One Tree Studios Reviews

28 | Kansas City, MO
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for One Tree Studios

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

28
Order by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and Joe with did an incredible job creating our wedding video. For those who go back and forth on getting a video, like we did, it is so worth it when you work with One Tree Studios. We didn't realize how much it would mean to get to see those moments between guests, parents, grandparents that we missed while running around all day. And it's special to see what I did get to see that day from a different perspective. They have a special touch for editing - the highlight film they create is second to none. Even though videos are wrapped up into minutes, the way the images, the music and the priceless words people say are all put together with such attention to detail somehow captures the entire story of your wedding and makes you feel like you've witnessed every detail. Plus, it felt like we were hanging out with old friends all day with Michael and Joe. They were fun and creative, made us feel so comfortable, and we barely noticed they were following us around with cameras. We couldn't recommend One Tree Studios more highly!

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Matt was a dream. Besides the fact I absolutely LOVED the photos, I also can't stress how much I loved working with Matt. You spend SO much time with your photographer the day of your wedding that enjoying them is so important. Matt was laid back, creative, kind and genuinely happy to be there. He was never pushy and he never ruined a moment by being in mine or anyone else's face. I am so so happy with my decision to use One Tree Weddings.

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One Tree Photography is superb. We couldn't be more happy with the entire experience. Matt, the owner, is ridiculously talented. He captured all the special moments in a truthful and honest way and has an artist's eye for composition and beauty. He was professional and always responsive and worth every single penny. Everyone in my family who looks at the photos is blown away including me and my husband!

    Sent on 08/23/2013
  • User3405566 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding planning is a very stressful time. There is always that fear that you may hire the wrong person or make the wrong decision; however, we were very confident from the beginning in our decision to use One Tree Weddings as our photographers for our wedding day. Matt Frye was extremely nice and professional. He helped us design a timeline for our wedding day so that we made sure every moment was captured. He showed up with two other photographers (more than we were expecting) and went straight to work. He made his day extremely flexible so it could meet our needs. I had guests commenting on how great our photographers were during the ceremony and reception. We couldn't wait to get our wedding photos back, and we weren't disappointed. The pictures were AMAZING. One Tree Studios captured every single moment of our special day. Every time we look through the pictures, we relive our wedding day. And guests that weren't able to make it to the wedding feel as if they were there just by looking through our wedding photos. One Tree Weddings truly knows how to tell a story through their artwork. We are so happy with our decision and look forward to working with One Tree Studios in the future.

    Sent on 07/19/2013
  • J

    Jared · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best experience working with One Tree Films, and we were absolutely blown away with the quality of our wedding video. They were extremely professional in every way, and kept in contact throughout the process. They gave us suggestions on things such as writing our own vows, our first look, etc that helped to produce such a beautiful wedding video. In searching websites and watching videos to find a videographer, we felt that One Tree was THE BEST videographer in the Kansas City area, and we have found others who agree. Our only regret would be that we hired a separate vendor to shoot our photography, and the experience was dreadful. We should have hired One Tree to shoot pictures and film together.

    Sent on 07/10/2013
  • J

    Jason · Married on 04/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I truly enjoyed working with Matt and the One Tree team. They are absolute artists that are patient, fun, adaptable and minimally invasive. It was really refreshing working with a team who seemed invested in recording our special moments as opposed to simply showing up and snapping an assortment of photos. I received multiple compliments from our family and friends regarding the professionalism and overall kindness of Matt and his team on the wedding day. These guys just get it. It's your wedding day, they understand that it is stressful, and they are going to do their best to help facilitate the day and make sure they capture the moments that matter most. The quality of the product speaks for itself when you view the gallery of One Tree's work. What you aren't able to measure is the quality of their character, which is what I'm hoping my review helps to establish.

