Music by Design Reviews

21 | Lake Oswego, OR
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Music by Design

Recommended by 99%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • N

    Nathan · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I think the ratings say it all but hiring Designband will ultimately be the most important decision you make regarding your wedding reception. There is no other detail that will come close to having the impact that this group will have. If the caterer doesn't show up but you have Designband, your guests will be telling you how much fun they had at your wedding the next day.

    Manny is great to work with. Tracey is one of a kind. They also stepped up and helped us with a couple of other audio issues (mic for officiant) at the last minute. We have seen them at other weddings and had them at our wedding and there is no comparison. The other thing that they did flawlessly was step into the MC role post dinner. At that point in your day you want people who have character and know what they are doing to step in and lead the party. It's an invaluable service! Clearly we highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/22/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One word, PERFECT! The first decision we made about our wedding was to have a live band and Band by Design was amazing! Everyone is still taking about how good they were and how the party never stopped. Best money I spent!

    Sent on 12/01/2016
  • A

    Ashten · event on 09/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Designband made a retirement party at Johnson Air Products truly memorable. You guys were fabulous! We're so glad you could be a part of our special day and we can't say enough great things. Thank you for everything.

    Sent on 09/25/2015
  • T

    Tiffney · event on 09/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Design Band was better than fabulous – they were AWESOME. Best band we’ve ever had at our annual community event. Even other representatives agreed. Not only did they sound great but they were also incredibly FUN and OUTSTANDING musicians! They even rocked the ROLLING STONES! Elvis was a huge, huge, huge hit! The variety and range of songs sung was perfect for the event to get people dancing and singing, and what about that conga line!!!!!!! Also, the band leader was very organized and incredibly accommodating to our needs. THANK YOU for entertaining us at the event! People are still talking about it.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • K

    Kasey & Steve · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Design Band totally made our wedding celebration! From everything to cocktail hour, ceremony, and then the reception, everything was absolutely perfect! I worked with Manny to plan all the details and he made the process very easy. He was super responsive and made sure all the details were taken care of.

    The band is very talented and read the crowd well! The party never stopped - the were people on the dance floor from the first dance all the way to the end of the night. Tracy was AMAZING! So funny and really engaged with the crowd. I am SO happy we decided to go with them. Our wedding would have never been as fun without them! If you're on the fence about going with a band or a DJ, go with Design Band! Best wedding planning decision we made!! They're the best!

    Sent on 11/23/2014
  • K

    Kasey · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Design Band totally made our wedding celebration! From everything to cocktail hour, ceremony, and then the reception, everything was absolutely perfect! I worked with Manny to plan all the details and he made the process very easy. He was super responsive and made sure all the details were taken care of.

    The band is very talented and read the crowd well! The party never stopped - the were people on the dance floor from the first dance all the way to the end of the night. Tracy was AMAZING! So funny and really engaged with the crowd. I am SO happy we decided to go with them. Our wedding would have never been as fun without them! If you're on the fence about going with a band or a DJ, go with Design Band! Best wedding planning decision we made!! They're the best!

    Sent on 03/15/2015
  • User4874514 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can honestly say that Design Band made our wedding. We planned our wedding date around their availability and I am so glad that we did! They were very responsive to pre-wedding emails and phone calls, and they were totally flexible on what kind of mood we were looking for. Of course, we wanted a fun and vibrant mood, and they sure provided the party of the YEAR for us.
    I also felt completely comfortable just letting them play a list they thought was great and then I didn't have to worry about it. They are the consummate professionals.

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved the Design Band! They did such an amazing job at the wedding. Many guests begged me for their information to have them at their own events. They kept the party going and made great jokes. They were professional and fun--a hard balance to get!

    Sent on 07/13/2012
  • User3007733 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire experience from the initial phone conversations to the wedding day was easy, friendly, and we were beyond impressed with everything. They are experienced and skilled entertainers, can play to everyone in the audience, and made our wedding reception so fun and memorable. Highly recommended!!

    Sent on 01/22/2013
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Designband is sooooooooo good, what a treat to hear them play and watch them perform! Steve Sharp was right, they really are the best of the best!!!
    They are so multi-talented our guests had the best of time and are still raving about our wedding. All my friends want to book them at their weddings and we hopeto see them again in the near future, it was a delight working with Designband in the planning stages as well.

    Sent on 07/06/2012
  • E

    Eric · Married on 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are a musical theater family and had many entertainers in attendance. Everyone "sang" the praises of The Design Band. Simply, they are the best wedding band I've ever heard.

    Sent on 04/17/2012
  • H

    Dick · Married on 04/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired the Design Band sight unseen at the strong recommendation of a trusted friend. It was possibly the best decision we made for the wedding. I wrote a thank you to the band and am including some of my comments below:

    "It has been three days since the wedding and we are still receiving phone calls from the guests. Everyone comments about what a great reception it was and they invariably want to know about the band. You all made a super wedding reception into an epic party that folks here will be talking about for years. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

    Your understanding of what to play for the audience, and the professional way you all do it amazed us. You are not just outstanding musicians but true entertainers. The ease that you let guests come to the microphone and just sing and dance along, or in the case of my niece, to do the lead vocals got the audience into it immediately. The dance floor was packed from beginning to end. You did not just entertain at the party, you all became part of the party and that made it special.

