New England Aquarium Reviews

60 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

60 Reviews for New England Aquarium

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

60

22 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Katherine Tsui · Married on 04/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding ceremony with the penguins

    The New England Aquarium isn't the typical wedding venue, and that's why we chose it. Both our ceremony and reception were inside the main gallery. Our ceremony was conducted on the penguin platform, and our guests had epics views of us while standing on the spiral around the Giant Ocean Tank. They really made us feel like stars.

    Our whole wedding planning experience with NEAQ was amazing. They provide an event coordinator. Ours, Tie, guided us the whole way through. She arranged nights for our private food and wine tasting and a separate night, at our request, for a sound check of their audio system when we started to freak out about getting a DJ or not. She answered all of our questions in a timely and friendly manner and worked closely with our own wedding planner to arrange all of the crazy details we came up with. She provided complimentary parking for all of our appointments. On the day of our wedding, Tie also had her staff to help set up our centerpieces which was above and beyond (normally a separate vendor would do that).

    The wedding night itself was magical. The staff was extensive and all very professional (wait staff, servers, bar tenders, our 2 roaming educators, security, and everyone behind the scenes). All of the floors were open to our guests to enjoy the exhibits, and the bars were opened on each floor as the night progressed, which was excellent given the size of the venue. We kept the touch tank open and staffed it during cocktail hour. The food was incredible, especially the salmon. They accommodated all special requests for allergies (vegetarian and gluten free). Our guests raved about the food. Surrounded by penguins, we danced the night away.

    NEAQ has everything you need for a wedding (well actually, for any event) and if they themselves don't handle it, they have preferred vendors for everything else. We didn't have to think about renting tables, chairs, dinnerware, coat check, etc; it was all included. The couples' night tasting happened about 2 months before our big day. All of the details that we stressed out about and/or didn't get around to, we found answers to that night. Yes, we hired the DJ, who was DJ'ing for the couples' night. We also went with their preferred limo company and rented 2 busses. Phew!

    If you want to experience what an evening event could look like, get tickets for the NEAQ Valentine's Day event, "That's A-Moray" which is also when the proposal happened (2018) and our engagement photos (2019). 

    The overall cost for having NEAQ as our ceremony site and catered reception was on-par with other venues we looked at. NEAQ captured our heart, and we are so glad to get married there. Every time we visit, we remember our wedding day all over again. We would do it again in a heart beat!

    (This review was written together by both the bride and the groom. We are both very happy with NEAQ.)

    Sent on 10/29/2019
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best Wedding Venue Ever!

    A little over a week ago, I had the most whimsical, magical wedding at the New England Aquarium! I am still getting messages about how much of an incredible time guests had that night! There's something about drinking and eating alongside the penguins that can't be replicated. I cannot thank Erin enough for going along with my crazy, random, ideas and setting up all of my decorations: mermaids, lobsters, pirate ships, treasure chests, vinyl records, disposable cameras- she met with me once, and set it up perfectly! The food was absolutely delicious and every single person that worked the wedding was so attentive and friendly. The incredible views was an added bonus! If you are looking for a unique venue that gives your guests an enjoyable experience, I can't recommend the New England Aquarium enough!

    Sent on 06/24/2019

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • Alanna

    Alanna Hughes · Married on 06/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An incredibly fun, memorable, and unique wedding of our dreams at NEAQ!

    We cannot say enough good things about our experience with NEAQ!!! We adored the venue, and many of our guests complimented us on how unique our wedding was and how fun it was to be in the aquarium space. The NEAQ staff was absolutely incredible throughout the twists and turns of our planning, including adapting to the rain plan when a summer shower was identified for the hour of our ceremony. (getting married amidst the penguins was so memorable!) The food was amazing; we also received many complements from our guests there. And the pictures! We got some awesome images unlikely any of our friends' wedding pictures given how special and different NEAQ is. If only we could do it all over again! :) Thank you, NEAQ team!! (Erin, Della, and Tie in particular)

    Sent on 10/18/2019

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • L

    Levent · Married on 04/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing!!

