Not Just Cheesecakes Reviews

19 | Campbell, CA
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Not Just Cheesecakes

Recommended by 97%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6

1 User photo

Not Just Cheesecakes 1
Sort by:
  • Noella

    Noella · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding cake

    We were so happy to choose the connection to the Charming Kitchen, Italian Bakery, specifically, “Not Just Cheesecake”, for our wedding cake needs. Debbie Caracciolo-Smith did a superb job in creating a tasty and appealing traditional white wedding cake. We had requested alternating layers of chocolate and white cake with mocha mousse filling. She decorated the cake with waves and flowers that I had asked for, and ribbon colors to match our wedding theme. It turned out well and looked beautiful.

    Sent on 07/23/2019
    Not Just Cheesecakes 2
  • E

    Elise · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie was absolutely amazing to work with. From start to finish she immediately made my husband and I feel so comfortable. We were so excited after the cake tasting and hearing her creative ideas to see what our cake would look like on our special wedding day! Let’s just say we were beyond impressed to say the least- it was stunning! From the sugar flower detail, to the gold delicate embellishments, it was beyond anything we had ever seen- delicious as well! We had so many people come up to us after the wedding saying how gorgeous and yummy it was - truly a work of art and that’s all thanks to the amazing Debbie and her creative genius! Would highly recommend her to anyone looking for high quality taste with gorgeous personalized style. Thank you Debbie!!

    Sent on 11/25/2017
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only are the cheesecakes amazing, but service was exceptional!
    Debbie is extremely friendly and made a great impression from the start.

    She has the cutest shop where we went for the cake tasting (one of the best parts was being able to take leftovers home!). Debbie offered us use of any of her available linens and dessert stands and provided great advice on how our cake table was to be decorated.

    She was able to create the wedding cake we wanted and it looked and tasted better than we could have imagined.

    Sent on 10/30/2015
  • H

    hawley · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not Just Cheesecakes BLEW MY HUSBAND AND ME AWAY. This is coming from two people who aren't big cake eaters to begin with. Not only is the neatest person to work with, but also makes the best tasting cakes. There is a unique flavor to each and you can tell she really knows how to make the flavors come alive! The best part is her level of creativity. She creates masterpieces. You tell her what you want, or tell her to be creative, and she will not let you down.

    I highly recommend Not Just Cheesecakes for any event...baby showers, weddings, birthdays, you name it, she'll do it. And...you'll have fun getting creative with her! :)

    Sent on 11/26/2013
  • L

    Laurel · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie at Not Just Cheesecakes baked us an amazing wedding cake this past September! Debbie is a master of her craft and very easy to work with. We didn't really know what we wanted, but Debbie was able to figure out what our vision was, and she delivered a beautiful cake that was even better than we expected. She is so easy to talk to that we bounced some of our other wedding ideas off of her, and she was more than happy to help. She helped us design our guestbook table and even helped set it up at the venue! We will definitely recommend Not Just Cheesecakes to our friends and family!

    Sent on 11/04/2013
  • Kacey

    Kacey · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my experience with Not Just Cheesecakes in Campbell, California. Debbie is full of creativity and passion for what she does. She was wonderful to work with as well.... We ordered a triple chocolate for our engagement party and it was so delicious. Our guests were totally blown away by the flavor and presentation. Debbie added so many special touches and she was reasonably priced... Thanks Debbie!

    Sent on 07/06/2012
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 02/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie is a miracle for any bride who is overwhelmed, planning the perfect event and looking for a delicious way to end your evening. She has done all the cakes for our family events from my cousin's wedding twenty years ago, to my BFFs little boys birthday. When it came time to plan my wedding there was no else that I would use.

