Mutual Fun Band Reviews

26 | Ellicott City, MD
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Mutual Fun Band

Recommended by 99%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Mutual Fun Band at our wedding, and it was beyond my expectations for how much FUN we were going to have with these folks. We hired the 6-piece band for our reception, along with the keyboardist and saxophonist for our cocktail hour. Rob and Jim were super easy to communicate with prior to the big day, and provided us with all of the information we needed to make sure they would have everything (power, space, etc.) on the day of our event. We provided them with a song request list based on their own song list a couple of months before the wedding, and they crafted a perfect play list including those songs and others like them. We were fortunate enough that they already knew the song that my husband and I shared our first dance to, as well as the mother/groom and father/bride songs (they also offer to learn one special song for each wedding at your request). These guys and gal were SO MUCH FUN. Our guests had a blast, and I could not have imagined a more rocking wedding.

  • G

    Gaelle · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Mutual Fun Band was the best decision we made for our wedding. People of all ages were dancing up until the very end and their music was great. The best part was the song we chose for them to learn. It was not really the most traditional first dance song but they took it and added their own flare to it and did an amazing job. On top of all that, they were very affordable compared to the other options out there. We definitely recommend them.

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun Band did a wonderful job at my wedding on 10/21/16! They had great energy, and kept the entire room dancing the night away! I am so glad that we chose them to play at our wedding!

  • C

    Charles · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fund Band was amazing in September 2016. They played at our wedding and were very responsive and flexible and we had a great experience. The music was great. Lots of dancing and they had a great time.

  • User6319441 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mutual Fun Band was the perfect addition to our wedding reception! We already had musicians picked out for the ceremony, but were looking to add some spunk to our reception within our budget. We looked high and low, and wedding bands unfortunately cost double what we were able to spend. Then, we found the Mutual Fun Band. The first thing that we noticed was their extensive song list. We have a wide variety of friends, and wanted great music that would appeal to all of our guests. The Mutual Fun Band covers oldies, Top 40, and everything in between. We decided to book them, and are very happy we did! I'm a music educator and most of my friends are professional musicians. We were a tough crowd for another band, and they blew us away. Everyone was dancing, laughing, and enjoying all night long thanks to the awesome music. If you're looking for good ol' fashioned music and a hilarious group to keep your guests on their feet, give the Mutual Fun Band a call! Highly recommended!

  • A

    Anne Marie · Married on 12/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun was the perfect band for my wedding!! They were really easy to work with leading up until the wedding, and were great with all the details on the wedding night. The keyboard music during the cocktail hour set the right tone, and the music at the reception had everyone up and dancing all night! No one wanted the music to end - thank you for a perfect night!

  • User4063281 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired them without ever having had made it to a live performance, so I was apprehensive about what they would sound like when the day of my wedding rolled around but I needn't have worried. Absolutely phenomenal and extremely talented group of folks. I shudder to think how boring our wedding would have been if we'd gone with a DJ. They kept the dance floor pretty much packed for 4 hours (minus a few minimal set breaks) and did a great job of providing accompanying music and a PA system for the ceremony. My folks are already looking for excuses to throw a party just so we can hire them again.

  • C

    Cassie · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had the band play at out wedding last year May 30, 2015. With our one year anniversary coming up, I wanted to give a shout out to Mutual Fun for an amazing evening that completed a lifetime memory. They travelled three hours to our venue to provide elite entertainment at an affordable price. We highly recommend Mutual Fun... it's a decision you won't regret!

  • B

    Brendan · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had the Mutual Fun Band play at our wedding, and they completely exceeded even our most hopeful expectations. In addition to bringing the house down, they were professional and easy to work with, something that I can't put a high enough value on during the most hectic day of my life.

    From the first communication we had, we knew the Mutual Fun Band was the band for us, and they didn't disappoint. The dance floor was rocking all night long. There was also a number of instances of miscommunication, none of which on their end, and they rolled with the punches and helped make our reception the most fun night of my life.