    We had our wedding at the aquarium on 4/21/2019 and we couldn't be happier with our choice!! We initially started working with Tie as the catering manager and then Renee Sabo took over and they were both absolutely wonderful!! Renee is an amazing person; we felt like we were working with our best friend. She was on top of everything. She made everything to make sure that we were enjoying the night. Very responsible, very approachable, always smiling, always understanding. We were so so lucky!!! We love you Renee!!! Emel and Levent

    Sent on 04/23/2019

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • B

    Brian · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wish we could give the NEAQ and our coordinator, Tiesha, more than 5 stars. Our wedding day could not have been more perfect and it is largely due to the incredible staff at the Aquarium. We chose the NEAQ because we wanted more of an offbeat location and as we had lots of guests traveling, the Aquarium offered an opportunity to give them a unique experience. Throughout the planning process, Tie was incredible--she was very responsive, very helpful and truly a joy to work with. She and the staff at the Aquarium took care of so many details that we were really able to relax and enjoy our day. It was even better than we ever could have dreamed and we would not have changed a thing! Moreover, our guests raved about everything--from the touch tank (we had it open during cocktail hour), to the food, to the venue itself--and said it was the best wedding that they had ever attended. I cannot recommend the Aquarium as a venue enough!

    Sent on 09/30/2018

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, fun venue

    So happy we chose the Aquarium. The venue was beautiful and so much fun. The staff (especially Tiesha) were all so helpful and accommodating. The day/night of out wedding was seamless thanks to them. Tie had everything under control and I didn't have to worry about a thing. The team also set up the venue beautifully. We received endless comments about how much fun guests had - cocktail hour in the aquarium was a hit. Very happy with our choice and very appreciative that we had such a great team at the Aquarium helping us from day 1.

    Sent on 10/28/2018

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding on June 23, 2018, at the New England Aquarium, was an absolute dream! We had our ceremony outside on the Harborwalk looking out on the Boston Harbor, an hour cocktail reception inside the Aquarium and our reception/dinner/dancing inside the tent behind the Aquarium also on the Boston Harbor. It was such a memorable night that not only my husband and I cannot stop talking about but many of our guests are still talking about as well! Planning events can be very stressful but in this case, it was very easy. From the first email I sent to the NEAQ to the last person to clean up after our event, everyone at the Aquarium was a pleasure to work with - especially our Catering Manager, Tiesha Cole. GOSH, Tie thank you, thank you, thank you! Tie was beyond organized, professional, unbelievably timely in her responses, and just an absolute joy and pleasure to work with! I had A LOT of questions, from the cocktail hour food, bar options, signature cocktail, entree/dessert, venue restrictions and overall evening timeline and Tie listened to each and every question and made it ALL come to life. It was supposed to rain on our wedding day and Tie knew how concerned we were with moving the whole ceremony inside. She was very accommodating and understanding and let us make our decision as late in the day as possible. Everything turned out perfect (and didn't rain) and the seals helped us celebrate by barking in approval while we said our vows. Overall, it was the most amazing day and one that I know everyone will remember forever. Thank you, NEAQ for helping us create something so memorable.

    Sent on 07/11/2018

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • L

    lyndsay · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding reception at the New England Aquarium was everything we ever dreamed of and SO MUCH MORE! Our guests cannot stop raving about the unique experience they had! We got married 6/2/18 & did a 75 minute cocktail hour inside the aquarium followed by dinner, dancing, & dessert outside under the tent on the Boston Harbor. Our 152 guests raved about the exclusivity of having the interior of the aquarium to ourselves for the entire evening. Dinner/dancing was the perfect time (7:45pm) as the sun was setting and all of our guests rushed to the harbor to take gorgeous sunset photos. Our first dance has the backdrop of the harbor and the permanent outdoor tent is a gorgeous staple. Words cannot express how much we LOVED planning our wedding with the NEAQ wedding coordinator, Tiesha. Tiesha was organized, professional, very quick in her response time, and just an absolute joy to work with! Tie listened to our vision the entire time and made it ALL come to life! For the menu tasting, you get to see what the full entrees will look like the day of your wedding and everything we tasted was honestly incredible that all 4 of us had difficulty narrowing down the options because of how much we loved the food. The aquarium (Tie) was also honest with us every step of the way which we genuinely appreciated. Ex: When selecting numbers for passed apps/ appetizer stations, Tie informed us if we had too much food which helped cut costs. We did a Ben & Jerry's ice cream station & it was a HUGE hit. NEAQ understood our vision and executed it seamlessly so that we could fully enjoy the entire night with our guests. If we had to do it again (maybe in a vow renewal) I would ALWAYS choose the aquarium, and not change a single thing! Our wedding day will be one of the happiest days of our lives together and we are so thankful to the aquarium for providing such a unique and memorable venue and staff to make it all possible.

    Sent on 06/26/2018

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the New England Aquarium (main gallery) was a magical and mind-blowing experience. Beyond the already impressive atmosphere, the aquarium crew made sure that everything ran smoothly, making it perfect to the smallest detail.

