception upstairs in the larger banquet room. The views during our (sunset) ceremony were amazing! I would definitely recommend following their social media leading up to your event so you can get ideas on planning your own wedding!

    Sent on 03/21/2018
  • User4466701 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our 80 person ceremony and wedding both here at OCMC. The ceremony was downstairs in a small room and the reception upstairs in the large banquet room. Both rooms have an amazing view!!!! The ceremony was simple, but so nice and plenty of room for all my guests. The catering staff was so helpful in helping me get down the aisle and coordinating everything! We did some pictures after the ceremony while our guests went upstairs for apps. They all raved about the food! The staff was so thoughtful, they even brought us a plate of apps which was amazing because I was STARVING! I was so happy with the reception, the room looked great and it was so nice to see that everything that I had asked to be set up was there and ready. We were given floor length table clothes and chair covers as part of the package which really made the room look great! The sunset was unbelievable! My friends and family are still talking about the food (Prime Rib- which was cooked perfectly Medium Rare! and garlic mashed potatoes)! Happily give my wedding a 5 stars review!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Orange County Mining Co. was the perfect location for my wedding. The staff was so helpful and made sure all of our guest were well taken care of. The view is beautiful because it is overlooking all of Orange County. I would recommend this venue to other brides.

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were very pleased with this location. Growing up in Orange County, we both wanted a convenient and memorable place for our small wedding of 75. The view overlooking Orange Country was absolutely breathtaking. So romantic not only for our pictures but for our guests to enjoy as well. The staff was very friendly and we were very pleased with the quality of food. We will be going back very soon for Sunday brunch!! :)

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding ceremony and reception at Orange County Mining Co and I must say we could not have picked a better venue, our wedding was AMAZING!! Everything from the very beginning stages of planning up to our wedding day was efficient and easy. Angela helped to organize everything, and she was extremely helpful in accommodating our special requests and answering all of our questions. The great thing about OCMC is their package deals, and I highly recommend going platinum (includes 2 hr open bar, flower table arrangements, cake, table linens, etc). The prices are EXTREMELY reasonable for an OC wedding, and you cannot beat that view. Our guests are still raving about the food, service, and location! Jose was our catering manager the day of our wedding and boy did he take care of us, always making sure we had our drink of choice on hand and that all our needs were met. Overall I would highly recommend OCMC for your wedding. Staff is extremely helpful and professional and will make sure your event is exactly how you want it down to every last detail. Thank you OCMC for making our wedding a night we will never forget!!

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Review for Orange County Mining Co

    If you want an amazing wedding, even if you are on as budget, you want it with the Orange County Mining Co. Not only do they have amazing food, they also exceed in Customer Service.I had the pleasure of working with Angela and Christin for my wedding. Angela is very friendly and extremely helpful, as was Christin as well.  Both of them helped me so many times with questions that I had about the wedding that didn't even pertain to them. They go above and beyond what they are supposed to offer. The fees they charge are unbelievably fair. I will say you should always go platinum with them, the perks are worth it. What I love most is that they treated me and my small wedding as they would a large wedding. I didn't feel any less important because my wedding was small. The day of the wedding they made my venue look amazing. No one even knew I was a bride on a budget. They helped with all of my concerns and always updated me on any problems that may have arisen. The truth is that there were little to no issues at all. They made my wedding experience an enjoyable one. I planned my wedding by myself and it helped to have a venue that does everything for you.  I could go on and on about how much I loved this venue and the staff. My wedding day was perfect. I don't have any complaints but I do have high recommendations to use them for your wedding. Every one of my guests enjoyed themselves and raved about the food. Thank you so much Orange County Mining Co. You made one of the happiest days of my life one of the best experiences,  if that makes sense :)

    Sent on 08/13/2012
  • F

    Erin · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My reception at the Orange County Mining Co could not have been more perfect. Natasha was so helpful and the food was excellent. I received so many compliments on the reception after the wedding.

    Sent on 11/29/2011
  • User2236032 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I found OCMC, I was blown away with how great their pricing is. I was looking for a rustic venue, and they fit the bill. I was very impressed at my wedding. The banquet hall was setup beautifully, and the staff were very attentive to me and my husband. We recieved a lot of compliments. I would definitely use OCMC for another event.

    Sent on 01/02/2013
  • angelfan714

    Gilbert · Married on 01/23/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to the Orange County Mining Company! The OCMC came through when the Orange Hill Restaurant almost made a nightmare out of our wedding. With just two days notice, the OCMC gave us and our families a beautiful wedding reception and everyone associated with them should be highly recommended. It was just the perfect theme for us, and the view is spectacular. We will be back for dinner on our anniversary!

    Sent on 03/25/2010
  • K

    Karen · Married on 05/01/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This reception spot is GREAT for the money, almost everything is included. And Natasha is the BEST!

    Sent on 06/15/2010
  • R

    Raquelle · Married on 03/10/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was so beautiful. I received many comments on decorations & food was great

    Sent on 03/27/2013
  • J

    Jami · Married on 08/31/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall Orange county mining co was good to my husband and I. Budget wise you get a lot for your buck. They have great packages that makes wedding planning easy and the view at night is AMAZING! We had a grear wedding, but there are some flaws. They only offer food tastings twice a year at the bridal expos. Which would have been fine with us, but we upgraded our meal packages. They don't offer the upgraded food during their expo. My husband had to be a bit stern in order to receive a tasting for the upgraded food we wanted at our wedding. We received it, but felt like it should have already been offered. The day of our wedding was amazing. Service was prompt and professional. The only thing thing thar went wrong that day was the ceremony. The air conditioning was not circulating in the room. It was pretty warm. My poor groomsmen were roasting in their suits. The reception room was a totally different story. The room was set up nicely and air conditioned.

