On Sunny Slope Farm Reviews

99 | Harrisonburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

99 Reviews for On Sunny Slope Farm

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

99

55 User photos

Order by:
  • Mary

    Mary Shelton · Getting married on 02/09/2022

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sunny Slope Wedding

    Sunny Slope was affordable and accomodating to our needs. They provided package options to fit different budgets which first drew us to the venue and the beautiful views and excellent communication sealed the deal.

    Sent on 01/22/2021
  • Andrea

    Andrea Reginato · Getting married on 06/27/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very organized, friendly, and professional!

    Our vendor was very responsive, professional, and friendly! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/29/2019
  • A

    Anna Davis · Married on 07/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Day

    On Sunny Slope Farm was super easy to work with and my husband and I got a lot of compliments about our wedding. Harry and Melodie were very attentive and had great expertise. We used a lot of the vendors that were listed on their wedding website and we were satisfied with everyone. We got married in front of the chapel and our wedding pictures turned out great. We had the perfect day and would highly recommend getting married at this venue if you're looking for a farm-chic wedding.

    Sent on 12/13/2019
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Choice

    Our experience with On Sunny Slope Farm was wonderful. The location was gorgeous, the amenities of the venue were perfect for us, and the staff was very knowledgeable, responsive, and easy to work with.

    Sent on 11/18/2019
  • Breann

    Breann · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We will always remember, the 21st night of September!!

    September 21, 2019 was hands down the best day of my life. Not only was On Sunny Slope Farm the most beautiful venue that EVERYONE loved, but the staff there was incredible. Harry, the owner and our officiant, was so awesome and laid back from the first day we met him. He made sure that we were comfortable and prepared and his emails in the months leading up the wedding on what to do next were so helpful. Melodie and Marissa, our day of coordinators were so helpful in planning the little details and making sure we weren’t forgetting anything during our planning meetings.

    On the day of, they were so pleasant and helpful and Melodie even fanned out my dress when it was a hot September day!! Marissa constantly made sure I was doing okay, I had a drink in my hand and didn’t need anything. She also handled ALL of our vendors so that took any unnecessary stress off of us. Both made sure our event was flawless and so incredibly perfect.

    I can’t rave enough about these amazing people and this amazing venue. My husband and I are so lucky to have gotten married there and are honestly so thankful for everyone at On Sunny Slope Farm! We even got to take beautiful photos with the dairy cows and our guests loved them! The laid back aspect of the venue made for the perfect wedding!!

    Thank you ALL for an amazing wedding - I can’t say that enough.

    Sent on 10/09/2019
  • Bri

    Bri C. · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Staff and Gorgeous Place!

    On Sunny Slope Farm was amazing. I just got married there this past weekend and everyone was so kind and helpful and on top of every detail. Melody helped herd a giant wedding party with lots of personalities! She was amazing as was Harry and every staff member we interacted with! Everything went so smoothly and everyone was so helpful. The venue itself is gorgeous! We stayed on the AirBnB on the property and that was amazing too! So much space and it made life so easy to be right next to the venue!

    Sent on 08/19/2019
  • Bethany

    Bethany Gugino · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue!!

    My husband and I got married on Sunny Slope Farm at the end of June and we couldn’t be happier with our choice of venue. It was insanely gorgeous and every picture that was taken (either from our guests or photographer) was absolutely breathtaking. Our friends and family made so many comments about how beautiful the venue is. They were also pretty excited about the farm animals too.

    It was sunny and a palmy 90 degrees outside on the day of the wedding but there was a constant breeze throughout the ceremony and during the reception. The bathrooms and bridal suites are air conditioned so we were nice and cool when we were getting ready. It was also nice to have the bridal suites (which you can keep locked) if you needed to have a couple minutes in private. My bridesmaids enjoyed that they could keep their things locked during the wedding without worrying about anything. The bridesmaids and I used the bridal suites to get ready and it was very comfortable. Our hair stylist and make-up artist had plenty of space and outlets to set up in the bridal suite to do hair and make-up.

    Harry was also our officiant and did a wonderful job in that role. He said personal things during the ceremony which really made the wedding very special. It was easy to chat with him during our pre-wedding meetings. We were able to ask for advice on certain aspects but he definitely encouraged us to do whatever we wanted for the ceremony. We used him to help us make reservations at Hotel Madison and he suggested the My Shenandoah Valley Wedding website and we were able to find all of our vendors through that which was SUPER helpful. Since many of our vendors had already done weddings on Sunny Slope and knew the venue, everything went super smoothly.

