Mix Different Productions Reviews

22 | Orangevale, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Mix Different Productions

Recommended by 100%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
22 Mix Different Productions Reviews
Sort by:
  • S

    Sarina · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris DJ'ed our May 2018 wedding in Santa Rosa. We loved working with him and would highly, highly recommend him for any event. Total pro and we thought his pricing was incredibly reasonable.

    We had a couple planning calls in the months leading up to the wedding and we found Chris super easy to talk to, really organized, and really experienced. He had a lot of helpful thoughts and suggestions. He also has a great, easy to use planning website and everything can be handled electronically - signing contracts, payments, uploading sample playlists, etc.

    He was definitely more than just a DJ. He handled all of our music during the ceremony, cocktail hour, reception and dancing and all of our A/V needs (mic'ing up officiant and groom for the ceremony, toasts and speeches, slideshow, etc.). He was also the emcee and worked with our day-of-coordinator to handle the flow and timing of everything.

    For the dancing, we sent him some sample playlists and some DO NOT PLAY songs and left the rest up to him. As all of the reviews state, he really is a master at reading the crowd and getting everyone up and dancing. Friends, co-workers, parents - there was something for everyone. Chris was also incredibly patient and good natured about humoring our drunk friends and fielding their requests. Everyone had a total blast on the dance floor.

  • B

    Vivien · Married on 03/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris made our party AMAZING. Dozens of our guests commented after the wedding that the music was beyond on point. He made the perfect mix to match the vibe we were aiming for, and made sure to follow up through phone calls and site visits to ensure our day went off without a hitch. He's also so laid back, nice, and friendly that he takes all the stress out of coordinating the best party of your life. 10000% RECOMMEND!

  • P

    Patrice · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Chris for our wedding at the Bently Reserve this past June, and we truly we loved working with him. He made our wedding such a fun, memorable evening, and we cannot recommend him more highly!

    When we started looking for a DJ, my husband and I knew immediately what kind of music we DIDN’T want at our wedding: no cheesy wedding songs, no lame novelty acts, basically nothing that came with its own dance moves. We wanted music that was actually GOOD and got people to just have fun and dance and be themselves – something we’ve found distressingly rare at weddings.

    But more than that, we wanted our wedding to have a very specific vibe: my husband and I are both children of the 90s and aficionados of hip-hop and R&B, and we wanted every part of our wedding to reflect that part of us. When we first talked to Chris, we knew right away that he was perfect -- and, if you’re looking for a fellow fan of 90s hip hop, you honestly won’t find anyone more excited about that music than Chris. We worked with him to create a very specific cocktail/dinner mix with lots of hip hop throwbacks, and slow jams (think Erykah Badu, Common, Tribe, Biggie, etc). For dancing, we asked him to come up with a mix of current pop/hip hop songs to get everyone on the floor, but to also mix in a bunch of throwbacks that would take people back – and not just the standard played out mix of 90s jams, but some deeper cuts, too. In fact, we asked him to find songs that made people say, “I forgot I loved this song!” And not only did he not look at us like we were crazy – he was actually excited to find that music for us. He even put together a custom mix of songs for our first dance that sounded seamless and incredible.

    Chris truly made our wedding an incredibly fun night that we will never forget, and one that we know our guests won’t forget, either (especially considering we spent the next week fielding requests for our playlist!)

  • C

    Cristina · Married on 01/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris was wonderful! We gave him a few ideas of the type of music we liked and didn’t like (who actually wants to hear the Chicken Dance…again) and he took it from there. We had an excellent mix of music from Frank Sinatra to Tupac. Additionally, he had a few Flogging Molly and Iron Maiden tracks, allowing the groom to mosh on the dance floor (insert eye roll from bride). The music for our entrances and exists were flawless. We also used Chris for lighting, and while a little more expensive than some of the other quotes, we felt better knowing he was there the whole time. Our venue ended up using some of his equipment because it was better than theirs. Both our wedding coordinator and contact at the venue said he was the best and easiest DJ that they had worked with. Highly recommend working with him to everyone!

  • A

    Adrian · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris came highly recommended from a reputable nightclub DJ. We wanted a DJ that could keep the dancefloor packed and place the focus of the night on our guests, not on himself. Chris did both those things often reading the mood of the room and changing up the tunes to match the needs of our guests. No one had to walk up to the booth to request a song because he played it before they even knew what they wanted to hear.

    While Chris came recommended from a nightclub DJ, his mixing skills places him on par with any DJ in the club today.

    From the beginning Chris was very easy to work with and he understood our vision for the evening. He was professional from beginning to end. His website was very user friendly and allowed us to make a “must hear playlist”, but was able to fill it with other songs that matched our musical preferences. We had everything planned with three short phone meetings including name pronunciations and “day of” timeline. Any wedding coordinator will tell you that your timeline and evening will live and die by the DJ. Chris brought our wedding to life.