    I worked with Debbie on a very specific vision. My vision was a Belle-Epoque style wedding with Victorian style sentiment on Valentine's weekend. Instead of centerpieces of flowers I wanted cakes. And I envisioned a head table dripping in deserts and deliciousness. I wasn't concerned about matchy matchy - i just wanted beautiful and delicious. Debbie exceeded my expectations. To this day, people come up to me and my family and tell us they have never been to a more beautiful wedding. The most consistent items of mention? Our unique cake centerpieces and the head table. Debbie outdid herself. When we put the treats, cakes and goodies out for boxing - they disappeared in a flash. They were gorgeous, delicious and Debbie was such a pleasure to work with. Not only is she incredibly talented and creative, she is genuine, cares about you and your event AND she is so easy to work with. Our wedding was highly complicated with limited set up times and a movie-set vision - Debbie worked within the limitations of our event sight and created a room that was pure Hollywood beautiful - it belonged at a royal palace. We love her for how much effort and specialness she created for us. Don't waste your time with anyone else if you are trying to plan a special event. Debbie is the quintessential professional with immense talent. If you don't believe me check out the photos here: http://www.joshgruetzmacher.com/blog/san-francisco-wedding-vanessa-and-glen/ and here
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrdodgy/5443780891/in/photostream/

    Sent on 06/13/2012

    Not Just Cheesecakes's reply:

    You are such a sweetheart! Thank you so very much for such a wonderful, heartfelt review. I had so much fun working with you and your Mom!
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG, my wedding cake turned out perfectly thanks to Not Just Cheesecakes. Debbie was amazing and so fun to work with. I cannot wait to order an anniversary cake from here. The BEST desserts you can find, becuase Debbie uses only the highest quality ingredients!

    Sent on 08/03/2010
  • M

    Alice · Married on 04/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so fortunate to use Not Just Cheesecakes.
    Debbie and Traci made our dreams come true. Not only did our cake taste incredible, it looked amazing. We highly recommend them. Get them quick, they book up!

    Sent on 02/16/2009
  • I

    Ingrid · Married on 10/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie from Not Just Cheesecakes is amazing! Both my husband and I are dessert lovers, we especially know our cake! We knew we wanted not only our cake design to be special, but we wanted it to taste devine! We've all been to weddings where the cake was beautiful but tasted awful! To us, the taste, texture, flavor came first before the design. Debbie is definitely one of the most creative and innovative cake designers I've ever met, and of course her cakes are delectable! We had been to at least four cake tastings with other bakers, but Not Just Cheesecakes proved to be the best! My husband and I envisioned a. avocado green color cake with chocolate covered branches, birds, and red flowers...to match the romatic fall theme of our wedding. With her unique talent and skill Debbie created the wedding cake our dreams!

    Sent on 08/09/2008
  • Nicki

    Nicki · Married on 08/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie's cakes are truely amazing! I first saw and tried her cake at a freiends wedding. This was before I was even engaged. After tasting and seeing the amazing design, an asain temple, I said she would be doing my wedding cake one day! In Aug. 2007 she did my wedding cake! Not only was it beautiful but tasted sooooooooooo good! She is very nice and a pleasure to work with! I highly recommend her for your wedding cake or even any other holiday or function. She has done cakes for us for christmas and just did one for my baby shower. Go see Debbie @ Not Just Cheesecakes!

    Sent on 03/16/2010
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 08/12/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we used Debbie to make our wedding cake , we couldn't have been more pleased, she made the best cakes out of all the ones we tasted (and trust me we tasted a lot) she had the best attitude, was the most accommodating and creative, and she created such a masterpiece that we were super happy! not just cheesecakes is wonderful and with all that said she was also the least expensive LOVE HER! LOVE NOT JUST CHEESECAKES! AMAZING! she makes fresh cakes for the tasting let me tell you if thats not tempting nothing is!

    Sent on 03/05/2008
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 07/01/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie made us a beautiful, delicious cake for our wedding. We were sold from our first cake tasting, when everything was absolutely delicious. We were able to offer three flavors that we loved. Her prices were reasonable, especially since we did a sheet cake in the back for one of the flavors to reduce the cost (no one can tell if you have a wedding cake out that feeds 100 or 150!). She was able to perfectly execute on a design from pictures and provided helpful guidance and feedback to get us to the right design choices. She also was able to guide us on cake delivery times, protection from the heat, etc.

