Weddings

Mike's Music Mix Reviews

Mike's Music Mix

Mike's Music Mix

Wells, ME
View more information

20 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 20
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jordan
    Jordan F. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best wedding ever thanks to mike!

    Mike went above and beyond our expectations on the day of our wedding. He went out of his way to coordinate our ceremony and make sure it went smooth. He also went around to the guests to get music requests for the dance floor. He made sure the whole reception went smooth! When it came to dancing he put on an excellent show with amazing up lighting - the dance floor was full the whole night! Many have told us it was the funnest wedding the went too - I thank mike (and the open bar) for this!!
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn S. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    More than a DJ

    Mike was recommended to us by our photographer, and I am so grateful she said something! My husband and I both have very strong taste in music and put a lot of importance on creating the perfect feeling for our wedding with our music choices. But since we were planning from afar we had no frame of reference for local DJs. We took a (well-researched and well-supported) chance on Mike and it was one of the best wedding decisions we made!
    We were on the same page from our first conversation when we all agreed that wedding receptions are too short to play old, cliche tunes. This was reinforced with our incredibly helpful pre-wedding conversation where we laid out the entire evening set to music. He got excited about the songs we had planned, offered up solutions to our questions and conundrums, and incorporated unique requests and other tasks with ease. It was such a relief to know I could enjoy the entire evening with Mike at the helm. He knew exactly what to play and when to keep people excited and dancing. I have received countless compliments from friends and relatives, some of whom never get on the dance floor--except for at my wedding.
    Besides music, Mike also has a great grasp on the big picture of the night and was totally prepared to coordinate and orchestrate reception events. If our reception vendor wasn't already completely on top of it, Mike would absolutely have picked up the slack. But he was happy to step back and focus on the music, I'm sure along with plenty of tiny actions to keep things running smoothly while we got to focus on each other.
    If you're willing to give up creative control to someone who knows what he's doing, and if you're ready to be completely immersed in the joy and excitement of your wedding, Mike is absolutely your guy.
  • M
    Michelle S. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!

    We can honestly say that our day would not have been the same without Mike! He did an exceptional job not only with the reception music but also the ceremony and helping to coordinate the day. He worked well with our photographer and venue to make sure all the big moments where captured and everything stayed on schedule. He read the room fantastically and the dance floor was packed all night. He took the time to understand what we were looking for and make sure everything was perfect. We highly recommend Mike for any event!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 10/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best DJ!!!

