Northland Special Events Reviews

209 | Duluth, MN
See photos, pricing and details

209 Reviews for Northland Special Events

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

209

16 User photos

Order by:
  • P

    Paul Peterson · Married on 12/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best coordinating, flower, baloon, & decorating company ever!

    I am so happy that Ellen with Northland Special Events was a part of my wedding day. We utilized their planning, decorating, balloon, and floral services which made our lives so much easier the day of the event. Ellen was a pleasure to work with and took care of all of our needs throughout the entire process. Both my wife and I were blown away with just how beautiful everything turned out, and also how much better our day went because of NSE. We highly recommend anyone to contact NSE if you are putting together an event you want brought to the next level.

    Sent on 01/07/2020
  • Abigail

    Abigail · Married on 12/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Experience!

    I cannot say enough amazing things about Northland Special Events and our event coordinator Kyla! We planned our wedding from out of state, and Kyla was amazing at helping us plan things over the phone, email, and a few meetings in person (when we could make it to the area) to help us bring our vision to life. The flowers, table centerpieces, and signage that was provided by NSE was exactly what we were hoping they would be, and I received many complements about my bridal bouquet. Kyla was amazing to have around on the day of our wedding and checked up on everyone frequently to make sure we were doing ok and did not need anything. She really helped take away a lot of my stress and helped everything go so smoothly before and during the ceremony, as well as during the reception!

    Sent on 01/02/2020
  • Emily

    Emily Langhorst · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THANK YOU! Mariah and her team were amazing!

    When people ask me how my wedding was, one of the first things I say is that it was great, and it was great because we hired a fantastic day-of-coordination service. Seriously, we could not have done it without them. When we first got engaged, I wasn't sure we really needed a day-of-coordinator, but hiring one is now my #1 tip I give other brides.

    From start to finish, I felt like Mariah just "got" us. I wasn't 100% sure what I wanted on a lot of details, but even without articulating it, Mariah and her staff were able to deliver something better than I imagined. Every detail was surprisingly beautiful.

    She took away so much of my stress during those busy last couple of weeks. Everything I had anxiety about, she was able to quickly resolve with a easy, "no problem" attitude. She answered every question we had and gave us an incredible sense of confidence.

    We ended up having unexpectedly bad weather. The beautiful outdoor ceremony we'd planned with fall colors ended up being cold and rainy with icy gusts and sleet. When we had to move the ceremony inside, Mariah handled EVERYTHING. Honestly, the venue wasn't being very flexible, but Mariah worked with them to come up with an amazing plan B. All I had to do was show up.

    I'll also give a plug for Superior Blooms, the sister company for Northland Special Events. They were our florist, and my bouquet was simply gorgeous. I got compliment after compliment on it all night. Mariah really understood our vision for the wedding and the florals were a perfect complement.

    There were so many little details that Mariah and her team thought of and provided that made our wedding special. I can't recommend them highly enough! Truly, hiring Northland Special Events was the single best wedding decision we made.

    Sent on 11/06/2019

    Northland Special Events's reply:

    Oh sweet Emily, what a review to receive today - brought tears to my eyes!!! Thank you for being the most amazing client and for letting me do what I do best - make your wedding day perfect!

    Cheers,
    Mariah
  • Whitney

    Whitney Palmisano · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Money well spent

    I really don't even know where to begin. Northland Special Events was a godsend for our wedding. Right at the first phone call, I knew I would hire them. Lynda took my call and spent 20 minutes giving me venue ideas, etc. - at this point I hadn't paid them a thing and had received some of the best information I'd had . That's the kind of first impression that you never forget !
    Mariah got my vibe and what I was looking for even when I didn't know how to get my ideas across. If wedding planning isn't really your "thing" you'll never regret hiring them. I had very specific ideas about what I wanted, and no idea how to execute them as well as no patience for any of it. Mariah took this all off my plate, gave me ideas I'd never had, and made my vision come to life. That, coupled with the knowledge that my family and friends didn't have to be concerned with logistics the day of, made this the best money we spent for our wedding. Truly cannot recommend Northland Special Events enough.

    Sent on 08/19/2019

    Northland Special Events's reply:

    Whitney & Tony - You were an absolute DREAM to work with and planning your wedding was everything we could ever ask for. We can't wait to see more pics soon! Miss you!

    Mariah & Team NSE
  • Courtney

    Courtney Ellefson · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best in the area

    Thank you so much Mariah, Ellen, Sydney and all the rest of the crew who had a hand in making our wedding the best day of our lives. From our first meeting to the last I never questioned your abilities and expertise. Everything you did was flawless. All the floral, centerpieces, coordinating our rehearsal and our wedding day was well worth the pricing. This was my favorite expense because it made us the most happy and RELAXED. Mariah is literally a fairy godmother who made all my dreams come true.