    We received so many comments after our wedding about how good our cake was! The biggest problem was everyone looked our cake so much that we had no leftovers, but we'll definitely be buying cakes from Debbie in the future! Also, Debbie can be hard to get a hold of, but when it came to ~2 weeks before our wedding she was in regular touch with us to make sure all details were figured out.

    Sent on 09/18/2014
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 09/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Debbie from Not Just Cheesecakes for my wedding by a friend. I am so glad I was! From the moment we met I got the best vibe from Debbie. My fiance, my mom and me had a meeting/cake tasting with Debbie and she had us at hello. I had spoken to her over the phone I asked if she did marzipan and other flavors I was curious about and she had them at the tasting. She had us try a white cake with raspberry filling with marzipan, red Velvet cake with cream cheese filling, a chocolate cake with a chocolate ganache filling and a white chiffon cake with orange zest and lemon custard. As we tasted cake we threw a few ideas back and forth and talked for hours! By the time came for us to leave we were pretty confident we were going to go with Debbie as our cake vendor. We went to a few other meetings with other bakers and they just weren\'t the same caliber. I put a deposit down a few weeks later with Debbie. A few months later I was on the Not Just Cheesecake website and I came across a list of her flavors and that\'s when I saw \"Almond cake\". I called Debbie right away and asked if we could try the almond cake as well as another flavor she had mentioned to us, Ollalieberry. I asked her about fillings and we had previously talked about bananas so she said she could fill the almond cake with bananas and offered for us to try a chocolate cake with bananas as well. So I get a call on a Thursday to come in on a Saturday afternoon to pick up a few samples she would have ready for us. What we tasted was heaven!!!!!! Bananas get brown pretty quickly so Debbie ended up sauteing the bananas in a brown sugar rum and it was so delicious we decided the whole display cake would be Almond cake with sauteed bananas with a few sheet cakes ( red velvet with cream cheese, and the white cake with the raspberry and marzipan). When it came to decorating the cake Debbie helped me tweak my vision and the end result was magnificent! We had Debbie place our monogram on the cake as well as the scroll design from our invitations. The flowers Debbie place in between the tiers were gorgeous as well and went well with the cake and our wedding. The cake was awesome and so was the attention to detail.\r\n\r\nNeedless to say everyone at the wedding LOVED the cake and thought it was beautiful!!! I can\'t wait to have another celebration just to have Debbie bake me another cake. :) I love love love Debbie! \r\n

    Sent on 10/03/2011
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 11/02/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was not only gorgeous, but absolutely delicious!! Debbie was so sweet and helped us design the perfect cake for our wedding.

    Sent on 11/21/2013
  • M

    Matt · Married on 10/04/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She is fantastic, she gave us everything we wanted and more! We had a wedding cake and a grooms cake. She made the grooms cake look like a tool box with tools made of marzipan! It was the talk of the wedding! The wedding cake was done in chocolate and each layer was a different cake! Very reasonable and a work of art. She also decorated the sweetheart table with gold fabric, she supplied the chocolate colored napkins and supplied the candies for the favors. She was the bomb!

    Sent on 10/27/2008
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 04/08/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing detail on the cake! Very delicious. A little slow on a returning phone calls but very enthusiastic and great to work with!

    Sent on 05/04/2010
  • J

    Jane · Married on 08/29/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff here is super nice! (I worked with Debbie.) The cake turned out beautiful AND delicious. I received so many compliments on the cake. I am going back for birthdays :)

    Sent on 10/02/2009
  • User2616796 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Debbie was a lot of fun to work with-she is clearly so passionate about what she does. Her creativity is astounding...I think she could make pretty much anything that you want! Also, the cake was delicious. Guests liked it so much that I sadly only got 1 slice. :( She is a bit hard to reach, however, and it takes her a while to return calls and emails. Also, I think she's probably better if you can agree with her on an exact cake design. We gave her our vision and talked about some basic ideas, then left it in her hands. While the cake was lovely, it wasn't exactly what we were going for.

    Sent on 08/23/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review