Miguel's Formal Wear Reviews

23 | Virginia Beach, VA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Miguel's Formal Wear

Recommended by 89% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.3

Awards

23
Order by:
  • R

    Renesto A. · Married on 03/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience!

    I had one of the best experience using their services. The quality and fitment of the suit was well crafted and top quality you could ever ask for. I would definitely recommend Miguel's Formal Wear for anyone looking into top quality attire for their event.

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • C

    Candace · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of all the vendors we worked with, Miguel's was the best. Michael is very friendly and personable. He was active in helping us figure out what our guys would wear, but never overstepped and pushed anything on us. We got so many compliments on the guys' suits. We'll recommend them to anyone we can.

    Sent on 09/25/2017
  • A

    April · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional & very knowledgeable. I will definitely use Miguel's again

    Sent on 06/05/2017
  • User7754879 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael and the team was very helpful. I had a lot of ideas and didn't know how to put them all together. Michael was able to break them down and assist me and my wife create a unique look, that matched my personality.

    I am so happy I allowed him to make me a custom tux for my wedding. The fit was perfect. I was worried about my suit being to big and to plain. Michael order me my own unique fabric and based the groomsmen off my look.

    Do your self a favor and save your self the pain book with Miguel's.

    Sent on 02/07/2017
  • User5425247 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Miguel's is the premier tuxedo shop in Hampton Roads, Richmond and Eastern North Carolina. My husband and I are so thankful that we met decided to go to Miguels. Professional, patient, creative and overall just better than the standard tuxedo shops. At most tuxedo places you are a number but Miguels makes you feel welcome. My husband had a custom tuxedo for our wedding made and to say the least Miguel was stellar in ensuring that it was tailored properly and accessories went well with the theme of the wedding. I would suggest stopping by Miguel's for all your groomsman/groom needs! Trust me, the other tuxedo shops sent dirty tuxedos and were baggy, they had to be altered. My husband and I said we wish not only had we gone through Miguel for the custom tuxedo but for all the groomsman. He was a lifesaver! Thanks Miguel for all your hardwork!!

    Sent on 09/10/2015
  • T

    Temieka · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The service was excellent! He made everything smooth and my wedding was perfect.

    Sent on 06/23/2014
  • User4251316 · event on: 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Miguel, worked with you listend to you. He knew what was best for you and how to make you look good. I when to prom all 4 years and I wish I would of when there all 4 years. The price is also the best around it doesn't get better!!

    Sent on 07/15/2014
  • R

    Rolland · Married on 07/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We rented tuxedos from Miguel's based off of a recommendation from a friend. The tuxes looked fantastic and the customer service was great. We had to change the look of our wedding a few times, never the less Michael was understanding and very helpful and was able to help iron out some minor issues with the wedding theme. The in home fitting was exciting and a relief my wedding party like the fact that he came to us as well picked them up after the wedding.I has a positive experience, and I am happy to recommend Miguel's.

    Sent on 07/27/2013
  • M

    Malinda · event on: 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would like to say that Michael Claude did an excellent job not only fitting my son but findin apparel that fit his personality. Mr. Claude is a professional. My son has an athletic build and Mr. Claude fitted him just right. Thanks again Mr. Claude you are AWESOME!!!!

    Sent on 05/11/2012
  • D

    Darius · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very flexable and professional. Michael did well more than enough to make sure we had everything in tact and on time. I would definitely refer to anyone that is having an event and wants to look good!!!

    Sent on 05/16/2012
  • W

    Wilson · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    True professional... made our experience that much memorable

