North Carolina Museum of Art Reviews

23 | Raleigh, NC
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for North Carolina Museum of Art

Recommended by 99%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Christina

    Christina · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Morgan and his team. There are certainly rules about having an event in a museum but they were on the ball and everything went off without a hitch. Everyone was so happy with the food as well. It is an amazing venue for a wedding and I'm so glad we had it there!

    Sent on 05/23/2018
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    NCMA definitely exceeded our expectations as a wedding venue. We got married on the day that Hurricane Matthew passed through Raleigh and what could have been a disastrous night ended up being a perfect one thanks to Morgan and his team at the museum. Morgan is exactly the kind of person you want running the show on your wedding day as well as helping you work out the details along the way. He is extremely knowledgeable on all things weddings and goes above and beyond to make sure your day is everything you want it to be.
    We were supposed to have the ceremony in the courtyard outside, but as that was obviously not an option, we moved it inside to the east building and they made sure this set up was every bit as beautiful. Our guests loved the venue and were especially grateful for the underground tunnel that connected to the west building (where the reception was held) so they didn't have to get out in the rain.
    The food, flowers, linens, and cake are all included in the price for the wedding which makes planning your day a whole lot easier, and all the vendors they contract with are absolutely wonderful to work with. We are so happy we chose to have our wedding at NCMA and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable place to get married!

    Sent on 11/13/2016
  • User4363381 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our coordinator Jessica was so amazing and helpful with planning our wedding a month ago. She responded and answer all of my emails in a timely manner. I couldn't ask for anything better for our wedding. Everything came out the way. Included in the venue price was the cost of flowers, linen, cake, and food from Iris. She gave us a list of name and number for each area and you just meet up with them and pick out what you want. Only people you would have to find was the dj and your photographer. I highly recommend having your dream wedding here.

    Sent on 10/26/2015
  • User4660817 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first meeting to the actual wedding day, the group at NCMA did a wonderful job. Morgan was professional, helpful, and just on top of things! We didn't have a wedding planner, so we really relied on Morgan's assistance to pull off a perfect wedding day. He did not disappoint. We were able to use outside vendors (i.e. DJ, florist, ect.) which was nice because it didn't limit us. We made last minute adjustments to the reception dinner, and it was easily accommodated. We sent Morgan a timeline of events for the reception, and he made sure we stuck to it, and we didn't have to worry about a thing. The venue is so unique and beautiful - so much more creative and modern than the usual hotel ballrooms. Our photographer has so many great options and backdrops to take truly beautiful pictures. Overall, we were completely happy with our decision!!!

    Sent on 05/19/2017
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan was our wedding planner and he alone was worth every penny... I honestly can't imagine anyone who would be better at making sure everyone was doing their part and everything was running smoothly. The venue is obviously beautiful but it was everything Morgan and his team did that made it beyond perfect - not only did they accommodate all of my requests (signs, extra vendors, special things for grandparents, etc.) but they went above and beyond, it's really those extra things that other venues won't do that sets the NCMA apart (like putting the presents in our car for us, packing the groom and bride a "to go box" so that we could eat something after, and moving our go-pro cameras to capture speeches/dances - all without being asked to do so). Although you can't try the catering before-hand there's truly no need to worry, there was a ton of food (Morgan makes sure no one goes hungry!) and it was all delicious... some of our friends are still talking about the little sandwiches and the steak & potatoes. I honestly could not imagine having our wedding at any other venue, especially without Morgan there to lead us - it was truly a perfect day and we owe it all to the NCMA and their spectacular team!

    Sent on 08/14/2015
  • User4645900 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot overstate how perfectly our wedding at the museum went. The food, flowers, linens, and cake are all included in the wedding package and Morgan Greer (the main coordinator) made our planning a breeze. The price is extremely competitive overall, and there are no taxes since it is a North Carolina historical landmark. The food was provided by the Iris restaurant and all beer was NC made. Our guests had an amazing time and so did we.

    Sent on 07/26/2015
  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our ceremony and reception at NCMA a few weeks ago. Jessica was our wedding coordinator and she could not have been more helpful! It was the most beautiful backdrop for my wedding that I could have imagined. The museum also handles a lot of the vendor stuff, so you don't have to worry about it. The only vendors I had to find myself were DJ and Photographer! For everything else, I just had to pick out what I wanted, and that was it! I seriously feel like I had the LEAST stressful wedding planning process of any of my friends who have gotten married. Jessica just took care of so much for me! The Iris restaurant in the museum was able to make anything we wanted. We had a taco bar and some other things we had picked out and EVERYBODY was loving the food! My guests commented on how delicious it was and they also commented on loving the layout of the venue, so everybody could be comfortable and have lots of places to sit and watch the dancing, or remove themselves from the louder areas. I am so happy with our wedding. It was everything I imagined and more. Truly exceeded my expectations! I would recommend anybody get married at the NCMA!!