    Sent on 06/12/2019

    Northland Special Events's reply:

    Oh sweet, Courtney! We are so grateful for your kind words. Working with people like you and Kent makes our job EASY! We can't wait to see more photos and we wish you ALL the best in your married life together! Keep in touch!
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream Wedding

    I can not recommend NSE and Mariah's team enough, they help you through every step of the wedding planning process. I felt so close with Mariah during the planning that I ended up choosing her as our wedding officiant as well. Everyone at NSE wants you to have your dream wedding and they will go to the ends of the earth to make your day the perfect day for you. Thank you to the team for making our wildest dreams come true!

    Sent on 05/23/2019
  • A

    Anna Sterna · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Northland special events

    NSE was amazing to work with. Easy to communicate with and exceeded all of our expectations. Our coordinator listened to what we had envisioned and fully executed. The set up and clean up crew was amazing and worth every penny.

    Sent on 01/13/2019
  • A

    Alexander · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding from the groom’s perspective I had no idea the amount of work and stress that goes into it by the bride. My wife and I just got married 8/11/18. I am much more of a easy going “you decide babe” kinda guy. My wife on the other hand put her heart and soul into planning this wedding. She was also working overtime for her career and ran out of time for planning. We decided to hire NSE about a year before our big day. We live about two and a half hours from Duluth and we’re thinking that we possibly needed help. I was skeptical about paying someone for something we could do ourselves. About 2 weeks before our day we sat down for our final meeting. My wife was feeling a level of stress of 10 out of 10 and I was really worried. After our final meeting however Mariah and the team relieved us of the nagging stress. Not only does she seamlessly bring everything together, she is also like a therapist in working with the bride. She was able to speak with my wife in a way that calmed her and put her at ease. On the day of the wedding I was absolutely shocked at how they lead everything and made sure that everything went to plan. My wife was bombarded with questions and we were able to defer everything to NSE and they took care of it. Any requests that we had - they took care of it with a smile and quickness. Mariah also was the one that married us at the ceremony and I highly recommend her for that as well. She really outdid all of my expectations. They also did our decorations and flowers and then took all of our gifts to our hotel room at the end of the night so we didn’t have to worry about a thing! If you are a groom and worried about spending the amount of money they charge, believe me they are worth it for your wife’s sanity and your own. Planning a wedding is especially taxing on the bride. And if you’re like me and hate to see your significant other stressed, do everyone involved including yourself a favor and hire Northland Special Events.

    Sent on 08/13/2018
  • Jenna

    Jenna · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    NSE not only exceeded our expectations but blew them out of the water! I have known Mariah and her team for some time but to work with them on our wedding was a dream come true. Each meeting we had was a ton of fun and all of my visions, simply put, came alive on the day of the wedding! One of the most special moments was when Darrin and I were able to walk into the ballroom for our "First Look" with Mariah and we were speechless. Every detail, every meeting, came alive in that ballroom! It was spectacular, unique, and so very special to us.

    I would encourage all brides to hire NSE for their wedding it takes all of the stress off the bride, bridesmaids, families, etc. The weekend should be enjoyed and that is definitely what we had with NSE leading the way!

    We would hire NSE again and again and will continue to for all the events that come our way. You have a lifelong client!

    Sent on 08/22/2018
  • B

    Bailey · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    NSE is amazing!! Ellen and her team went above and beyond for our big day. It was pouring rain and they were running umbrellas back and forth, getting soaked themselves, but ensuring we were staying dry. The room was put together exactly how I imagined. They also loaded up all of the presents and decor and packed up our car so all we had to do was leave in the morning. They are easy to communicate with, professional, and SO FUN to have be a part of our big day! 100% recommend.

    Sent on 06/25/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful vendor to work with! They made our dream turn into a reality! I can honestly say we could not have done it with out them! Everyone we worked with cared about our day being as special as it was!

    Sent on 05/25/2018
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 01/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so thankful we made the decision to work with NSE. Our coordinator was Mariah, and she did a wonderful job! We basically showed her what we liked and she made it happen! I showed her pictures from Pinterest and she made them appear in real life! We got all of our decor, linen and flowers from NSE and we purchased the “day of coordinator” package which was probably the best money spent out of the whole wedding! Mariah was there all day and night making sure everything was set up and ready to go! She even met with us the night before to go through rehearsal. Mariah is the best and a must!

    Sent on 02/16/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    NSE made my wedding vision come true. From floral to decor to set up, they planned it all and it was all perfect. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/27/2017
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yana and the team at NSE went above and beyond to help us have the most perfect wedding. They truly make the day stress free and pay such close attention to any and every detail, big or small. The flowers, linens, and decor was seriously stunning and we have received so many compliments on our wedding day, We cannot say thank you enough to everyone at Northland Special Events for helping us have the wedding of our dreams!!!

    Sent on 09/26/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Northland Special Events services for our personal flowers (bouquets, corsages and boutineers), custom signage and our ceremony backdrop. Everything turned out beautifully and exactly as expected. Yana and the team at NSE were wonderful to work with and were a huge part of turning our vision into reality.

