Skip to main content
Weddings

On the Vine Catering Reviews

On the Vine Catering

On the Vine Catering

Livermore, CA
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 28 Reviews
View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

8 User photos

  • S
    Shaan A. Married on 06/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing caterers, delicious food!

    We had On the Vine cater our wedding reception at Nella Terra in June 2021 — they did a fantastic job, and we couldn’t be happier! Jill is SO easy and fun to work with, we got to chat with her during our tasting and it’s really clear that she’s kind, professional, and organized. All of the food, of course, speaks for itself — there’s a great variety of options, and you really can’t go wrong with any of them (see photos for our final menu). Our guests were super pleased! The On the Vine catering team is also superb — they were friendly with all of our guests and did a wonderful job setting up the dinner tables and dessert table! For us, On the Vine also contracted with Pleasanton Rentals for all linens and tableware / flatware — it made it super easy for us to have everything all together. Overall, they did a great job, and we’re extremely grateful for their help in making our wedding a success!

    Photos by Brooke & Bryn Photography (also amazing!!!)

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you Shaan, it was so nice to work with you and Veronica, all of us at On the Vine wish you all the happiness in your life together!

    Congratualtions and best wishes
    Jill
  • Ana
    Ana O. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and delicious!

    On The Vine was a required vendor through our venue Nella Terra for our wedding this past June. I usually have not been amazed by wedding food in the past. But let me tell you--when we went for our tasting, we were blown away by the deliciousness and quality of our food! Jill and Dave were so kind and hospitable when we went for the tasting and even offered us wine to pair with our food. Our communication was always timely and professional. During the wedding, the food was absolutely delicious and was served in a timely manner! I received a TON of compliments about how delicious the food was and how efficiently it was served. No guest wants to be left hungry waiting for their food because the food takes too long to serve! Every single item tasted delicious, from the perfectly seasoned vegetables, to the flavorful tri tip, to the variety of appetizers, and the freshness of the salad. Food is such an essential part of the wedding and we and our guests were very satisfied. Highly recommend!

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you Ana! It was so mice to be a part of your day! All of us at On the Vine wish you all the happiness in your new life together!
    Best wishes and Congratulations!
  • J
    Jashwal Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dave and Team are Amazing!

    We can’t say enough great things about Dave and his team! We worked with Dave for our wedding through Purple Orchid and were lucky to have him be part of our team. Dave took the time to understand the details of what we were looking for and executed it perfectly on our wedding day. Dave also worked closely with Pleasanton rentals to make sure our plates and cutlery were perfect. The food was perfect on our wedding day and many of our wedding guests—who are foodies—said that it was the best pasta they had ever had. We can’t say enough great things about Dave and are very lucky to have had him and his team be a part of our wedding.

    -Jess and Jashwal
  • Beverley
    Beverley Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Food!

    We got married at Nella Terra in Sunol, CA and On the Vine Catering was a required vendor.

    Jill from On the Vine Catering was a pleasure to work with. She was extremely quick at responding to emails and was very accommodating. My mom is an amazing cook, so she is very opinionated about food and food is the #1 most important thing to her at weddings. At our tasting, Jill was very patient with my mom and was even open to using the shrimp recipe that my mom talked to her about (though I liked the On the Vine shrimp more, so we went with theirs). Jill won over my mom, and my mom even gave her a hug at the end of our tasting (which is crazy because as an Asian mom, my mom does not give out hugs very often).

    We received so many compliments on our food from our guests. We got the dual entree with filet mignon and grilled prawns, with a side of potato gratin and Brussel sprouts. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly (which is an amazing feat for 156 guests), and we got many compliments on the potato gratin. We did plated, and gave the list of special meals/allergies to Jill a few weeks before our wedding. Everyone got the correct meal.

    Thank you, Jill and On the Vine Catering staff for being a part of our wedding!

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you Beverley! You were so nice to work with! I wish you all the happiness in the world!

    Jill Victor
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer F. Married on 06/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and even better team!

    We booked On the Vine because they are a required vendor of Nella Terra Cellars, where we got married. I am so glad they were required because we wouldn't have wanted to go with any other catering vendor! Jill was so great to work with. We had many questions and she always answered them so quickly. As for the food, our guests could not stop talking about how delicious the food was! Sometimes wedding food can be underwhelming but we, along with all of our guests, were incredibly impressed at not just the quality and taste of the food, but also how professional the servers were! We recommend On the Vine to everyone!
  • W
    Whitney E. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Yummo is what your guests will say

    On the Vine was so great to work with for our wedding. They were super accommodating and went above and beyond bringing our food ideas to life. Our guests LOVED the apps during cocktail and our plated dinner did not disappoint. My husband is a big foodie so he made more than a few changes along the way but Jill with On the Vine was so helpful and responsive. I highly recommend them for your wedding day!

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you Whitney, working with you and Ty was a dream and we enjoyed being a part of your day! We all wish you happiness in your new life together!
  • Kirin
    Kirin W. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A DREAM to work with!

