Weddings

National Tropical Botanical Garden Reviews

National Tropical Botanical Garden

National Tropical Botanical Garden

Koloa, HI
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 32 Reviews
View more information

32 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 32
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Charlotte
    Charlotte T. Married on 02/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream wedding

    We could not have been happier with our wedding at the McBryde garden. Choosing this venue determined a good deal of our budget since we had to bring in everything including toilets and a generator, but it absolutely made our day unforgettable. Gwen Silva is incredibly kind, professional and lovely to work with.
  • C
    Carmen Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Finding a venue for a destination wedding was a bit challenging. We wanted an outdoor wedding and we had never been to Kauai. Not seeing a venue in person was a bit worrisome. But once we saw pictures of Ntbg Allerton garden, we fell in love. Gwen was great, friendly and responsive. She took the time to tell us as much information as possible. She respondeed back via email within a day whenever we had questions. She also sent us more pictures and videos to let us get a better idea of the venue. We are very happy to have picked this beautiful place. There's so much space and you get the whole place to yourself. Our guests complimented how beautiful and perfect it was. You see the water in the background and you have a lot of greenery and flowers. This venue describes Kauai very well. You'll have to book all the vendors, but it makes the wedding more personal. Everything went smoothly!

    We definitely recommend having your wedding at NTBG.
  • M
    Madeline Married on 04/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had such a wonderful experience with Gwen and the NTBG throughout the entire planning experience and event itself, we truly couldn’t be happier. We had to change our venue from the big valley to the visitors center 2 days before the wedding due to earlier flooding, something that could’ve been very stressful, but it was so smooth and Gwen so accommodating and helpful. Our wedding was gorgeous, the grounds were gorgeous, and Gwen is great. This venue was so perfect for us and helped make our dream an even better than we could have ever imagined reality. We can’t wait to visit NTBG for years to come as our special, happy place <3
  • C
    Chelle Married on 02/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was such a hidden gem of a wedding location that the first time I saw it, I knew it was where my sister should have her wedding. It provided an intimate yet open venue for our friends and family to come together and celebrate her beautiful day. Gwen was nothing short of amazing and answered our questions from beginning to end. She went above and beyond her duties to ensure my sisters day was special. Happy to say we were the very first wedding on the lanai and I am sure we will not be the last. Thank you NTBG and Gwen for providing such an unforgettable memory.
  • J
    Jon Married on 01/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The garden is a fantastic place to get married, and Gwen was very helpful. We thought a lot about doing the wedding at a restaurant instead, but you can't beat the ambiance of being totally outside. When we saw the venues in person we were very pleased with our choice!
  • L
    Linda Married on 11/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding turned out so beautifully in front of the waterfall at the NTBG! Thanks Gwen and everyone there who helped make it beautiful and a once in a lifetime experience!
  • N
    Nadia Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It's hard for me to put into words how truly blessed my husband, myself, our family, and friends are to have had held our wedding at the NTBG so I'll do my best! :-) The venue is absolutely breathtaking and pictures can't do it any justice. Any one out there that is looking for a beautiful, sacred, special location to have your wedding or any kind of event that you will hold dear to your heart and will remember forever, I HIGHLY recommend the gardens!!!!

    We all left the gardens different than how we came and I will forever thank Gwen and the staff for it. We traveled all the way from Los Angeles, CA to these exact gardens and our wedding could not have been complete without it. Gwen, thank you again for absolutely everything. We are forever in your debt. Both yourself and the staff went above and beyond to meet our expectations and not a day goes by when I don't take you all for granted.