    Sent on 09/15/2014
  • User4477133 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I had my wedding at the OCMC in December. The main attraction was that they are super affordable. I worked with Angela and for the most part it went really well, with the exception of each time she said she would get me something, I wouldn't get anything until I reminded her and much after I was told I would have it. One of the most frustrating parts was that the two coordinators werent on the same page. I would make a payment with Angela and then soon after I would get a call from Jennie asking for payment, this happened multiple times. I get that they do this everyday but this was my first and only wedding and it felt a lot more like routine for them rather than a personal experience. They also would not give me enough tables because some of the littler kids weren't eating a total of (7) but still needed high chairs so we just had to squish them behind the tables which was annoying, but I guess to them one table is a big deal?
    Aside from those few hiccups, everything went well. I did have someone on card duty because of the previous review about cards missing, so we didn't have a problem with that. We had our ceremony and reception in Angels camp and the day of went really well. Service was good, one complaint I got from a family member was that they refused to bring extra rolls, also a big deal for them I guess?
    Our package came with the cake and centerpiece flowers. I chose Amazing Cakes in Anaheim and our cake was so delicious!! I met with both Cinderella Flowers and Petals by Xavi for centerpieces. I would recommend petals by Xavi for sure! Cinderella will up charge you to no end! For "included centerpiece flowers" she tried to charge me $200! Xavi charged me an $38 for all of the same things I wanted.
    Bottom line, if you are looking for something affordable and wiling to sacrifice a little of the personal touch and are pretty patient, go with OCMC. It was all worth it because our day was wonderful!

    Sent on 01/03/2015
  • Helen

    Helen · Married on 05/20/2017

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This was one of several venues I looked into for my wedding. I spoke to the manager and ask about some pricing, food menus, availability, etc. The manager was beyond rude when she asked me why I didn't like living in a place where her family is from. That's my opinion, it was neither demeaning nor intended to insult anyone who lives there.

    Because of that conversation, she ignore my email and never sent me a quote or contract for the wedding package. Some things happen for a reason, and I'm so glad I did not book this place for my wedding!!!

    I found the best venue and the most professional owner ever: Cheryl at the Chapel of Orange!!

    Sent on 02/10/2017
  • User4450994 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I was very excited to go here for my friends wedding reception....that's when I got a wake up call. 1. Only one bartender for over 100 of us in the private room. 2. I ordered a coors light on draft and received the warmest beer ever. I felt bad for telling the bartender, but his response was " I think the cooler is broken, so the kegs warm and that's why I have to put the bottle beers on ice ". 3. Next I ordered 2 shots of Jager. The bartender poured a half shot which emptied the bottle and told me to come back in 15 minutes to get the full shots after he gets a new bottle band charged me then. 4. OPEN BAR was 9 PM to 10 PM- Bartender took a break half way through and disappeared a few other times leaving 30+ people waiting for free drinks (how convenient). 5. I closed my card and got my bill. The bartender gave me a piece of paper only with a total of $67.50. I asked for the itemized receipt and was given more papers with $16, $8, $14, etc. I said can you show me what I ordered and the bartender said they don't do that here. I spoke to the mgr of the night because the bill was way too high for the 5 drinks I ordered and was told that after he spoke to the bartender the totals added up. Mgr said nothing he could do. Then I went back to the bartender and was cursed out cause he thought I was trying to get him fired. I told him if you want to work for a dump that's your choice and left. WORST SERVICE IN A LONG TIME. FELT BAD THAT MY FRIENDS HAD THEIR RECEPTION HERE. DON'T DO IT!!!

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • C

    Cherish · Married on 07/19/2014

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I had my ceremony at the Orange County Mining Company on 7/19/14 and it ended up being the biggest mistake having my wedding there. We had the ceremony at 6 and purposely planned on being late because there is not a bridal room to get ready and I didn't want guests to run into me in the parking lot. But as soon as I got there I was constantly threatened that they were going to play the exit music at 7 even if we were in the middle of our vows because they had an event scheduled. It turned out that there "event" was the owner's sons birthday party. They started rolling out the bridal party even though not everyone was there including my dad who was in the bathroom. I was pleading with Angela to stop rushing it as she kept pushing the guests into the aisle when my maid of honor helped my dad out of the bathroom. It ended up being fine time wise and there was absolutely no reason to make me feel the way they did; it was a complete nightmare. They told me they would make sure the bridal party was taken care of with drinks and food while we took pictures but no one was around at all. They also said they would set up the tables for us but the day before they told me someone needed to come set it up if I didn't have a wedding planner. The food is usually good but that night the chicken was completely dry. They even dared to ID guests for the food, even the best man! The dj and staff were not at all in sync, for example, we would be standing around the cake while the music we picked out was being played and the server was out getting the utensils for ten minutes! The florist provided an extra bouquet for the cake toss and it was no where to be found during the event so I had to throw my $300 bouquet. WORST OF ALL: the next day we realized that nine cards were stolen, a value of about $900 since we requested cash. The GM supposedly interviewed all of the staff but I have no idea how that would help at all. They said that that is all they could do and they didn't even know wh

    Sent on 08/07/2014
  • N

    M · Married on 01/29/2010

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    HORRIBLE...event planner was the most negative abrasive person I met. Did not live up to their contract. My family had to come an hour before the reception to set up the tables only to find mice feces on the tables and not enough chairs set up for my guests. So very disappointed as I was told there was no issue they couldn't handle and they would make my wedding reception wonderful. Don't go there....

    Sent on 04/29/2010

    Orange County Mining Co.'s reply:

    Just to update you Angela is our new Director of Catering/banquets and she has been with us five years! She is kind, talented and someone who really cares about making your event special. I am so deeply sorry for your previous experience but we have made sure that this will never happen again!!