Narrative Images Reviews

22 | La Mesa, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Narrative Images

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

22

11 User photos

Narrative Images 1
Narrative Images 2
Narrative Images 3
Narrative Images 4
Narrative Images 5
+ 7
Order by:
  • John

    John O'neil · Married on 08/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Kim's Wedding - 11/8/2019

    Bernadette and Rick were amazing! They are so easy to work with and really make the whole process very comfortable. They did engagement and wedding pictures for us and the pictures turned out amazing! I would definitely recommend Bernadette and Rick at Narrative Images to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.

    Narrative Images 6
    Sent on 12/07/2019

    Narrative Images's reply:

    Thanks so much for the nice review, John! You and Kimberly were so wonderful to work with, and your wedding was absolutely beautiful! Congratulations on the start of your married life together!
  • A

    Asya · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Literally our reaction to every picture! You two are phenomenal. You captured every precious moment on our special days. Even though the henna night was a different culture than you two are used to, you guys pulled it off so well! You guys listened to all the details I shared beforehand and didn’t miss to capture any of the important moments. It was so cold and windy, but you two didn’t complain once. You kept pushing through and continually giving us tips and tricks on how to look natural and beautiful. Luis and I and the entire bridal party all enjoyed having you two be present at our wedding and henna night. We both appreciate you two so much. We are so lucky to find the greatest and sweetest photographers. It was 2 days of hectic schedule but you guys were on top of it. We will forever be grateful to you and Rick. I can't wait to have future events to celebrate, you and Rick will be the first party vendor we will make sure to book first.

    Sent on 05/22/2018
  • A

    Kendra · Married on 12/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Narrative Images was recommended by our wedding planner and we could not have chosen a better fit for my daughter's wedding. We added the Photo Studio for the reception. It was a hit! Bernadette was fabulous to work with. Narrative Images has a style that captured the essence of the day.

    Sent on 03/07/2012
  • P

    Paige · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bernadette & Rick are just two amazing people and their easygoing, genuine nature is reflected in how they shoot the day and interact with their couples.
    They are attentive in the planning process as well as on the wedding day, flexible and just so fluid with their approach. They have a calm-ness about them, which as a Coordinator, is a great positive, since they are with the couple majority of the day. For my last wedding with them, we had a unique location for shooting and it required some stair climbing and succinct timing and they nailed it! Their handling of the post-production & album afterwards are timely and just as attentive all the way through!
    True professionals and ones I happily refer!

    Sent on 11/16/2017
  • D

    Diane · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is long overdue and is for my wedding on October 14th, 2017.

    I have known Bernadette, and Rick by extension, for a while before I hired them to be my wedding photographers. I could not have gone with them since I was planning to invite them as guests. But their exceptional talent has led me to hiring them instead.

    Wedding planning is stressful so I was glad that Bernadette was on point with working with me on planning the shoot locations and timeline since our wedding schedule is very tight. They also respected our wishes of having more natural photos versus the super posed pictures that I have seen with other photographers.

    My husband and I are pleased with the photos from our wedding. We even had a sneak peak a week after our wedding, which I did not expect because it takes most photographers a month or more to come up with the photos. We also had a photo slideshow from them that we were able to share with friends on social media. The online photo gallery was also easy to share with close friends and family. Still have to work with them on the photo album though.

    In sum, I would highly recommend Bernadette and Rick to anybody who is getting married or anybody who would need photography services. Their gift of capturing joyful moments without any effort is unmatched.

    Sent on 03/27/2018
  • M

    M · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Narrative Images was truly one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! Bernadette and Rick were friendly, professional, and very thoughtful from day 1. They captured the essence of our 'style' and wedding and they went above and beyond throughout the whole process. During the actual wedding, we had so much fun working with them and they were also so stealthy, making sure they were out of the way but capturing sweet moments throughout the event. I truly recommend them and if you choose them, you will feel (like we do) so lucky to have worked with such talented documentary photographers.

    Sent on 08/03/2017
  • B

    Brandon · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply put, Rick and Bernadette of Narrative Images Photography create outstanding photos and are an absolute pleasure to work with. We hired them to do our engagement shoot, wedding day photos, photo booth/studio on our wedding day, and create albums for us too. The images they created are exceptional, we couldn’t be happier! Also, our friends and family loved the photos too! I appreciate how they don’t just create posed photos, they have a documentary style where the capture the subtle and big candid moments. They have a fantastic eye for composition and great timing. At the risk of sounding pretentious, I’m a hobbyist photographer myself with a B.A. in Art, and I love their work. Not only are their images great, they are very personable, and responsive in our email communication, which made wedding planning all the more easier. They were very easy to work with, from our first meeting, to personally giving us our wedding day photo albums. We definitely plan on working with them in the future for our family photos!

