Obscura Photoworks Reviews

21 | Savannah, GA
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Obscura Photoworks

Recommended by 100%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 09/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Investment

    Russell and his assistant are laid back and professional. The photos turned out absolutely amazing and were precisely what we wanted. As promised, he does minimal post-processing so the end result are lovely photographs that capture the beauty and joy our wedding day. We couldn't be happier.

    Sent on 11/20/2018
  • S

    Scott · Married on 10/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding experience! Russ was a pleasure to work with and his photos turned out better than we could have imagined. Incredibly inventive picture ideas and was so easy to work with, we felt at ease as soon as we met him. Can't recommend him enough.

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All we can say is wow! From the pictures Russ took to our conversations with him about the wedding to his assistant Maddy to pretty much everything, he was a joy to work with and produced some great photos for both our wedding and for our engagement photos. He initially worked with us on engagement photos - the session was pretty awesome as he walked us all across historic downtown looking for cool and unique shots to get (along with your standard photo fare). He's great at capturing the emotions of the couple and the time the photo is taken - it's weird to write, but just seeing the samples of our photos from the engagement shoot was enough to know we made the right choice. For the wedding, Russ and Maddy started the day going from the bride and bridesmaids to the groom and groomsmen to take photos of each group in the moment. They were great about both interacting with each group as well as staying out of the way when they needed to, getting great photos along the way. From there, we did our first look prior to the wedding - again amazing photos! They rode with us from Tybee to our wedding venue and even though they were busy taking photos, they got along with the group so well they could have easily just been there for the wedding as well!

    Their photos of the ceremony were amazing (and although our fault, they fought some pretty tough lighting scenarios to get those photos) and followed up with great photos throughout the night!

    Again, we could go on and on, but as we wrote in the beginning, all we can say is wow!!!

    Sent on 10/15/2016
  • User6693155 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The biggest thank you to Russ at Obscura for working with us on our destination wedding in Hawaii. We asked Russ to help us capture the moments from our day. He did much more than that, he captured several days of family, friends and much laughter. I am so grateful to have had such a wonderful photographer who is wildly talented to be there for our wedding.

    I cannot speak highly enough of the genuine talent Russ has for working in the moment. After days of rain, we were so fortunate with a stunning sunset in which he took full advantage of. He was able to think and replan on the spot depending on lighting and other timing constraints. Russ was able to blend our ideas and simple capturing of the moments/day/scenery/venue to help us revisit that day over and over through the images. As a bride, much of the day becomes a blur but these images paint the perfect picture of our overall wedding.

    For future brides & grooms, the best decision you will make is contacting Obscura for availabilty.

    Sent on 05/11/2016
  • L

    Lillian · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Russ and his assistant did an absolutely incredible job of capturing our destination wedding in historic downtown Savannah. You can tell that he has a degree in photography as he does many creative shots with light, shadows, and the amazing scenery that is everywhere in Savannah. He and his assistant were kind and gracious, and our friends and family are just raving over the first batch of photos that we just received from the wedding. I wholeheartedly endorse his services!

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • W

    William · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Russ was awesome. I don't know how to best explain how he made everything a pleasure. He was the perfect photographer. His pricing is perfect and the experience was wonderful.

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • B

    Breana · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Russ a 6 I would. He was amazing to work with. So happy I found him. Very competitive pricing, very helpful, very attentive. The number of guests who told me how impressed they were with him was astonishing. And the final pictures are just beautiful. He really captured the day the way I wanted. If he is available on your wedding date, do not miss the chance to work with him.

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Obscura Photoworks was incredible, and we were so lucky to have this team photograph our wedding day. Russ is great to work with -- he definitely has a vision, but takes care to incorporate your ideas, too. It was a fun, upbeat and positive crew, which made hanging out with them all day a breeze :)

    As the photos are rolling in post-wedding, every one is even more beautiful than the last. We got lots of great in-the moment and detail shots, which is what we were looking for, and the formal shots are just right. You can see pure happiness in every photo, and I know these will bring a smile to our faces for many years to come.

    Thank you, Russ!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • A

    Allison · Married on 03/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't begin to rate Russ high enough. First off, his pricing was EXTREMELY reasonable. He is very professional, and takes beautiful, artistic shots that captured every detail of our wedding perfectly. He is not in your face about pictures and does not force you to take overly posed, awkward shots. He also includes an engagement session or rehearsal dinner photos in his packages because it is important to him to get to know the couple before the day of the wedding, which I thought was really nice of him. He also is great with responding to e-mails and trying to get a feel of what kind of pictures you want, or shots that are important to you. If you are looking for a photographer, stop looking and book him immediately.

