Ohana Photographers Reviews

59 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for Ohana Photographers

Recommended by 99%

59
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

6 User photos

Ohana Photographers 1
Ohana Photographers 2
Ohana Photographers 3
Ohana Photographers 4
Ohana Photographers 5
Ohana Photographers 6
Sort by:
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David at Ohana was a pleasure to work with. Affordable cost, quality photos, worked with our location choices and even worked with difficult weather. I would recommend Ohana to all of my friends & family!

    Ohana Photographers 7
    Ohana Photographers 8
    Ohana Photographers 9
    Ohana Photographers 10
    Ohana Photographers 11
    Ohana Photographers 12
  • User2621245 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ohana took many incredible photos at our wedding that are fun and spontaneous. We want to hang so many of them on our walls that we regret not having more wall space!

  • R

    Rachelle · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you haven't booked them yet, BOOK THEM NOW.

    We love these guys. We first saw their work when a friend of ours got engaged and had them as their photographers. We weren't even engaged yet, but we followed their blog and knew when a special ocassion comes, we would want them to document that event. Their photos were magazine quality, yet so real, and it was amazing to see how much of an eye for photos they have. We loved their work so much that we had to book them before we booked our venue. That's how good they are.

    When it came to the engagement and wedding shoots, you can tell this couple are doing photography for love, not for money. Our two hour engagement session ended up being all day, as they shot and shot pictures and (camera lovers as we are) me and my now husband loved every photo they took. They can capture emotions like no other, and can tailor your pictures as you like them. For us, we wanted our photographs to reflect our personalities (enter lightsabers) and they sure turned out awesome! Our wedding at Bali Hai was captured so amazingly, and again they took extra time (didn't have to) to take pictures of us even after the wedding.

    We are so happy with how our photos turned out, and we are so lucky to have Ohana document our special day! Just think of it this way, you really only want to get married this one time, and you would want to have absolutely beautiful photos to remember your special day by. If you book Ohana, not only will you not be disappointed, you would be extremely happy you did.

  • M

    Michael · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reading the rating categories, I hesitated to give all 5 stars only because I didn't want to seem contrived. But the truth is that Ohana was a wonderful choice. David and Kim were not only professional, but real people with whom we shared a special period in our lives. We cannot thank them enough.

  • J

    J.G. · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ohana came highly recommended from several of my wife's coworkers who had used them in the past. Ohana was the first vender we interviewed, and we knew as soon as we left the meeting, that we had found our photographer! It was a great feeling to be able to cross an item off our long checklist. David and Kim were very professional, responsive, timely, their work product outstanding, pricing competitive, and most of all they were a blast to work with! From the onset of our engagement session, David and Kim made us feel very comfortable and relaxed doing something that we usually find uncomfortable. They were fun, energetic and had a keen eye to incorporate normally overlooked aspects of our selected photo shoot setting to create an incredibly diverse album that everyone loved, especially my wife and myself. By the time the wedding came, we knew we were in good hands (and eyes) with David and Kim. We barely noticed David and Kim (in a good way) during ceremony and reception, yet they captured everything including some of the most amazing moments from incredible angles that were absolutely STUNNING! David and Kim, "Ohana" were everything we could have hoped for in a wedding photographer and we would recommend them to anyone looking for the complete package in a wedding photographer. We are grateful to have selected and worked with Ohana and would not think twice about doing it again. Thank you Ohana.

  • H

    Honey · Married on 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is so much to say about Ohana Photographers. They are very flexible, outgoing, funny, responsive, punctual and creative. They have this ability to make everyone comfortable and funny on and off camera. Our pictures came out really awesome and memorable for me and my hubby. If you want your wedding day to be fun, I highly recommend Ohana Photographers.

