Skip to main content
Weddings

Montclair Country Club Reviews

Montclair Country Club

Montclair Country Club

Dumfries, VA
4.5 out of 5 rating, 23 Reviews
View more information

23 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

23

16 User photos

  • K
    Kate S. Married on 10/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    October wedding

    Diane and her staff made our wedding amazing, beautiful, and magical. We had a perfect day and everything went off without a hitch. The outdoor and indoor amenities made the space perfect.
    I highly recommend Montclair County Club for any of your events.
  • Victoria
    Victoria Married on 12/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional!!!!

    Diane and her staff were absolutely amazing. They went above and beyond expectations. I would use them again in heartbeat.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • E
    Elda H. Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely! You will not be disappointed.

    Diane Sundholm was very welcoming, attentive, flexible and professional.
  • L
    Lauren B. Married on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    First and Best Experience

    I wouldn't change a thing. It has been such a joy to work work country club

    Montclair Country Club's reply:

    Thank you, Lauren! It was a pleasure meeting you and your family !
    We look forward to hosting your special event!
  • M
    Mary Married on 08/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jasmine was just AWESOME. We talked to her just a few days before our dinner party for 30 people and she was so pleasant, smart and very good at her job. And she put together just a perfect night with a moments notice!!! the food was delicious and everyone had a great time. Thank you Jasmine . Jim and Alison Casey
  • D
    Derria Married on 10/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Had my wedding reception here a couple of weeks ago and it was amazing. The staff was very helpful from beginning to end . The manager was on sight during the reception to make sure everything was running smoothly. I found this venue last minute and I dnt think things would have gone so amazing without the staffs help. 5 stars all the way
  • J
    Jo Married on 08/13/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Talk to Tom ....he is great .... he will work with you and provide you everything you need. I checked out many many other venues....and Tom and Montclair was by far the best to work with. We are so happy and pleased. Tom added to our wonderful day . Rick and Jo

    Montclair Country Club's reply:

    It was a pleasure taking care of you.

    -Tom
  • K
    Kim Married on 06/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Make sure that the available room is a suitable size and layout for your event and that there is enough parking available for your guests. Narrow down your menu choices and arrange for a tasting prior to final selection of your entrees and sides. Make sure that you have enough time before your event to decorate your designated banquet room. It is best to have separate servers for beverages and food so that everybody gets served quickly.
  • B
    B Married on 06/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at Montclair Country Club were amazing. We had our wedding reception at this venue. The staff exceeded our expectation.
    There are no words to describe Chris Alvir the Event Coordinator and Josh Yetter. My guest is still talking about the food (Awesome) and everyone who made this a memorable day. We highly recommend this venue.
  • S
    Sandra Married on 10/30/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter & son-in-law had they wedding & reception at Montclair County Club last October. Jan and the entire staff went above and beyond their call of duty to ensure everything was perfect. Words can’t express how pleased Jackie was in seeing her “dream wedding” come true.
    From arrival to departure the staff was 100% Professional.

    Sandra Barnes - Mother of the Bride
  • Sara
    Sara Married on 09/03/2005
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everything was perfect!
  • Christine
    Christine M. Married on 10/10/2020
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Really is a Great Venue!

    The Country Club was fantastic! They made our day go by smoothly by working with us during the rehearsal to making sure the couple got to try the delicious food they choose and the great landscape was wonderful for wedding photos. I would recommend this venue for most weddings and/ or future events.

    Montclair Country Club's reply:

    Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you and Bobby were pleased with our service.
    Lots of Happiness!
    Diane
  • P
    Patrick Married on 05/05/2018
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    "Thank you for hosting my grandson's graduation dinner on May 19th. It was great and all of our guests were very complimentary. The staff was very responsive and attentive and the food selection and quality was perfect. We really enjoyed the event and would recommend the MCC to anyone contemplating hosting a private dinner. Thanks again for a job well done. Patrick Kelley."
  • N
    Nicole K. Married on 04/02/2022
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue

    Diane and the crew at Montclair are very helpful! They are with you every step of the way and will help you make your wedding dreams come true.
  • Camille
    Camille J. Married on 09/26/2020
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Flexible and lovely

    This was a wonderful venue for our COVID wedding. We decided to postpone our large event to next year and have a smaller ceremony at MCC. Our event director was incredibly understanding and flexible with us on everything. The food was DELICIOUS and the staff were PHENOMENAL.