    Narrative Images 7
    Narrative Images 8
    Narrative Images 9
    Narrative Images 10
    Narrative Images 11
    Narrative Images 12
    Narrative Images 13
    Narrative Images 14
    Narrative Images 15
    Narrative Images 16
    Sent on 08/04/2018
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa · Married on 05/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was planning a vineyard wedding in Temecula, CA from Milwaukee, WI. I knew I wanted pictures in the super cute Old Town Temecula and that we would do our first look there prior to heading to our venue, Mount Palomar for pictures before the wedding. I had no idea where to begin to find a photographer. I knew I wanted 2 photographers and that it was important to get some really good reviews. In my search, there were so many mixed reviews on photographers. Then one day at work when I was talking to one of my internal clients I mentioned how difficult it was to find a photographer. His daughter lived in San Diego and he immediately got in touch with her to find out who she used for their wedding and then new born photos. A personal recommendation meant more than anything to us! I reached out to Narrative Images (Bernadette & Rick) and they got back to me right away. They understood we couldn't make it out to CA, so they agreed to do a Skype/Face Time session with us. We hit it off with them right away! They understood us as a couple and what we liked and we enjoyed their style! A huge plus is that they are with us the entire day, from the time we get ready until after the grand exit! They were great to work with figuring everything out before the wedding. Fast forward to the wedding day; everything was great! They found all sorts of cute little places in Old Town Temecula for pictures. They understood that we didn't want a bunch of posed pictures and that we were more the fun and natural style. Fast forward to about 2 weeks after the wedding and they had our sneak peeks available and within a month after the wedding all of our pictures are available. They are AMAZING!!! Absolutely captured the essence of us as a couple and really captured all the love throughout the day. I can't thank Rick and Bernadette enough! You two were absolutely amazing! I would definitely recommend them even to those who may not be having a CA wedding. They were seriously fantastic!!!

    Sent on 06/25/2017
  • User5003584 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bernadette and Rick had worked with 3 of my friends (one of which I recommended Narrative Images to them) before working with us. When it was time for us to choose a photographer for our wedding, we were very confident and comfortable with Narrative Images. They formally studied photography, so the quality of their pictures is evident in how they capture candid moments, movement, and lighting. Their natural pictures and ability to play with lighting truly stood out from the rest. Having formal or “natural” pictures is hardly natural for us, but they made us feel very comfortable and guided us throughout the process, especially during the engagement session. As a married couple, they work together very well and tag teamed to capture moments from various angles or different scenes at the same time so the final product was a great summary of our wedding day in terms of the details, events, and emotions from us (the bride and groom), family, and guests. They are very professional, accommodating to our schedule, and created a package that worked with our needs and budget. We made requests to have some or all the pictures in time for certain family events or sales for printing – they were timely and very understanding. They truly went above and beyond when they dropped off the USB drive of pictures at our doorstep so I could have it in time before the holidays. We are 110% satisfied with their work, would highly recommend them, and would be choose them again to document future moments in our lives.

    Sent on 03/16/2016
  • M

    Marisa · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick and Bernadette were so wonderful to work with. They are so creative and they really have a vision for photography. They are professional, organized, and fun to work with. They photgraphed our wedding in Santa Barbara and we could not be happier. Their photo booth was also a huge hit. Thank you so much Rick and Bernadette!

    Sent on 10/24/2013
  • R

    Robin · Married on 08/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick and Bernadette are just the best! I can not wait to see the end result! The engagement photo's were amazing and the wedding photo's will be over the top! Thank you for making the wedding day so special!

    Sent on 08/29/2012
  • P

    Paige · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with the amazing work of the Narrative Images team, Rick and Bernadette. We were introduced by a mutual photographer friend for our wedding, and the rest is history – we consider them our family friends – that are also amazing photographers! We love their natural style, capturing the truth and emotion during special life events or everyday real life. They listen to our ideas and goals of a shoot and use their natural talent to capture it. If you are awkward (like us) and don’t know what to do – they give you some gentle guidance to ensure you get your desired results. They are wonderful people, amazing artists, hardworking photographers that have given us some of the most amazing images of our most precious milestones. We have used them for our wedding, maternity, newborn and family photos and hope to continue a lasting friendship and working relationship!