    Sent on 04/26/2012
  • C

    Christopher · Married on 06/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Miguel Formal Wear is a cut above the rest; since our initial meeting with Michael he has been nothing but professional and informative. Being that I work overseas, I could only communicate with him intially via email, anytime I had a question he was very prompt with his response and also included my wife in all of conversations as a courtesy. While dealing with my wife stateside, he was always respectful and helpful, careful to ensure that her request were met and deadlines were made and kept. If she was not pleased with material, design, or the look, he would make on the spot corrections , or contact the necessary parties to acquire what was needed so that she would be happy. When I returned home for my vacation, Michael scheduled an appointment that met our needs and was properly prepared for our meetings. In order to better serve us he made himself readily available during the evenigs and the mornings. In case he was busy, he set up additional times that would compliment our schedule; there were times he was at our residence until 11pm waiting on groomsmen to arrive to properly fit everyone. More important, he did not treat us as just customers, but like his friends; so even if we were waiting around for someone to show, we enjoyed his company. On the big day, Michael was there bright and early to make sure that all the tuxes were fitting right and the ties were balanced and centered. He even went as far as to steam our jackets for us, so that our appearance was clean and the wrinkles were minimal. After he completed his task, he didnt stroll out, he stayed around and helped all the groomsmen with their boutinerres and conversed with us until it was "time". Michael felt more like a good friend than a vendor, and not to mention he was forthcoming with what would look good and what would not. I would recommend Miguel Formal Wear to anyone who is seeking an analytical eye for fashion, a reliable company to do business with, and a friendly consultant.

    From my wife and I, Michael it has been a pleasure working with you.

    Sincerely,

    Christopher and Nneka Meeks (Wed June 26, 2011)

    Sent on 08/30/2011
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Miguel Formal Wear for my wedding. The owner has an eye for detail and a flair for fashion. Michael sat down with us prior to our wedding and did a consultation to find out what look we were looking for, for our wedding day. He was able to quickly direct us to the prefect tuxedo and was able to hunt down the perfect custom bow ties for our large wedding party. He took all the pressure off of us to locate the prefect look. To top that off, he personally delivered the formal wear and made sure all 15 of our guys were outfitted perfectly the day of our wedding. We will definitely use Miguel's Formal Wear for some upcoming formal events and we will refer new clients to him!! Thanks for all of your hard work! Pamela McKinney Lewis –One happy June 2011 Bride

    Sent on 08/30/2011
  • P

    Paul · Married on 10/22/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Friendly door to door service. It was really nice not to have to travel to another location but to have them come to my door for fitting, delivery, and pick up. I would highly recommend Michael service - he is truly a professional that made the experience feel like family.

    Sent on 11/02/2011
  • User5276388 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Helpful group of men and women working here. Very knowlageable and perfesional.

    Sent on 07/20/2015
  • J

    Jasper · Married on 01/17/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome job Michael! Thanks for all your help with making our wedding the wedding of the century!!!

    Sent on 01/29/2016
  • R

    Richard · Married on 09/07/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I was very pleased with the process of fitting and renting a Tux for a friends wedding with one exception.

    When I returned the Tux after the wedding the customer service person checked my Tux and verified it was all there. All good. Then I asked if I would get a receipt showing that I had returned the Tux (Date & Time) just in case. She said "no"....but I was good to go she would check my rented clothing in right away. I said ok and left but must say that I strongly feel that as part of good customer service the business should at least give each customer a receipt showing the date and time the clothing was returned. It is just a common courtesy and would make me feel better knowing that just in case someone forgets to check my rental clothing in that I would have proof of the date and time it was returned.

    Sent on 09/07/2015
  • J

    Jarrod · Married on 07/03/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to talk to. Understanding positive person

    Sent on 07/12/2014
  • A

    Abel · Married on 03/14/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We rented a tux for the groom and grooms men, We needed difrent color for the grooms men tux they were willing to accommodate us

    Sent on 03/21/2015
  • M

    Michael · Married on 10/22/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Truly appreciated that representative came to my home to do the fittings. And was pleased that delivery and pickup were at my home. That I did not have to collect tuxes and deliver them to a store was a tremendous help.

    Sent on 11/28/2011
  • E

    Emilie · Married on 07/12/2014

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    We chose Miguel's because he had inventory that we couldn't find anywhere else. However, after we signed with him, it was VERY difficult to get in contact with them. They never answer the phone or return calls. There were many minor mistakes with our order so it was helpful to have his online service so that we could check everything beforehand (wrong color tuxes, wrong color shoes, etc.)
    Since our party was spread out geographically, he recommended they all get measured at Men's Wearhouse, and that the shops would be "happy to do it," when in reality, many of the groomsmen were met with resistance when they went to get measurements.
    He was helpful in working with us to figure out how to deal with everyone being so spread out and having our wedding far from his location as well. He allowed all the groomsmen to choose where the suit was sent, and when the wedding was over, a box was provided with prepaid shipping to send the tuxes back, which was convenient.