    We interacted with Sara, their sales manager, who was helpful and responsive, as well as Renee and Tiesha, the catering managers, who were not only really fun to deal with (during the tasting etc), but also went out of their way to make sure everything was always in order, despite a particularly tight deadline. They tried hard to cater to all our personal requests, from creating the specialty cocktails we wanted, to selecting the cutest stuffed toys as favors for the guests.

    On the day itself, there was an entire army of staff that transformed the aquarium (within an hour of closing time) into the wedding venue of our dreams. Everything, from the table decorations to the layout and food presentation, turned out exactly as we had specified, yet it was more beautiful than we had even imagined.

    The wedding dinner ran like clockwork, without a hitch. Our guests enjoyed themselves tremendously — many claimed it was the best wedding they’d been to, and I am certain it had less to do with us than with the amazing food, service and ambience. Few venues can beat the experience of wining, dining and celebrating alongside the fishes and penguins, and yet they are competitively priced — if you are considering the aquarium, just go for it!

    Sent on 01/28/2018

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • L

    Laura · Married on 11/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The NEAQ was simply the best -- we really couldn't have made a better choice for our wedding!! They were a really incredible venue, and the staff goes above and beyond to make the day ultra-special. The planning process went super smoothly; the team here is super friendly, responsive, and helpful, and although there are a lot of specific requirements to work around in order to protect their animals, they are really flexible and accommodating to help get your wedding day perfect.

    On the day of, the service was just superb -- the food was excellent, and our guests had such a wonderful time dancing with the penguins, watching the sea turtles, etc. Everyone couldn't stop talking about what a great venue it was!! And compared to other venues in Boston, it was very reasonably priced. You really can't make a better pick!!

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • T

    Tish · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our October wedding at the Aquarium was even better than we could have imagined it! We hosted everything inside the Main Exhibit space-- our ceremony was on the Penguin Tray, followed by cocktail hour at the top of tank, and then dinner and dancing back down on the main level. The staff was absolutely fantastic, from the planning stages, to the tasting, right through to the end of the wedding night. These guys are pros! They've done tons of weddings and it shows in their experience. The venue itself is beautiful and unique. We loved that there was something for all of our guests-- those that wanted to dance joined us on the dance floor, while others enjoyed wandering the exhibits! It's certainly a night we won't forget. Thanks to everybody at the Aquarium!

    Sent on 12/10/2017
  • C

    Christine · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about the New England Aquarium as a wedding venue! We held our ceremony on the terrace and reception in the Harbor View Tent. The waterfront venue is stunning and cocktail hour in the aquarium is unforgettable. Something magical happens in the aquarium at night, the lights are dimmed, the animals are restful, it's almost unrecognizable from the bustling daytime aquarium. The food is delicious, it was hard to choose among all of the options! I think, however, one of the best things about getting married at the aquarium is the staff that work with you to make sure everything is perfect. They went above and beyond in every way to accommodate our requests, whether it was related to ceremony timing, beer selection, food offerings, you name it. Day of the wedding, there are SO MANY people there to help with the wedding to make sure everything goes smoothly. I was amazed at how well it was all coordinated. If you're looking for a unique, beautiful location to get married in Boston, you can't go wrong with the New England Aquarium.

    Sent on 03/16/2018
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the NEAQ on 9/9/17. We cannot say enough about the Aquarium and the entire staff there. From our booking with Sara to planning with Abigail then Renee to our day of coordinators (Keleigh and Sandy), we had top notch service throughout. The Aquarium has been planning events for a very long time and it is clear by how smoothly everything unfolded. We loved that they have their own kitchen (where the food is delicious and expertly prepared) and their own tables/chairs/linens/silverware/etc. (which you get to choose the details of). In addition, the NEAQ provides a lot of extras we took advantage of (table numbers, toasting glasses for the bride and groom, display at the bar for signature cocktail). Whatever was not included was clearly communicated in case we wanted to provide these extras for our guests (i.e. guestbook, bathroom amenity baskets, ceremony programs, reception menus, dance floor flip flops). We were able to drop those off the day before the wedding and the staff set up everything! Further, the week of the wedding, our wedding event coordinator at the NEAQ contacted each of our outside vendors (cake, band, tent/table decor) to make sure all deliveries were set for the big day. Which, as we got closer to the wedding, was a huge load off our backs! And last, but certainly not least, I have to mention that we looked at a lot of venues in Boston and Cape Cod and we found the NEAQ to be very reasonably priced for a wedding venue in the heart of Boston.

    The NEAQ was such a unique wedding venue. Our guests have been raving about our wedding ever since 9/9! Everyone was so impressed with each part of the ceremony and reception! My husband and I highly recommend having your wedding (or any event really) at the NEAQ if you can. Everything was meticulously planned and executed. Thank you to the staff for creating and facilitating the best setting possible for the most memorable day of our lives!!