    Even when they had a slight medical issue come up, the staff at MCC were responsive and made sure they made our time effortless.
  • E
    Elsa Married on 05/19/2018
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are a member of this country club I highly suggest you have your ceremony with them as they are well worth the money. If you are not a member they are still affordable compared to similar venues. I do suggest that if your contract includes the outside ceremony and due to weather you do not use it that perhaps you receive some sort of refund for it. It costs to have the ceremony outdoors so discuss this part prior to signing your contract with them. Eric and Jasmine are a great team to work with and really, really accommodating. The rest of the staff is just as nice. Also, I suggest to have your catering with them as my guest raved about their food and the cost is extremely affordable. I plan to use them for more events in the future and will recommend them again and again.
  • K
    Kim Married on 10/15/2016
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    To ensure a perfect event, I would highly recommend frequent follow-up and continued communication with the manager.
  • M
    Martha Married on 01/11/2017
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Have a meal to get the real flavors of the food. My meals there have been ok for a group luncheon, but I would want to try more options on the menu for any other function.
  • S
    Switch A. Married on 06/29/2019
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    You get what you pay for

    My guest ran out of food during the buffet. They ran out of appetizers during cocktail hour. One bartender to serve over 50 guest and our contract called for two bartenders. Long lines for both drinks and food. Embarrassing. Hindsight being what it is, I should have spent the extra money and booked elsewhere. I was so occupied during the event in did not notice. My guest reported the same issues to me days later. Live and learn.

    Montclair Country Club's reply:

    I was sorry to read your review. I have reviewed your original contract and the updated contract and no where did it indicate you would have 2 bartenders. If you noticed on your revised/updated contract dated 6/4/2019 I did not charge you $75 for a bartender fee.
    The appetizers were a platter of cheese and crackers and a chaffing dish of meatballs that you purchased separately with a platter of extra desserts. I checked frequently and you did not run out.
    The buffet was replenished 3 times with the steaks being replenished 4 times; I personally saw to it that anyone requiring extra steaks received one.
    I am sorry you were not completely happy with your event; we do our best to insure every event we host here is done to exceed expectations.
  • R
    Rafael Married on 08/25/2018
    3.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I think that it would have helped to have had more staff on duty for the event. While the staff was helpful and attentive, it seemed challenging for them to keep up with keeping the area, including the restrooms, bussed and clean. There also seemed to be some breakdowns in communication between the two leads for the event. I also think it would be useful to provide clients with a realistic picture of set up at maximum capacity because space was very tight.
  • T
    Christina Married on 11/10/2007
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue changed management in the middle of our wedding planning. Things went fairly smoothly. The people were VERY tough to get ahold of because the chaos of new management. The day of the wedding our coordinator left 30 minutes after the reception started!
  • M
    Martha Married on 09/15/2007
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    Fooled by this location. Things started off great. Then they lost their liquor license and my package included open bar. They told me 4 days before the wedding and then promised to reimburse me for a few things and only came through with half of the reimbursement. Don't get your hopes up - they are not responsive to phone calls or voicemails. The day before the event, we tried to reach the wedding planner to clear up some information about the alcohol and she later told me she didn't listen to them and deleted them because she was "busy" with another event.

    I told her a few preferences (food, sweethearts table) and they were ignored... or forgotten? Also, the wedding planner told us we didn't have to pay for the wedding until the day after or the week after our honeymoon. The night of the wedding, the server made us pay anyway, and we were delayed over ONE HOUR. Mind you, my parent's had thrown us a celebration after the reception... so we were about an hour late. Why so long? They overcharged us and had to spend the whole time on the phone with the credit card company to straighten it out.

    Communication is awful and the people are unprofessional. I found out they changed ownership... so beware.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message