National Museum of Women in the Arts Reviews

40 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for National Museum of Women in the Arts

Recommended by 96%

40
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

3 User photos

National Museum of Women in the Arts 1
National Museum of Women in the Arts 2
National Museum of Women in the Arts 3
Sort by:
  • Christine

    Christine Ramirez · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Classic DC Wedding Venue

    When choosing wedding reception venues in DC there are a lot of great options, but I couldn't be happier that we went with the National Museum of Women in the Arts. A truly elegant and gorgeous space, the Women's Museum was the perfect size and definitely a unique spot with the art galleries and second floor mezzanine. Guests couldn't get over the beautiful chandeliers and had so much fun taking photos there. We choose to have our cocktail hour on the mezzanine level followed by dinner/ dancing on the first floor. The staff here were very helpful in the planning process and providing their recommended vendors. The night felt like a fairy tale!

    Sent on 08/08/2019
    National Museum of Women in the Arts 4
  • M

    Mumu Xu · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue!

    The National Museum of Women in the Arts was the perfect venue for us! The space itself is stunning, and the staff incredibly professional. We couldn’t have asked for more.

    The Museum is gorgeous. The pictures hint at it, but it is a beautiful collection of marble and light, with fantastic chandeliers and open spaces. (When we were touring venues, we snapped a few casual pictures on our phone, and they turned out fantastic. That was a hint at just how wonderful the space looks, and how easy it was to photograph.) We had our wedding ceremony on the ground floor, and it was just perfect. Plenty of room for our guests to sit comfortably, a grand staircase to walk down, and absolutely beautiful views and acoustics. We then moved to the cocktail hour on the mezzanine, where our guests had plenty of space to walk around and enjoy. Finally, we moved back downstairs for dinner and dancing. Again, there was plenty of space, and such a beautiful setting.

    The Museum staff was also great to work with. Meredith was our main contact, and she was constantly responsive, professional, and easy to work with. The security staff and other contacts were also great to work with - present without being obtrusive.

    We couldn’t have asked for a better venue or staff.

    Sent on 04/13/2019
  • Emily

    Emily Fisher · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An elegant venue!

    We loved the NMWA as our wedding venue! It is a beautiful space and is one of the aspects our guests have complimented the most. We had the ceremony in the great hall, cocktails in the third floor gallery, dinner on the mezzanine, and dancing again in the great hall. Our guests loved cocktails in the gallery to enjoy the art; it was special and a great way to move around the space since the ceremony and reception were in the same place. Dinner on the mezzanine was elegant. One of the things we loved most about the space is you're always around all of your guests, in the same space.

    Katie and Lori at the museum were also fabulous to work with - super responsive and professional.

    Sent on 12/29/2018
    National Museum of Women in the Arts 5
    National Museum of Women in the Arts 6
  • J

    Joan · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Museum was everything we dreamed of. The chandeliers, art and beautiful marble was the perfect backdrop to our decor. It was a pleasure working with the director there to plan the reception.

    Sent on 07/29/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 02/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The NMWA is an exceptional wedding venue. It is extremely beautiful and tax deductible (who knew?)! My husband and I decided to switch our wedding date from a Saturday to a Friday because it saved us around $2000. Also, we had a winter wedding, which also reduced the price of the venue. We were also pleased that the beauty of the museum allowed us to minimize our decor budget as we didn't feel we needed as much in such a gorgeous space. There are a lot of rules around the venue so be aware that if things like stages and aisle runners are important to you, they aren't allowed. This did not cause us any problems, but if redbull vodka is your favorite drink you're going to have to give it up to get married in this venue. You can also book the 3rd floor gallery for cocktail hour, but this is an additional fee and there are a LOT of rules to use it. For example, there are no red beverages allowed in the 3rd floor gallery. We chose to use the mezzanine for our cocktail hour and that was perfect for us (plus already included in our contract!). There is also a great room in the back of the mezzanine to take photos in and get ready in. My husband and I hid in that room during the cocktail hour to have some alone time and to celebrate with just each other after the ceremony. Overall, we loved getting married at the museum and our guests raved about how lovely everything was. Thanks NMWA!

    On a side note, apparently their lunch is very yummy so I will have to swing by sometime to try it out!

