Old York Road Country Club Reviews

39 | Ambler, PA
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for Old York Road Country Club

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

39

9 User photos

Order by:
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue with the perfect staff!

    Before choosing Old York Road Country Club (OYRCC), we toured multiple venues. And kind of like shopping for a wedding dress, when you know you KNOW!

    When we drove up to OYRCC, the tree lined main drive immediately grabbed our attention and we couldn’t shake it from our mind. This venue felt different from the others we had seen and felt us! With two beautiful outdoor ceremony options (one uncovered and one covered), rooms for the bride and groom to get ready on different floors, and picturesque greens and fountains on the course, plus the beautiful trees, Old York Road Country Club had all we wanted! We especially loved the large windows in their ballroom looking over the greens (TONS of natural light!), and at night the twinkling lights of their terrace were so dreamy!
    Jason was very attentive to all my questions during the planning process (and believe me, I had a lot), and made for such a smooth wedding day between him, Dominic, Jill and the rest of their attentive staff! We really felt like stars of the show and also felt like family by how attentive Jason and his staff were to all of us! Our family has nothing but great things to say about all the staff and how well they treated everyone. It was such a seamless day, and the OYRCC staff are so attentive, and made sure everyone has a great time and enough food and drink! There was one point during cocktail hour where some guests weren't getting hor d'oeuvres, and Dominic and Jason made sure the servers got to all our guests so they could enjoy the delicious food. Speaking of food: the entrees were delicious, and served at the perfect temperature to shovel into our mouths haha. My husband ate his chicken marsala so quickly that I didn't even get to steal a bite!

    Thank you so much for all your hard work and attention during our wedding day. It was PERFECT!

    Sent on 06/22/2019
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was a wonderfully helpful in the planning leading up to our wedding date and Dom took great care of us on the day of. The venue was perfect for what we wanted and even the smallest details were never a problem. I would recommend Old York Road Country Club for any occasion. We loved it so much, we joined as dining members after the wedding!

    Sent on 05/27/2018
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're so happy we chose OYRCC for both our wedding and reception. The grounds were beautiful (even in the rain), and the food was delicious. With so many moving parts to a wedding, OYRCC helped lessen the load. They provided various resources to make our lives easier. The main resource was Jim, the General Manager. Jim was awesome to work with, very attentive and could answer all of our questions. We also used their preferred vendors (officiant, dj/photography company, bakery, florist) and happy we did!!

    It ended up raining on our wedding day (meaning no garden wedding), but the alternative OYRCC offered was great. We got married on the patio overlooking the golf course. The patio was covered (and on the day of, sealed in with plastic covers) and provided a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony (while keeping our guests dry). We were even able to roll up the plastic covers after the ceremony to take pictures.

    We can't say enough positive things about our experience with OYRCC. We'd do it again if we could ;)

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OYRCC was really an amazing venue that has breathtaking views of the course and plenty of beautiful spots to take photos. We loved having the terrace available to us and our guests, giving everyone an extra space to hang out during the reception. We had a TON of compliments on the food on service too!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • User5116866 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was beautiful and was the perfect backdrop for our big day! Toni and Jill were amazing at making everything move smoothly and taking the worry away from us! I can't wait to see our photos since the grounds were so incredible for our Garden wedding! The all inclusive wedding package was another stress reducer. Thanks again to all the hard work from OYR and the staff!!

    Sent on 09/13/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old York Road was exactly what we wanted for our wedding venue. After meeting with Joe, I knew everything would run smoothly and I wouldn't have to worry about a thing. And this was totally the case! Our wedding day was PERFECT! The food was amazing, the room looked gorgeous and the staff was so kind to our guests. I would highly recommend OYRCC!

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • User4663696 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue! Food is fantastic and grounds are beautiful.

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In my wedding planning process venue selection turned into the hardest decision for my fiancé and myself to make. After visiting several locations and expectations not being met, the search continued. Once we met with Joe Wurtz and toured the club we both walked out and knew it was the perfect venue for us! It had everything we were looking for; gorgeous landscaping, beautiful outdoor (covered!) cocktail space, large dance floor, rustic touches, golf course for my husband, and all at a reasonable price! Working with Joe and his staff was a pleasure as they were very organized and personable and always made us feel like a priority. On our wedding day, the service and attention to detail was beyond what we could have expected and our guests couldn't stop (and continue) to rave about how excellent the food was!

