Oconomowoc Community Center Reviews

13 | Oconomowoc, WI
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Oconomowoc Community Center

Recommended by 82% of couples

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.0

Awards

13
Order by:
  • T

    Tom · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding August 31, 2019

    The venue was outstanding. Paige and her team were extremely helpful in waiting my wife and I through the process. Having a wedding couple who were both located out-of-state (military), Paige worked tirelessly to make sure everything was coordinated with dining room layouts, the outside wedding organization as well as working with the other caterers (food and bar).
    I would strongly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a beautiful scenic location for their "perfect wedding".

    Sent on 09/09/2019
  • Amie

    Amie · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Dream Wedding

    I always wanted a simple, but beautiful, wedding with a stunning view of natural beauty. And Paige Brunclik and this venue helped me execute that vision perfectly. From the gorgeous setting on the shores of Lac Labelle to the amazing natural lighting for the reception area from the windows overlooking the lake, my husband and I have no regrets whatsoever in selecting this as our venue. EXTREMELY fair price and the staff was so friendly and easy to work with! You are required to use Zilli for alcohol service, but we loved their catering so much (YES, they do free tastings for inquisitive couples considering them!) that we used them for catering and alcohol. Long story short, our wedding day was perfect, including a beautiful, sunny day! My husband and I did go look at the venue on an overcast day, and the natural light was still great. For a venue that you can truly mold to create your vision of your perfect wedding, look no farther. HIGHLY recommend the Oconomowoc Community Center.

    Sent on 03/31/2019
  • Mary

    Mary · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oconomowoc Community Center and its staff were amazing both during the planning process and throughout our big day. They were very flexible and accommodating. We highly recommend them to anybody who is thinking of having a gorgeous ceremony/reception in the Oconomowoc area for their wedding! :)

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • S

    Sue · event on: 06/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was perfect for our graduation. Everyone loved it and we want to return for our next event. Paige was the person who fit us for the event and she was very helpful. Would love to work with her again.

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • J

    Jeff · Married on 06/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very helpful and attentive. The place was very clean and everything was perfect.

    Sent on 07/03/2014
  • F

    Freida · event on: 06/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oconomowoc Community Center is a beautiful venue, and the staff is extremely accommodating and helpful. I was very satisfied, and would use it again for other events.

    Sent on 08/06/2014
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Paige at the community center was a wonderful experience. She was always willing to help and was quick to respond to questions/emails.

    Sent on 12/10/2017
  • D

    Dianne · event on: 05/21/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Everything provided by the staff was professional and accommodating. No complaints whatsoever!

    Sent on 07/03/2014
  • User5040576 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding venue was really nice! Beautiful view of Lac La Belle Lake! My husband and I really enjoyed the Community Center for our Wedding Reception! I would recommend for couples that want a beautiful view on a lake without a huge price tag!

    Sent on 06/20/2016
  • M

    Maren · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Oconomowoc Community Center was a wonderful location for our wedding and Paige was great to work with. She was very personable and typically responded to emails within a day. We live nearby and wanted a reception venue that wasn’t the standard hotel or golf course that most people do, and this fit our needs exactly. We loved the large windows, high ceilings, and view of the lake. Unfortunately, there were a couple things that prevent us from giving this venue a prefect rating. One was that we had to pay by the hour (including set-up and take-down) and had to hire someone to put up our reception decorations because we didn’t have access to the space until 2 hours before our reception started. Luckily, we could drop off our decorations there the day before, which was awesome. Secondly, even though we could use our choice caterer for food, we had to use Zilli Hospitality Group for our beverages. They are very expensive with few options and we did encounter some problems with them that night, but that wasn’t Paige or the OCC’s fault. Despite these things, this was a great venue for a unique reception. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 01/25/2018
  • User5361975 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    The Community Center has a beautiful scenery for an outdoor ceremony, but what discouraged me to not having my ceremony/ reception here was the PUBLIC beach next to it that could be used during my ceremony that I prefer to be an intimate and special time with family and friends but the whole city could see the wedding too.

    I also was not thrilled with the fact that you had to pay by the hour. This idea made me want to rush my wedding if I had it there. Less time to prepare and tear down for a relaxing day.

    The parking was also spread out and confusing for guests

    Sent on 11/04/2015

    Oconomowoc Community Center's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback after you toured the Oconomowoc Community Center. We are a little confused that you gave us a 2 star rating after simply visiting our venue. Those who have actually held their wedding ceremonies and receptions here have offered quite a different picture of their experience here and as well as on our listing at The Knot. We hope that others will consider a true guest experience.
  • J

    John Knoernschild · Married on 10/28/2018

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    A terrible experience

    The venue is beautiful. And that's about it. The staff is terrible. The person that coordinates the venue with you is unresponsive, only willing to meet you during her "working hours" of 8-5pm. Which just so happens to be my working hours. Wasn't there when I checked out the venue. She wasn't even there for my rehearsal. Never told us we'd have to purchase extra rooms for the wedding party to get dressed in before the ceremony. Found that out the day before at rehearsal. My wedding planner negotiated a room for us and was told it would be $250. I was later told by the same person it was $100 for the room. So much for honesty.

    They didn't even spell my last name right on the sign pointing our guests upstairs. I had guests tell me they were laughing at that. NOT FUNNY for the bride and groom. Just embarrassing.

    I called the venue coordinater about the issues after the ceremony and she blamed it all on me. Completely unprofessional and lacking any integrity.

    Overall a terrible experience and would never recommend this venue to anyone.

    Go somewhere else if you don't want your special day full of even more stress you don't need and wouldn't have at a venue run by people even somewhat competent.

    Sent on 11/24/2018
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 07/30/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This was an awful experience! We booked the venue a year in advance, they said we couldn't put a deposit, we had to pay the full amount up front. We did that. Then a family emergency came up and we needed to cancel the wedding to save money so we gave up our dream and went to the courthouse instead. I told them what was going on and asked if I found someone to take over the weekend if we could get some of the money back, they said absolutely not even though their policy said we would get half back. They straight up lied about their policy and ignored my emails so that they wouldn't have to deal with me. While the place was nice looking, it isn't worth the hassle. We talked to a woman named Paige and she was awful!!

    Sent on 08/20/2016

    Oconomowoc Community Center's reply:

    Jamie,
    We are very sorry you are upset. However, I am very clear during the tour and booking process about how our policy works. You are given a policy before you book and you are asked several times during the booking process if you had any questions on our policy. You signed a rental contract saying that you understand and agree to our policy. You are right, we do not do a deposit, our policy asks for payment up front. However, I gave you an additional option to make a partial payment to allow you to book the date and have more flexibility with your financial planning for your wedding day. I am very sorry that unforeseen circumstances came up, but you did sign an contract with us and agree to our policy that if you had to cancel, you would be refunded half of your payment. Fortunately, you in fact did get money back. And it was a refund of half a partial payment, so you were not out half of what the full payment would have been if we had not agreed to work with you and let you do a partial payment.
    Again, I am sorry you do not agree with our policy.
    Regards,
    Paige