Skip to main content
Weddings

Music By Design Reviews

Music By Design View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
502 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
97% Recommended by couples

Awards

502
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • Rachel
    Rachel H. Sent on 09/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend Music by Design and DJ Jim!

    We had a great experience with Music by Design, and specifically our DJ Jim. He was consistently responsive and helpful during our planning process. What complimented this was Music by Design’s intuitive and interactive planning form online. It allowed us to get as specific as we wanted in terms of what music we wanted played, our wedding day timeline, and various other items. Outside of this, what we were particularly impressed with was how helpful and attentive Jim was on our wedding day. He went the extra mile to ensure we did not have to worry about anything on our big day. He also effectively mixed all songs and genres that we requested while keeping the dance floor full throughout the night. We would highly recommend Music by Design, and DJ Jim!
  • N
    Nh Sent on 09/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    MBD was wonderful to work with, and we would definitely hire them again. Every person we spoke with was courteous and professional. Any questions we had were answered very quickly. The online portal was a great way to keep track of our music list and it was easy to use. The music library was expansive. There were lists of popular wedding songs that we used when we needed inspiration. MBD was also able to play a Ukrainian song at our wedding that was not in their library. We wanted specific versions of songs during our ceremony, and MBD was able to accommodate that. We also felt like the price was reasonable.

    Our wedding DJ was Charlie. He was awesome! We received so many compliments on the music, from cocktail hour to dinner to dancing. We told him generally what type of music we liked and the ambiance we wanted, and he hit it out of the park. Charlie was familiar with our venue, so we did not have to worry about him setting up. He was flexible when we made last-minute changes. Overall, we would not change a thing about our wedding day.

    We highly recommend Charlie and MBD.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Ashley D. Sent on 08/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire them for your dj needs!!

    We are overjoyed with our choice in going with Music By Design as our DJ for our wedding. Jim was our DJ, and he was absolutely phenomenal. He got in contact with us a couple days before the wedding to make sure that our music selection was correct. They even downloaded the correct songs, so that the right version was playing at our wedding. Jim was incredible. He was truly better than our wedding planner and constantly checked in with us to make sure that things were on track. If some thing went off plan, he let us know so that we were kept in the loop. He knew the right songs to play and went to play them as the dance floor was full the entire night. Any songs that we said we absolutely had to hear that night, we heard and could not have had more fun. We would definitely recommend them to anyone planning a wedding that is looking to use a DJ. Thank you so much, Jim!
  • Kathleen
    Kathleen R. Sent on 06/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ!

    Our DJ James was amazing! I filled out a form that asked which songs I wanted and what the timeline was for the wedding. He did a great job keeping our wedding on schedule and he had a great playlist using the songs I requested. He was great at handling song requests from guests and he some funny improv songs inbetween speeches.
  • R
    Rachel G. Sent on 05/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience!

    We had a great experience with Music By Design! Our original DJ had a family emergency and wasn't able to make it, but they had two replacements ready and waiting by the time we got to the reception hall. After a brief intro and questions they were able to run through the schedule that we had planned and everything went smoothly from there. We wanted our reception to have a strong focus on the guests and their entertainment, and as MCs, our DJs were able to smoothly transition between the different elements of our reception and did not pull attention away from the main event. They played the songs that we had requested through the planning tool and filled in the rest of the time with appropriate selections like we discussed. We had a few comments from guests saying that the music and dancing were great and they felt like the music selection got them on the dance floor significantly more than at other weddings. We would recommend them to others!
  • A
    Anna L. Sent on 12/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING! So simple to work the portal and the DJ was an expert at his job

    We chose music by design for our wedding and we have 0 regrets! Organizing what songs and genres we liked on the portal was so simple. Our DJ Stephen understood what kind of night we were looking to have and did not disappoint. Highly recommend this DJ and company!
  • Maggie
    Maggie N. Sent on 02/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience with DJ Noah

    We got married in October of 2022 and are still hearing from all of our guests what a wonderful wedding it was, mostly because we made music a priority! DJ Noah did a FANTASTIC job, we were on the dance floor literally all night. He knew exactly the right music to play, followed all of my asks and it went off without a hitch. I strongly recommend Music By Design to any and everyone, we had such a smooth and flawless experience. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!
  • K
    Kyle W. Sent on 12/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Would recommend to pretty much anyone

    Stephen, our DJ, was phenomenal. Made sure our time was great and he was very attentive. What I most appreciated was when guests would request a song, he'd just check in with us and make sure it was okay. He knew how specific we wanted our playlist to be and it really showed that he had listened to us and went above and beyond to be considerate of our experience.
  • Gina
    Gina Sent on 09/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stephen was amazing!

    The planning website made everything so easy and less stressful. Stephen was so great at communication, answering any questions or concerns I had throughout the process. He was great at reading the crowd and kept us on the dance floor the entire night.
  • Marissa
    Marissa R. Sent on 08/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Steven is amazing!

