Monterey Hill Special Events Reviews

9 | Monterey Park, CA
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Monterey Hill Special Events

Recommended by 80%

9

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 3.8
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.1
Sort by:
  • User4375643 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The person that assisted me was Lizzette. The moment that we met I knew that she would be awesome in assisting me with all of my wedding preparation questions. The pricing is reasonable and she is very helpful in recommending other vendors that do not over charge. The room that I booked was the Carmel Room and all of my guest raved about the look and the view. This room includes a balcony and an independent bar I definitely recommend everyone to check this place it out.

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • R

    roll · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jaime was so helpful from the start. she worked with my crazy schedule. and didnt make me feel like i had to chase her down at all. she was there for me and all my request. my wedding came out like it should have been on million doller wedding shows. and it was all on my budget, this venue is good if you have a budget and your own visions. if you are looking for a venue come and check this place out. you will understand what i mean. they are very open to what you want, this webstie needs to add more stars so i can rate them correctly

    Sent on 10/01/2013
  • S

    Sonia · Married on 07/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was on a very tight budget and found this place to offer the best of everything at an incredible price. All the staff, from the wedding staff to waiters were very professional and extraordinarily helpful. My wedding was on 7/4/13 at 11 a.m. They were very accomodating too, I was able to decorate the night before and pick up remaining objects the following day. During my event, the staff did everything possible to make me and my (now) husband feel like it was our special day by catering to our every need. My wedding was a french theme and the decor of this place fit perfect.

    Sent on 07/15/2013
  • W

    Wendy · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monterey Hill Steakhouse is a beautiful breathtaking venue for a wedding. For our wedding, it provided us with a wonderful venue coordinator who was super sweet and helpful. The hor d'euorvers as well as our entrees were delicious. Our guests and us had a wonderful time on our wedding day! Monterey Hill Steakhouse also provided wedding cake choice in the wedding package and their wedding cake vendors are all super nice with great quality cake, design and service. We love Monterey Hill Steakhouse!! It is one of the proudest vendor choices we made for our big day! Thank you Monterey Hill Steakhouse!

    Sent on 11/12/2012
  • R

    Renee · Married on 07/12/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue and view, great food, and our coordinator Liz was very helpful and responsive. Due to lots of staffing changes, we were assigned four different coordinators within the three months prior to our wedding, which made planning somewhat frustrating. It was overall a positive experience and we are glad that we had our reception here - lots of positive comments from our guests.

    Sent on 07/23/2014
  • chocacvrdkiss

    PATRICE · Married on 12/28/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I thank Liz! You rock and are awesome. Everything was fine until your manager who also took pictures at my photo booth tried to get more money then the venue was owed during my wedding around 8 pm. My wedding did not end until 11pm mind you. Then once he finally realized he was wrong tried to play my intelligence by telling me he was trying to say that all along. He should have apologized and stared over. Because 648 do not sound or look like 375 on any planet. I will refer to deal with you and another manager in the future. Also the deposit no refund was very stressful for me. You did work with me through my many changes. Liz You Rock! This review is really not about you.

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • A

    Anna · Married on 05/23/2009

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Caterer advised that the food would not have mushrooms (due to a guest having severe allergies) but the food ended up having mushrooms, and quite a few! Appetizers were slightly disappointing and of lower quality than their dinner. Also, only provided 1 bartender for 100 guests.

    Sent on 06/11/2009
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/25/2014

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We booked this venue a year in advance and worked with one wedding planner up until about 3 weeks before the wedding, when she left this venue. We then were assigned another coordinator who promised us we would have her full attention on my Daughters wedding day. NOT!!
    The room we used was the Carmel Room, which was decorated very nicely,, it included a private bar area, and Patio area that we used for the Ceremony. At the time of the booking, we chose one of the best packages they offered, and were assured that they would be with us throughout the day to make sure everything would go smoothly.This did not happen, so many things that were promised were just dropped.
    The ceremony was on the outside patio, which was very nice, and we were told that immediately after the ceremony the chairs would be set around the fire pits, so people could mingle there. At dusk, the pits were to be lit, Neither happened, and I had stop visiting with my guests and find our "hosts" to take care of this.
    Our contract included wine with dinner, which was not provides, until I had to find our "Hosts" , and was informed they needed to review my contract! Wine was finally served to our guests after everyone was almost done eating!
    Champagne toast! The waiters ran around and did a quick poor into everyone's glass the provided us with a lot of foam, and about a quarter glass of Champagne that I paid for!!
    The food was good. We did seated dinners, and everyone seemed to enjoy, I had requested Medium Cooked Prime Rib, and it was all Well done, but was tender. The food came out in a timely manner,
    I had several remarks that the Bartender was a bit rude. We had paid for open bar for the first 3 hours of the reception. This again was part of our contract, and should have been a nicer experience for our guests.

    Special thanks to all of our other vendors, that helped make the day a success. My DJ, Marc, with Elegant Proposals was fabulous!


    Sent on 06/04/2014
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 12/06/2008

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The food was GREAT!!!!
    Check the rooms in advance, the ceilings need repair.

    Sent on 11/12/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review