    Jason & Kristin Smith

    Sent on 05/28/2013
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 05/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt Frye and his team at One Tree Photo + Cinema are the absolute best in the business!
    I actually had stumbled on One Tree Photo’s website just before my husband proposed to me. We contacted Matt only two days after we got engaged. We met with Matt, talked about his services and clicked right away. We hired OTP+C for photography and videography before we even had a wedding date set. Our wedding was truly inspired by their work; had we not found the OTP+C website we would have eloped.
    Matt was incredible to work with from day one. He took the time to get to know us and get an idea of our style. We built and tailored our wedding to display our fun and quirky style, but of course it was important to me that everything was beautiful. After spending time with Matt and getting to know him and having an incredible engagement session we were completely comfortable giving Matt and his team full artistic control over the photos and videos. It is rare that you meet a team that you can trust to take complete control, especially when it comes to something as important as your wedding day, but Matt and Mike (on the video side) had really taken the time to get an idea of our personalities and the wedding we were going for and that made them incredibly easy to trust.
    On the wedding day Matt and Mike showed up with their cameras and crew and were awesome to work with all day. They helped keep us on schedule, they laughed and had fun with us, and most importantly they captured us beautifully on film. They were professional and fun to work with. At times they were right there guiding us to beautiful photographs and at other times they were almost invisible and only later did we really get to see what amazing work they were doing. When you work with these guys you know that they are doing amazing work, but when you see the finished product you will be completely blown away.
    We met with Matt and Mike in the new OTP+C studio for the reveal. They seemed just as excited as we were. Every one of the photographs is amazing and beautiful and they all look like they should be in an art display or magazine! The video really captured the best of both worlds. We felt like we looked stunning and that the video captured our personalities, our love for each other and our exuberant spirit. For two very modest people we felt like we were stars!
    Throughout the process of planning our wedding and even after the reveal we have closely followed what OTP+C has been working on by following them on Facebook. Each wedding that they have done, each photo and video that they have posted has been unique and artistic and beautiful. It is clear that OTP+C is consistently good and that they really love what they do. Our expectations for them were really high and not only did they meet our expectations but went far and away, above and beyond our expectations. They are worth every penny, and are they best investment you can make in your wedding day.

    Sent on 07/26/2012
  • Tammy

    Tammy · Married on 01/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot begin to express my gratitude for Matt! My husband and I have the upmost respect for his creativity and professionalism. Matt has a keen ability to listen to his clients and capture their wants and desires in a beautiful way! His work is very photojournalistic capturing all of the “natural” moments whether it’s the tenderness of the first look or the laugh you shared during the cake cutting. He uses interesting angles, loves color, and is best when you let go and trust in his creativity versus forcing the stand-pose-smile concept. For e-photos, he was very flexible in the various locations we wanted to shoot in and even with it being 103 degrees outside, he went above and beyond the time frame allotted to give us what we wanted. He had the perfect balance of giving direction for a great shot but also letting us just be ourselves. On the wedding day, he just rolled with the ups and downs and the craziness of the day. He didn't seem anxious or nervous even when we were way off schedule. In fact Matt's cool, calm, collected nature kept the rest of us calm. Intentional or not, it was like Matt recognized the importance of the day and didn't want to add to the stress or become a distraction. You want that in a photographer! Also, as a bride planning a wedding in KC from Ohio, Matt was very responsive in the planning process via email/phone making the distance seemingly nonexistent. He was by far one of the best decisions we made regarding our wedding. BOOK HIM!

    Sent on 04/27/2012
  • M

    Melinda · Married on 07/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When choosing a photographer you have to find someone that you trust to capture every single moment of the day. I don't know how they did it but, that is what One Tree Photography did for us! The wedding day ends up being such a blur that when we went back and looked at the photos we were able to relive every moment of our big day. They were very easy to work with and guys that we would love to go out for a beer with now that the wedding is over. I really enjoyed the personalities of both the photographer and cinematographer. They could be bossy if we needed them to but, mostly they just fit right in and stayed in the background taking pictures. And this was amazing but, I also saw Matt on the floor for parts of the night. I have never ever seen anyone in so many positions in order to get the best pictures. We would definitely use One Tree Photography again and look forward to working with them in the future.

    Sent on 08/13/2011
  • N

    Alison · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was professional both before the event and the day of the wedding. He arrived on time, was well dressed, polite, and very friendly. It was amazing how well he hid himself throughout the ceremony and reception so that he was able to get the shots but not interrupt the experience. I still have a couple fo weeks before we get all our pictures back, but I have no doubt in my mind they will be great.

    Sent on 05/03/2011
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One Tree Photography did an amazing job on our photos! Matt was amazing at getting the best shots possible and relating to us and our needs! He was even great at getting my non-photogenic husband to look GOOD in all our shots. Pretty hard thing to do.

    I highly recommend this Photographer!

    Sent on 04/06/2011
  • Song

    Song · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One Tree Photography is the best wedding photography service you can find. Matt Frye, the photographer was amazing to work with. He is incredibly professional and has a CLEAR artistic vision. If you ask him what his photography style is he will have a prompt and clear response. Matt took the time to listen to all of my ideas, desires, and concerns. He definitely delivered what I wanted out of my wedding photography. When taking our posed pictures with the wedding party, Matt definitely gave us direction, but never once did he get bossy or rude. He is extremely sensitive about the fact that it is your wedding, so there was never a photographer's agenda that we had to deal with. Matt is also really easy to get a hold of, we emailed on and off before the wedding and he always responded quickly. Not only is he easy to talk with, he is incredibly flexible and easy going. On my wedding day, we were an hour behind schedule and I was freaking out about having enough time to take pictures. Matt worked with me to figure out a new schedule that would give us enough time to get great pictures, which definitely helped me relax. You can bet that I have told all of my friends and family that if they EVER need a photographer, One Tree Photography is the way to go. You won't find a better photographer.