    This was the one thing that the bride put me in charge of, and I did not let her down.

  • T

    Tim · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I just got married a few weeks ago, and we couldn't help but feel great about our DJ choice. Chris was so easy to work with, he made us feel at home and like family, and we felt like we didn't have to worry about a thing. Both my wife and I are very particular and specific about how things go, so having a professional like Chris made life a lot easier because we knew we did not have to worry about any minor details going wrong. We honestly didn't even think about the DJ throughout the entire wedding day which is a sign of a GREAT DJ! We had several events throughout our wedding and Chris was able to work with our other vendors to keep the wedding running smoothly. My wife and I have gotten several compliments from friends and family that ours was one of the best weddings they had ever been to! Chris helped make that happen and we thank him for it!!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mix Different Productions DJ'ed at our outdoor farm wedding last month. I had nothing but positive interactions with Chris "DJ Chris the Rebel" the whole time we were working together and organizing the details for the wedding. He has great communication and really listens to your ideas. He even customized a few songs that I had specific ideas about. The prices are very reasonable and the work delivered is AWESOME. DJ Mike was our wedding DJ and he was amazing! He had guests of all ages on the dance floor ALL NIGHT! All of the introduction songs were played seamlessly. We are so happy we chose to hire Mix Different Productions!

  • J

    jenn · Married on 01/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where do I even begin? I wasn't even the bride for the wedding but HAD to write this review because Chris and his team were so amazing and awesome. I was one of the bridesmaids that was tasked with doing the slideshow and Chris reached out ahead of time and set up a folder to upload the file. Chris was so incredibly responsive, quicker than any vendor that I have ever worked with. He was amazing....On the day I was to upload the file, my password did not work and I emailed him super early in the morning and what do you know, within minutes my password was reset. Talk about taking care of your customers.

    Music? Hands down, THE BEST!! I kept turning around and asking "Are you serious?" because his music was so so good. He was given direction on the genre but he nailed it. I don't dance but he got me grooving the whole night, to the point of soreness!

    Of course, every wedding has one individual that might have drank too much. Well.....Chris handled with such professionalism and grace, even though the guest kept trying to take over the DJ booth. If it was me, I would have lost it but Chris and his team handled amazingly.

    If you are planning an event, whatever the event is...and don't pick Chris...you will regret it. I just got married a year ago and if I had to do it again, I would definitely ask Chris to DJ the wedding. Uh.May.Zing!

  • A

    Anna · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris was recommended to me by a friend and I'm so happy that she did. Chris was our DJ/MC for our wedding this past December in SF.

    Throughout the whole planning process and especially in the weeks leading up to our wedding, Chris was there to guide me in what he needed, but was not pushy or demanding to have things finalized. Although we didn't get a chance to meet in person prior to our wedding, we had a numerous phone conversations to go over the type of music and vibe that we were going for. Having never planned a wedding before, I didn't realize how many different songs were needed... needless to say, Chris outlined for me what he needed and offered suggestions that seemed to fit our taste in music which was extremely helpful.

    The day of our wedding was absolutely amazing. Chris got everyone out on the dance floor. My husband made a special request for a song that is out of left field and Chris was able to deliver.... i was surprised he had that in his archive!

    A lot of the time, you hear feed back about your wedding after the wedding.... I received feed back about Chris as I was making the round to the different tables. One of our friends who is getting married said that they loved the music and had asked for Chris' business card. You know you made the right choice when your getting positive feedback before the wedding is even over.

    If you are on the fence about hiring Chris, don't be. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I've already recommended Chris to two of my friends!

  • E

    Emi · Married on 11/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have referred Chris for several weddings over the years and everyone, wedding party and guests included, raves about him. As an emcee he knows how to interact with the crowd to make the party fun and as a DJ is able to cater to the audience's music preferences. At the end of the night all you want to hear is that your guests had a good time right? Well, Chris is your man! Time and time again I have danced the night away to the sounds of Mix Different Productions and have never ever been disappointed. Chris is an upstanding professional and handles every event with delicate and thought out care. Communicating with him is a breeze as he is one of the most responsive vendors I have ever dealt with. Whether you're hiring Chris for DJ services, lighting or multimedia needs, your happiness is what is important to him and he goes above and beyond to make it happen. No matter what, you are in good hands putting your faith and trust in him for your special event.

  • C

    Calvin · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thinking about hiring a DJ or MC for your wedding? Chris is awesome and we highly recommend him - in fact, he was recommended to us by another DJ who was getting married and using Chris for his wedding too! Industry pro's know who to use!