    Sent on 11/01/2017
  • C

    Chris · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The New England Aquarium is a dream setting to have a wedding. My wife and I could not be happier with our wedding there and services they provided. I mean come on, we got married with the penguins, seals, and all the other amazing "guests" that call the aquarium home. Its a picturesque setting on the beautiful Boston Harbor located in the heart of the city. Who could ask for more. The Aquarium and their staff run a great operation and do an excellent job to make sure your wedding day is as perfect as you dreamed. Its safe to say the Aquarium will always hold a special place in our hearts.

    Sent on 11/15/2017
  • J

    J · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The New England Aquarium can't be beat! Our guests were blown away, everyone had an amazing time and the staff made the planning easier! We were thrilled with our event!

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Aquairum could not be more prefect thanks to Renee and the entire staff at the aquarium. Renee went above and beyond to make sure every detail was perfect, the food was amazing and the staff went over and above to make sure every one of our guests was having the best time.

    Sent on 05/28/2017
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 05/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give NEAQ more stars I would, what an amazing venue! We had our wedding here on a Friday evening in May and it was beautiful. Our ceremony was outside on the water, it created a gorgeous backdrop! Our guests are still talking about what a fun and unique experience our wedding was! The staff was phenomenal from booking the date to service throughout the night I have nothing but praise! I also haven’t stopped hearing about how amazing the food was. Our wedding was a dream come true and I would not have had my wedding anywhere else!

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • D

    DonandSoo · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The aquarium was a very special place for us since we had our first date there. We wanted our wedding to be as special as our first day, and I must say, I don't know how, but Abigail and her team absolutely exceeded our already unrealistic expectations. Everything about the whole process was incredibly easy. We first met with Deb to discuss the contract and start envisioning what our wedding would look like. We were then transitioned to Abigail who after our first phone call (I was out of town planning), my question to her was "why would I need to hire a wedding planner?" since she took care of absolutely everything in terms of logistics during the process as well as the day of. She was incredibly prompt and answered every single one of my million questions, and was incredibly accommodating and understanding of last minute changes that we had to do. She also helped us with ideas of what we could do with the space since she knows it so so well, and it turned out to be absolutely fantastic. The food, the venue- everything was just PERFECT, and all of our guests kept telling us the same thing too!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • E

    Erika · Married on 08/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a positive experience getting married here! From the very beginning when we signed the contract until the end off the evening of the big day Abigail, our wedding coordinator was awesome. She helped us navigate through picking our menu, the layout of the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception and just making sure all the little details were in place. She also helped us get information about rehearsal dinner venues and chuppahs. On the day off everything went smoothly and looked beautiful. We couldn't have asked for anything better and we really appreciate everything that Abigail and the aquarium did for us.

    Sent on 08/10/2016

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing. Best wishes, The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • D

    Diane · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fairytale wedding at the New England Aquarium! The aquarium is such a cool place filled with beautiful tanks, amazing photo ops inside and out on the harborwalk as well as at the nearby parks. Your guest will forever remember that you got married in the aquarium and there were penguins there who so happen to be mated for life (with their color coordinated wing bands)! The tent is huge and can accommodate large weddings but can also be made quite intimate for smaller groups. We had 130 guests and it felt like just the right size. The tent can be decorated beautifully and the chairs and linens offered at the aquarium made everything come together beautifully. We had an orchid purple, creamy off white color scheme and they had the perfect linens for us. The food was great and cocktail hour inside the aquarium was so much fun! We got married on Saturday, July 2nd and we even had free fireworks on the Harbor!! There are so many amazing things about working with Abigail, I can barely list all the wonderful things but I will try. She is organized and knows all the vendors and is so pleasant to work with. She makes sure you’re on target with your planning and helps with getting all your vendors together for your big day. It is clear that she loves her job because she does everything so well and everyone (vendors and guests and everyone) loves her! The biggest miracle that she somehow pulled off was this – there was going to be a concert for Boston Harborfest on the pier next to the aquarium that was going to be loud and start at the same time as my quiet wedding ceremony on the harbor! I was so worried that we would be drowned out as we say our vows and our pianist would not be heard at all. SOMEHOW, Abigail worked it out with the Harborfest coordinator to start the concert later! My guests were so surprised as the music stopped and our ceremony started! THANK YOU, ABIGAIL and New England Aquarium for the most amazing wedding day!