    I just wanted to let you know that we got our album today! Love it! Thank you so much for everything, your photographic eye, professionalism, and just over all awesomeness. Whenever we need photos, you will be the first we call! Thank you so much!

    Sent on 11/12/2010
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt Frye is awesome. He was great to work with and his work is stunning. Several of my girlfriends plan to use him for their wedding/family photographs after seeing him work. I really can not say enough about how wonderful One Tree Photography is. He was the first vendor I booked. After all the work and money that is spent for one day...it is worth it to have exceptional photographs as a memory. Things go by so fast...this might be the only way the bride and groom actually get to see their wedding. :) All my married girlfriends mention that they wish they had creative pics like mine. Thanks again Matt!

    Also, One Tree did my videography. It is equally as awesome!!!! Very creative, very artsy, very original.

    Sent on 11/05/2010
  • B

    Lisa · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now-husband and I had a super-DIY wedding. I trusted very little of our wedding to other people, but I felt good about Matt doing the photography. I had some ideas about what I wanted and it was really cool that he was as excited about them as I was. I was so stressed out the day of the wedding that at times he doubled as a therapist--he was super patient with everyone. He went with the flow most of the time but stepped in to direct when needed. I didn't know what to expect because I hadn't seen him much after the pre-wedding photos. A few weeks later, however, I cried when I started looking at the proofs--he captured so much of the day that I wasn't able to see in person. My friend said, "They are the only wedding pics that I have seen that convey real emotion, and they look so timeless!" Agreed. Matt's aesthetic matched what I wanted in our wedding photos, and I'll be proud to display them in our home.

    Sent on 12/06/2010
  • B

    Kelly · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found One Tree Photography at a KC Bridal show and was captivated by his simple, beautiful and modern photos. My husband and I got married in Mexico but used Matt for our engagement and reception. He was very easy to work with and had wonderful and creative ideas. We had an incredible time working with him! I would definitely recommend him to any of my friends getting married in the Kansas or Missouri area. Thank you Matt for all of your great work!!!

    Sent on 12/04/2010
  • K

    k · Married on 07/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt was great! I would recommend the engagement session for a wedding package - we were able to see lots of styles and tell him exactly what we liked and what we didn't...he accommodated us and our wedding style perfectly based on the session and by talking to us. He is also very easy to get along with and made us feel very comfortable during the photo shoots!

    Sent on 08/24/2010
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt Frye is fantastic! Starting from our wonderful engagement session (in 3 feet of snow!) to our rehearsal dinner and then the day of photos, Matt captured everything exactly the way we wanted... and better! Our photos are so incredibly beautiful; it has been next to impossible to choose which ones we want! Matt is very attentive and not only listens to suggestions and "must-haves", but comes up with unique ideas to truly capture the emotions of the individuals being photographed. He is so easy to get along with, very flexible with scheduling, and was absolutely everywhere during the course of the day without anyone even noticing. One Tree's pricing is reasonable and his products are delivered quickly. I cannot recommend him enough! I wish I could give Matt and One Tree more than 5 stars!

    Sent on 12/01/2010
  • A

    Ann · Married on 05/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was a small one, in both size and budget, but after seeing Matt's photos we really had our hearts set on hiring him. He was willing to work within our budget to provide the smaller amount of coverage we needed. The end result is that we have the beautiful wedding photos we dreamed of!

    Sent on 06/19/2010
  • J

    Jessi · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Invisible Photographer

    Don't let that title confuse you. Matt Frye is an invisible photographer in the best way possible. I truly forgot he was there until it came time for him to leave and he said goodbye. I thought to myself "Crap. There is no way he got any good shots; I didn't see him at all after the photo session." WRONG. We had some truly amazing and stunning shots of our wedding day. I am simply amazing. The mood, emotion, joy, and scene of the event could not have been captured any better. And you know what you get when you have an invisible photographer? Really candid and natural shots of loved ones and yourself. My husband and I could not have looked more natural. This really is something you can't put a price on. My husband and I may be the most un-photogenic people to exist and we have been overwhelmed with comments and praises about how good we looked. And really we did look good :) Use Matt. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 12/04/2010
  • B