    Jill and her staff are an absolute dream to work with! Talk about full service, professional, responsive, and most importantly... delicious food! As a Wedding Planner, it is so important for us to work with a team that is all of the above, It makes for a seamless and stress free day. This is something we can count on with On The Vine Catering and we are ecstatic to have the opportunity to continue working lovely events with them.

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you Kirin,
    We really enjoyed being a part of Roger and Moira's Wedding with you! As the coordinator you set the tone and because you are organized and helpful it makes the process seamless. I hope we can work together in the future!
  • M
    Marysia Married on 10/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired On The Vine Catering to do our rehearsal dinner and were thrilled with everything they did! Rochelle was incredibly professional, helpful, and kind from day one. It was a last minute rehearsal, so small things were changing close to the date, but they were still so nice!!

    The food.. people have not stopped raving about it!! We did the Mediterranean theme, and it was delicious!

    10/10 recommend this company. If your experience was anything like mine, you will not be disappointed!!
  • D
    Deb Married on 07/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jill and her entire crew were terrific. I live in Boise, Idaho but got married in Livermore, CA. I found On the Vine Catering after reviewing many local caterers. Jill was very responsive and easy to work with. I told her what I was looking for and she immediately had great suggestions. On the day of the wedding, everything was perfect. I chose a two entrée main course (beef and fish) -- the fish was amazing. Everyone loved it! I would recommend On the Vine Catering to anyone. They are great!

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much Deb and Charlie, it was a pleasure to be a part of your day, it was magical! Congratulations, I wish you the best in your new life together as husband and wife!
  • A
    Anna Married on 05/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Had a fantastic experience with On the Vine Catering for our wedding in May 2017. Not only was the food delicious (and easily customizable to our particular tastes), but Jill Black sat down with us weeks before the wedding to walk us through many details we otherwise would have forgotten. She was timely and helpful in communicating with us throughout the process, and the day-of-event service was fantastic; all of the staff were very friendly, helpful, and skilled and everything went off without a hitch, including passed hors d’oeuvres, dinner, champagne pouring, bartending, and coffee service. A server even brought some hors d’oeuvres outside for the wedding party while we were taking pictures so we wouldn’t be hungry. Overall, very professional, friendly, and quality service.

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thank you Anna, it was a pleasure being a part of you day! All of us at On the Vine wish you and Lorne a wonderful life together!
  • K
    Katelin Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used On the Vine Catering for our wedding. The food and appetizers were absolutely amazing. We wanted out guest to take away a good meal and they raved about how wonderful the food was. Excellent service, and made our wedding planning very pleasant to work with them! Highly recommend them for a wedding, or any catering services :)

    On the Vine Catering's reply:

    Thanks Katelin, it was a pleasure working with you! Jill
  • K
    Krystle Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine catered my wedding last month, and they were amazing to work with. From the beginning, I knew I had nothing to worry about as Jill was extremely responsive, organized, and personable. There were a number of different menu options and all at very reasonable prices.

    On the day of the wedding, the entire team did an excellent job. The tables were set beautifully, and the staff was very attentive and professional throughout the night. On top of that, the food was absolutely delicious! Our guests particularly loved the tri tip. My husband and I barely got to eat our meal during the wedding since we were being pulled in a million different places, but luckily, Emma (catering manager that night) boxed up a number of dishes, so we got to enjoy the leftovers the next day :)

    I would absolutely recommend this company. They really took a lot of the stress out of my wedding planning and were a pleasure throughout the entire process.
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine helped make our wedding run so smoothly! They helped with the timeline and knew the venue which allowed them to make great suggestions on where to place everything. Jill was extremely responsive to emails and calls and very easy to work with. All of the staff from the day of the event were great! After the wedding, people raved about the food and service and were extremely impressed! We are so happy we went with On the Vine as our caterer and will definitely use them for future events. Thank you On the Vine!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On The Vine Catering were professional and the food was great! Everyone at the wedding went back for seconds & thirds! They were so accommodating and helpful in any way that we needed. We received a ton of compliments about how good the food was from our guests. They were super easy to work with and guided us through the best way to serve food and drinks at our wedding. Jill also made sure our glasses were never empty - which is always a plus :)!

    We would recommend On The Vine Catering to anyone looking for an awesome team to work with and amazing food!
  • I
    Itzel Married on 11/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine Catering are the best, I love working with Jill, she was so helpful and really organized. We actually had two tastings with her, and she was really patient with us, and answered our many questions. She did a walk through with us, and stayed with us for a few hours just to make sure we would have everything right.

    The food was amazing, and we had a good number of guests coming up to us to compliment on the great food. Jill and their staff just provided great service, and exceptional food, and I would highly recommend them to everyone.
  • User2386444 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jill and her team were amazing!! Not only was the food delicious and the service great, but they dealt with a major issue on the day of the wedding. It was so windy that we couldn't have dinner outside as planned. With about two hours to go before the reception, Jill and her team moved everything indoors and you never would have known that it was Plan B.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 07/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I worked with Jill for our wedding. She was very helpful and easy to get a hold of.
    On The Vine is definitely a FULL SERVICE caterer. They surpassed my expectations in the services they provided beyond just feeding our guests. Jill met with me to walk through the whole day and coordinated with our other vendors to make sure everything ran smoothly. Also, the food was GREAT. It looked and tasted exactly the same as at our menu tasting. I really appreciated that they were consistent on their product and there were no surprises.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 04/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine (OTV) catered our wedding at Sanborn Park in Saratoga this month (April 2015). We were extremely pleased. I highly recommend them to anyone in need of a caterer.