    Mike was amazing!
    He went above and beyond any DJ!
    He went as far as helping me plan out and coordinate my entire wedding day schedule. He helped with with everything from ceremony entrances, wedding party intros, speeches, all the way to wrapping up the night with a bang!
    He even spent 30+ minutes helping me bustle my dress with my wedding coordinator.
    He is VERY good at what he does. He’s responsive and as involved as you would like him to be!
    He is a busy guy, but always made time for me and made sure we were always on the same page!
    He played the songs I requested, but also made sure to keep the dance floor full and fun!
    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
  • M
    Marc Married on 05/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike Bacon is one of the best in the business. Do NOT hesitate even inquiring on him because his price quota is very reasonable. In addition to his DJ skills, youre also getting a day of wedding planner - he makes sure things go according to plan the day of your wedding. He will keep things going on time and, most importantly, bring your dreams to reality. In our wedding, we had a vivid entrance plan. Mike worked with us in terms of coming up with the perfect entrance and making these "dreams" become reality. What we wanted, a lively dance floor and from the beginning entrance and he provided it all. Think about, what will people remember - The venue, the food and the music/people. Mike takes time to listen to you in his three consultations and is always there for you from the moment you hire him to the final song of your wedding. He also provides uplighting and uses state of the art Bose speakers (wireless/wired) as well.
  • C
    Chris Married on 09/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was exceptional! We hired him to DJ our wedding based on reviews we found on The Knot. We had a destination wedding in Gloucester, Massachusetts so we didnt have the chance to meet him. We spoke on the phone a couple of times and Skype'd leading up to our event to walk through the details from beginning to end. Mike's services were very reasonable in my opinion and worked perfectly in our budget. As someone who has planned events professionally, I really appreciate and was surprised by Mike's event management strengths. He did more than play music for our ceremony and reception, which he did perfectly by the way. Mike worked with us to craft the perfect music for the ceremony from the seating of the parents to the recessional. Mike helped us to craft our full itinerary from pre-ceremony photos to the end of the evening. Most noteworthy to me is how Mike kept us on time. He was always discreetly keeping my wife and I aware of timelines and what was to happen next. I believe Mike genuinely wanted us to have the best day of our lives. He grabbed drinks for our wedding party at one point. He saw a great photo opportunity with the clouds outside and advised us to get a shot with the photographer. He was fun and funny and kept our wedding party tied together. I would absolutely recommend hiring Mike to DJ your wedding or event. You will not be unhappy. He did more for us then I have ever seen a DJ do for a client in any scenario.
  • A
    Alper Married on 07/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    One thing my wife and I know for sure is that our wedding day would never have gone as smooth as it did without Mike. We were lucky enough that we came across him in our Internet search. And boy, were all of the reviews true! He made everything very straightforward and simple. We had one sit-down with him via Skype and went over all of our typical wedding details - the music and things special to our day that he wanted to make happen for us. He not only organized all of this, but he also gave us helpful feedback and brought up things we hadn't even thought to ask! We also had the added challenge of mixing two different cultures for our wedding. We wanted to find a way to mix Turkish music and traditions with American ones. And to do so in a way that didn't seem forced and kept the liveliness and fun going throughout the night. He handled the transitions between both cultures that night seamlessly. He even found a way to play some metal music for me because I'd mentioned to him that I'm a big fan. On the actual day, he did more coordinating than our wedding coordinator! He ran around putting out small fires and calming everybody down and making them smile. Our matron of honor and best man both commented how unbelievably nervous they were to give their toasts. He talked them both through the timing and the way it should be done, and let them be just focused on the fun part of it. Many of our guests from both sides came up and commented on how amazing he was. We had a slightly longer wedding than most and didn't expect everybody to stay until the very end. But he made our wedding so much fun that many people stayed up until the very last minute dancing! And as for us, the bride and groom, he helped the caterer give us some time to sit and eat. He also grabbed us after the ceremony, brought us to a separate room, and let us have some private time together. That was one of our favorite parts of the wedding and we will always be thankful for that. Thank you, Mike!
  • S
    Sara Married on 07/25/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow- Mike really pulled our wedding together! He is so much more than a DJ; he came up to check on me before the ceremony, helped prepare us for the big moment, and made sure my husband and I paused to enjoy every moment. He knew exactly the right songs to play to highlight each moment, and played the right mix of rock and pop music to keep the dance floor full of guests of all ages. I think a great DJ knows how to keep the couple calm while keeping the guests engaged, and Mike was able to do this and more. We are so happy we found him!
  • V
    Valerie Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had seen Mike in action at a prior wedding for friends a couple of years back and knew we had to get in touch for our own wedding. Mike was easy to get in contact with, very responsive to all questions, and helped to talk us through the timeline, etc. for our big day. Mike is the most (seriously, the MOST) professional DJ and vendor I have ever seen in action. HIRE HIM, really. Do it.

    Not only did he spend upwards of two hours on the phone with us the week prior to finalizing music selections, ensuring he had the correct versions of songs, and offering suggestions and opinions, but he ensured that the day of went off without a hitch. Our backyard wedding, thanks to Mike's help, was fabulous. He knew when to shift the music to get people on the dance floor, how to get my now husband and I prepared for the next part of the ceremony/reception, and was simply a delight on all levels. We cannot speak more highly of him and wish we had the words to describe how perfect he made our day.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hiring Mike to DJ our fall wedding this past year was definitely one of our best wedding planning decisions! We hired him pretty early on in our 2.5 year long engagement, but it was worth the wait. Mike was always very responsive over email, and because we hired him so far out I would occasionally "check in" to make sure we were all set for the big day. I never had any reason to worry with this awesome professional, but he always replied and reassured me that he was there for me for the big day and anything I needed on any day leading up to it.
    My husband and I had a very specific desires for our wedding playlist filled with 90's music, and Mike not only respected that, but embraced it and joined us in our excitement. He edited our first dance song perfectly (so it wouldn't be so painfully long), he checked with us prior to the day of about the right versions of certain requested songs, and he put up with our occasional indecisiveness!
    On the day of the wedding I truly felt like he was there for me. When I happened to glance in his direction, he was always looking back, reading my face and emotions to make sure things were as I'd requested. He checked in with me just enough to make sure he was sticking to the schedule I'd requested, but not too much that it interfered with my fun. When the dance floor hit a brief lull he made a suggestion of a few songs (that weren't on our playlist) that usually rev the party back up and asked if we were okay with the small change. We said yes because Mike knows best....and boy does he know best...it totally worked, and he kept people on the floor as he migrated back to our all 90's playlist.
    Our friends are still telling us how much fun they had and how our dj "killed it" and was "on fire" that night!
  • User1664933 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike Bacon is the kind of person that you could tell truly loves what he does and cares just as much about your special day as you and your future spouse. His enthusiasm and passion for his work were the main reasons why we hired him to be a part of our wedding day team. He was absolutely phenomenal! He was extremely professional and ensured that everything ran smoothly from the beginning of the ceremony to the last song of the night. We had been working with a specific wedding day coordinator at our venue and we were not informed that she was no longer at the venue one month prior to the wedding. Without the help and guidance of Mike, I don’t think that everything the day of would have run as smoothly as it did. Mike was extremely helpful ensuring that everything was perfect and that my husband and I didn’t have to worry about anything. With the help of Mike Bacon, our day was absolutely perfect! Besides ensuring that everything about the day went smoothly, the music was also perfect! He played all of the music we wanted to hear and also kept everyone dancing all night! His attention to detail and editing specific songs for us made our entrance and first dance extra memorable for our guests. His uplighting was also stunning and really made our space extra special for the entire evening. Even though we could thank him 1 million times, it still would not be enough to show our eternal gratitude for everything Mike did for us that day. Mike Bacon is phenomenal and he is absolutely the person you want for your wedding day team!
  • M
    Mark Married on 09/14/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We put a full year into planning our wedding but without Mike there to emcee it, all the planning would have gone to waste. Mike took a modest ceremony and reception site and made it feel like the well planned wedding that it was. We had a modest budget but one thing we did right was spend the money to get Mike. He was worth every penny, plus some!!