  • J

    JoAnn · Married on 11/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Who would have thought one photographer could be that much better than another. Just point and shoot...right?
    Wrong! Ohana proved us way wrong. Choose Ohana, but be ready to go beyond the usual, the mundane.... be ready to take your photo session to the edge! Ohana will make you look like you are models on a photo shoot. You'll have wedding pictures that could be in a magazine. They do not settle for ordinary and neither should you. We love love love Ohana, not only because they are friendly, creative, and fun, but at the end of the day, they feel like family! Go with the best--OHANA!

  • C

    Carmen · Married on 11/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Kim were the first people my husband and I booked after we saw one picture that they had taken at my friend's wedding (yes they are that good!). It was the BEST decision we made. They are super nice and creative. My husband and I get anxious easily when we take pictures but they made it fun with their easy going personality. Everyone that saw our pictures were blown away on how AMAZING they turned out. We LOVE them and we definitely plan on calling them again for future shoots!

  • J

    Julia · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew we wanted to go with Ohana photographers after meeting with Kim and David. They are so warm and personable that it's hard not to like them right off the bat. They responded quickly to emails and our first experience working with them on our engagement shoot was phenomenal! David had gone early to scope out good places to shoot and they were able to direct us well. My husband and I loved feeling like models for the day and the pictures turned out wonderful!
    On our wedding day David and Kim had my whole wedding party laughing and having a good time. They worked well with everyone and made us feel great about how our wedding turned out. I would definitely recommend Ohana Photographers to anybody getting married! In fact they will be doing a friend's wedding this June and I look forward to seeing them there!

  • P

    Patrick · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Kim of Ohana Photography were such a pleasure to have at our wedding. If you are a couple that is looking to have fun and unique photos, then you have to definitely check them out. In addition to being great photographers, they are also such great people! We really enjoyed working with them and we would definitely recommend them to anyone and everyone!!!

  • Amy

    Amy · Married on 09/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ohana Photography made saving for our wedding worth every penny. (:
    David and Kim are fun, professional, creative, talented, just full out totally AMAZING! Their work speaks for itself!
    This was the hardest review to write because I wasn't sure how I would be able to convey how much we loved our engagement and wedding photos.
    We are sooooooooo happy!
    I would have every single photo printed and hanging on our walls at home if possible lol!
    Through their photography they captured our personalities and the love we share for each other. David and Kim made us feel comfortable and we had so much fun with it. Our photos are crazy awesome!
    It was my dream as a girl not to have the princess poofy dress but beautiful wedding photos. As young as I can remember I always had a camera in my hand, so having the photos they created of my wedding day was more than I could have ever wished for.
    David and Kim thank you both for capturing a day we will always remember.
    We love you guys! (:

  • J

    Jason · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are no richer colors or moments realistically captured in any other wedding photo's I have EVER seen than with Ohana. They are in every aspect of every memorable action- YET, you never feel it. Their prescence is completely oraganic within the wedding- but not a single shot is missed! Now that we've gotten their 'skillz' and talent mentioned, we can't end without mentioning how ABSOULTELY AMAZING THEY ARE AS HUMAN BEINGS (or maybe they are reptiles from another planet with wicked eyes for the still artistry of life...), you will be kept at ease even if the day is falling apart around you (trust me- I know!) because of their soothing aura's- it almost feels like they have been your friends for many years. If it wasn't such a hassle the first time, I would get marrired every year, just so that they could come take more pictures of me and hang out! You will not find a better photographer on this planet.

  • E

    Eunice · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have been blessed to met one of the most NICEST, TALENTED and GIFTED people in our lives. They have made of the most imported events in our lives memorable. They have been able to work around our hectic schedules of work, kids school hours and activity schedules. They've made the process of planning our wedding and well as the wedding day so easy for us. They were able to bring to life the ideas of pictures I've wanted for our wedding day even though I was having trouble describing what I wanted. When we saw some of the pictures they've created for us, I literally cried. I don't consider myself pretty much less beautiful, but I have to say they made me look gorgeous. Needless to say, they are one of the best things that has happened to us!!