    - The food was delicious. Many of our guests told me how much they enjoyed everything.

    - Jill was great to work with and had excellent suggestions about our schedule for the day, setup, and all the little details I wouldn't have thought of myself.

    - The staff were professional, efficient, courteous, and friendly. Everything ran very smoothly and my husband and I were able to enjoy our event without worrying about anything food or drink related even once.

    - Our site was an outdoor picnic area at a park and had basically no amenities - just some power plugs. That didn't matter to OTV - the food and service were just as good as if they'd been in a fully appointed venue.
  • K
    Kari Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine catered my June wedding at Las Positas Vineyards. Jill and her team were fantastic!! They made sure everything ran smoothly, helped set up tables, cleaned up afterwards and made sure the bride and groom were satisfied every step of the way. The food was outstanding, the service excellent and I would highly recommend them--especially to work with Las Positas Vineyards.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine catered our reception at Los Positas Vineyard last month. Jill was very helpful walking us through the process of picking out the type of food we wanted. On the day of the event the staff were professional and fun to work with. We have a lot of "foodies" in our families and they were very impressed with the food. We would defiantly recommend On the Vine Catering!
  • User1473145 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We planned out wedding in under 3 months so we had quite a task to find an excellent caterer with availability during peak wedding season. The only thing that worked in our favor was the holiday weekend.

    We spoke with multiple caterers who offered delicious food, but after much taste testing we selected On the Vine Catering hands-down.

    PLANNING
    When we did our initial site walk through they offered suggestions to improve the guest flow between stations/events. Their experience with the venue was invaluable.

    On the Vine Catering worked with us to select a menu that met all the dietary needs of our guests. They were open to modifying some of their recipes to make them vegan or to change ingredients we knew guests were allergic to. Their years of experience helped us hand-pick a menu that suited our tastes and budget.

    REHEARSAL
    Their expert staff was meticulous at checking and confirming details. They pointed out an issue with another party supply vendor and helped us get it resolved before the wedding day.

    WEDDING DAY
    The venue was expertly set up and decorated as we requested. They showed up with ample time to prepare the decorations and food. They made sure to bring food to the bride and groom even whenthey were busy with photos on site.
    Set up and clean up went smoothly. We had no complaints from the venue.

    STAFF
    The staff were neatly attired, helpful, but never intrusive.
    Jill was friendly, knowledgable, responsive and great to work with.

    FOOD
    The food was delicious. We received many compliments from our guests and some even asked for recipes! (The Devils on Horseback are delicious).

    OVERALL
    On the Vine went beyond our expectations, by working with us on outside food and beverages being brought to the site or being prepared on site.

    We would definitely use their services again.
  • A
    Art Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Just an attendee/guest at a truly memorable wedding. Food and service were both excellent and friendly. And what a venue!!! Location, facilities, amenities, and best of all...the people running this truly one-of-kind event center.
  • M
    Madison Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a great experience using on the vine for our catering. Jill was a pleasure to work with, she was extremely professional and responsive. She had a ton of great and helpful suggestions to help make our wedding run more smoothly. In the final few months, I made a few minor changes, and she was always more than willing to accommodate my needs.
  • User2368548 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I :) just got to experience our wedding with the help of Jill and her team. There is a lot to think about when putting together a wedding without a planner and for those brides, On the Vine is the perfect match. Jill was wonderful to work with when deciding the menu (recommend the Hawaiian menu-lots of compliments) and then her Catering Manager was AMAZING. He was on site for our wedding, they were friendly, attentive and very accommodating, especially with a troublesome venue. If it wasn't for them I would have been lost. Worth the cost. Recommended to all. Lots of compliments from all our guests.
  • User2040445 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On the Vine catered my wedding in Los Altos Hills in August. I absolutely LOVED working with Jill and the team, and because of their expertise I was completely at ease about the food and the flow of the event. Jill had worked at my venue, Hidden Villa Farm, several times before, and had excellent suggestions about the rentals to order, how to make sure the guests were comfortable and well fed and hydrated throughout the day, and where to set things up. Jill was so much more than a catering manager - she served as almost a second day-of coordinator! I was working with a wedding planner as well as a pretty involved on-site coordinator, and Jill was a great member of the team.

    Jill set up a time a couple months before our wedding for my fiance and I to taste the food, and it ended up being a very meaningful time for me and my fiance to take a few deep breaths and get excited about the food and our wedding day. Speaking of the food, it was delicious. We got the trip tip and jerk chicken, grilled veggies and garlic mashed potatoes, along with several appetizers. Everyone was very impressed with the food and I loved not having to worry about how the food would go over.

    The prices were extremely reasonable for the quality of service and food we received. I would recommend On the Vine to anyone for a wedding or other important event!