Skip to main content
Weddings

Old North State Catering Reviews

Old North State Catering

Old North State Catering

Fuquay Varina, NC
4.9 out of 5 rating, 39 Reviews
View more information

39 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

7 User photos

  • R
    Rosanna M. Married on 04/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Better than we could have dreamed of!

    Jacque and Chris were incredibly easy to work with. They host frequent tastings in which they showcase different items on their menu. They are also willing to tweak the dishes to accommodate taste preferences and dietary restrictions. Both were very helpful in choosing the food selection as well as the timeline for our wedding reception. In their recommendations they took in consideration the location, crowd and style of our reception.
    The day of, Jacque and her team were attentive but not overbearing. They set up the different stations of the buffet in a timely manner and without any disturbance. During the reception they quickly cleaned up empty plates and oversaw the guests. They were great at explaining dishes with its ingredients and preparation, as many guest came from overseas and were unfamiliar with local southern cuisine. The best part of their service, for us as the couple, was that we were prepared plates and lovingly reminded to sit down and eat, as we would have probably not done so ourselves.

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    You all were so great to work with and we had the best time at your reception! Everything and everyone was beautiful! We are so happy to hear you loved the food and the service and this review was the perfect way to end out 2019! Thank you so much and please stay in touch :-)
  • Sylvia
    Sylvia W. Married on 12/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, amazing food, and great people to work with!

    Chris and his team were great to work with. The food was amazing and my guests still rave about it! I love the fact that they have a 42 foot commercial kitchen trailer that they bring everywhere with them to cook in - ensuring the food is fresh and hot.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 08/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best!

    Chris and Jacque were amazing to work with. We knew we had to hire them for our wedding after we went to one of their tastings. The food is out of this world, especially the mac and cheese!! As a bride, I wanted my wedding to be perfect, and absolute perfection is what I got when it came to the catering at my wedding reception. They were always quick to answer my many questions over the entire year we were working with them. (Shoutout to Jacque!!!) They also made postponing my wedding during Coronavirus a lot easier! Jacque and the team were amazing on the day of and left us with extra food that we ate every day the week after the wedding. Thank you for making our wedding the best day ever!!!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Lizzie - We are so very flattered by this amazing review. What a great thing to get a notification about. It made our entire month! We enjoyed working with you and are so happy you chose us to be a part of your day. Everything was beautiful and it makes us smile from ear to ear when we hear you thought everything was perfect. We are also happy to hear that your wedding meal lasted a full week :-) hehe! Wishing you both the best in the rest of your forever together!
    -Jacque and Chris
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Amber O. Married on 04/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!

    Old North State is by far the best caterer out there! They are very down to earth and so easy to talk to for your wedding and bartending needs. Best bacon wrapped scallops and fried green tomatoes!!! You can't go wrong with ONS! :) They made our wedding meal ideas come true!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words and the awesome review! We appreciate it so much! You all were such a pleasure to work with and we always love to hear that our clients and their guests loved their food on their big day! I am so glad you enjoyed your menu so much and that your signature cocktails were well enjoyed also! You all sure did pick a great menu!! We wish you all the best in all things to come. Congratulations!!
    - The ONS Team
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey G. Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Southern Cooking We Could Have Asked For

    Let me start this off by saying how AMAZING Jacque and Chris are. Their customer service, pricing, and quality of food was perfect for our wedding day. My husband and I are suckers for good Southern food, and Chris and his team hit the mark with pin-point accuracy. We highly recommend reaching out to them for a tasting, we know their food will blow you away. The Pecan Encrusted Chicken and Pork BBQ were absolute HITS at our wedding. Our guests also loved the mashed potato bar, where they could find all of their favorite toppings like cheese, bacon, sour cream and many more to create their perfect plate of potatoes. The also provided a bar tender which saved us time, and headaches. Do yourself (and your guests) a favor and reach out to Old North State, you won't regret it!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Kelsey and Chris -
    You all were so very wonderful to work with in every sense of the word. We are thrilled that you and your guests loved the food and we were honored to have been chosen to cater your day! We had a blast. You are welcome to stop in and join us for any tastings we have any time you are in town :-) stay in touch and we wish you a life full of blessings and happiness!!
    - Jacque, Chris, and the ONS Team
  • T
    Taylor K. Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing catering for our big day!