    Sent on 04/22/2015
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 02/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Russ was an absolute pleasure to work with and he worked with my budget. My wedding was on 02/21/15 and I've only seen a sneak peek of the photos so far but they are AMAZING! I can't wait to see the rest! We couldn't be happier with his services and highly recommend Obscura Photoworks. Thank you Russ for exceeding our expectations. :-)

    Sent on 03/07/2015
  • M

    monica · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Russ was a perfect choice for us. We live in Atlanta, and therefore are not familiar with any of the vendors in the Savannah area. All we could do was review portfolios online to find someone that who's style matched what we were looking for. Russ' photos are beautiful and the composition is stunning. Russ is extremely professional and his services are very reasonably priced... honestly, he should charge more! Grab him while you can. You will be glad that you did.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • User5147460 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If a true artistic approach to your wedding photos is what you desire, Russ is the photographer to make your day complete. From start to finish Russ captured unique shots that well represented us as a couple incorporating both formal and casual expressions. I would be more than happy to speak directly to anyone seeking the very best photography Savannah has to offer-Russ.

    Sent on 06/05/2015
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Russ photographed our rehearsal dinner and wedding this month and I cannot recommend him highly enough. I think that he was one of the best decisions that we made in wedding planning and I had several members of our families and wedding party go out of their way to comment to me that they really liked our choice of photographer. From his organization and professionalism to his personable, comforting attitude and willingness to make the day what you want it to be, the wedding weekend was truly better for him being a part of it. Russ made an effort to learn who everyone was, was very efficient with formal portraits, and was amazingly good at sinking into the background to capture real moments between my family and friends. He was very quick to respond to any emails and phone calls and went above and beyond to capture every photo that we requested. On your wedding day you will spend more time with your photographer than with most of the guests. It was important to me to find someone who was a pleasure to be around and who would work to capture all of the details of the day without being obtrusive. This is exactly what we got and the photos are beautiful.

    Sent on 05/27/2014
  • K

    Kameron · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Obscura Photoworks created many, many beautiful memories of our day. From our engagement shoot to the night of our wedding, Russ and his staff were professional and reliable, and turned my vision into reality. Thanks for making our day that much more special!

    Sent on 08/12/2013
  • User3223925 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was so much fun! This made a great activity for the guests during the cocktail hour and provided a different option for those who didn't want to dance. We used this as our guestbook which I love because I don't know if I would ever open a traditional guest book. The booth itself was great! The pictures had great quality and Russ was a fantastic attendant. I loved everything about this!

    Sent on 04/28/2013
  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not describe how much fun this was! The photo album is hysterical, the staff was outstanding, and the look of the book is quality and professional. I was very happy with this purchase. It was a hit!

    Sent on 11/28/2012
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 11/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photobooth was awesome! It was one of those antique booths and everyone LOVED it! Even my 98 year old grandmother got in and made goofy faces! We are also receiving a disc of all the photos and we had guests leave a strip of pics in a photo album we provided. Everyone left really sweet personalized notes with their pictures. Between the typical guestbook and the photo album, i will definitely look at the photo album all the time!!

    Sent on 11/27/2012
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Obscura Photobooth truly made our wedding reception a night to remember. I was always interested in using a photobooth, but was disappointed in the appearance of most booths. Then I found Obscura Photobooths. The authentic booth fit in perfectly with my vintage wedding theme. Russ provided wonderful props, and even brought a scrapbook for everyone to fill with a copy of their photostrips and an accompanying message. All of my guests are still raving about the photobooth, and my husband and I get a great laugh everytime we look at the scrapbooth. Russ was so professional and a pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend this vendor.

    Sent on 04/29/2012
  • S

    russell · Married on 03/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having Obscura Photobooths at for the Savannah Stopover's Opening Night concert and the Artist's Lounge in March! All of our guests, staff and volunteers enjoyed visiting the photo booth and making a one of a kind souvenir of the event. Thanks so much Russ!

    Sent on 04/10/2012
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/01/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    These guys were on time, friendly to guests and helpful. They were easy to work with, no problems!!! And also hip and fun to be around!

    Sent on 04/16/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review