    DJ Steven was a dream to work with! He played all of our requested songs and was extremely thoughtful to everyone! He even changed the grand introduction of myself and my husband to include our dog- who he also pet during the night and loved on (SO sweet of him)! The online planning tool to put music into a “must play” list was perfect. My parents and friends have been raving about how kind Steven was and how wonderful he was at his job! Thanks Steven for making our night even more special!
  • C
    Christina L. Sent on 06/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10! Highly Recommend!

    We could not be more happy about our experience with Musicbydesign. The entire planning process was painless and super easy. They were so pleasant to work with and catered to all of our specific requests.
    Charlie Vasseur was our DJ and he was absolutely amazing. He gave us a call a couple days before to go over details. We gave him a list of requests to fill an hour or two of the reception. His picks for the rest of the time fit perfectly with our preferences and our wide variety of guest ages. Our guests are still talking about how amazing Charlie was. The dance floor was packed the entire night. He even played “Firework” by Katy Perry during the Navy Pier fireworks show visible from our venue.
    The photobooth was a hit and came with a lot of props and a photo album to take home. Thank you Ani for making sure our guests knew how to use the booth and for putting our album together.
  • J
    John P. Sent on 09/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience

    Easy to work with, thorough, and wonderful experience onsite.
  • J
    Jessica R. Sent on 07/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Smooth DJ for the entire celebration!

    Noah did amazing with our entire wedding celebration - from ceremony set-up, cocktail hour music and entertaining us the entire night. He kept everyone dancing and even let our son help out announcing. Super personable, also added in our up lighting for the event, looked amazing.
  • D
    Deena E. Sent on 06/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 highly recommend

    We loved whole experience from start until end with Music by design! Jim was fantastic! We had some last minute changes to the order of our grand entrance he was right there with us assuring us everything would work out! He was great! We got a lot of compliments from our guests about him. The online portal is a great tool as well! All in all a great vendor.
  • Megan
    Megan U. Sent on 05/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you for getting the party started!!

    Music by Design and our Dj, David were fantastic to work with. We were able to customize and choose all the songs we wanted played and an entire list of songs we didn’t want played which I loved. David kept people engaged and kept the event running smoothly. The photobooth staff was amazing as well!! The props were adorable and the book they send you home with is amazing! The photos are hilarious to look back on. Music by Design are truly pros at what they do. Thank you
  • Kara
    Kara K. Sent on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect! Except my name...

    They did absolutely amazing! The music was perfect, the dj was so lively and fun, and they provided uplighting too. The only thing that made me sad was the DJ accidently called me Karen instead of Kara in our introduction...
  • S
    Sarah G. Sent on 05/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Party Ever

    We used Music by Design for our April 2022 wedding, and they could not have been more wonderful! The company itself was so easy to work with setting everything up (and they were great about working with us moving from 2021 to 2022). Jim was our DJ and he was amazing - he really got the vibe of the wedding we were going for, and we had people on the dance floor the whole night. We're so appreciative about how wonderful they helped make our wedding!
  • C
    Crystal A. Sent on 04/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our DJ kept EVERYONE on the dance floor!

    Jim was AWESOME!!! He kept EVERYONE on the dance floor the entire night! Even the OLD people! Haha! If I ever have another event where I need a DJ I will be sure to hire him again!
  • B
    Bill W. Sent on 01/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our DJ - Charlie was amazing to work with

    We had no idea what we were doing but the Music by Design had a fantastic system that walked us through all of the decisions we had to make and the ones we just didn't know what to do, we turned over to our DJ - Charlie and he was incredible.
  • B
    Brianne Sent on 01/25/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend

    DJ Jim was fantastic from our initial conversation, to our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception! We didn't have a wedding planner, but everything at our ceremony ran seamlessly. His professionalism was top notch, and he kept the dance floor packed all night. He played our requested songs, took requests from our guests, and flawlessly chose additional selections that the crowd loved. Our guests had a great time at our wedding, and we credit DJ Jim for keeping the energy high-level all through the night.
  • Charity
    Charity Sent on 01/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Dj Jim

    They were absolutely incredible!!
  • E
    Erin W. Sent on 12/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Packed Dance Floor

    We had DJ Pete and he did an incredible job. Perfectly captured what we were going for and even today, 3 weeks after the wedding people are commenting on how great the music was. The dance floor was packed all night, which was exactly what we wanted. Thank you!
  • P
    Patti Sent on 10/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    DJ Jim was perfect

    Jim did a fantastic job for our fundraiser. He was flexible on setup, made lots of announcements to promote our auction and raffle, and even played music to correspond to some of the prize packages we were offering. We had several people comment on his service. Thank you!
  • Hailey
    Hailey C. Sent on 10/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!

    Kevin did an amazing job. He really got the vibe of the room and played some amazing songs that really got the crowd going. He really fed off their energy and just ran with it. People were dancing ALL night and were exhausted after !! So much fun
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours