27 Reviews for Newell Pioneer Village

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Uncovered Outdoor (1)
Event Planning (1)
Event Rentals (1)
Chairs (1)
Linens (1)
27 Newell Pioneer Village Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

I cannot say enough good things about The Newell Pioneer Village. We picked this place because of it's look, friendliness and professionalism of staff, and flexibility. Judy is THE BEST! She truly got to know us as a couple and listened to what we wanted for our special day. She was always quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had, and was always willing to go the extra mile to make sure we were all on the same page. We could not have asked for a better venue!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Anne, 8/27/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Event Planning, Event Rentals, Linens, Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs
5.0

My husband and I got married here on August 29th and it was amazing! Judy at the venue could not have been more flexible and helpful as we made a lot of last-minute changes to adjust for the weather. Through the entire planning process and especially on the day of, she was wonderful! Beautiful venue and excellent service! I would recommend to anyone and everyone! CHECK THIS PLACE OUT!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Mariah, 8/29/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I, like everyone else, have only the best things to say about Judy and Dennis. The grounds are spectacular, and full of beautiful trees providing much needed shade. It's wonderful and peaceful, and I hate leaving.
Judy is so amazingly easy and helpful. Making perfect suggestions for all the little details I hadn't even thought of, like cake plates. She even coordinated directly with our caterer. Everyone had a wonderful day, and we were all so comfortable. Everything fell into place like magic, thanks to Judy and Dennis.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Melanie, 7/20/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We could not have asked for a better venue for my daughters wedding. The grounds are so beautiful. Even on one of the hottest days of the year, there was plenty of shade to be had. Judy and Dennis really take all the stress away and help with the smallest details. You will not be disappointed having an event at the Newell Pioneer Village.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Becky, 7/18/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We could not have asked for anything else from the Newell House. Judy and Dennis were both a huge help on the day of the wedding and before. So many people commented on how beautiful and perfect the venue was. The addition of the cabin on the property as well as the concrete dance floor and landscaping make it an absolutely stunning property your party can spread out on.
We kept thinking of all the other venues we saw that were charging twice as much and felt like we got such an awesome place with such great people managing it for a steal. All of your money goes back to funding the DAR which also made us feel wonderful as it funds the preservation of history and education. What more could you want from a location? I cannot recommend this venue highly enough.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Meredith, 7/11/15, 7 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

They were very helpful with anything that we needed to be done. It was the perfect place for our wedding.

Profile Picture Travis, 5/30/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Flowers, Unique Services (Other), Wedding Planning
5.0

Couldn't have ask for better people to work with! It was perfect all around! Would recommend this place over and over again!

Profile Picture User4308870, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The place is beautiful makes for great pictures. Also Judy is so helpful with everything you need. I would highly recommend having your wedding here.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Crystal, 7/19/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I can't say enough good things about the Newell House venue and Judy and Dennis. From the moment we stepped on the grounds in January, Judy was so friendly and welcoming. Over the next few months, as we talked, planned, and emailed (which she was almost immediate with her responses), she told us of various options and had practical suggestions that had worked in previous weddings, and was just generally a tremendous help. She was encouraging when we were "freaking out" and extremely supportive. On my daughter's wedding day, we set up amid rain showers (Judy's crew had previously set up a nice canopy for seating during the ceremony and one for the caterer) and Judy, her husband, and other helpers were there to help us and provide cover for our decorations. They were not at all intrusive but if anything was needed they were like genies and our requests were granted immediately. The grounds were beautiful with everything green, flowering, well manicured, and clean. The museum was open for our guests after the ceremony, which was very interesting. By the time we cleaned up, we all felt like we made new friends and could not have chosen a better outdoor venue.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Judi, 6/28/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Newell House was a beautiful place for our daughter's wedding. I found that Judy couldn't be more helpful with her planning suggestions and even just being present during to lend a hand in whatever needed to be done in the hours of setup and tear-down. She was always quick to respond to emails. Newell lends a unique historic flavor in addition to the beauty. My daughter wasn't particularly looking for a historic theme, but the house museum, log cabin, jail, school house, school bell and arbor areas all just gave it a very charming and beautiful atmosphere. The log cabin was actually in the process of reconstruction at the time of the wedding, but Judy made sure it was to a point that only positively contributed. Everything worked wonderfully. If I had to point out any cautions, the only thing I can think of is that it is limited on refrigerator and food prep space. It is probably a better venue to have catered.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User4237464, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services (Other)
5.0

Perfect venue for an outdoor wedding! Very pretty and great shade.
Unique, lots of charm. They have an old school house and a jail :)
Not to mention - a museum - which automatically gives the guests something to do in the dreaded cocktail hour.

Judy was great to work with. Lots of good ideas too.
Very flexible with set up, decorations and clean up. We had open fire (s'more stations and sparklers) as well as alcohol. No requirements as far as other vendors you have to use.

Can't say enough good things about the venue and Judy.
Wouldn't have done anything differently.

Matron of Honor (Steffi) for the Kastle / Scruggs wedding 8/11/13

Profile Picture Steffi, 8/11/13, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I felt well supported and I could not have asked for a better place to have our wedding.