    From the ceremony, to getting people organized, to introductions, to the first dance etc., he nailed it.

    Mike is not only a great DJ but he's a top notch person too. After the wedding was over I got so many compliments on how good he was. He is a true emcee and controlled the room very well. He knew what songs got the floor bumping and kept it going until the very end. He played modern music and catered to our tastes... And I can't say we make it easy on him considering we live everything form dance and rock to country. He pulled it off with ease!

    Mike had an excellent set up that took up minimal space. His equipment was clearly super modern. He's the best of the best. You never totally know what to expect from a DJ unless you've seen him work before, but I can tell you that he will blow you away. He's confident and he's considerate. He's not overbearing but he will keep a clear flow to your wedding, which is what any good party needs. He keeps the tempo up without being cheesy and annoying.

    I grew up living and working in Kennebunkport, Maine. I've seen sooooo many wedding and heard a wide variety of DJ's... you'll be doing yourselves a favor by booking Mike's Music Mix.
  • B
    Becky Married on 06/30/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    All I can say is “WOW”! This man truly loves his job and is truly amazing! I can’t even decide where to start! I found him from the venue I went with in North Conway NH. They gave me a “cheat sheet” with all different kinds of venders like flowers and cakes djs…ect. Well I called him to make an appointment to discuss plans for a November wedding and we meet within a week! Mike was really enthusiastic and gave this vibe off that showed he really enjoys what he does! Well I have an extremely sick father! His health took a turn for the worst, so we decided that we needed to move up the wedding ASAP! Surprisingly Mike had the new date open! We meet at my mother’s house a few days before the wedding to choose our music. I had no idea what music I wanted for ceremony, no idea at all! Mike took the time to let my now husband and I listen to every song we thought of and some songs Mike thought of. He has an endless library of music! If he doesn’t have what you are looking for he will search for it in front of you and if he finds what you are looking for he buys it! So the big day comes and it’s about 90 degrees in the White Mountains in NH! The ceremony was beautiful minus the sweat dripping off everyone! The music was perfect and timed right! Then it was time to go to the tent and PARTY! I have been to weddings before where the same groups of people are dancing the whole time, but Mike got everyone out on the floor more than I would have to say three times! This truly amazed me because it was so hot outside! He defiantly kept my husband and I on track as far as the scheduling of dinner cake cutting and dances! I didn’t even have to think about anything! Everything went so smoothly. After all the events that take place at a reception Mike got a bunch of people on the dance floor for some line dancing! He came out and taught my husband and I how to do them! The funniest thing he said to me was “all you have to do is move side to side and kick whatever leg you want and jump
  • A
    Ashley Married on 06/08/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He is amazing!!! Definitely made the reception!! Very professional and got the night going. I wanted a party and that is exactly what I got. Very reasonably priced as well.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 05/26/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was the DJ for our wedding on 5/26 and he was fantastic. We met Mike and knew immediately we wanted him to be our DJ. He was extremely professional, organized, energetic, happy and versatile at our first meeting. You can tell this is a guy who loves what he does and will do anything he can to make his clients happy, while still keeping the budget in mind. He was constantly reminding us "this is your day, enjoy it." Mike left no stone unturned with us and everything he talked to us about at our first meeting he held through. He made coordination between our event planner and photographer seamless. His equipment sounds amazing and yet it is very compact so it doesn't take away from the overall atmosphere. He had our dance floor packed for the entire night. There is not one negative thing I could write about Mike. He made us happy and our guests happy. Any time we talk to somebody about our wedding, they tell us that the DJ was fantastic. Once you meet Mike you won't need to talk with any other DJ's. Mike also has some pretty sweet dance moves himself, don't let him tell you any different. I would recommend Mike to anyone!
  • E
    Erin Married on 07/23/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike Bacon did our wedding at Brooksby Farm on July 23, 2011. He was the best DJ I've ever met. We knew he was our DJ the first time we met with him--his presentation was excellent.