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • A

    Anna · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at NCMA was absolutely amazing! It was a perfect blend of elegant and relaxed, and we had many guests report that it was the best wedding they'd ever attended. Morgan Greer and the incredible staff are superstars. I shudder to think how much more stressful the planning and day-of would have been had we decided to have the wedding anywhere else. Plus the photos at this venue are just beautiful.

    Sent on 06/08/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend hosting your wedding at the NC Museum of Art! This setting acts as the perfect balance of sophistication and uniqueness with the flexibility to create a wedding atmosphere that reflects any couples style.

    My husband and I had a wonderful experience with the entire staff of the museum, especially Morgan Greer. He was open to any of our wedding ideas while also sharing best practices and tips to ensure the day flowed properly. All of their recommended venders were very accommodating and worked seamlessly together to set up a beautiful atmosphere to celebrate. We have heard from many of our guests that we had one of the most beautiful and fun weddings they have attended, which makes any newlywed couple feel great! Thank you NCMA for making our big day a memorable experience we will cherish forever.

    Sent on 01/11/2015
  • D

    Denise · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Morgan and his team are amazing! The NC Museum of Art is an amazing wedding venue! If you want a modern and elegant look, this is the place to go. The food is delicious and Morgan and his staff provide exceptional service. I highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 06/21/2014
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Art museum exceeded all of our expectations. We are beyond thrilled with everything Morgan and his staff did. It was so special and absolutely beautiful. The food couldn't have been better. The process of planning was wonderful. The day of Morgan and his team handled everything perfectly!!!

    Sent on 04/22/2014
  • User3706795 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    NC Museum of Art was an exceptionally interesting and easy place to hold a wedding reception. The event coordinator has need there 13 years and offers competent, "turn key," assistance. Our guest felt the venue was interesting and offered areas to talk and look at art as well as to dance. The feedback has been exceptionally positive.

    Sent on 11/29/2013
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We contracted with NC Museum of Art in Raleigh NC for my daughter's wedding & reception which took place on August 10, 2013. It was everything and more we could have expected. A beautiful venue for the wedding ceremony on the staircase of the second level of the East Building made for a dramatic vision of loveliness. The wedding party was able to be viewed in its entirety from the guest seats. With the artistic overhead hanging artwork, it was absolutely breathtaking! The reception was held in the West Building and was spectacular, requiring very little extra decorating because of the various displays of artwork - both paintings, sculptures, and electronic art. The NC Museum of Art is truly a unique place for a wedding venue. The staff was fabulous. Morgan Greer, the coordinator was the most professional, courteous and well-organized event coordinator. He made us feel comfortable and well cared for with every detail. The cocktail reception provided excellent and quality food and the beer and wine bar was the perfect touch. We are so thrilled to have had the opportunity to have our wedding venue at the NC Museum of Art, and we highly recommend that facility to all who are planning a wedding in Raleigh.

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The NCMA was the perfect site for our wedding and reception. The special events coordinator, Morgan Greer, was top-notch, and I cannot praise him enough. He is competent, professional, laid back, and flexible. The wedding party said our rehearsal was the easiest they had ever attended, and the actual day went off without a hitch. I'm sure Morgan was stressed and busy, but he never showed it. He directed everyone and everything calmly and went out of his way to make us feel special and appreciated. The support staff was also great. They were friendly and professional.

    The venue itself was breathtaking. Our guests thought it was the coolest place for a wedding, and even the band was taking photos.

    The wedding package the museum offers saves couples much time and many headaches. They use specific vendors, and the vendors are first-rate. The caterer (the museum restaurant, Iris), the florist (Watered Garden Florist), and the baker ( Cinda's Creative Cakes) were already chosen, and we couldn't be happier with them. It was a relief to have that element of planning under control so we could focus on other details.

    The North Carolina Museum of Art was everything we wanted in a ceremony and reception venue. We loved our wedding, and wouldn't change a thing.

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend having your wedding at the North Carolina Museum of Art. The event coordinator, Morgan, made planning and the day of a breeze. He was a pleasure to work with. The in house chef taught himself how to make Indian food specifically for our reception, and did an amazing job. Everything was delicious. Months after our wedding we are still hearing from our guests that ours was the best wedding they have ever attended. Everything about our day was perfect - I credit that to beauty of the location and the ease of working with the event staff. I wouldn't change a single thing about our wedding.