    Sent on 07/21/2016

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing.
    Best wishes,
    The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • User6896925 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Talk to Abigail before you sign the contract to discuss logistics and walk through your vision. The aquarium is flexible and willing to accommodate any specific needs or requests. Don't hesitate to continue to set up meetups with Abigail (even on site) as needed. Her flexibility and responsiveness really made everything easier. Generally, any major surprises along the way are beneficial ones.

    Sent on 06/28/2016

    New England Aquarium's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are thrilled you selected us to be a part of your wedding and we were so happy to hear that your day was amazing.
    Best wishes,
    The New England Aquarium Events Team
  • K

    Kerrie · Married on 10/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding ceremony and reception at the aquarium was the most amazing experience. Our wedding night was absolutely perfect and even the planning process was smooth & uneventful :) I would definitely give this venue more than 5 stars.

    My husband and I originally looked at the aquarium because his parents had their wedding reception at the aquarium years ago (they used to have a boat that they could do the reception on!). Emily was so great to work with during the initial decision process. She responded to all my emails and thoroughly answered all my questions. When we were still debating on the aquarium vs another venue, she made it so easy to get into the aquarium and look at the space- my husband and I both work full time jobs outside of the city, so she arranged for us to see the space (for a 2nd, 3rd...time) on a Saturday (& even got us validated parking!). She provided a very accurate proposal so we could get a sense of cost and was even willing to work with us to keep things within our budget.

    When we decided to go with the aquarium, it was an easy transition going from working with Emily to working with Abigail. Abigail is AMAZING. When it got time to decide all the little details- I wouldn't have been able to do it without Abigail. Like Emily, she answered all my ridiculous questions and she responded to my emails fast. Abigail took care of everything- she made the planning process enjoyable and made sure the night of our wedding was perfect. Everyone who worked the night of our wedding was amazing- great bar tenders & servers! The food was great- just like at the tasting!

    One of my absolute favorite decisions in going with the aquarium was deciding to have our ceremony there- we had it in the main exhibit gallery (right by the penguins!). It was incredible to look up at all our family & friends standing around the big water tank. I would HIGHLY recommend getting married IN the aquarium, as well as having your reception there!

    Sent on 12/30/2015
  • M

    Maria · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing, I couldn't haven't done it with out Abigail and all of the staff at NEAq , they really went the extra mile, the venue is beautiful and special and very unique. If you looking for something different and timeless choose NEAq!

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as we visited the Aquarium and toured the space with Sales Manager Emily, we were sure it was the perfect place for our wedding. The Aquarium is such a unique and cool venue and the Special Events team was amazing, from our first visit, through the whole planning process, and managing every detail of our special day. Abigail, our Catering Manager, was incredibly organized, responsive, and thorough in her responses to all of our questions along the way and provided great recommendations for other vendors including the officiant we ended up hiring. We really appreciated the personalized attention we received including a private tasting; even though NEAQ hosts weddings almost every weekend, it never felt like it! On our wedding weekend, we had total confidence in Abigail and the Events team, but we were particularly impressed and grateful for the amazing service we received from all of the attendants and other event staff as well. Our guests had an amazing time and, from the ceremony to the reception, our wedding was everything we had dreamed of and more!

    Sent on 12/12/2015
  • C

    Christina · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we toured the Aquarium, we knew that this is where we wanted to have our wedding. We were looking for a place on Boston's waterfront that was unique but that would host the ceremony, the cocktail hour, & the reception all in one. This was the spot for it all. The sales manager Emily walked us through everything to help us envision our day. She made us feel so excited to set the date. The catering manager & day of coordinator, Abigail, was the next person we met with. She was FABULOUS from start to finish, efficient in returning emails throughout our planning, wonderful in coordinating with our other vendors, & fantastic at dealing with week of stress that a bride can bring to the plate! She went above and beyond to make everything work.. All more fantastic than I could have ever imagined! We had our ceremony outside overlooking the water. The cocktail hour was hosted inside around the fabulous exhibits all dressed up to host such an event & very interactive for the guests! The reception was in a covered tent behind the aquarium with the water as the backdrop. The waitstaff was prompt, courteous, & very professional. The bartenders were fabulous & even helped "design" one of our specialty drinks. The night was seamless & I wasn't stressed thinking about anything that night, as I was so comfortable in knowing the the AMAZING Abigail was there to help with any last minute issues to put all of us at ease. The food was amazing. Who would think that food prepared in a kitchen at an aquarium would be so fantastic?! We were blown away and still have guests that say to us.. The food at your wedding was incredible! Not many people can say that their food was memorable at a wedding! Overall, The New England Aquarium blew us away with their ability to meet all of our needs of hosting our dream wedding. Thank you for the best night of our lives.. Thanks Abigail! xo, The Genoas

    Sent on 12/28/2015