  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 03/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh man, I don't even know how to begin writing a review for Ohana Photographers! From the beginning my husband and I knew that our photography was the most important aspect of our wedding and we agonized over who we should hire to shoot our big day. It took approximately 2.5 seconds of looking at Ohana's amazing gallery to know we wanted to meet with them and just a few short minutes into our client meeting we knew they were perfect for us. We were a little hesitant to book without David for our wedding but that was before we knew how awesome April and Kim are!

    We went with their complete package, an engagement session with album, wedding day coverage with a couple extra hours and album and a day after session. From the beginning, they went above and beyond to make our photos the best they could be, including being open to all our crazy ideas and suggesting even better ones. They were in constant contact and helped us pick out props, suggesting new ones when they saw links we'd like. They even brought extra props for our engagement session, taking the time to get to know us so that everything would reflect us both individually and together. After looking at our engagement album, several people have remarked that it somehow reflects us perfectly.

    Which brings us to their albums. We've only received our engagement album thus far but it is absolutely breathtaking. The photos really pop on the smooth, high quality paper and the finish on the cover feels lovely to the touch. They laid the images out perfectly and we're really happy we added some extra pages. We can't wait to order our wedding album next and we'd love to order one of their gorgeous canvases if we could find room in our budget.

    In addition to their amazing talent, David, Kim, April (and Nely!) have incredible creativity and could always see the potential in a shot that others might have overlooked. They were both fun and professional, a rare combination, and we trusted them completely with out photographic memories. They never made things awkward or weird when we were posing, the poses never felt stiff or forced and we laughed our way through most of them. We would recommend them to anyone and everyone and hope that everyone's experience with them is as wonderful as ours was.

  • Catherine

    Catherine · Married on 11/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED working w/Ohana Photographers! Like, LOVED-Loved. Why? This is why:

    Quality of Service: Excellent. You can preview their work on their website and more (books, canvases, etc) during the client meeting, and honestly, what you see is what you get. You have to like their style in order to be happy. Don't book them only to ask for something different on your wedding day, because not that they can't do it, but because that ain't cool. Personally I loved their style of work which is exactly why I wanted to go with them. And in the end I loved nearly every picture that they took. Can you imagine how difficult it would be for me to pick pictures for an album? OMG, they would end up hating me.

    Responsiveness: A++. David and Kim get back to my emails, like, 2 seconds after I sent them. How awesome is that? It's like having a phone conversation without using up your minutes. Plus, I can easily converse w/them this way during work, at work, without my boss knowing, but yet she's right there sitting directly in front of me! Okay!

    Professionalism: Yes. This family team is probably one of the coolest photographers you'll ever work with. They're easy-going, easy to talk to, make you feel so comfortable like you've known each other for years, and they still capture amazing work in the process. Not like if you're asking you're friend to take pictures and are goofing off at the same time, and they don't come out w/anything good because they were too busy joking around w/you. They're professional when they have to be and are fun when they don't have to be. Every single one of them are talented, and hilarious! So much fun working with them!

    Value for Cost: Of course. They were flexible w/our budget and came up w/a solution w/what we were looking for. Their output was so awesome, now that the wedding is over, we don't mind spending more on their products because it's really THAT good and we feel that they deserve it.

    Flexibility: Yes, absolutely yes. As all weddings do, things didn't go as planned or on schedule, but David, Kim, and April had no problem adjusting. Problems or missteps happened here and there (like my stupid false eyelashes coming off during pictures, argh) and they were very understanding when some things took longer than others.

    All in all it was a wonderful experience working with them and we do plan on working w/them again in the future for other events, because that's how talented they are, how much we love them, and how much we think they're worth it. :)

  • K

    Wilbur · Married on 11/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If a picture is worth a thousand words, than Ohana photography is worth a billion - okay, a trillion!!! They are fun, edgy, and artful group to work with and did a wonderful job capturing all parts of our wedding. Definitely, my wife and I will use them again (and again) for future memories/moments.

