Skip to main content
Weddings

Music By Design Reviews

Music By Design View more information

487 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 487
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

3 User photos

  • J
    John P. Married on 06/08/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Experience

    Easy to work with, thorough, and wonderful experience onsite.
  • D
    Deena E. Married on 05/29/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    10/10 highly recommend

    We loved whole experience from start until end with Music by design! Jim was fantastic! We had some last minute changes to the order of our grand entrance he was right there with us assuring us everything would work out! He was great! We got a lot of compliments from our guests about him. The online portal is a great tool as well! All in all a great vendor.
  • Megan
    Megan U. Married on 05/21/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you for getting the party started!!

    Music by Design and our Dj, David were fantastic to work with. We were able to customize and choose all the songs we wanted played and an entire list of songs we didn’t want played which I loved. David kept people engaged and kept the event running smoothly. The photobooth staff was amazing as well!! The props were adorable and the book they send you home with is amazing! The photos are hilarious to look back on. Music by Design are truly pros at what they do. Thank you
  • S
    Sarah G. Married on 04/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Party Ever

    We used Music by Design for our April 2022 wedding, and they could not have been more wonderful! The company itself was so easy to work with setting everything up (and they were great about working with us moving from 2021 to 2022). Jim was our DJ and he was amazing - he really got the vibe of the wedding we were going for, and we had people on the dance floor the whole night. We're so appreciative about how wonderful they helped make our wedding!
  • C
    Crystal A. Married on 03/27/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our DJ kept EVERYONE on the dance floor!

    Jim was AWESOME!!! He kept EVERYONE on the dance floor the entire night! Even the OLD people! Haha! If I ever have another event where I need a DJ I will be sure to hire him again!
  • B
    Brianne Married on 01/15/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend

    DJ Jim was fantastic from our initial conversation, to our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception! We didn't have a wedding planner, but everything at our ceremony ran seamlessly. His professionalism was top notch, and he kept the dance floor packed all night. He played our requested songs, took requests from our guests, and flawlessly chose additional selections that the crowd loved. Our guests had a great time at our wedding, and we credit DJ Jim for keeping the energy high-level all through the night.
  • Bill
    Bill W. Married on 01/15/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our DJ - Charlie was amazing to work with

    We had no idea what we were doing but the Music by Design had a fantastic system that walked us through all of the decisions we had to make and the ones we just didn't know what to do, we turned over to our DJ - Charlie and he was incredible.
  • Charity
    Charity Married on 12/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Dj Jim

    They were absolutely incredible!!
  • E
    Erin W. Married on 12/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Packed Dance Floor

    We had DJ Pete and he did an incredible job. Perfectly captured what we were going for and even today, 3 weeks after the wedding people are commenting on how great the music was. The dance floor was packed all night, which was exactly what we wanted. Thank you!
  • P
    Patti Married on 10/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    DJ Jim was perfect

    Jim did a fantastic job for our fundraiser. He was flexible on setup, made lots of announcements to promote our auction and raffle, and even played music to correspond to some of the prize packages we were offering. We had several people comment on his service. Thank you!
  • Hailey
    Hailey C. Married on 10/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    Kevin did an amazing job. He really got the vibe of the room and played some amazing songs that really got the crowd going. He really fed off their energy and just ran with it. People were dancing ALL night and were exhausted after !! So much fun
  • S
    Shannon M. Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We loved Elizabeth!

    DJ Elizabeth was incredibly sweet and easy to work with. The name in lights was perfect and she pronounced everyone’s names correctly which is very difficult! I would highly recommend her to any couple as she was on time, professional, and fun!
  • Natalie
    Natalie A. Married on 09/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great music and event coordination!

    We booked Music By Design for our September Wedding at Seven Bridges Golf Club in Woodridge, IL. We chose Music by Design based on customer reviews as well as pricing, and we were not disappointed. The process from signing the contract to day-of was simple and efficient. The online portal was easy to use to select music, as well as provide vital information to the DJ (e.g. schedule of events, bridal party names, etc.). Jim was our DJ and he was very kind, friendly, organized, and did a great job keeping the party going all night. Jim made sure we kept to our schedule and helped when any small issue arose. Music By Design has the DJ contact you the week of your wedding to verify the schedule and details. Jim made sure he had the pronunciations of our bridal party correct and reviewed music selections with us to ensure our day went as planned. Additionally, Jim was responsive to texts later in the week when I remembered there were some details I had forgotten to mention.
    Overall, the music was fantastic (we never left the dance floor!), the set-up was perfect for our uniquely structured venue (music and speeches could be heard during the dinner service which was in a separate room than the dance floor), and we appreciated Jim helping make sure our day occurred as planned. We definitely recommend Music by Design. Thank you, Jim!!
  • J
    Jillian V. Married on 07/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Experience!