    I can’t say enough how happy we were with our decision to have our wedding at Old York Road. I have and will continue to highly recommend to all my family and friends!

    Sent on 01/12/2015
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but kind words for the staff at the Old York Road Country Club. Joe is a great salesman --- he had me booked before we even looked at other nearby vendors. And I'm glad he did! Our family and friends are still raving about the food, over 2 weeks after the wedding. Not only is the food fantastic, the service is even better. Joe and Chelsea answered my numerous emails quickly and thoroughly (and "numerous" is certainly an understatement). Day of, Jill the Wedding Captain got absolutely everything we needed. The room was set up perfectly, everything we brought with us was where it needed to be, and everything was cleaned and packed up to be returned to us at the end of the night --- with zero effort from us, which was fabulous. They know what they're doing. You won't be disappointed!

    They also do a great job of putting you in contact with other vendors --- which was key for us, since we were planning the wedding from out of town. Can't recommend them enough!

    Sent on 08/25/2014
  • User4073475 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Old York Road Country Club was fabulous! They listened to everything we wanted and made our day perfect! The wedding package is the best value out there and everything is top notch. I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 04/30/2014
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING is the only way to describe the OYRCC Team. From our very first meeting to the wedding everything was amazing!!! There all inclusive package is the way to go, they have the best price in the area not to mention the amazing views! The food was amazing. I had a smaller wedding (100 People) and every single guest commented how great the food was, every single person said it was the best wedding food they have ever had. Their entire staff are so friendly and professional!! Jenn is the event manager, she is great! Any random weird request or question I had she was on top of it. She even set aside a few items that were forgotten after the ceremony for me. She really went over and above to make sure our wedding was amazing!! She really is a great asset to OYRCC. Joe is the GM and he is wonderful as well. I cant thank the entire OYRCC team enough for such a great night!!!! I will be recommending them for years to come!! and I look forward to booking baby showers and my younger siblings weddings there!!

    Sent on 11/05/2013
  • M

    Mike · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best and most important thing I can say about OYRCC is that we did not have to worry about one single thing leading up to the wedding and on the day of the wedding. From top to bottom, the service provided throughout the entire process could not have been better as they handled everything. They were so quick to respond to any questions or requests that we had and they were unbelievable accommodating. We wanted to hire a ten piece band to perform at our reception and reached out to OYRCC to see if they could accommodate the band. My wife emailed OYRCC with the inquiry and Joe called us back within 30 minutes and had already walked through the reception room with his maintenance man with the band leader on the phone. On the actual day of the wedding the entire staff was amazing. All of our guests walked away from our wedding raving about the venue and the service. I would recommend OYRCC to anyone looking to get married in the Philadelphia Area. Strong 5 out of 5!

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • C

    Christina · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OYR went above and beyond for us. Our reception was perfect and ran on time. The grounds are gorgeous.... Our pictures are awesome. Food was great! Outdoor cocktail hour was fun during the summer. My guests raved about the wedding reception!

    Sent on 03/31/2014
  • K

    Kath · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old York Road Country Club was absolutely amazing! My husband and I looked at dozens of different venues before finding OYCC. Once we found it we knew it was the one! The grounds and buildings are absolutely beautiful and they allowed us access to anywhere we wanted. Jennifer was really responsive with any requests or questions I had. On top of that they were very accommodating with all of our requests. When we arrived to the site we had Jill come around with us in our golf carts to all the different areas we were having pictures done. It was a really hot day, but when our bridal party saw the awesome spread that OYCC had put out for us with food and drinks during the outdoor pictures they were really happy. They allowed us to have everything timed so that Matt and I were able to make the majority of the cocktail hour (which was awesome out on the patio overlooking the course). Every detail was taken care of and the entire day was very smooth. In terms of pricing this was one of the best prices and included the most!

    We could not have been happier. Thank you Jen and Joe!

    Sent on 08/09/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I could not be happier with what Old York Road Country Club provided us for our wedding. We visited over a dozen venues looking for the perfect spot, once we drove up OYRCC's tree lined driveway we knew we were starting off good. The grounds and buildings are beautiful. A great place for any kind of wedding. Their garden where we held our wedding ceremony was perfect. The florals in the summer are full and beautiful, and the rustic barns give a comfortable yet elegant feel. The staff is outstanding. Working with Joe was a great Joy, His motto Your Day Your Way! He did not come short in that motto. Any requests we had he was offering and willing. Joe and Jennifer exceeded every expectation we had. We enjoyed our reception didnt have to worry about anything but that! We can not thank them enough. If I could sum up OYR in a phrase. BIGGEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!!!!