  • C

    tiffany · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Kim are two very creative photographers. They can make magic with their images. They are true artists! It was a pleasure working with them. They work hard and are flexible to accommodate your creative style. David and Kim are such fun loving people. We want to use them again and again to photograph our family. Ohana Photographers are the best and we would not use any other photographer to capture our most precious moments.

  • N

    Carol · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OHANA was the best decision we made!!!

    I had very high expectations for my engagement and wedding pictures. I knew what I wanted and was not going to settle for anything less. That being said... we booked David and Kim before we even had a venue. We knew that they were perfect for us and we were right.

    Not only are they fabulous photographers, they are wonderful people who have endless ideas (and kept us laughing the entire time). They were able to catch sweet moments as well as our goofy ones. They captured us!

    I promise that you will be thrilled with the quality and the care they put into their work. David and Kim are awesome people who take even more awesome pictures!!

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 09/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not even begin to say nice enough things about Ohana! While we only used them for our engagement photos, we were so happy with every aspect of our experience. If we were getting married on the west coast, there would be no question who our photographers would have been.

    We met David and Kim in downtown San Diego and they immediately made us feel at ease (which was definitely a feat considering I was very nervous about being photographed). They guided us through the whole shoot and the three hours flew by! They were both so creative and even came with some additional props to put into the photos that were specific to the little bios I sent to them earlier that day. We had so much fun!

    We got our cd of pictures really quickly and they were AMAZING! There were so many to choose from and they were more unique than any other engagement photos I have ever seen. We have gotten so many compliments on our photos and we couldn't have asked for them to turn out any better.

    The only negative thing that I could say about Ohana is that it made our search for a photographer for our ceremony and reception on the east coast impossible - no one can compare! If you have any doubt - trust me, you will not be disappointed with Ohana!

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David, Kim and April are three of the most creative, artistic, talented Photographers on the planet! We happened upon their site by a huge stroke of luck, and we have been blown away by every aspect of Ohana Photographers! They are incredibly personable and very professional. They were able to catch so many moments during our wedding that we would have missed without ever drawing attention to themselves or taking away from what was happening. They have a knack for being in the right place at the right time. The pictures that we received are beyond anything that we ever could have expected. They took the time to get to know us as a couple an were able to catch many moments that were significant to us that otherwise would have been overlooked. Words don't do justice to the beautiful work that they produce. If you haven't yet, be sure to drop by their site and check out the pictures!

  • M

    Man · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When you consider the different vendors you need for your wedding, you may or may not realize that your photographer(s) are one of the most important - if not THE most important of them all. Days, weeks, and YEARS after your big day, people may not remember what you wore, how the food tasted, where you were married, etc - a good photographer can remind them of these things.

    However, a GREAT photographer will go above and beyond this, and allow not only you to RELIVE these moments, they will allow those who weren't even there to live them with you. Old friends & relatives who couldn't make it, new friends who were never there... even your children and your descendants down the line. A GREAT photographer will make it possible because they were able to catch the "moments" - much more than the simple photos your uncle could have taken. Ohana Photographers will literally capture time for you.

    With Ohana Photographers, you not only get one photographer - you not only get a team of photographers - you get a FAMILY of photographers. That's what "Ohana" means. That's what Ohana is. They are not the GREAT photographers that everyone wants, as I mentioned above... they are PHENOMENAL photographers that everyone NEEDS.

    When I say that they know what they're doing, it doesn't mean they know about cameras, or equipment, or lighting, or angles... because they do - but that's elementary for them. That's not why you want them - you can pay good money for that many places. What they "know" is people. What they "know" is family. What they "know" is how to capture you, your friends, your family, and all the things you're all about on your big day. They know how to capture all the precious moments of your wedding others would miss.