    Sent on 12/10/2017
  • S

    Karen · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bernadette and Rick were wonderful to work with and very professional. They did an amazing job capturing all the special moments at our wedding. If you are looking for a talented and creative photographer for your wedding, we highly recommend Narrative Images!

    Sent on 08/21/2010
  • T

    Tara · Married on 05/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick and Bernadette were awesome!!! They have such a creative eye and gave us many wonderful shots to choose from. We have been married for two months now and they are just as helpful and professional as they were on our wedding day. Rick and Bernadette are money well spent and I would recommend them to anyone looking for amazing pictures to last a lifetime

    Sent on 08/09/2010
  • J

    Jessie · Married on 11/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my Fiance and I met with Bernadette and Rick for the first time we didnt feel the need to meet anyother photographers. We sat down and chatted like old friends. When you have someone shooting your wedding you want to feel like the photographers know who you are to capture you and your story, Bernadtette and Rick did that and so much more! We take our albulm places and our quests say they have never seen a wedding captured like the way they captured ours. We take the albulm to people who were not at our wedding and they feel like they were there. When you Choose Narrative Images for your day every detail, every tear and every smile will forever be in your memory because they have documented it in a way you didnt even know they could! My Husband and I dont remember much from our crazy, spectacular day but my memories are there because of them.

    Sent on 07/20/2010
  • S

    Staci · Married on 08/22/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick and Bernadette were so easy to work with and did an amazing job...they were artist...creative and fun...flexible too...we would recommend them to anyone...

    Sent on 09/13/2009
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick and Bernadette are the best people to work with. They captured every special moment from our wedding day, even the ones we missed. They are very professional, and by the end of working with them I felt like they were more of a guest at our wedding then a vendor. I look forward to working with them again for family pictures.

    Sent on 07/31/2010
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 05/17/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For all Brides (and Grooms) that are looking to get GREAT pictures ... Narrative Images is the BEST. They are very professional and great people. Our Wedding Album is amazing and the pictures they took are one of a kind! All the precious moments were WELL capture by them... and we will keep them FOREVER.

    Sent on 07/08/2010
  • S

    Stacia · Married on 04/26/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough positive things about Rick and Bernadette of Narrative Images! They made our dreams come to life in the photos that they were able to capture! What a great team the two of them make...so professional and kind! We didn't even know they were there. Everytime we hear of a newly engaged couple we always tell them how great our photographers were!

    Sent on 07/11/2010
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick and Bernadette shot our wedding in October of 2007 - the same week as the So Calif wildfires. We got married at Maderas Golf Club which was right in the path of one of the fires; it was burned all the way around the golf course but the location itself was intact. Rick and Bernadette were amazing!! The photos turned out beautifully in spite of the charred background. Getting married can be stressful enough but add Mother Nature to the mix and it becomes something else entirely. We got married on a Saturday but were not sure until the Wednesday prior if Maderas was still standing or burnt to the ground. Rick and Bernadette were calm, professional and tremendously supportive throughout the entire ordeal. They were VERY easy to work with - we felt completely comfortable, laughed a LOT and had a great time. They captured some photos that were simply magical but unplanned. I love the spontaneity they bring to their work. I highly recommend Rick and Bernadette!!

    Sent on 07/13/2010
  • T

    Debra · Married on 08/29/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough about Rick and Bernadette!!! They took the most beautiful engagement and wedding pictures!!!! Not only that, but we had them make Thank you cards and albums. The hardest thing about our experience with them has been picking which pictures to display. We got just over 500 pictures from our wedding day, and it took us months to widdle our favorites down to 130 for our album. We loved too many!

    Sent on 07/13/2010
  • G

    G. · Married on 02/18/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Rick and Bernadette you are the BEST!!! This husband and wife team were so easygoing and very comfortable with. I loved their photojournalism style. I could not stop looking at my wedding photos. Its not your typical stilted and very choreographed wedding poses. It really was like a storybook the way the pictures were taken and arranged. My husband and I love them and my entire family loves them. We plan to use them as our family photographer from now on..

    Sent on 05/10/2012