    Everything went great. From the first steps in the planning process all the way through the execution. Our DJ, Charlie, was fantastic. Would absolutely recommend him and Music by Design in the future.
  • Chrissy
    Chrissy L. Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    DJ Jim is the BEST!

    DJ Jim made our special day perfect. He worked with my music-obsesssed requests and fit in all that I asked for. Cocktail hour to reception, he even did the "shout-outs" I asked for to dedicate songs to friends and family. And he made my custom music fit in, too. He even spent an hour with me on the phone the week before the wedding to make sure everything was communicated correctly. It was an absolute pleasure and I recommend him to everyone I know in the area! Thanks, Jim!
  • L
    Lauren H. Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJ

    We were so happy with our DJ Andrew!! He felt out the crowd and played music that kept our friends and family on the dance floor all night long. We got so many compliments on the music and I’m so happy with the outcome. Andrew was very thorough and thoughtful and we would highly recommend Music By Design for your big day!!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Married on 07/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Music by Design A++++

    Jim was so professional and very outgoing. He kept the guests dancing the whole night! Definitely recommend!!
  • Shannon
    Shannon W. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bring on the fun!

    Dj charlie was excellent he knew exactly what we wanted and took care of everything so we didn’t have to worry about when things where happening he would let us know when it was time for introductions or speeches and our first Dance. He played great music and knew how to read the room to get everyone dancing! Very friendly and professional would highly recommend!
  • A
    Ali C. Married on 04/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Music by Design and Jim

    We could not have been happier with our experience with Music by Design and specifically our DJ, Jim.
    The way their website is setup to allow you to provide details as you plan them was incredibly helpful. The way you select your preference was very easy and ensured that the songs we did not want to hear weren't played and the ones we love weren't forgotten.
    I had a call with Jim the week of our wedding to finalize our details and felt very comfortable after our call that the music would turn out great.
    There was a slight hiccup with the audio for the toasts, the venue had very high ceilings and there was some echoing, but Jim was able to adjust and get everything cleared up. The dancing portion of the night was outstanding, and we have had multiple guests comment to us "the music was so YOU!".
    We also ordered up-lighting through MBD and it looked fantastic.
    The pricing was very reasonable for everything that was included, we had a wonderful evening, and would highly recommend Jim and Music by Design to anyone looking for a DJ!
  • Crystal
    Crystal A. Married on 10/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Way to go Jim!

    This company was so patient with us as we had been screwed over by another company during the shut down and Jim handled our wedding like a pro!! Thanks so much for leading our night and never making us worry!!
  • Katie
    Katie M. Married on 09/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect and Professional DJ Experience

    Our DJ nailed our wedding day! My whole goal was to create a fun dance party at our wedding and it was absolutely accomplished. All of our guests said it was the best wedding they ever attended...and I attribute that to the flow of booze and our awesome DJ!
  • N
    Nicole K. Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bride and groom working with dj

    If you’re looking for an amazing dj, you’ve found one. Jim with music by design was the highlight of our wedding. I don’t have enough good things to say about him and the whole day. Thank you so much music by design for giving us the day of our dreams!!!!!
  • A
    Abigail D. Married on 07/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great DJ Service

    Music by Design is a great option for a DJ service for your wedding! They were very responsive and my DJ, Charlie, made the night go so smoothly! He worked will with my wedding coordinator to make sure we were at the right place at the right time. They have a software that has you lay out the night in detail, which was honestly just helpful for planning as well. They are of course flexible since they understand how weddings are. I definitely recommend!
  • A
    Angela Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dj Charlie

    Charlie was excellent! We appreciated how organized he was, how he kept our dance floor filled the whole night and how much he communicated. We feel that the DJ is an essential part of a reception and Charlie made our day go smooth!