    Sent on 07/09/2013
  • M

    Mollie · Married on 06/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing is the only word to describe this venue. Food, value, service, staff. Joe, the mananger, his motto is your day, your way. And he goes above and beyond to make sure he stands by that.

    Sent on 07/16/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joe and Jennifer FAR exceeded our expectations for our ceremony and reception. The entire day was flawless! We had nothing to worry about except making sure we had a great time. Old York Road Country Club is an absolutely gorgeous venue with incredible rates. I would very highly recommend OYRCC to anyone looking for a ceremony and/or reception venue.

    Also, the food is truly amazing!! We had tons of compliments from our guests!

    Sent on 06/04/2013
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved everything about working with Joe and the staff at Old York Road Country Club! They were extremely helpful to us as we planned our wedding. Our reception was fantastic and everyone had the best time. The grounds were beautiful and I cannot wait to see how awesome our pictures will be.

    Sent on 11/18/2012
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OYRCC is the perfect wedding venue. The ballroom and grounds are beautiful and the staff is amazing. Joe was great from the beginning and very accommodating of any requests we had. Colleen was a great help for ideas and always answered questions timely and thoroughly. Jill was also amazing on the day of and made sure we had everything we needed. The entire staff was so on top of things that I dint have to worry about a thing the day of. The food at the wedding was delicious and the recommendations for other vendors (cake, florist, photographer) made the planning much easier. I would definitely recommend this venue to other brides.

    Sent on 10/07/2012
  • M

    Marsi · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There isn't a bad thing we can say about Old York Road. My husband and I viewed 9 locations in two days as we are an out of town couple. We had never been to Old York Road Country Club before walking in to tour it for the wedding and from the first moment we were treated like family. Colleen Sawyer and team are TOP NOTCH! We both walked out of the venue knowing that was our place to get married. Colleen was honest, open and extremely responsive to our needs. She went out of her way to make sure we had the BEST experience possible. Because we were an out of town couple, they went above and beyond to accomodate our needs and schedule. On our big day, we wanted for nothing and saw no hiccups that the venue was in control of.
    And if you are expeciting the same old "bad wedding food" then you will be dissappointed because the food is AMAZING! The price that you pay is nominal for the service and quality you get. We would highly, without reservation, recommend any couple to host their wedding at Old York Road County Club.

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joe and Colleen really did a wonderful job. I never worried about anything the night of the wedding they had everything under control from day 1 and answered all our questions. Everyone loved the country club and the food was amazing!

    Sent on 07/14/2012
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 06/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colleen you are amazing!!! Thank you to you and your awesome staff for all of your hard work and support. Kristin's wedding was everything she dreamed of. You walked us through the process (we were totally clueless) and made our event an evening to remember. So many people commented on the great job you did and the fabulous food that you served. We are eternally grateful !!!! Cindy Gessler

    Sent on 06/28/2012
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Worrying about a wedding and the way things will come together, does not happen at the Old York Road Country Club. Every single person at the club made our day perfect and made sure that we had absolutely nothing to worry about. Our bridal party was huge and Colleen was able to keep them all in check and have everything running smoothly and on time. Our day was absolutely perfect.
    The food was amazing, the steaks were cooked to perfection, as was all the other food. Having our wedding at the Old York Road Country Club was the best decision we ever made. This place is amazing, we were worry free all day and we were just able to enjoy our day. Every single person that works there was amazing. This place was worth every single penny!

    Sent on 05/26/2012
  • R

    Rochelle · Married on 08/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone was great at OYRCC!! Colleen was a big help through the whole wedding process!! Would definently recommend this vendor! My wedding day was perfect!!!

    Sent on 11/03/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is hands down a terrific place to have your wedding. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly throughout the planning process. Joe and Colleen, in particular, were great to work with. The physical space is great, both inside and outside (on the terrace). The locations for photo shoots are awesome as well, especially because you get to go there on golf carts! They also provide you with drinks and hors d'oeuvres during the photos. Speaking of hors d'oeuvres, theirs are unparalleled. Love this place!

    Sent on 08/02/2011