Skip to main content
Weddings

Music Man Productions Reviews

Music Man Productions

Music Man Productions

Des Moines, IA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 69 Reviews
View more information

69 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 69
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

1 User photo

  • Susan
    Susan S. Married on 11/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great personality!

    Music man products was a great choice for my retirement party.
    But this company would be great for any event.
    Great company to work with.
  • A
    Allyson W. Married on 11/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Music Man Productions

    So happy we chose Music Man Productions to DJ at our wedding. Ron kept the dance floor full the whole night and was very professional and kept things running smoothly. He was very responsive as well leading up to our big day. Would highly recommend them for your wedding!
  • D
    Danielle D. Married on 11/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend

    Curtis was great to work with and is so good at what he does! He kept our dance floor full all night!!
  • Katherine/Daniel
    Katherine/Daniel Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Leah and Brock make the perfect wedding team!

    Throughout wedding planning, we had the following guidelines in choosing vendors: quality (for which we looked at reviews), value (for which we looked at package specs and price), and ideally some sign of inclusivity. Music Man Productions was very straightforward with packages, the reviews mentioned elements that were important for us, and they mention they serve the LGBTQ community on their website, which meant a lot to us. Your DJ really sets the tone, and we wanted everyone to feel welcome to the party.
    Curtis was our initial contact. A few months beforehand, Curtis had a family commitment and we switched to Brock and Leah. Initially we were flustered, but not only was it a seamless transition, but they are just a rock solid team and extraordinary professionals. One or both of them are teachers, and that combination of engaging and getting it done in their personalities played out wonderfully with our wedding. When we have kids I want them to be in their class(es)!
    Planning process: We met with Brock 3 times before the big day, and each time it was less of a song checklist and more of a discussion of how we wanted the day to go. That not only helped check off songs, but gave us clearer mental organization that ultimately helped in other realms of wedding planning. They have an online tool (“gig builder”) to help plan out the day so you can reference that throughout planning. Very helpful that we had a living document that we could look at at any time of day.
    Technical: Brock and Leah know their equipment well. I’m guessing they put a lot of thought into the brand and type of speakers they use. Multiple people reflected later that the reception music was loud enough to dance to, but people didn’t feel the need to leave the room to visit. It was a detail that ended up making the reception enjoyable for young and old.
    Music repository: we had some less frequently used songs for our ceremony and beginning of the reception, and wanted certain versions of some songs. They have an arsenal of various platforms to get whatever song we asked for. Even if they’d never heard of a song, they were unfazed and made sure they had it.
    Sensing: we had a clear idea of music we wanted for the ceremony and beginning of the reception, but pretty much turned it over to them as soon as any “official” songs were done (wedding party entrance, cake cutting, anniversary dance, etc.). I got the sense they put a lot of energy into reading the room throughout the night. I feel like this is where some people get into trouble with DJ’s – not at all an issue here, they were great. I can’t really articulate how they did it, but they kept the energy up but also kept the focus on the crowd.
    Responsive: they were responsive both throughout planning and the night of. We had a song from a Bollywood movie a friend of ours got us hooked on a few years ago, and they made it happen. The dance floor was already going great, but really lit up then! They were also on board to do the games we liked.
    Conflict management: they were very straightforward about respecting a “do not play” list. We didn’t have a ton on it, but it gave us a lot of peace of mind knowing that would never be an issue.
    They’re unflappable, and they think through details I’d bet a lot of DJ’s don’t. Cannot recommend them enough.
  • T
    Tanner P. Married on 04/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect DJ

    Curtis with Music man was perfect for me and my wife’s wedding. He reached out, handled all the details and made sure everything ran as smooth as possible. On top of that his music selection was a hit and kept everyone dancing all night. Thrilled with our choice and would do it again without any hesitation.
  • B
    Beth W. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    We had such a great wedding reception with DJ Travis of Music Man Productions! Not only easy to work with before hand for preparation, but he checked in with us during critical moments that night to make sure everything was perfect - and it was!
  • K
    Kylie M. Married on 11/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Better than we could have ever hoped for!