    Although we had not personally heard you perform prior to the wedding, the reviews from friends convinced us that you were the band we wanted. They were correct. If in the future anyone is looking for a reference for the Design Band please have them call us."

    Sent on 06/24/2011
  • P

    Paula · Married on 02/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Design Band plays to the audience. If you are young or old, they will be able to entertain you, get you out on the dance floor, and ensure your night is memorable. They can play a wide range of music and sound authentic no matter what generation they are appealing to. If you want to ensure that your reception is a success, add them to the mix. You will not be sorry. We hired them recently in Seattle and had guests of varying ages many from San Francisco and we received such praise. The next day facebook entries were posted stating BEST WEDDING EVER. We even received hand written letters from another generation thanking us for the great time Thanks Design Band. You are not only talented but easy to work with. What a rare and delightful combination. Weddings cost so much and using this band will help ensure it is all worthwhile. 2/19/2011

    Sent on 02/27/2011
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 03/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Design Band was great. They were a huge hit and everyone loved them. It was great to see all of our guests up and dancing the whole night. They did a great job, and my friends can't wait until the next party so we can have the band play again.

    Thanks Design Band!

    Jon & Kristin Wallace

    Sent on 04/16/2010
  • B

    Bert · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend told me I would be the hero if I could get this band for my son's wedding. I was lucky to get them a year in advance on a cancellation. I was the hero and more. The wedding was months ago and friends are still commenting on how fun the band was. They tailored the song list to the mood and tempo of the evening and hit it perfect every time. They also provided background and processional music for the ceremony, and learned a new song to accompany a friend who sang. Overall I could not have been happier with the entire performance. When they finally stopped playing well after midnight the place was still packed-no one wanted it to end. My advice: get this band, then pick the date and place.

    Sent on 10/17/2009
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 04/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I heard that DesignBand would be awesome (some friends had told me they would be), but I just had no idea how awesome they would be! The ceremony music and sound was perfect – everything was right on cue like we had practiced it a hundred times. I felt very comfortable trusting them to take care of all of that, which was great, because I really didn’t want to have to worry about that as I was going down the aisle! And then the reception…it was just amazing. They had people on the dance floor immediately! I can’t even count how many people asked me where I had found out about DesignBand. Everyone had a blast at the wedding, and much of the credit goes to them! They were great at getting people on the dance floor and even the stage!

    They also put together an awesome picture slideshow of my husband and me based on some pictures I gave them. What a wonderful touch! It looked great and a lot of people made positive comments about that also!

    It was a pleasure working with DesignBand. They really made our day special and the extra cost to get a band like them was totally worth it. I couldn't recommend them enough!

    Sent on 09/16/2010
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 02/28/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Design Band is AMAZING!!! This is absolutely the band to have if you want your dance floor to be packed and for everyone to dance the night away! I have been to countless weddings where they have played, and when it came time to book a band for our wedding, we knew for sure we wanted Design Band!

    Manny is so nice to work with and always returns phone calls and emails right away, which makes the whole wedding planning process so easy on the bride. They played every song I asked them to play from the time the reception started to the time the evening came to an end. Even when they took a break, they made sure to play more of our favorite songs to keep the dance floor hopping! Their energy and talent has the amazing ability to get the crowd going and on their feet for the entire night, no matter the age of the guest.

    I honestly cannot recommend Design Band enough! They absolutely made our wedding such a fun filled night! So much in fact, many of our guests were begging for them to play longer because they were not ready to stop dancing. Even though our wedding is over, I can't wait to attend another event where Design Band will be playing!

    Sent on 10/22/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/15/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love, love, love Design Band! Our wedding was 3 years ago and we think back often to how much fun it was. The music Design Band played, the way they interacted with the crowd and how long they played for (hardly any breaks) made it such a great event. I have seen them at numerous weddings & events over the years and am thrilled every time I see them because I know it will be a really fun night. They are the best in Portland.

    Sent on 10/22/2009
  • User4875361 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They even learned 3 new songs for us, and spent a large amount of time helping to plan the day. Numerous guests complimented the band, and they helped make the evening fun for everyone.

    Sent on 03/13/2015
  • G

    Genny · Married on 09/19/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! Talk about a show stealer! The Design Band was absolutely fabulous and truly ensured that our guests had a good time. I have never been to a wedding where all ages where on the dance floor at once. People loved the band so much that when the band took a break everyone else did too because they did not want to waste their energy on pre-recorded music. I had no idea a conga line at a wedding could turn out to be so much fun! I'm not a fan of cheesy bands at weddings and the Design Band truly MADE our wedding day unforgettable. They were amazing and so many people said that they wanted to contract them for their weddings! I hope they do because I want to live it up again!

    Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 09/24/2009
  • D

    Dimitris · Married on 08/29/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This band was simply great! They played at our wedding and everyone had a blast! We highly recommend them! They know how to work a crowd, create a fantastic atmosphere and are very fun. We had so many people after the wedding asking us where we had found them and everyone was very impressed with them. The dancefloor at the wedding was packed throughout the time they were playing. You can't go wrong with the Design Band, they are amazing!

    Sent on 11/29/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review