    Sent on 02/11/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Get married here! You will have zero regrets. It was the wedding of a lifetime which my guests and I will never forget. The customer service is awesome. Their list of vendors is great and such a help. The pictures are incredible. You can't go wrong!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • N

    Nathalie · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful and perfect spot to get married. We did both the ceremony and reception here, and everyone told me how much they loved the space. They were super easy to deal with, but know going in that you're going to have to bring in ALL the vendors... the museum doesn't provide anything other than the space, and their expertise... which was actually super plentiful and much appreciated!

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • G

    Gabriella · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot imagine a better place to have had our wedding and reception. I wanted a space that was architecturally interesting and this space is that and more. The venue is absolutely gorgeous, it was grand without feeling too big. We had 125 guests and the space worked perfectly for the ceremony downstairs, cocktails on the balcony and the reception back downstairs. Christina was great to work with and worked very well with our other vendors. We cannot say enough about NMWA!

    Sent on 10/23/2015
  • T

    Terrance Nydia · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We thoroughly enjoyed this venue. It is a wonderful space. We fit about 230 guests upstairs for dinner, although it was a bit tight.

    Sent on 08/01/2015
  • User3954782 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The National Museum of Women in the Arts was a fantastic location to have our wedding reception. Not only is it stunningly beautiful and centrally located in downtown DC, but the staff was exceptional and provided great assistance during the overall planning process. Lori was a pleasure to work with- she is extremely knowledgeable about event planning and was a joy to have help plan our dream wedding. I would recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for an exceptional venue that will keep your guests talking for years to come :)

    Sent on 03/18/2015
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    NMWA is an amazing space for a wedding. We had both our ceremony and reception at the museum and it was perfect. Really classy venue with excellent event staff to help along the way--Christina and Alison are great; very helpful and responsive. Thanks for an unforgettable day!

    Sent on 09/22/2014
  • A

    Amber · Married on 08/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The NMWA is an amazing venue for a wedding ceremony and reception in the DC area. All of our family and friends were amazed at the space and commented on it repeatedly the entire night. We rented all 3 floors and it was great for guests to experience the art gallery during cocktail hour. We worked with Allison at the museum and she was great. She provided input on how things could be done and it was very valuable. I am extremely happy I had my wedding there and I would recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue in DC check out the NMWA.

    Sent on 09/01/2014
  • N

    Nneka · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I absolutely loved this venue. The location, the ambience and the staff were absolutely awesome. We worked with Christina during the planning stages and she was so sweet and helpful throughtout. We were notified last minute that Christina was no longer available to be the staff on duty on our wedding day. However, her colleague Alison was just as nice and extremely helpful as her replacement on the day of. I highly recommend this gorgeous museum for any couple looking for an unconventional but beautiful venue for their wedding. Definitely the best decision we made!

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • User4153202 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely gorgeous space. Event staff at the museum was extremely helpful and stayed through the event. Museum was very flexible in permitting our decor choices. The space is so majestic but not stuffy in feel. Our guests loved it. Being there just makes you feel special.

    Sent on 06/05/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 02/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at NMWA this past weekend and it was an absolute dream!! I worked exclusively with Alison and could not have been more please with her and everything she did.

    My husband and I knew that we wanted to have the ceremony and reception in the same venue. We looked at hotels and decided not to go that route, because we wanted more than just 4 walls. That cut down our choices drastically. We then began the search through DC for the perfect venue and once I walked into NMWA I said to myself "This is it!". Alison gave me the initial tour and answered all of my questions before I could even ask them. She was extremely attentive and responsive to any of my questions and needs. She let us come and walk around the museum whenever we wanted to which was such a huge help!

    I cannot recommend NMWA enough. Not only is it an absolutely beautiful building and venue, the staff were all wonderful all the time and worked with us for whatever we needed. I am sad that I won't get to see and talk to Alison as much, but plan on going back from time to time.

    Sent on 02/20/2014
  • C

    Cara · Married on 01/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When planning our wedding, we were looking for a place that was not a hotel where we could host 200+ for a seated dinner in downtown DC. I had done corporate events at NMWA before and it was a great fit - super walkable to the metro and hotels (for out of towners) and the most beautiful and elegant space. I recommend working with Lori - she is so kind and the most flexible of the special events staff.