    Sent on 09/08/2013
  • A

    Ann · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Looking for a unique wedding venue with large, open spaces for mixing and mingling for your reception? The North Carolina Museum of Art provides a strikingly beautiful setting for a wedding reception. Morgan Greer, the director of special events at the museum, will act as your wedding planner (at no additional cost!) and guide you through all of the decisions that you will need to make for your event. NCMA's package includes the venue, the caterers, the wait staff, the linens, and the flowers -- the only additional vendors you will need to contact will be your photographer and your DJ or band. This is a one-stop-shopping experience. The food provided is exceptional and it is replenished all night long. Why spend hours and hours trying to research the best providers of various services when you can take advantage of the knowledge of those who throw weddings year after year?

    Sent on 05/23/2013
  • C

    Charlene · Married on 06/08/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue For Our Wedding

    We cannot begin to express how happy we are that we had our wedding ceremony and reception at the North Carolina Museum of Art. It was everything we could have imagined and more. From our first meeting through the exit after the ceremony, it was seamless. Morgan, the event director for the museum, is amazing. He is very experienced and helped reduce a lot of stress that typically comes with weddings. Morgan is the best!!!

    Our guests are still talking about how beautiful the museum was, how much they loved the food, and all the fun they had. For anyone looking for a beautiful, turnkey wedding venue, we'd highly recommend the North Carolina Museum of Art!

    Sent on 07/27/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/26/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the North Carolina Museum of Art was absolutely amazing! Morgan Greer, Director of Special Events, was incredibly helpful with the planning process and made sure everything went off without a hitch on our wedding day. We had to change our original plan for an outdoor ceremony very last minute due to rain, but even that was handled very smoothly. We moved our ceremony to one of the modern art galleries and it was stunning. The museum restaurant, IRIS, catered our reception and we used all of NCMA's preferred vendors for the cake, linens, and flowers as they were included in the estimate and it made the wedding planning process that much easier. Our guests had a great time and many of them told us they loved the beautiful and unique venue. My husband and I had the best time and are so happy we had our wedding at NCMA!

    Sent on 11/04/2015
  • User4589180 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Jessica at the NC Museum of Art to have our wedding there last November. The Museum Park and galleries were great settings for the pictures and the party; one slight drawback for us was that the Museum couldn't provide outside lights for evening ceremonies, and while the East Building was perfectly suitable, it's rather dimly lit. The Museum has preferred vendors, including their in-house restaurant as a caterer, which we took advantage of, though it seemed like they would be open to outside options. The florist, Watered Garden, was easy to work with and Jessica stepped in for other decor decisions (like linens) when we got stuck. Iris, the Museum's restaurant, was very accommodating with the menu, and even produced several pies for a tasting when we chose not to have a cake. The food was served all night, as promised, and they even packed us to-go boxes. It may not have been the cheapest option, but knowing that Jessica was coordinating everything on the day and being able to relax and enjoy ourselves was worth it. We had a great time and were really happy with our decision to get married at the Museum!

    Sent on 09/19/2015
  • B

    Blake · Married on 11/07/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have picked a better venue for our wedding. The modern look and feel was exactly what we wanted and the blank canvas that is the West Building made for a beautiful backdrop for our reception. The staff (Morgan exclusively) was always very responsive and willing to take time to meet with us and answer all of our questions. He truly puts you at ease and makes you feel calm and comfortable about your big day.

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • MarriedJ!

    Judy · Married on 06/15/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really an awesome, perfect place to have a wedding ceremony and dinner. All our guests raved about the beautiful location and the DELICIOUS food. With the wedding package, you must use their designated baker and florist. All very professional and nice to work with. The cake ($6.50 per person) and floral costs were a little overpriced but that's typical of the wedding industry, I suppose. The museum's wedding coordinator was top-notch. Everything flowed smoothly, and we had a terrific time.

    Sent on 07/01/2014
  • gloflo

    Gloria · Married on 10/09/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My reception was beautiful. The North Carolina Museum of Art exceeded my expectations. I say this because they are not very responsive when it comes to emails but when I walked into the reception after the wedding, I was very impressed. My friends and family were so happy. The museum does not allow outside catering but there catering staff was excellent. They took care of everything. The cost was expensive but compared to every other venue venue it was the best value for the price

    Sent on 10/24/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review