    Melodie was our day of coordinator and she was AMAZING. She helped with all the setup and preparation. She coordinated with all the vendors. On the day of she picked up flowers because mine died (insert sad face) and lunch for the girls. She was very helpful throughout the entire day and it really wouldn’t have been the same without her.

    Before the wedding the shuttle from the hotel was in an accident (luckily none of our guests were on it) and Harry took Melodie’s personal vehicle to transport guests to the venue. If that doesn’t show that they care about weddings and the couples, I don’t know what does. They are amazing, the farm is amazing, everything about it was amazing.

    Sent on 07/21/2019
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    The venue was absolutely beautiful and the staff was great to work with. Melodie is the sweetest and helped everything go off without a hitch. Harry was flexible in helping us achieve our vision!

    Sent on 05/28/2019
  • A

    Katie · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Blown Away!

    Absolutely loved working with the staff at Sunny Slope Farm. Harry was very helpful during our tour and really tried to get to know us during the process of choosing a venue. Melodie was a fantastic day of coordinator! She was very efficient and proactive when it came to our meetings and for creating the day of schedule. She really made sure the day was perfect. They are open to any ideas, and really try their hardest to make your dreams come true for your wedding day! Everything about the venue and the staff are wonderful and I couldn't have been more thankful for all they did to make my wedding an absolute perfect day!

    Sent on 05/28/2019
  • S

    Sarah Wlater · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't get better than this!

    We cannot say enough about how amazing our wedding was at Sunny Slope Farm. Words really do not do any justice. The surrounding landscape is breath taking and the landscape at the farm is already so beautiful that not much else is needed. Harry was absolutely PHENOMENAL to work with. He not only made our day that much more special, but his ability to communicate with us made wedding planning that much easier. He took the stress out of everything and even took the time to have a phone conference with our first time officiant to give him some direction for conducting the ceremony. Harry was always willing to be at our "beck and call" whether it was a phone call to discuss details about our day or to swing by the venue when we would visit for planning purposes. His staff was terrific, especially Melodie who did several our meetings and was always so pleasant! We highly recommend this venue to anyone who is getting married. We cannot imagine getting better service or beauty than on this farm!

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On Sunny Slope Farm was the perfect wedding venue to get married! This was the first venue we visited & we instantly fell in love- we even booked the same day. Harry made the process of getting married on the farm an absolute breeze! The farm manager Melodie & our day of coordinator Monica were SO helpful during our planning process & helped make our day perfect. All of Harry's staff made sure our wedding day ran smoothly! All the Sunny Slope staff involved in our wedding day played a huge roll in helping us make our day special. From the chapel, you can see all 4 ranges of the Shenandoah & it's truly breathtaking. We loved every aspect of our special day & we enjoyed celebrating at On Sunny Slope. We would recommend the farm to anyone who is looking for great people to work with, with beautiful views that DON'T break your bank- we loved EVERYTHING about our day! Lots of Love- Jessica & Dave

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • M

    Merrill · Married on 09/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED getting married at On Sunny Slope Farm. From the moment we stepped on-site, my husband and I knew that was where we were getting married. Harry and his entire staff were soo responsive with all the questions we had. Melodie and Abby were on-site for the day of and did an INCREDIBLE job, they played a huge part in how seamless our wedding was. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and they provide so much support that they feel like family by the end of the day. I highly recommend this venue to all future brides!

    Sent on 09/24/2018
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at On Sunny Slope Farm and it was the greatest experience from start to finish! Harry was so great to work with and very helpful and accommodating with everything. Melodie at the farm was wonderful to work with as well and made the entire process very easy and painless. She was responsive and she and Harry both really worked with us to give us everything we needed to make our day great! It ended up raining on our wedding and we had to move everything into the tent, but even being a last minute change Melodie and her staff made it easy and were willing to do literally anything we wanted, whether that meant waiting it out or moving everything inside the tent. It was clear she really wanted it to be perfect for us and was willing to do whatever it took to make that happen. We had an amazing wedding and we and our guests all can't stop talking about what a great day it was, even with the weather doing what it did! Thank you Harry, Melodie and your entire staff for giving us an amazing wedding experience. We would highly recommend this venue to ANYONE!

