Skip to main content
Weddings

Museum of World Treasures Reviews

Museum of World Treasures

Museum of World Treasures

Wichita, KS
4.5 out of 5 rating, 19 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
4.5 out of 5 rating
19 Reviews
89% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • User1748115 Sent on 08/04/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just had my reception with MOWT and it was more than I could have ever asked for. They go over the table arrangement you want and have it all set up for you when you get there to decorate. They were so helpful and so easy to work with. The price is amazing for what you get. There are only bathrooms on the second floor and the reception area is on the third floor. That was the only downside, but other than that we LOVED it.
  • User1736032 Sent on 07/28/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding reception at The Museum of World Treasures. Kelsey, the event coordinator was so wonderful to work with. The rest of the staff is great too! I highly recommend using the museum for any event. They have a great space and guests are allowed access to the rest of museum. My husband, guests and I had an amazing night. I am so happy I chose to have my reception at the museum! It is such a beautiful and unique place to host any event and your guests will love it too!
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 06/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The space was beautiful & unique in the heart of Old Town. We really enjoyed working with their operations manager, Kelsey. She gave us lots of great ideas both to work with the space and to handle some of our special needs. Our ceremony turned out exactly as I imagined and it was wonderful to let our guests explore the museum afterward. I'm so glad I found this venue.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • A
    Amber Sent on 05/11/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The museum was the perfect location for our reception. The guest enjoyed the museum while waiting for us to finish with pictures. The staff was friendly and helped with all of our needs. The recently renovated the banquet room and the new color scheme (grey) made our decorations (red and black) look even more formal and romantic.
  • A
    Angela Sent on 03/05/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We could not have picked a better place to have our wedding reception in Wichita! Kelsey and her staff went above and beyond to accomodate our needs! We will not hesitate to recommend the MOWT to family, friends and others. MOWT was recommended to us by family/friend. Thank you MOWT for helping to make our wedding beautiful!!!

    Museum of World Treasures's reply:

    Angela,

    We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience at the Museum of World Treasures! We strive to go above and beyond expectations for every event. Thank you for booking with us and supporting our nonprofit mission, we appreciate your recommendations! We wish you the best.

    Thank you,
    Museum staff
  • User1180266 Sent on 05/30/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held my daughter's wedding reception at the museum and it could not have gone any better. Penny and the staff were great to work with.
  • User1051643 Sent on 12/24/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Pros: Easy to communicate with museum staff. Quick return of deposit after the event. Setup/Tear Down included in price for tables and table cloths. Easy access to elevator. Interesting location with museum access for guests. Very Low Rates!
    Cons: No sink near the reception area. Only bathroom on second floor. Privacy could be an issue.

    Our experience of hosting our wedding reception at the Museum of World Treasures was great. We like supporting local and unique spots and the location was perfect for our guests to spend some time in the heart of Old Town. Lots of free parking and a huge playroom for the kids made this an easy choice. Very budget friendly!

    Museum of World Treasures's reply:

    We're so glad you enjoyed your reception at the Museum. Our goal is to make the set up as "stress free" for the family as possible. Thank you for recommending us to other brides!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 03/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding reception at the Museum of World Treasures and LOVED LOVED LOVED it! It is such a unique venue. Guests were allowed to wander the museum- this was especially nice for when the bridal party was taking pictures; guests could head right over and not have a big gap between ceremony and reception. There is a children's room right next to the event space, so any kids who were bored could play over there. There was plenty of space for tables for our 150 guests, dance floor with DJ, bar and buffet. Penny was great at helping us get all of the logistics worked out. We had guests stay right across the street at the Hotel at Old Town, so we did not have to worry about anyone driving after a night of fun. Parking was not an issue, as plenty of the parking in front of the museum was available and also the garage at the hotel across the street. It also helped keep food/liquor costs low since you can bring your own food and drink or cater in anyone you want. I was so happy with my choice to have my reception at the Museum of World Treasures!

    Museum of World Treasures's reply:

    Sarah, thank you so much for this fantastic review. We're thrilled you had such a great experience at our venue. Thanks for recommending us, and congratulations!
  • N
    Amee Sent on 09/19/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Museum was wonderful! We hosted our wedding ceremony and reception in their banquet room and Penny and the Museum staff did everything possible to make our day run smoothly. A 19 month long engagement provides a lot of time for decision making and the staff was always more than willing to let me wander around the room taking measurements, asking questions, and getting decoration ideas. Our guests also enjoyed wandering around the museum itself during the time we were off taking pictures and then later during the reception. It really was the perfect venue for us!
  • Jenny
    Jenny Sent on 08/24/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I thought they did a great job. It was a fun and unusual venue, and all of my guests said it was unlike any wedding they had ever been to. The staff was great. Penny, the coordinator, was quick to answer my e-mails and phone calls, and was always able to help me out. Also, there was security and management there the whole time. It was a great experience. I would definitely choose them again.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 01/17/2011
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Museum of World Treasures was great! It provided plenty of room for our guests and having access to the museum was awesome! I got so many complements on how cool it was to have my reception at a museum. I would definitely recommend Museum of World Treasures to anyone planning a wedding or large party.
  • M
    Carla Sent on 07/22/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great place for a reception! My guests (especially the kids) loved being able to walk around the museum to look at the exhibits! I was not able to walk around, but they sent me free passes to go back! Highly recommend!
  • W
    Wendy Sent on 10/31/2011
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding reception at the museum and it was wonderful! Our friends and family loved the venue and enjoyed touring the museum. The staff was extremely helpful and personable during the planning phase and the event itself. It is a unique and interesting venue and I would recommend it to any of my friends.
  • G
    Amanda Sent on 03/05/2008
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great location. Great price. They didn't really set up the room the way we wanted but it definitely worked. We did have to move tables around a little because we needed more space for our dance floor, but it worked. We wanted a more fun/interesting venue and this place was perfect. They allow candles in water and you can hang stuff from the ceiling as long as it's not on their fire system. The only down fall is that you can only go up/down one elevator and it's pretty small. Unless you want to go up/down the stairwell. Also, if your event is during their business hours or you're setting up during business hours people come into the area to get to the museum. So that's kind of irritating. And, they really push you paying for guests to go through the museum. For a wedding, that's a bad idea. We wanted our guests to spend time with us, not spend time walking through the museum. So we didn't pay for that option...money well saved.

    Museum of World Treasures's reply:

    We have different staff now than we did back in 2007 and we do not waive the per person charge. It is mandatory. I'm not sure how this was possible for you or when it was, but since then it has not been possible for us to waive the fee. Many people find the Museum enhances their reception. It gives their guests something fun to do while they're waiting for the couple to arrive, or while the couple is chatting with others.
  • S
    Staci Sent on 08/30/2008
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    I liked the fact that my guest were able to be in the same place for both the ceremony and reception. The only draw back was the parking since it was a Friday evening. There was music from a local radio station in front of the building but that didn't interfere with the wedding itself.

    The staff that was there during the event was helpful.
  • D
    Dennis Sent on 07/09/2014
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Museum venue was a good choice for our daughter's wedding reception. The location is centrally located, and parking was ample. Our guests enjoyed the opportunity to check out the museum while waiting for the wedding party to arrive. Many or the guests were very impressed. A few disappointments include:
    --no hard-surface dance floor
    --no sink or water source in the kitchen area for cleanup
    --no bathrooms on the banquet room floor
    --Withheld more than usual from our deposit for carpet cleaning and other things that should be considered normal wear and tear.
  • Kayleigh
    Kayleigh Sent on 12/20/2014
    3.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue was great but we had some issues with communication. I thought someone was going to call me 2 weeks before so I could order the right linens but no one did so I got white ones. It was told to me that they would be contacting me but it never happened. I also was charged for a spill that was immediately cleaned up. Also I was charged for vendors not doing what they were supposed to do. The staff there that night was really helpful but I never saw the person that I initially talked to.
  • User2379127 Sent on 10/20/2015
    2.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    The museum was a great option for us - we loved the downtown location and our guests loved the fact that they were able to walk around and see all the exhibits. On the surface, everything was flawless. However, I would not recommend this venue to other couples as the administration is difficult to work with. The museum was privately owned when we booked our reception, but now they're owned by the city and the event coordinator position has changed hands at least four times in the past year and a half. They are unorganized and unprofessional. In the weeks leading up to the wedding, I was constantly given conflicting information regarding set-up times and when our vendors could arrive. The day of the wedding, they forgot the linen napkins and table skirts we had paid for, and our caterer had to bring in napkins at the last minute. They also don't have the best facilities for caterers to use. Overall, the museum caused us the most stress during the planning process. They did refund us for the services they forgot about, but that doesn't change the fact that they were unprofessional

    Museum of World Treasures's reply:

    Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the feedback and we are very sorry that you experienced difficulty with the any aspect of your reception. We have had the same Event Coordinator for the past 18 months, but we have had event staff turnover and will be working with our staff to ensure that brides feel confident and secure in all aspects of our venue rental. We are happy to hear that you were pleased to receive our refund. I would like to note that the table skirts were placed on the table during the allotted decorating times and the refund covered the cost of the napkins plus 10% of your entire wedding package. We are sorry that you were not pleased 100% with our services and will use the feedback to improve our efforts.

    Disclosure: The Museum of World Treasures has never been privately owned and is not owned by the City of Wichita. The Museum of World Treasures is and has been a non-profit (501c3) organization for more than 15 years.
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 08/18/2008
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    Great experience until the end when the coordinator left the week before my reception. They did not have all of the equipment set up that we asked for and they told us 2 days before the wedding that we were not allowed to use candles after we had planned on it and told them we were using candles for 6 months. They also did not warn us that there would be a music festival in front of the building which left little to no parking available for our guests.

    Museum of World Treasures's reply:

    We would like to apologize that you found our service lacking. We would also like to assure other brides that our service has improved, we have gotten new staff since 2008, and we are looking for ways to provide better service every day. We provide every bride with a contract stating what kinds of decorations are allowed and which are not, and unfortunately we are not responsible for the plaza outside of our building. They often have Friday night concerts in the summer, but we can in no way control what they do, when, or where they park.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message