    Sent on 08/30/2017
  • J

    Jaimee · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yana and Mikayla were absolutely amazing! We have a 5 month old and Mikayla took him the entire day/night which was very much appreciated! Yana was very detail oriented and made sure the time line was followed down to the minute! Everyone that got to talk with Yana absolutely loved her! Thank you ladies so much!! Xoxo

    Sent on 09/08/2017
  • A

    Amelia · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane from Fleurtations (Northland Special Events) did a BEAUTIFUL job with all of the floral arrangements and wedding party flowers. They were absolutely stunning, and the planning with her was incredibly easy. She understood what I was looking for as far as overall vision, and the colors she chose were spot on matches for the bridesmaids dresses and coordinating colors. I've received countless comments from guests saying how gorgeous the flowers were. The best part is that a majority of the arrangements have lasted over a week, so we've been lucky to enjoy them at home, as well as dry some of the bouquets etc. Pricing was very reasonable, and the end product was well worth it.

    Sent on 08/22/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The talented team of people at Northland Special Events are busy for a reason. They are simply the best at what they do. We worked with Yana. From day one, she got to know us on a more personal level in order to figure out exactly how to make our dream wedding happen within our budget. She certainly exceeded expectations! She set up a design board based on what she learned about us.
    Roughly two weeks prior to our wedding, we had some ideas that we wanted to incorporate. We weren’t sure if it was too last minute, but we brought them up last and Yana said it wouldn’t be a problem. I was able to drop personal items off with her two days before so I didn’t have to worry about forgetting them at home day of. I had forgotten to buy a special pen for our wood pallet guest book sign. She told me not to worry and brought one of her pens from home. Talk about service! She also contacted all of our vendors and provided them with our timeline and made sure they were clear on details for the day. Fast forward to the big day, Yana and her team set up the reception in the morning and tore down when the night was over. Everything just seemed to magically appear where it was supposed to, and they were the reason for it.
    If you opt in for the day of coordination (BEYOND worth it), you have someone from NSE assisting you throughout the day to make sure everything goes smoothly. There are always going to be little things that come up (flowers get damaged and Yana was there with a pin to fix it, hair comes undone and she asked if her assistant should grab curling iron, guest list changes, etc.) and when you are getting married, you just want to enjoy the day and not have to deal with them. On top of all of that Yana surprised us with extra special touches throughout the day; she really went above and beyond.
    Utilizing a resource like NSE definitely makes your dream wedding a reality. Big shout out to Yana for helping make our day perfect!

    Sent on 09/17/2017
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Yana at NSE to do our decor and flowers for our July 2017 wedding. I can honestly say, I couldn't have done it without her. She made my day a dream come true. She took my ideas and visions & added her professional touch to create my perfect day. I also hired her for day of coordination, her and her team were there with me the entire day. If you're considering "day of coordination", stop considering and just do it- so worth it. My now husband and I could not have been more pleased, we loved Yana!!!

    Sent on 08/01/2017
  • D

    Debby · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Northland Special Events decorated the ceiling of the Superior Ballroom at Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior for my daughter's wedding. They decorated it with tulle, lights and chandelier. The price was a little more because of the travel that was necessary to get to the venue, but they did a beautiful job and we were very pleased.

    Sent on 07/17/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kyla is the reason my wedding went off without a hitch! As a conservative spender, I didn't think it was necessary to hire someone for her job, and I was very wrong! (Mom was right, again!) Her professionalism, calm demeanor, and creative style were exactly what was needed to create a wedding that EVERYONE (including two teenage stepsons) absolutely loved. She was able to step in and resolve every sticky (or potentially sticky) situation before it ever came to my attention or became a problem. In addition, she does a great job of "reading" personalities and meeting the needs of all people, while still putting my thoughts first. There are very few people who could do her job as well as she does; I'm incredibly thankful for her!

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • J

    Joan · Married on 06/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about Northland Special Events. I really felt like I could relax. We were in wonderful hands.

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • J

    Janelle · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Yana at Northland Special Events and from start to finish she was absolutely amazing. She was very organized and helped me put together my vision for the wedding. She was very open to my ideas and was very responsive and quick to return my calls/emails whenever I had questions. The day of our wedding we were in complete shock when we saw how beautiful our reception hall was. Yana had everything set up exactly how we envisioned it, plus more! From the flowers, to the center pieces, to the head table....Everything was perfect. Yana is great to work with and I enjoyed every minute.

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the best money we spent for our wedding. Yana was extremely helpful and responsive to all our questions and concerns. We hired Yana for the day-of coordination and decorating and we didn't have to worry about a thing on our wedding day. We received many compliments on the decorations. My husband and I felt the day went smoothly and it wouldn't have happened with Yana and the NSE team!

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • A

    Ashlee · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yana and her team are absolutely amazing!! They made the whole planning process such a breeze, and really went the extra mile to make our whole day perfect. So many people came up to us saying it was the most beautiful wedding they've ever been to! I would recommend Yana and the NSE team to anyone!! Thank you guys! We appreciate you!

    Caleb & Ashlee Utyro

    Sent on 05/15/2017