    After talking to a ton of caterers in the area, we finally decided on Old North State and we are SO glad we did! Chris and Jacque were wonderful throughout the whole process. Putting together our menu was so fun and seeing it all come to life at the tasting was awesome. Our wedding day was HOT and I was a bit overheated and without an appetite, but I forced myself to eat because, y'all... the good is SO GOOD. Possibly even more important that that- they are plain and simply good people. We couldn't be more happy with our decision to hire them!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Taylor -
    Thank you so much for the amazing review. It definitely touched our hearts here at ONS. We were so glad to be a part of your day and are ecstatic that the food was up to everyone's expectations! Thank you for being so awesome to work with every step of the way and we wish you both all the happiness in the world :-)
  • M
    Marisa S. Married on 04/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    ONS is amazing!

    Chris and Jacque were amazing to work with! From day one they both ensured we ended up with the perfect food for our big day. Their food is out of this world and they were super professional throughout our planning process. They made sure to keep in contact in case we had changes and those changes were so easy as they worked with us along the way. I've had multipole people rant and rave about the food at our wedding, I'll be referring ONS to anyone I know!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Marisa and Alex - Reading this review has made our week! You all were so much fun to work with from the very beginning and we are so happy you chose us to be a part of your big day. Nothing makes us happier than hearing how much the food was loved by you all and your guests. Cheers to a life full of happiness for the two of you! Thanks again for choosing Old North State!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 04/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The reason our wedding will be talked about in 10 years...

    We could not have asked for a better caterer at our wedding. We got married in June and I kid you not, we had 2 different people mention the food at our wedding just last week. It’s definitely something to talk about! Delicious and the service is impeccable. We cannot speak higher about Chris and his team. Quick to respond to questions and creative with our requests. Thank you for making our evening even more memorable! It was one of our best decisions!!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Ashley -
    Reviews like this make us so happy! We were so honored to be chosen to be a part of your day. It was an absolutely beautiful and perfect day and we are glad everyone enjoyed the food so much. We sure enjoyed making it and playing our part in making your day even more special! Best wishes to you both :-)
  • K
    Kennedy Married on 09/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food was AMAZING! I wish I could have another wedding day just so I can get some more of the honey and pecan encrusted chicken!! Truely to die for! Chris and his team were very accommodating and worked well with what we were looking for! Highly recommend!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Kennedy - we absolutely loved working with you all and had so much fun at your reception. It was definitely a wonderful evening and I am so glad we were able to play a part in your big day :-)
  • R
    Rey C. Married on 06/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding I ever tasted, not a crumb was left. Several of my guest said that is was the best wedding food they ever had!

    North State made an excellent 1st impression. Rolled out the red carpet at the tasting. Was very helpful in helping us choose what the best food for our venue was!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Rey -
    Thank you so much for the kind words! You all were a pleasure to work with from start to finish! We hope the couple is doing well and enjoying being newlyweds!!
  • L
    Lorraine Married on 11/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    ONS was an exceptional experience. Chris and Jill took the "worry" out of everything for the meal at my daughter's reception. They were so helpful providing tips and suggestions during the planning stages. Their team at the event were efficient, helpful and professional! All of our guests were complimenting the catering service when they spoke with me. The food was amazing! Loved the "cooker" outside for the whole hog southern "pig pickin' atmosphere. Definitely recommend ONS for "all" occasions ! They treat you like family:) Thank you Chris and Jill

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Lorraine. It was our pleasure! Love working with great people!
  • B
    Belynda Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jill made every effort to make certain we were happy with the menu choices for our daughter's wedding reception. The food presentation during cocktail hour as well as dinner was simply beautiful. Our guests were blown away by the delicious meal provided by ONS. We are extremely thankful for the part Jill and her team played in making this "once in a lifetime"event absolutely perfect.

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much! It was our pleasure working with you Belynda! You are a special lady... with a very special daughter.
  • A
    Abigail Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I love Old North State catering. They did a wonderful job catering my wedding & it couldn't have been more perfect! The food was excellent and the service was great. Chef Leo does an amazing job along with Chris and his wonderful staff. I couldn't be more pleased with everything!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Abigail! It was our great pleasure!
  • M
    Mike/Beth/Megan Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have to honestly say that ons food was absoulutly delicious. The chef was outstanding from the very beginning and had a fabulous taste testing. At the very beginning I knew we would go with them.. Everything seemed to fall in place from the beginning to end. The only complaint we had was the fact we didn’t have enough coffee..but that was nobody’s fault but my own.. Everyone enjoyed the wedding so much they stayed till the very end .. so extra coffee would have been nice..Jill did a great job keeping me the MOB calm up until the very end of the wedding. She is Awesome
    Ons is no.1 in my books