    I can't recommend Mutual Fun Band highly enough, and look forward to attending the next event they're playing at.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a great band, for an incredible value! Exceeded our expectations and were so accommodating. We had a few special song requests and they made sure to either learn them, or play them. Really made for a special night and everyone in attendance raved about them. I would recommended them without hesitation, and wish I could hear them play again!

  • P

    paula · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    i was overwhelmed by the prices that most wedding bands in the area charge, and when i first found mutual fun i was worried they were too good to be true. luckily my photographer happened to have just shot a wedding they performed at, and proclaimed them to be the best wedding band she had ever seen. with a minimal amount of direction from me, they played a great selection of music, kept our guests on the dance floor all night long, and kept the evening moving along smoothly. they also MCed the night without ever sounding cheesy, which was very important to us. i would not hesitate to recommend hiring the mutual fun band!

    Sent on 09/19/2011

    Mutual Fun Band's reply:

    Thanks! It was a great crowd too. We appreciate the opportunity to play for you and hope to see you again at one of your friends future weddings!
  • Alexandra

    Alexandra · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing band. Let me just say, I was a bit of a scatter-brained bride.. and they worked SO well with me. They are a great value, especially when compared to other local bands. Their demo CD does not do them justice.. in person they are simply amazing. I had so many complements on the band! They kept people dancing, sounded fantastic, and were so easy to work with. Thank you again, Mutual Fun!

  • C

    Cara · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun was awesome! After the wedding, everyone told us how much they loved the band. To be honest, I had a hard time remembering all of the songs they played at the wedding (because we were so busy takling to people, taking pictures, etc.) but I do remember that the dance floor was packed from the first song that they played, until the last song, which they played only because the crowd cheered and cheered until they played one last song. They were also very fun - I was looking at the pictures from our photobooth after the wedding and saw their pictures, together and with guests of the wedding! They were also a great value and very easy to work with. They were nice enough to send us the set lists after the wedding so that now we will always be able to remember what songs we danced to! I highly, highly recommend Mutual Fun!

  • Ben

    Ben · Married on 10/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had the crowd going all night long. Played great throw back music (80's etc...) and we played newer stuff during their breaks. They sounded great!!!

  • F

    Farah · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING BAND!! We heard them play at one of my best friends' weddings and knew we had to have them for ours. They had the whole crowd dancing the ENTIRE night - even my dad and my husband's dad who NEVER dance.They are super reasonably priced - all the other bands we wanted were 3-4x the price of Mutual Fun, and I can't imagine that anyone could have been better. They played all of our favorites and did a great job of reading the crowd. We could not have been happier with how it all turned out.

    Sent on 07/19/2010

    Mutual Fun Band's reply:

    Thanks! We had a great time as well! The crowd was obviously having a good time which we always like to see!
  • M

    molly · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun brought down the house at my wedding. I can count the number of people NOT dancing on one hand and 2 of them were over 90 years old. My guests are still talking about how good the band was. They were extremely talented and extremely professional. They far exceeded our expectations and even learned two songs for our wedding, which we really appreciated. They also read the crowd very well and new what songs to play next. Cannot recommend them enough!

  • nmrice

    Nicole · Married on 10/31/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want your guests dancing all night long book Mutual Fun Band! We had about 200 people at our wedding and there were few that weren't dancing. They even did two encores because the crowd was so in to it. We contacted a few other bands in the Baltimore-DC region and Mutual Fun definitely provided the best value and service. We are still hearing "best wedding ever" from some guests and we have Mutual Fun Band to thank!

  • BlueEyedBride08

    Erin · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Fantastic. Mutual Fun Band was amazing. I don't know how to review a vendor that you can't really see before the day of your big event, but I have NEVER heard of people complimenting the family for an amazing band. I found these guys online and took a chance after listening to only a few demos by hiring them for my wedding. They charged a very reasonable price compared to other bands in the area, and put on a show that I could only imagine would have cost twice as much!

    From the very beginning, the band was very responsive with letting me know when I needed to inform them of my main dance songs (ie, father/daughter, mother/son, etc) and then any suggestions they had about the other music. They were very easy to work with, and completely took control the day of.