    They will make every effort to get to know you. They will ask you about yourself and even send you a little survey to fill out. DO IT. This is part of the process - this is how they get ideas and inspiration to shoot you. They will put you at ease and they will make sure you are comfortable. They will work with you and do almost anything you want to do - and they'll make you look good doing it.

    I'm not going to say much about their quality - if you're here reading about them, then you've likely seen their work and know what you're getting. If you haven't, get over to their blog and take a look. Oh, and I suggest having a seat and grabbing some tape. The seat, because you're going to be there for awhile looking at all the masterpieces - think about it... you don't run in and out of a museum. The tape is to put over your mouth - it'll serve double duty: 1) keep you from blurting out expletives of amazement (I'm serious, I STILL do this) and 2) it will help keep your chin off the floor because your jaws are going to drop. Want to know what you're going to get, go take a look - I don't need to convince you.

    They are professional, but they are laid back. They know how to have fun, and they do - make sure you have fun, too. THAT is important because no one wants those stone cold emotionless statue portraits. No one wants to see photos of people who don't want to be photographed because they're grumpy or dead serious. If you do, please look elsewhere. That's not what you're getting with Ohana. If you want Ohana, and they choose to work with you (trust me, it's a privilege), then you're going to have amazing photos that make people smile or laugh. The subjects are only part of that - the photographers who know how to have fun know how to find it and capture it. That's what you get from Ohana.

    I could go on and on, but I won't. I think you get the picture (<-- pun intended) from what I've said so far. We not only got to work with them on our wedding day, but the full day after - I cannot tell you how amazing they were. Beyond being professionals, they are caring, sincere, patient, and REAL people. As a testament to this, I can tell you that multiple guests from my wedding told us for months after our wedding how much they loved our photographers. When I said "yeah, isn't their work amazing?", they clarified that it wasn't just their photos they were talking about, but them as people. It was evident to everyone at the wedding - and they remembered it. So much so that within a year two of our guests chose them for their own wedding. So we got to see and spend time with them again. All the things I said above? They became more solidified once I was on the sidelines and got to watch more closely as Ohana worked and interacted with people, and they all fell in love with them, again.

    Should you consider Ohana Photographers for your wedding? Sure, if you care about your wedding day. Seriously - I mean that. If you actually want to get married - if you're actually excited about it & if you want everyone to remember it... if you consider it one of the most important days of your life, then Yes - you need them there.

  • S

    stacey · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    No recommendation can do justice to the work done by David + Kim. They are true professionals but most importantly artists. I typically cannot stand to have my photo taken but Dave + Kim were able to capture the magical moments of our wedding while at the same time making me + Jeff look absolutely fabulous. They both always went above and beyond and couldn't have given more of their hearts, souls and talents to us. Dave + Kim are such sweet people and their personality and love of what they do truly comes out in their work. In addition to being supremely fantastic photographers they are just simply good, amazing people. Thank you thank you for being part of our special day and capturing it in your amazing way. I truly wish I could get married again just to be able to work with David + Kim again.

  • W

    Ally · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We enjoyed working with Ohana Photographers as our engagement and wedding photographers. They are extremely talented, artistic, organized, genuinely sweet, and a blast to work with. We feel blessed to have found them during our intense search for "the perfect one" and whole-heartedly recommend their talents to anyone who is looking for wonderful photographs to cherish for the rest of their lives! :)

  • C

    Christina · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful work, very unique, always professional.

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 05/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ohana Photographers are the best! From our first meeting with them. They made me and my husband feel relaxed and comfortable.
    Their pictures are amazing. We did our engagement shoot with Ohana and the pictures were beautiful!
    Our wedding photos were truly magazine worthy. They captured the true beauty and fun of the day!
    What I love most about Ohana, is they really capture the personalities of the couple. If you look through their pictures you'll see no two photo shoots are the same. They take pictures from new and fun perspectives that really make the event come alive.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review