    To Gwen, the staff, and the NTBG thank you so very much for allowing my wedding dreams to come true, memories that I will hold on to forever, and dreams that I hope to replay over and over again when I want to smile! :-)
  • D
    Dan Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We recently had the most wonderful experience planning and enjoying our daughter's wedding in the big valley at Allerton botanical gardens. Gwen was most gracious, very professional and extremely helpful on every point. we had a wedding of 200 guests and all were amazed at the beautiful surroundings. What a lovely evening we catered through Brennecke's who helped us with all the vendors and rental equipment it was very smooth . I would highly recommend allertons for the event of a lifetime.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 10/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I COULD GO ON FOR DAYS WITH HOW WONDERFUL GWEN SILVA FROM NTBG WAS TO WORK WITH. I WORKED WITH GWEN THE ENTIRE 9 MONTHS SINCE SELECTING THIS SITE FOR THEIR WEDDING DAY. THERE ARE MANY MOVING PARTS TO PLANNING A WEDDING AT A VENUE LIKE THIS AND GWEN WAS SO HELPFUL MAKING SURE WE HAD NOT LEFT OUT ANY DETAILS TO MAKING THIS MAGICAL DAY HAPPEN FOR THIS VERY SPECIAL COUPLE. WE HAD A 100 YEAR RAIN ON KAUAI THAT DAY, THE TEAM NEVER LET US DOWN, THEY WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO GET GUEST TO THE SITE AS QUICKLY AND DOING THEIR VERY BEST TO KEEP EVERYONE DRY. WE HAD TO MAKE LAST MINUTE ADJUSTMENT FOR CEREMONY TO TAKE PLACE INSIDE THE TENT. THE BRIDE AND GROOM LOVED THE WAY EVERYTHING TURNED OUT. GUEST HAD A PARTY OF A LIFETIME. THANKS TO GWEN AND HER TEAM.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This place is absolutely magical! Gwen and her team were truly ALOHA and made all of our dreams come true. I wish we could do it all over again.
  • M
    Marisol Married on 06/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was an ABSOLUTE PLEASURE working with Gwen at NTBG. Super attentive and was there with us as we planned every step of the way. She made sure we were taken care of and had everything we needed. My utmost fave to have an event with on the island BY FAR! A joy to work with.
  • M
    Miguel Married on 04/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gwen and her team were very professional and helped make our wedding a very memorable event. We were especially touched by everyone at NTBG's kind disposition for us and our wedding party.
  • E
    Esther Event on: 03/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The entire staff of National Tropical Botanical Gardens were great! Gwen was exceptional and provided excellent service and ready to help us with our every need, from our initial site visit to the evening of our event!
    We used their South Shore Meadow and it was good match! Our clients enjoyed themselves and said the venue was simply beautiful!
    Mahalo Gwen and NTBG, can't wait to plan another event at your gardens.
  • User2968123 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    McBryde Gardens ended up being the icing on the cake for our wedding day! After getting a wonderful tour of the grounds, Gwen showed us all of the cool places for our photoshoot. I was so surprised that they were able to accommodate us last min when we found out it was supposed to rain on Saturday- with only one days notice, we moved the shoot up to Friday without an issue at all! The Gardens have endless options for photos, and the staff is so pleasant to work with. I wish I could do it all again :)
  • S
    Shelly Married on 10/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We recently had our event at the McBryde Gardens at NTBG. Not only is the backdrop jaw dropping, the team at NTBG is a pleasure to work with. Highly professional and always returned phone calls, texts and emails. No details went unanswered which makes planning a breeze. Gwen was not only helpful in making sure all details were taken care but she also lent us a hand in setting up to make sure our guests had a memorable time. Pure Aloha and we thank Gwen and the whole staff for having an amazing venue. Mahalo NTBG!!!
  • L
    Lila Event on: 09/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the most special place to celebrate the life of one of the most special people. We wanted to have a service that spoke of life and hope and choosing the meadow at the botanical gardens in Poipu was the best choice we could have made. We were able to enjoy every moment under the shade of trees, listening to the ocean, and visiting with family and friends under a beautiful white tent. This venue is often used for weddings, but it is also a great place to gather and remember beautiful people. The service was incredible from start to finish and the best part was it was low stress, Gwen was kind and helpful from start to finish. It was worth it and I can't recommend a better venue for an outdoor event.
  • User2885233 Event on: 09/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so blessed by the National Tropical Botanical Gardens for allowing their grounds to be used for the memorial service of a dear friend this last September. Thank you making this celebration of life truly memorable for everyone.
  • A
    Andrew Event on: 09/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    An amazing event where the details were so seamless that we could concentrate on the people present without distraction. Thank You!
  • K
    Kristy Event on: 09/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Such a beautiful place to honor a life well lived. It is spacious and gives ample room for reflection mentally, emotionally as well as physically. Can't imagine a better place to hold a memorial service.
  • User2880094 Event on: 09/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was perfect! Thank you so much!
  • User2880341 Event on: 09/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was an amazing experience that I would recommend to anyone looking.
  • M
    Mai Married on 09/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue was the perfect setting for our intimate, romantic, Hawaiian wedding. Gwen was absolutely a gem to work with. She was very friendly, patient, and accommodating to us. By the end of the wedding, she was like family! The venue is absolutely breathtaking. The big valley is so peaceful and quiet. Our wedding was magical because of the National Tropical Botanical Garden.
  • C
    Christine Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The National Tropical Botanical Garden is a breathtaking venue for an intimate wedding. With giant trees to provide shade, beauty of the gardens, giant lawn for children to roam and play, and view of the ocean in the background, we could not have picked a more perfect spot for our wedding day. We are so incredibly grateful for Gwen, and NTBG, for hosting us and our guests. It was an unforgettable and beautiful experience and we couldn't be more grateful!
  • User2666400 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the best location we could have selected for our wedding on Kauai! Not only did we select this venue for it's obvious beauty, Gwen, our coordinator, was so accommodating with all of our needs and requests. The Garden captures the best that Kauai has to offer!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 08/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choosing NTBG was the best dicision for our wedding venue for obvious reasons like its staggering beauty and location in proximity to hotels and accommodations but beyond the obvious I can tell you as a bride who was planning a destination wedding I couldn't have asked for a better experience working with Gwen Sylva events coordinator. The flexibility and ease I experienced with Gwen allowed me to feel like I was truly planning the wedding of my dreams and it was exactly that, a "dream wedding"!!!