Skip to main content
Weddings

Milwaukee Athletic Club Reviews

Milwaukee Athletic Club

Milwaukee Athletic Club

Milwaukee, WI
4.6 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
92% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

13
Weddingwire
4.6/5 13 reviews
Google
4/5 235 reviews
  • S
    Sherah Sent on 01/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The most beautiful venue! I would highly recommend the Milwaukee Club is you want a truly breathtaking wedding to remember!
  • Pamela
    Pamela Sent on 07/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I started my journey of looking for a venue in 2016. I found the M.A.C here on Wedding Wire. Initially, I was working with an employee who is now no longer working there and was having a difficult time with communication and lack of responsiveness. I worried after I made my deposit that I'd made a huge mistake. Gretchen took over the role of that individual and from that moment on my life and planning was all the better. Thank goodness she started early on and at the perfect time before any harm could be done. Gretchen was a God- send and overall day saver! She was professional and flexible. My guest list kept growing and growing and Gretchen was able to creatively make things happen and calm my fears. The day of my wedding July 2018 came with many mishaps that were not the fault of M.A.C. or related to venue but put us way behind schedule but Gretchen held it together. My wedding coordinator dropped the ball the day of and thankfully Gretchen was there to pick up the pieces. She remained cool, calm, and collected when dealing with my large wedding party and 300 guests. My guests, a year later, are still raving about the amazing time they had during our rooftop cocktail hour, the great food, and the gorgeous reception and venue. I highly recommend the M.A.C along with Gretchen and her awesome team!
  • J
    Jenna Sent on 12/14/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely gorgeous venue and made our special day amazing!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Charley Sent on 12/19/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I could not be more happy with The Milwaukee Athletic Club, and the staff that works there (specifically Sarah)! They are amazingly flexible, willing to accommodate, and for a ceremony space unbelievably fairly priced! Sarah stayed throughout the ceremony to help us with the doors and timing of our party walking down the aisle. She was also in attendance for our rehearsal, making sure it all went off without any issues.
  • A
    Alison Sent on 04/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great all-in-one venue! We were planning our MAC wedding from NYC, and our coordinator Chelsey was super responsive and made everything a breeze.
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Sent on 01/22/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What an amazing experience I had working with the MAC! While planning our MKE wedding from ATL, I found Corinne to be so communicative and responsive and helpful with any and all questions I had. We had our full event there, ceremony, cocktails and reception. The compliments I received from our guests were immediate and are still coming. The food was WONDERFUL (something so important and in my opinion, quite difficult to accomplish for large groups), and the value was indescribable. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this venue. The food, ambiance, the treatment our guests received upon arrival... and the extras they were willing to help us with were truly top-notch. A huge thank you to Corinne, the day-of coordinators and the staff of the MAC for making our event completely unforgettable.
  • M
    Patti Sent on 12/08/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although I am the Mother of the Bride, I speak for my entire family, including the bride and groom, when I say that we simply could not have been happier with virtually everything at the Milwaukee Athletic Club. From the initial planning meeting to the post-wedding-out-of-towners breakfast, we were thrilled with the venue; the food; the staff; and everyone we worked with at the MAC. We had the wedding, cocktail hour, and reception at the MAC and it was so easy for us, and for our guests, to simply go from one gorgeous room to the next. It is a beautiful venue with stunning features that are hard to find elsewhere. The photographs are breath-taking.
  • M
    Mary Sent on 04/08/2010
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    OMG what a great place to have a wedding reception.
  • E
    Emily Sent on 10/19/2010
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Milwaukee Athletic Club is beautiful and while they have a very easy system for their food ordering, the flow of things was a little choppy. There was little communication between the departments and that left a few questions. The food was mostly delicious, but a little overpriced. The staff was very attentive in each department though! In general there was much flexibility.
  • User2268887 Sent on 08/13/2015
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a great time at our wedding at the Milwaukee Athletic Club. The venue was flexible with our requests and Chelsey was very responsive to everything. The food was great, aside from ours (the bride and grooms food was cold) and the staff was incredibly friendly and on top of things. Our guests are still complimenting the service and venue, they loved it, especially the rooftop. The only issues we had was the bar tab at the end of the night. We did consumption only for the last hour and the bill was incredible! Not sure how that much could have been drank in that short time. We also had a small up charge for a few drinks we wanted and the staff said there was a ridiculous amount of these drank as well, another upcharge. We truly loved our experience, aside from that at the end. A few guests also said their rooms were double charged but it was refunded once they called. Overall, we had a perfect day and loved the venue.
  • L
    Lindsay Sent on 07/16/2014
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Some parts of working with the MAC were great! Food was amazing, ballroom gorgeous, and bridal suite spacious. The location is awesome. Sarah was good to work with. But some of the staff were rude and unprofessional. The ballroom was very hot for part of the evening. Seemed like only bathrooms had AC? The front desk man was so rude. All and all I had a beautiful wedding. But the MAC staff needs some improvement.
  • K
    Kimberly Sent on 10/11/2011
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Overall I was very impressed with the Milwaukee Athletic Club. The food was excellent and they were willing to accommodate for extra things that we wanted. The venue is great! And the catering manager Corinne was always willing to help.

    I would highly recommend that you make sure your banquet event order is completely written out exactly the way you want it because more than likely the catering manager will not be there the day of your event so the two people that only have the banquet event order to go off of to make sure your day goes exactly how you want it.

    Also you should make sure there are no events going on in at the Milwaukee Athletic Club. Ask at the front desk and your catering manager as there is NO communication between the two. It was very annoying when I had my wedding there, the catering manager assured me the ballroom doors would stay closed all day so my guests, esp those staying at the MAC would not be able to see the ballroom before dinner. That was not the case, there were tour Milwaukee tours going on all day and the doors were open all day! Hundreds of people came into the ballroom and were able to walk all over even though my things were in there as we were preparing for the wedding on that night. It was extremely intrusive as I had to meet a food and beverage minimum for the room and the catering manager assured me no one would be in there but that was not the case. Huge lack of communication at the MAC!! She insisted it was not her fault even though she should be making sure no events are going on before booking weddings!
  • Nicole
    Nicole Sent on 05/24/2011
    3.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    The venue is beautiful, one of the most beautiful ballrooms in Milwaukee. The staff is great during the planning process, and gets back to you immediately. However, things weren't communicated from the catering director to the staff working the day of the event.

    The food was delicious, but very pricey. Each steak was perfectly cooked, the chicken was juicy and not dry. The rolls were fresh and not hard. Everyone loved the food!

    I would have liked more bar tenders during the cocktail hour, my guests had to wait in line for a drink. I would increase the number of servers during cocktail hour, as the hors' d'oveours didn't make it past the corner they came out of.

    I love the included valet parking for my guests and the use of their bus so I did not have to rent a limo the day of my event.

    I would improve communication between the catering director and staff running the event.

    Overall, I would recommend this venue, but it is expensive. I would be VERY particular in communication of the order of the event, and ask to speak with the person in charge on the day of your event to ensure everything runs as it should. Ask how many bar tenders and ask that each of them stay for the duration of cocktail hour, most of them disappeared half way through.