    Sent on 07/23/2014

    Miguel's Formal Wear's reply:

    It was a pleasure to work with Emilie Duncan. We are sorry she felt we were not responsive. We are a small company that is growing and we try to make every accommodation possible for all clients. Some times these accommodation can be difficult but never the less we strive to give every customer the very best in service and products. We are a staff of two and now three. Due to our great customer service and reviews we have experience an overwhelming demand this year that did not allow us to accept every phone call. That being said we made every attempt to return phone calls and address any issues our clients may have had. A professional fitting is the key to a tuxedo that fits well and feels great! It is not a practice of Miguel's Custom Clothiers to specifically recommend any particular formal wear shop for out of town guest. That being said we do provide a printable order form on our web site with the instruction "Please visit a tailor, menswear or tuxedo specialist near you. Bring this form when you get measured. Ask the specialist to complete the information in the boxes above." It is a industry courtesy to provide complementary measurements. We thank every client for entrusting us with their special day and allowing us an opportunity to serve them.

    Respectfully
    Miguel's Custom Clothiers & Formal Wear
  • J

    Jade · Married on 05/18/2018

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    First of all, I will start by saying the suits ended up working out, but the whole process was a headache. Michael is very nice and competent, but his staff has major communication issues. This was the most stressful part of our wedding planning process, and it should have been one of the easiest. We had 4 out of town groomsmen who were supposed to get their tuxes delivered to them over a week in advance (they had to pay an additional $25 for this delivery service to ensure they fit). 2 weeks out till the wedding, we decided to call and check on the progress since we hadn't heard anything from them, and they still hadn't even ordered our suits. They said they were missing 2 of the groomsmen's measurements but never reached out to us or the guys for their sizes. (When Miguel's checked their email again, they found the "missing" groomsmen had already given their measurements over a month prior but they hadn't properly placed their measurements in our file). Days passed and still no one had received their suits. Several of the groomsmen, my fiancé and I all reached out to the store, and they kept reassuring us that they would be there the next day... the next day... the next day. The suits never showed up to the groomsmen. The suits ended up showing up at the VA Beach store eventually (after the receptionist told my groomsmen it had been delivered to his front door in NY, and it was basically his problem if he didn't have it), and the out of town groomsmen had to spend their Friday at the tux shop being fitted instead of their original pre-rehearsal plans. My advice is to not use Miguel's if you have out of town groomsmen. Again, Michael is very nice, but the whole store is going through growing pains and is not competent at proper communication and handling the busy wedding/ prom season at once.

    Sent on 05/29/2018
  • User5351818 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Absolutley horrible!!! We will never use them again or refer anyone. The service was horrible, they could never find our order when we called, the kept messing up,our orders, they also measure around the belly button so every single man in our wedding party had clown pants on.....so none of them could take off their jacket! What a mess!!! Our wedding was on Saturday, they were closed on Sunday, and the Tuxedos were due back by 1:00 on Monday.....and they open at noon!!! WTH!!??? So my poor father had to return all the Tuxedos while everyone was working and not ken single person working at Miguel's helped my (older) father carry all of these in!!! What a lazy group working here....or running this place. What a joke! And after we ordered the Tuxedos almost 5 months prior to the wedding, the men could not pick them up until TWO days before the wedding. This makes no sense whatsoever. And if they didn't fit, 'they would have to come back for a final fitting. My husbands shoes didn't fit so while we were rushing to our rehearsal and dinner, we had to drive all the way back to Norfolk and get another pair of shoes. Thank you Miguel's for stressing out this Bride beyond recognition.....and for messing up our entire order over the span of 5 months. Please hire someone in your shop that knows what they're doing and knows something about customer service. And when you see an older gentleman with gray hair (that is still recovering from a heart transplant), PLEASE HELP HIM!!!!

    Sent on 08/16/2015