    He did the sound for our outdoor ceremony, micing the musicians, the officiant and the groom. Everyone was able to hear EVERYTHING, which is so often a huge problem at outdoor ceremonies. He also coordinates your wedding day for you, keeping everything on track and running smoothly. He checked in with us throughout the day, letting us know what was happening next and what to expect. He was dressed in a tux, and had an unobtrusive setup with perfect sound quality.

    He was amazing at running our party. He was not cheesy, he didn't talk too much, he was genuinely someone I was so happy to have at our wedding. He brought glow necklaces with him, which was such a big hit and made people insanely happy. So many people have commented on what a great job he did. And he kept us dancing to the very end. I highly recommend Mike. He is excellent at his job!

  • Michelle
    Michelle W. Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made Our Night!

    There are so many great things to say about Mike! From the time he arrived to the time he began cleaning up, he wanted to make sure our day went perfectly and how we had planned. Not only was he our DJ, but really, our coordinator for the day. He made sure everything went smoothly and communicated with both wedding parties to make sure all was in order. NOTHING went wrong during ceremony/reception in terms of sound and I believe this is because the care Mike put in to ensure no mistakes happened! Mike gave suggestions but was also open to any thing we wanted for our music! He even allowed for music requests during receptions which guests enjoyed. He was able to read our crowd to make sure there were people dancing at all times- and they were! I highly recommend using Mike as your DJ for your big day. You will not regret it!
  • L
    Liz Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got married October 6, 2012 and our wedding was a huge, fun party… and that is all thanks to Mike Bacon! DJ does not describe this man… he is the MC of weddings. He takes pride in every part of your wedding and reception. It was so easy planning with him, even when I had moved to Baltimore he made it easy by using Skype for our final meetings. He thought of every musical detail and brought the party together flawlessly. Mike made sure that we enjoyed every minute of our wedding. I told him how important it was to my husband and I that we get to eat our wedding dinner and Mike found us to let us know when each course had been served. Aside from having the timing and sequence of the reception down… he is a GREAT DJ! The music selection was awesome; the dance floor was packed the entire night. His announcements were great for cake cutting, bouquet toss etc. and everyone commented on how great he was. We went for the up-lighting for our wedding and I HIGHLY recommend this option! The lighting really did transform the room and make it magical. Overall, best party ever and we cannot thank Mike enough for the amazing job he did!!
  • User2973398 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was a great choice for our DJ. He really worked hard to make our vision a reality. On the day of, he did more than DJ, he made sure that we had everything go smoothly, from the ceremony to the reception. I am confident that without him it would not have gone so swimmingly! The only feedback I would give was that he was not quick to respond to emails. He always did respond, and we had opportunities to Skype which I appreciated. But as a bride that wanted to plan far in advance it was frustrating that it seemed as if he focused more on my wedding when it was less than a month away. That may be the nature of being a DJ because I am sure he had many events to focus on, so we don't hold it against him. Again, I want to reiterate that he was charismatic, made the bouquet and garter toss amazing, and had equipment. On the day of, he was more than we could have hoped for, and he didn't charge us for travel, which he could have done. He worked as a team with our wedding coordinator and would highly recommend him to future couples.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 09/14/2013
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    Mike did an AMAZING Job with our wedding! Everyone LOVED his music, and had everyone up dancing! From our 85 year old grandfather to my 3 year old sister and nephew! He kept the wedding day organzied by helping everyne understand where and when to be. We were so very excited to have had the opportunity work with Mike and have had the very best day. Our friends and family still rave about how much fun our wedding was :-)