    Curtis was absolutely amazing! He did a great job making sure everything ran smoothly. He has a wonderful personality and it was just as wonderful having him at our wedding!
  • Rachel
    Rachel B. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Music Man Productions

    Using Music Man Production as our wedding DJ service was a great decision! Their online tool made it easy to pick songs and make play lists. They also got specific versions of songs we wanted that were not on their already extensive list. We definitely recommend Music Man!
  • K
    Kelly W. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phs prom/hoco

    We originally hired Music Man Productions to play at our 2020 Prom celebration. Due to Covid that had to be cancelled, but Curtis and crew were very accommodating and allowed us to change our dates for an outside Homecoming celebration in the fall. Highly recommend! Very courteous and professional!
  • Michele
    Michele Married on 06/27/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    I would highly recommend MusicMan Productions/Curtis to anyone and everyone! He made our night so fun and perfect! When you are looking for a DJ you want someone who will get the party started and keep it going all night and that is exactly what they did for my wedding!! Thank you guys so much! :)
  • L
    Liz R. Married on 12/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend - Great Experience with Curtis

    Curtis did an outstanding job at our recent wedding reception! He was incredibly responsive to emails and offered to meet face to face in the days leading up to the wedding, so we were all on the same page. Our guests were appreciative of the extended speaker to be able to clearly hear the speeches in the large space. We also received many compliments about he positioned the speakers in such a way that allowed portions of the space to continue to have conversations while we cut up the dance floor. The online song request system was also very helpful as we searched through options for specific dances during the evening. He was gracious enough to even provide an encore final song for our rowdy friends.

    We would highly recommend Curtis to our friends and family!
  • Lisa
    Lisa L. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Officiant and DJ

    Curtis was our Officiant at our wedding last weekend, and Ron was our DJ. They were sooo good! Curtis was absolutely perfect for our ceremony. Everything he said fit us perfectly. He was funny too! I had so many guests comment on how great he was. Ron played the exact music for the crowd and we had an amazing time. They are both highly professional, dependable and accommodating; Highly recommend.
  • M
    Mark H. Married on 09/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ in the area

    Hire Curtis at Music Man Productions he is flexible, fun, attentive , and pays attention to detail. He rocked at my stepsons wedding, kept things flowing and the dance floor was packed all night.
  • A
    Allison Married on 12/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis was awesome! He accommodated to our situation many times and went out of his way to make our day special! We used Curtis for our officiant, ceremony sound, and DJ. I was so impressed with being able to have someone do these multiple tasks and be so outstanding! Curtis was fun, professional, and dependable! We highly recommend Curtis for any of your wedding needs.
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Eric did an awesome job at our wedding, very pleased. He was easy to get along with!
  • T
    Trevor Married on 06/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ron was a awesome DJ. He was very professional, worked with us on our requests, and made the day completely about us and any opinions we had or things we wanted to do he made sure it got done. He was very flexible in his schedule and came in early to set up his equipment and didn't make a fuss. He kept the party going the whole time and the dance floor was always busy. All of our guests raved about how good the music and flow was and how good the DJ was. We have been to a lot of weddings and he is one of the best DJ's I have seen. I would recommend Ron to anyone that wants a top notch DJ and great customer service.
  • M
    Mia Married on 01/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis did such an amazing job. He made us feel good about hiring him from day one by ensuring us he'd be staying in a hotel nearby the night before, and having lots of detailed questions for us to answer. It made us feel secure knowing a professional would be making sure everything would happen on time and as planned. We had multiple compliments on his fun ideas for the reception and professionalism throughout the day. My husband and I both highly recommend him. You won't regret having a professional do this and not just a close friend with little experience.
  • User2144649 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis was great to work with. He made sure we were kept up to date during the whole process, he provided excellent guidance above and beyond his role of DJ and he kept our wedding guests on the dance floor all night. Highly recommend Curtis for any event you need a DJ for.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis was great to work with. His experience and professionalism was extremely helpful in guiding us through the wedding events. He was always on top of things and proactive in helping us plan, which saved us a lot of stress!
  • User1778596 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our guests were able to make requests all night & hear what they wanted - with the exception of our "Do Not Play List". The party didn't slow down until the last song of the night, everyone had a great time!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 06/21/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis was an awesome DJ! He is very professional with his work, and so much fun as well!! Thank you Curtis for making our wedding so memorable and fun!!!
  • User1683278 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis did a fantastic job! The music was perfect, the bonus up-lighting was beautiful, and communication throughout all the planning was easy and very accessible!
  • B
    Benji Married on 04/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great DJ lots of music to select from. I got to choose a lot of the music played which was really cool. I have never heard of other DJ's doing that. really professional and great to work with.
  • M
    Megan Married on 11/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis was amazing to work with!! He made sure that our guests had a blast and worked with our goofy requests. He did wonderful uplighting and was able to set up efficiently. The late night kareoke and last song of the night were so very memorable because of Curtis!! We would recommend this services to everyone!! And Curtis in particular provided excellent customer services traveling out of his normal area to cover our wedding.
  • HopeRebecca
    Hope Married on 10/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Curtis was great!! The DJ was the one thing we were very concerned about because we had been to plenty of weddings where the DJ was absolutely horrible and ruined the party. We had nothing but great things said about Curtis! He did a great job of keeping the night going with great songs. He even helped my dad surprise me with a song he wrote for our father/daughter dance :) Definitely recommend to ANYONE!