    Sent on 01/21/2014
  • User1490755 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding a few weeks ago and it was AMAZING. Every single one of our guests raved about the beautiful venue and location. Many said that this was the best wedding they had ever attended!
    Alison Roth, our event manager, was so sweet and accommodating. She and the entire staff were incredibly helpful and responsive to our every need. She made sure that all of our questions and needs were met and always responded immediately.

    Sent on 08/29/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 01/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This museum was the absolute perfect spot for our wedding!! The space is beautiful and exquisite and with all the lighting and decor set up on the day of the wedding, it was stunning. My husband I had originally planned to be married at a resort on the beach in October 2012, however, due to his military obligations we had to move our wedding up to January 2012 and move it to DC, where I live. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed but once I saw this venue, I knew I would love it just as much! It was a little pricey but we did get a slight discount since our wedding was in January (not an especially popular month). Elise was our contact at the museum and she was super sweet and answered all my questions. She helped recommend vendors (all whom were fantastic choices) and was very accommodating whenever I wanted to come into the museum and meet with a vendor. I would absolutely recommend this venue for a wedding or really any large special event!

    Sent on 01/17/2012
  • M

    M. · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The National Museum of Women in the Arts was absolutely the perfect venue for our event. The Museum is the most beautiful in Washington DC and is really set up to be the perfect venue. The main floor is gorgeous and has a marble floor, beautiful columns, art work, and wood trim. The second story balcony overlooks the main floor and is so grand with beautiful columns, chandeliers and art work. We were so thrilled with our choice and couldn't imagine having had our wedding anywhere else!!

    Sent on 06/21/2011
  • Lindsay

    Lindsay · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful venue - the place looked amazing for my wedding! It was a little bit more than I wanted to spend on the venue, but well worth every penny. Love the chandeliers and the dramatic lighting in the evening. I used uplights during my ceremony and reception, but I don't think that you need them.

    Sent on 10/28/2010
  • A

    Anne · Married on 01/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the absolute ideal location for our wedding of 225 guests. Highly, highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/01/2010
  • S

    Sheerin · Married on 08/23/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was like a dream - if you have a big wedding - 200 plus, I would highly recommend it. Plenty of room for dancing, and it's just gorgeous!

    Sent on 10/01/2008
  • User5359106 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy that we chose the NMWA for the reception! An elegant space which we configured (with the staff's advice) to maximize the space for cocktails and dancing on the first floor with dinner served at tables on the balcony. That turned out to be a perfect decision----those wanting to dance had plenty of space to do so and to enjoy the band after dinner, and guests wanting to chat and rest could do so either at small tables downstairs or at the dinner tables upstairs. There was space for enjoying both the wedding cake and dessert table without cutting into the wonderful dancing space. It was truly perfection! The museum staff was also wonderfully helpful----even provided suggestions for guest hotel choices in the area which were great.

    Sent on 08/18/2015
  • A

    Annie · Married on 08/04/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once we started the venue search and came across NMWA, we stopped talking about any place else. After visiting, we knew it was our venue (we never even visited another option). We ended up with about 220 guests and had the ceremony on the first floor, cocktail hour in the gallery, dinner on the mezzanine and dancing back on the first floor. Its beauty speaks for itself, but you also get a dynamic and interesting space that most other venues can't provide. The space took my breath away every time I visited and of course again on our wedding day. The team was wonderful to work with but because we had to bring in all vendors, investing in a wedding planner was definitely worth the cost as well. I wouldn't change a thing about our wedding at NMWA- in fact I'd love it if we could do it all over again!

    Sent on 09/12/2018
  • User1623026 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The National Museum of Women in the Arts is, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful spots to get married in DC. The space is so truly amazing that you really don't need to do much in the way of decor. I had the opportunity to work with Elise, who unfortunately is no longer there. She was absolutely amazing every step of the way. She answered all of my many questions, provided me with vendor recommendations, and was even willing to work with me when it came to storing favors, table markers, programs, etc. in her office. My husband and I were even able to have pictures taken in the gallery, which ended up being my favorite pictures of that night.

    Sent on 08/09/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review