    Betsy · Married on 03/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Photography was my focus when it came to my wedding planning. I met with something like 10 different photographers. But once I met Matt Frye, I was seriously sold. He is just so genuine. Our engagement pictures turned out beautiful. So beautiful, in fact, that we used an album of them (designed by Matt) as a guest book at our wedding. I got SO MANY compliments. And instead of being something that gets stuck in a box, our guest book is coffee table art! On our wedding day, Matt made me feel at ease every step of the way. Even when we started running behind, he quickly worked with me to find a way to get the best images while still allowing us to enjoy our guests and reception. His candid images allowed us to see so many parts of the day that we missed. And his portraiture...well, we've never looked so good.

    Sent on 12/04/2010
  • M

    Molly · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough wonderful things about our photos and working with you to produce our wedding day photographs. Not only do your luminous photos set you apart from all other photographers, but the genuine care you show for your clients, outstanding professionalism and much-appreciated flexibility are truly a dime a dozen.

    As for the pictures, we could not be happier with the results. We appreciated your thinking outside the box and making the private couple's photo shoot uniquely ours. Not once did we feel uncomfortable or feel as though we were put into an overused backdrop. Family and friends have told us how the photography seems to encompass the day's magical events and illuminate the raw emotions surrounding our union.

    We feel truly blessed by your commitment to providing us with the very best visual account of our unforgettable wedding day. You stuck with us through all the changes that took place while planning our wedding when others would have not had the same patience.

    We will continue to recommend your photographic services to all of our friends and family, as well as utilizing you as our photographer for future family additions and life events. Thank you so much for everything!

    Sent on 02/13/2010
  • S

    Sean · Married on 05/30/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Matt was absolutely fantastic. Not only did he deliver an amazing product, he also showed a genuine interest in us and our wedding. He helped make what could have been a very hectic day run quite smoothly, and we couldn't have been happier to work with him. My wife and I recommend Matt to every engaged couple we know!

    Sent on 02/15/2010
  • S

    Gabe · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the dust has settled from the wedding Lauren and I are starting to relive that incredible day through your photos, and we really couldn't be happier. The entire collection of photographs truly capture not just the important moments but the spirit of that day. The outdoor ceremony at sunset would have posed a challenge for most photographers, but the pictures from the ceremony are beautiful, intimate, and natural. You were clear and direct with our large families as we took the group shots and took some creative and artistic shots of just us on our way to the reception (who knew that some of the alleys in downtown Lawrence were so pretty?!).. I hate to sound like a broken record, but as we look at the reception pictures we find ourselves saying, "Oh, I'm so glad he captured that" and "I was hoping he'd take a picture of that."


    While the chats we had before that day were helpful in getting to know each other and us trying to communicate what we were interested in, your photographic intuition is the common thread through all our pictures. Even if your openness, kindness, sensitivity and flexibility were not enough, your pictures alone should make anyone grateful to have chosen you as their photographer. Thanks so much Matt!

    Sent on 03/06/2010
  • J

    John · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Matt was a wonderful experience. He is very relaxed, confident, talented, and professional. As an amateur photographer myself, I knew what I was looking for. He listened to what we wanted, and then he delivered. Simple as that. Below is an email I sent to Matt after we received out wedding album which we never get tired of looking at.

    Wow! How can we thank you enough for your amazing work Matt? After seeing
    our engagement photos we had the utmost confidence that the pictures of our
    wedding day would be perfect, and you delivered! We received our album
    today, and it is nothing short of a work of art. Words can not describe how
    happy we are with our photos, and we can't wait to share your creations with
    our friends and family. It was such a comfort having you at our wedding, and
    knowing that you would capture everything we wanted without having to tell
    you who, where, and what to shoot. How you captured this many moments and
    memories on film in such a short amount of time is a mystery to me, but
    without you I don't think Erin or I would be able to remember half of our
    most amazing day. I only hope we can find more reasons to work with you
    again in the future.
    Thank you so much.

    Sent on 02/14/2010
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 07/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Aaron and I love photojournalistic photography. So, we sought out a photographer that could encapsulate the moments between us without making us pose. Matt did just that. He let us be us for the afternoon (during our engagement photo session), and captured some priceless moments between Aaron and I.
    The pictures from our wedding were even better! He was able to get the perfect shots of family and friends at the wedding and at the reception "caught in the moment."
    Aaron and I are very thankful for Matt's talent and frequently show off our engagement and wedding pictures.
    - Meredith Cathey

    Sent on 02/14/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review