    Chris is super professional, presentable, and prompt with his communications. He's knowledgeable about different music choices, skilled with mixing and creating custom edits, and our guests LOVED HIM... not just a little, a LOT. His mixes totally brought life to the party. Oh also, you can request songs ahead of time using his website.

    Wedding music isn't just "hit 'Play' and go party" (if that's what you want, get an iPod circa 2006, should be cheap lol). If you want someone who will deliver a perfectly smooth wedding package (music, custom monogram gobo, wireless uplighting, pinspot lighting, wireless microphones, cocktail hour music, MC for instructions and directions to guests, projector slideshows), Chris is it. Totally worth every penny. Think of it this way, you're saving a ton by not paying for a live band.... (and uncross your fingers, Maroon 5 isn't gonna show up to sing 'Sugar')... why not hire the a great DJ?! And no, your cousin's friend who just bought a mixing app isn't gonna cut it. Neither is a $1000 DJ who may not show up on your Big Day.

    For you bride/groomzillas, he also followed all our instructions to the 'T' and you'll have nothing to worry about. We were so glad he took care of everything (and the lighting was beautiful) so we were able to focus on partying with our guests.

  • J

    James · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Debol from Mix Different productions was the DJ for our wedding, and was spectacular. Prior to the wedding we had several very pleasant calls with Chris where we went over the structure of our wedding reception, and what kinds of music we were interested in. We also used Chris' website, which allowed us to very easily create a list of music we wanted to hear. This was a great process, since all the music was searchable, and allowed us to listen to a preview, to make sure it was the right song. In short, all of the preparation was fun and painless.

    At our wedding reception, Chris got the party started and kept it going all night. He played the songs we chose, but also took requests from our guests, as well as choosing song which kept the energy up. Multiple guests came up to me throughout the night to comment on how good the music was, and how awesome Chris was. One of my more music-snob friends even commented on how impressed he was that Chris was doing all the cross-fading and beat-matching manually.

    In short, Chris Debol was incredible, and hiring him for our wedding was one of the best choices we made. I wholeheartedly recommend him.

  • M

    Mike · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't recommend Chris enough! He was the DJ for our wedding in late September in Sonoma and was absolutely amazing. Throughout the whole process leading up to the wedding, Chris was extremely responsive to all our emails/calls, completely organized with everything we needed, and overall a total professional which made him very easy to work with.

    As far as the wedding went, he kept everything on the exact schedule we asked for, played all the songs that we requested as well as what our guests requested, and kept everyone dancing the entire night. Friends of ours who got married last year even told us that if they could redo their wedding, they would hire Chris as their DJ.

    He made the wedding so fun and memorable for everyone.

  • T

    Teresa · Married on 08/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Chris did a FANTASTIC job at our wedding! He was not only professional and kind but he got everyone out on the dance floor and having a great time. So many people commented what a great DJ I had because the music selections were great. He also helped make the wedding go very smoothly as the wedding transitioned. I'm so glad I had him as a DJ, he truly has the experience to make a wedding unforgettable!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the DJ you want to hire. Chris was AMAZING! All the music aside, which was awesome - absolutely no complaints, he provides so much more value than that. He really made our wedding go off flawlessly, from our introductions into the hall, to the bouquet and garter toss, and everything in between. Chris, along with the help of my sister/MOH, seriously acted like a wedding coordinator himself and if it wasn't for his organized and on point demeanor, I could see a complete disaster. He kept our reception on queue, on schedule, and rounded the troops when needed. I'm so lucky I had him; I don't want to imagine how the night would have went without him. Now for the music...perfect! He played what we asked, he read the crowd and played what they liked, and he kept it cool for the older folks, and let it loose when they left. I have not one complaint and highly recommend him to all! If you have any doubts at all, just know that with Chris, you will seriously get so much more than your money's worth.

  • M

    Matthew · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an absolute pleasure it was to have Chris DJ our wedding. His expertise in gathering the music together that we and our guests wanted to hear and the professionalism he showed are second to none. He kept in contact with us throughout the entire process and helped us with our timetable. If we were to do it over again we wouldn't change a thing. Chris is the absolute best DJ out there. He was affordable and reasonable. He was professional, but fun. The music was contemporary, but nothing too gratuitous or that didn't fit what we mentioned that we wanted to hear. I'm not being hyperbolic when I say that Chris was the best DJ i;ve ever seen at a wedding and we will recommend him to anyone that asks without question.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an absolute pleasure it was to have Chris DJ our wedding. His expertise in gathering the music together that we and our guests wanted to hear and the professionalism he showed are second to none. He kept in contact with us throughout the entire process and helped us with our timetable. If we were to do it over again we wouldn't change a thing. Chris is the absolute best DJ out there. He was affordable and reasonable. He was professional, but fun. The music was contemporary, but nothing too gratuitous or that didn't fit what we mentioned that we wanted to hear. I'm not being hyperbolic when I say that Chris was the best DJ I've ever seen at a wedding and we will recommend him to anyone that asks without question.