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much! We so enjoyed working with you. The pleasure was all ours!
  • Q
    Quinn Married on 09/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect. Jill and Chris wowed us from the get-go at our tasting. We had sat with two other caterers prior, and just knew with ONS that it would be a warmer and more personal experience. Their dishes are thoughtfully put together, and they had great suggestions based on the vision we had for our wedding. Jill was super helpful throughout the planning process, helping me coordinate rentals and my day-of timeline. When it came to our wedding day, Jill helped everything to go smoothly, allowing us to just sit back and enjoy every minute of our day/night. ONS arrived super early to set up, we got tons of compliments on the food, and leftovers were put in containers for us to take home. The servers walked across the venue during cocktail hour to bring us appetizers while we finished taking photos. We made sure to find time to sit down and eat full plates at our reception -- we weren't going to miss any of that food!! Everything was just as we'd hoped. Thank you!! -- Quinn & Troy

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you Quinn and Troy! We enjoyed every minute working with you. It was a our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you around the Quay!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chris and Jill were fantastic and easy to work with from Old North State to provide catering for our wedding reception. The food they provided was delicious and all our guests were impressed! They were very accommodating to customize our menu. They were prompt and worked well with our venue coordinator and owners to present a lovely setup and had professional staff on site to serve our guests. I would highly recommend using ONS for any event. You will not be disappointed!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much, Stephanie! It was a pleasure working with you as well. A beautiful bride and reception!
  • C
    Chelsy Married on 09/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Old North State is the best!! The food was wonderful and they were beyond accommodating!! Our guests have continue to rave about how the delicious the appetizers were at cocktail hour and beyond impressed by the buffet dinner, especially the pecan crusted fried chicken! Thanks guys for making our day so special!! :)

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much, Chelsy! It was our pleasure and honor to be a part of this beautiful day!
  • A
    Angela L. Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Reception

    It was a delight working with Chris and his team as they catered our daughter's wedding reception. The food was delicious and they were very easy to work with.
  • K
    Kerry Married on 06/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    ONS was so flexible and helpful during the planning process of our reception! The food was excellent and we cannot recommend them enough! So many of our friends told us it was "the best wedding food" they had ever had and we agree! Chris, the owner, even walked me into the reception with an umbrella because it was pouring down rain. That is what you call service! Jill, who did our correspondence and planning was so kind and helpful to work with!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Kerry. It was a beautiful wedding and our great pleasure to be a part of your big day! It was a pleasure working with you.
  • B
    Brianna Married on 05/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Chris & Jill were awesome to work with. I had a big wedding and they had no problem with working everything I wanted and needed in. I do not know where to start about the food, it literally was finger licking good. I love the fact that the food was cooked ok site. If you are looking for a caterer then look no further this company is the best at what they do.

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    It was our pleasure! What a beautiful bride and an absolutely lovely event start to finish. God bless and thank you for trusting us with your big day!
  • M
    Megan Married on 03/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food was very delicious! The chicken & salmon were very moist, and the Mac & cheese was awesome, & on point! Thank so very much for working with us!
  • T
    Trish Married on 02/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Old North State catered my son's wedding and everything was terrific! We already knew their food is great from the taste testing we did with them. And they did not disappoint on the wedding day! We had the coldest day in Feb for an outdoor, tent reception on our farm and they kept bringing out piping hot food from their mobile kitchen until all the guests were full. Meatballs, tomato soup with grilled cheese, pecan crusted chicken, pork, grilled vegetables and mac and cheese all steaming hot and delicious. I overheard many of the guests comment on how tasty everything was. And there was no shortage of any of the dishes - no one left the reception hungry! Great food and enough of it was a high priority for our kids on their wedding day and ONS delivered. Having the kitchen onsite is a huge advantage for selecting Old North State. Then add their amazing staff - from Chris the owner, to Jill the manager, to the kitchen and wait staff - everyone is professional, accommodating and great to work with. No request is a bother, they always have smiles on their faces and they all work very hard. And we hired bartending staff through ONS as well who were real troupers in the freezing weather. Again, total professionals who served our guests with smiles - parkas, toboggans and all! We can not say enough about how pleased we were to have selected Old North State as our caterers and would recommend them in a heartbeat!
  • L
    Lori Married on 10/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This establishment has the BEST FOOD and are a real family oriented group that really listens to what your likes and dislikes are so that they are able to provide the very best to meet a variety of tastes and yet be realistically priced. In addition, their preparations, attention to details and extremely kind and professional manner was top shelf!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Lori! A beautiful wedding....a beautiful bride!
  • User2471660 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Had a tasting with ONS and absolutely loved all of the food. The staff is made up of some wonderful people who are not all about the "bottom line" and want to help you enjoy your day AND the food!

    Old North State Catering's reply:

    Thank you so much! We're so glad you enjoyed it!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message