    I really don't know how to relay how incredibly impressed everyone was with the Band! We had the 5 person band with the female vocalist. They were very friendly, worked with the crowd to determine what songs would flow best, would get people to dance, and would most importantly, keep people on the dance floor! I had all intentions of creating a full playlist to keep control of what songs I wanted, but with all the other wedding details, I ran out of time, but it was nice to know I didn't need to do that anyway (thank goodness!)!

    Thinking back on the night, I can't even remember the band taking breaks. They really seemed to enjoy themselves with our group, and our guests were really enjoying the music. What a great feeling it is to STILL have our friends and family talking about the band. This was EASILY the best decision I made for our wedding. Thank you Mutual Fun for an unforgettable evening. I will recommend you to other brides as well as any corporate functions that need music!

    Sent on 11/07/2009

    Mutual Fun Band's reply:

    Thank you for your kind review. We had a great time as well and the crowd obviously was really enjoying themselves. Thanks again for having us!
  • Liz

    Liz · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun Bands performance at our wedding was exceptional!! I decided not to go for a DJ as I wanted a live band to get my guests off their feet and get them more involved. They have a broad range of music to choose from and even learned a song for our first dance. They were able to get guests - who I have never seen dance - off their feet and put their dancing hat on! I'm so glad I hired them for our wedding and I would hire them again!

  • I

    inga · Married on 04/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh boy, those guys made my wedding day! They play good music and the singer had a very beautiful voice that can imitate well songs sang by other singers. Nobody had to dance but people just would get up and dance and trully enjoy themselves! I (the Bride) got all my dress dirty and took off my shoes and danced barefoot till I couldn't dance anymore. They would play cutom songs for you and do it well as well as take any last minute requests (international music on our CD, etc.) Lovely people, Thank you SO Much!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 12/29/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The band was fantastic. I have never been to a wedding before where everyone was ALWAYS on the dance floor. They were a huge hit at our reception and everyone loved them. They were always responsive, worked with our timeline and got everything right! By providing their own lights and equipment, everything was so smooth and we didn't have to worry about a thing! They also provided us with a piano player for the cocktail hour which helped us knock one more thing off of our to-do list. The Mutual Fun Band was a great vendor and I recommend them to every bride looking for a band!

  • User2100188 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun did an amazing job! They kept everyone dancing at our wedding and we received a lot of compliments on our band selection. We were initially a little nervous since we had never heard them in person, but they arrived on time, set up quickly and played a great mix of songs. They were able to accommodate all of our requests, and filled in the rest of their sets with perfect music. They were really helpful at keeping us on track with the schedule that we had initially set, and were really knowledgeable about timing and pacing of the wedding reception. We had the 6 piece band (added in the female vocalist and sax) and were really happy with our selection. We looked at a bunch of bands in the DC and Annapolis area, but Mutual Fun was the best value by far.

  • D

    Denise · Married on 07/10/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Danced the night away. Band works with guest to get everyone dancing. Was great wedding band. My friends and family still talking about how great the band played.

    Sent on 06/14/2012

    Mutual Fun Band's reply:

    Thanks! We had a blast playing for you!
  • S

    Sue · Married on 09/03/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The band was really great. They were easy to work with and very accommodating to me in the planning process and to the request of guests. The reception was a really lively party and the band had everything to do with it. They aren't the least expensive option but I definitely consider it money well spent.

    Sent on 06/04/2012

    Mutual Fun Band's reply:

    Thanks! The crowd seemed to a have fantastic time and we really fed off of that!
  • C

    Connie · Married on 06/26/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mutual Fun was totally awesome!! The band is so friendly and very easy to work with. As someone with a music background, I was extremely picky when it came to the music for the wedding, and Mutual Fun did not let me down! They sound fantastic and kept everyone out on the dance floor for the entire night. Tammy (lead female singer) was great to work with. Mutual Fun is the quintessential wedding band - their experience, music quality, and energy really speak for themselves!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review