  • User6169411 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris was flexible with his schedule for all of our meetings, even driving over 90 miles to meet us on a weeknight without complaint. His extensive DJ experience, competitive rates and value, and his compatible personality was ultimately what made us decide to hire him.

    All throughout the wedding planning stages, Chris was quite accessible and easy to communicate with via email, text, and calls. The song selection process was pretty streamlined through a website, where we were able to select songs for our "Must Play" and "Do Not Play" lists. He has a vast library of songs to choose from, or he'll get the song you request if he doesn't have it already. About a week before the wedding, Chris met us and our wedding coordinator at our wedding venue (again, driving over 90 miles on a weeknight!) to finalize details. He explained how he planned on carrying out what we envisioned for audio and visual and made sure we were ok with it. Going through this ahead of time definitely gave us less things to worry about during our big day.

    During the wedding day, the strategic placement of the audio equipment blended in with the background and was unobtrusive. There were no issues with the mics or volume during the ceremony nor reception. The uplighting and GOBO pattern projected on the dancefloor "upped" the ambiance to the next level. The music also rocked! One of my main pet peeves is rough transitions between songs during the dancing hours. Chris's mixing was smooth and people were on the dance floor the whole night!

  • L

    Lillian · Married on 10/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After some intensive research and a handful of interviews, we hired Chris to DJ and Emcee our wedding this past October at the Julia Morgan Ballroom in San Francisco. FRIENDLINESS: Chris is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. He was always professional and very easy going. He was really delightful to speak to on the phone during all of the planning stages and was never difficult or frustrated with me. I appreciated these qualities about him given that I was a very stressed bride! LIGHTING: We also hired Chris to warm up the ballroom with wireless up-lights! The venue did not allow for up-lighting that had any wires/cords sticking out, so we had to find a vendor that could supply these wireless units for us and Chris came through! Beautiful amber lighting surrounded the ballroom creating a warm ambiance and glow. The colors of the lighting changed during the dancing portion to fit our wedding colors (blue and gold)! EMCEE: Chris did a great job with the introductions and more importantly, keeping us on our timeline for the evening! There were a few moments when our wedding coordinators were unavailable and Chris along with our photographer stepped into make sure all the events planned for that time at the reception went as planned - I couldn't have been more grateful!
    MUSIC: One of the most important decisions when wedding planning! Chris has every song or can find/get any song you can think of. Not only did he have/play all the songs on our requested list, he was able to get a Chinese theme song to a Kung Fu movie for our parents' grand entrance! Not to mention, he also helped with a musical surprise during one of the speeches! When it came time for the dancing, Chris had the perfect mix (blend) for everyone of all ages! EVERYONE - and I mean EVERYONE was on the dance floor when the music started and danced the night away. Simply put, Chris helped make our wedding unforgettable!

  • User6169735 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris the Rebel is AS GOOD AS IT GETS!! He was the DJ at our wedding this passed October in Livermore and he did an incredible job. He took care of our ceremony, handled making announcements during different times of the reception and played amazing music when it was time to dance. He also provided fun lighting that gave our barrel room reception area a night club feel and made the dance floor very inviting to guests. Our guests raved about the music he played!

    Chris' professionalism, attention to detail and fun spirit helped make our wedding day truly amazing and unforgettable. I am so thankful that Chris was our DJ.

    I highly recommend him to anyone looking for entertainment at their wedding or event!

  • lauren

    lauren · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can make or break a wedding? The music on the dance floor! After all the lovely love love stuff and traditions, most people just want to dance and celebrate the night away. Chris the Rebel totally kept the party going for our wedding and everyone was all smiles and shaking their thang on the dance floor. The party was so great that I, the bride, agreed to extend an extra 30 minutes so guests could party just a little longer.

    From the very beginning, Chris was very professional. He contacted me regularly through email and phone calls and most paperwork was digital. We didn't have to meet until the walk through at the venue. He has form to fill out to make sure we have all the songs we need for all the traditions and to get a feel of what kind of party we were going for. Even for obscure songs, he found it some how and brought the dream soundtrack to our wedding a reality.

    If you're planning to have any event, especially a wedding, I highly recommend Chris the Rebel.

    Check out his website http://christherebel.com/

  • N

    Nikki · Married on 05/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One sentence: Chris killed it at our ceremony reception!!!

    He knew exactly what we wanted to hear and what we didn't want to hear. All of our guests had so much fun.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review