    Sent on 09/20/2018
  • B

    Barry · Married on 06/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the Father of the Bride, I cannot say enough good things about the quality of service we received for my daughter's wedding on June 8th. Not only is the venue beautiful but the personal service was off the charts. They were friendly, helpful, and encouraging. On top of that, the owner took his time to personally help me link up our music playlist to their sound system. There was an unusual glitch but Harry took 20 minutes of his time and sat down with me to make sure the sound app worked so that the hours I spent putting together all the music for the ceremony and reception would not go to waste. Since we live in Washington state, planning a wedding 3000 miles away was going to be challenging. However, On Sunny Slopes Farm made Holly's wedding absolutely stress free and a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • A

    Alex · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Harry and staff was WONDERFUL! They were always helpful, timely, and knowledgeable. We planned to have our wedding outside but it poured down rain 3 minutes before the ceremony. The staff moved everything inside the tent instantly, kept the guests entertained, and everything went off without a hitch! It was perfect!
    The tent was spacious and accommodated our 184 guests with plenty of room!
    The planning process was very organized and helpful as Harry had everything broken down into what needed to happen at 6 months, 3 months, and 1 month.
    The venue is beautiful, the staff is experienced and helpful, and you will have a wonderful wedding if you choose to have it On Sunny Slope Farm!

    Sent on 06/11/2018
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on May 26th, 2018, and it was more than we could have ever imagined. We are living in Virginia but our families and many friends are from California so they came far to be here. I think when people heard we were getting married at a farm in Virginia they did not expect On Sunny Slopes. The scenery, the warm wonderful owners and staff, the cloudy and a bit rainy weather, and even the cows set the tone of a beautiful, cozy, simple yet lovely wedding day.

    We initially picked this venue after visiting the first time. We got in our car read some reviews to confirm that what we were seeing and hearing from Harry weren't "too good to be true", after the 25th raving review, we cancelled the rest of our venue visits, called Harry and put our deposit down. Never looked back.

    Harry was a great communicator throughout the whole experience. Monica was a wonderful day of coordinator. We used her for decorations as well, which BLEW ME AWAY. We used the farm for both ceremony and reception, SO easy and beautiful. We had to move the ceremony to the tent because of light rain but even that just made it feel even cozier. And we exited the tent to a gorgeous rainbow spreading across the rolling hills. Just amazing. We also had our guests stay at The Hotel Madison which was beautiful and had the reception there. Again lovely with GREAT catering. YUM!!

    Feel free to contact me with any questions!

    Sent on 06/08/2018
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Harry and his staff were absolutely wonderful to work with and the venue itself boasts all you would need to host the most amazing event! Our wedding exceeded even our expectations!

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue not only provides amazing scenery of the valley but provides all the comforts of an indoor venue in an outdoor setting! Harry and his staff are helpful, easy to work and highly knowledgeable. I highly recommend!

    Sent on 05/11/2018
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Sunny Slope as our ceremony and reception site set the tone for the entire wedding. The Farm is located just a few miles from downtown Harrisonburg VA, so there are plenty of hotels and accommodations for guests (Also it's a large enough town that you and your guests have access to Uber and Lyft). The Farm itself is beautiful, rolling farmland nestled in the gorgeous, forested hills of the Shenandoah. Everything you'd need from a venue is included: changing suites, a space for your catering team to do food prep, a bluetooth sound system, tables, chairs, and linens included, heaters if the reception tent gets chilly, and gas fire 'pits' if your evening is temperate. But perhaps the most valuable asset is Harry, the farm's owner. Harry is kind, patient, and takes great care to give each couple the wedding they're imagining.

    Sent on 10/19/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we chose On Sunny Slope Farm for our wedding. Everything from the gorgeous venue, Harry, our day of coordinator, to the recommended vendors was absolutely perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better day!

    Sent on 10/23/2017
  • ShortStack

    Meg · Married on 06/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love the moment I saw the photos and I'm happy to say it lived up to them. Harry and his staff were great to work with and made the day go pretty easily. The price is great and you get so much for it. I highly recommend getting at On Sunny Slope Farm!

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I married on June 9th, 2017 and we had the PERFECT wedding at Sunny slope farm. We decided to marry at the "Chapel" and we don't regret our decision one bit. The venue is absolutely gorgeous!! On our wedding day there were white butterflies flying around the aisle, perfect weather and we ended the night with a gorgeous full moon. Working with Harry was such a pleasure, he was always responsive, clear on details and cost of venue and was PATIENT every step of the way. Never hesitated to answer all of my extensive questions and helped us every step of the way. His staff that we worked with for our bar package were professional and kept a smile on their face during the entire time! I wish I could relive the day again!!

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • S

    shweta · Married on 04/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very happy to have chosen this place for my wedding ceremony and reception. Great location. Great view. Harry was pleasant to work with. If I could do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing

    Sent on 05/24/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Harry and his family will treat you like family. They are the best kind of people and were just so super helpful. I'm so happy we chose sunny slope as our venue for our wedding. It was absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 11/22/2016