Profile Picture User3420030, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Everything was amazing. We had such a great experience at the Newell Zhouse and we'll definitely recommend it to others.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Rebecca, 6/15/13, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We could not have asked for a better wedding venue than the Newell House. The museum director Judy Van Atta and her husband were extremely helpful and accommodating. They recommended vendors, provided support on the wedding day, and worked to make the venue fit our needs.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Melinda, 5/11/13, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The setting is beautiful, the property has charm and history, and the people who manage it are wonderful to work with. We got many similar comments from our guests, vendors, and friends who helped us with set-up or other details. We could not have been happier with the venue. Because we planned an outdoor wedding in early May (who in Oregon does that?!) we ordered a 60' X 40' tent and we were glad we did -- we needed it for SHADE because it was almost 80 degrees. The Newell House has many nice touches -- the bridal party had a private dressing area behind the historic home, the men got ready in the old schoolhouse on the property, the photographer set up an outdoor "photo-booth" area next to the Butteville Jailhouse, and the Van Atta's even rolled out a vintage Model-T which also drew lots of photos . When the pastor introduced the new husband and wife, Judy's husband rang the schoolhouse bell -- very fun!
Judy Van Atta was terrific from the day she first showed us around, through all the many e-mails and site visits, to the wedding day and clean-up the morning after -- very organized, responsive, always friendly to everyone, and extremely helpful. She tries to find a way to say "yes" to every reasonable request, and offers good advice from other weddings or events they've had. Her husband was very nice also -- the grounds were kept up beautifully, and everything they provided was set-up exactly as promised. They have chairs (200), picnic tables and benches, a few tables, and a lighting package for a small extra cost (worth it), lots of parking. There is no kitchen area but our caterer had no issues. We rented the tent, dance floor, plates, wine glasses and flatware, and brought extra tables for the reception, flowers and decor items. We were very happy that we chose the Newell House -- the beauty and charm are reflected in our wedding pictures, and we have wonderful memories of a very special day.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Rick, 5/11/13, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Judy and her husband were wonderful and really helped everything come together. Their expertise was appreciate SOOOO much! I would highly recommend them if anyone was looking for a venue for a wedding.

The only suggestion would be to have the flexiblity to add the "clean up hour" that is allowed for the next day to be added to the day of the event to save additional driving out to the venue

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Hanna, 9/8/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I would highly recommend these folks for anyone that is planning a wedding. They helped us so much that all the little glitches that could have ruined or at least put a damper on our day went totally smooth. We could never have that the wonderful wedding we did with out their help!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture hanna, 9/8/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Judy was so nice to work with. She was very flexible, had great ideas and suggestions and always got back to me promptly whenever I had a question. And the place itself was absolutely gorgeous. It was everything we wanted for our daughter's wedding.

Profile Picture Linda, 8/11/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I got married at the museum last Saturday and the day turned out better than I could have ever imagined. Judy and her husband are wonderful people, very flexible, and extremly helpful throughout the entire process. The natural beauty of this place is breath taking. I would suggest this place to anyone looking for an amazing outdoor venue! (And the revenue goes to the upkeep of the museum!)

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Tasha, 7/21/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our daughter's wedding took place at the museum. Judy and Dennis were wonderful and very helpful. I believe they go beyond the call of duty. We received many compliments on the beauty of the grounds. The guest had an hour to tour the museum after the ceremony. There are areas that are awesome for pictures and we got to utilize the buildings into the ceremony. Judy was like having a wedding planner and helped us to get it organized. I would recommend the Newall House to anyone. It was a wonderful experience.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Heidi, 7/21/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4

I just had my wedding here last weekend. The coordinator Judy, was very flexible and worked with me, my coordinator, and our tent vendor for a rain plan. The wedding was beautiful. I really appreciate the natural beauty of the Newell House and that our money went to support the museum and educational programs run on the property. Judy always responded to my emails and phone calls promptly. I would highly recommend this vender.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Elizabeth, 6/23/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Newell House was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding! The director was a joy to work with every step of the way. She was extremely helpful with all of our questions and requests. She and her husband went beyond the call of duty with the set-up and on the day of the wedding, too. They worked very hard to make sure the day turned out perfectly--which it did!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User2519292, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My husband and I just renewed our vows and we are so happy we chose the Newell House. Judy and her husband Dennis are absolutely wonderful people and are so easy to work with.
The whole area is gorgeous and peaceful and looked exactly as we hoped on our wedding day. Judy was very flexible any time we had a change in plans or times.
On the day of the wedding things were very chaotic for us and Judy and Dennis pitched right in and helped us set up our decorations, helped with some last minute buffet preparations and even gave us some coffee for our maker when we forgot ours. I honestly don't know what we would have done without their help.
They are so kind and compassionate and we felt that they genuinely cared that we had a wonderful experience. They went above and beyond what was expected of them to ensure we had the wedding of our dreams .
I would highly recommend the Newell House for ANY special event!

Profile Picture Michelle, 9/24/11, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This venue met and exceeded all of our expectations. A totally affordable, picturesque venue, adjacent to a state park. The resident managers of the Newell House Museum are very professional, kind and accomodating. I highly recommend this venue for down-to-earth folks like us.

Profile Picture Marta , 9/10/11, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had a wonderful experience at the Robert Newell House for our wedding. Judy and Dennis were extremely helpful along the way, including the wedding day with clean up and the following morning for clean up. It was like having a wedding planner at times without paying for one. The price is very affordable and the scenery is breathtaking: our pictures look like the background is staged. The venue is easy to work with and there are many options for where you want to place things. We have recommended it to anyone who has asked about venues, it's a great place!

Profile Picture michelle, 8/13/11, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue