Skip to main content
Weddings

Michigan League Reviews

Michigan League View more information

27 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 27
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

9 User photos

  • Daphne
    Daphne F. Married on 06/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lindsay and her team go above and beyond!!

    We got married here on June 3rd. Lindsay and her team are phenomenal! Everything went so smoothly and the day was just so perfect. My guests kept commenting how amazing the food was. Not to mention that throughout the planning process, Lindsay has been nothing but sweet, supportive, and accommodating. They respond so fast and they truly go above and beyond! Photo creds to Allie Nicole Photo based in Michigan
  • L
    Lauren P. Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding June 12, 2021- League Garden

    We had a wonderful experience working with the Michigan League/Union. Lauren Yanakeff was our coordinator and I cannot say enough great things about her. We were planning our wedding during the pandemic and she was so flexible and understanding. She allowed us to move our reservation to different rooms multiple times as the restrictions evolved. She was very responsive and did everything within her power to ensure we were able to have our event in a way that was safe, but still felt like a wedding. We finally settled on the Garden at the Michigan League. Our guests were so impressed with this space and it was so beautiful! Lauren was present for our rehearsal and wedding and provided the perfect amount of guidance. We cannot thank her and the Michigan League/Union enough for being such a huge part of our wedding day!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    K Married on 12/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The League staff were incredible! We booked the Hussey, Vandenberg and Concourse, and we could not have asked for better. The food was incredible, the staff kept everything running smoothly. If you book here, you're working with true professionals!
  • Hangil
    Hangil L. Married on 06/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue with great coordinators

    Beautiful place, good coordinators, and accommodating to our needs.
  • T
    Torrie Married on 07/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We loved having our cocktail hour and wedding reception at the Michigan league. Lindsay was a pleasure to work with, we live in a different state and Lindsay made planing our wedding via phone calls and emails go so smoothly. We chose the ballroom at the league because it had the largest dance floor and we were not disappointed. The food exceeded our expectations everyone loved it. They chef also made us a dairy free appetizer special so the bride could eat something (lactose intolerance). The staff who ran our event were fantastic and were ready to help with all the small things like getting the groom bandaids and the bride a sewing kit to fix her broken dress strap. We highly recommend the Michigan league for your wedding or event just book early as they are a very popular venue and book up very fast.
  • T
    Tal Married on 04/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We're so happy we chose the League for our reception (and the Union for our ceremony). From our first meeting with the venue coordinator, Kayla, the whole experience was very smooth (and as stress-free as wedding planning can be). That's a particular feat since we were planning the wedding out of state.

    They provide you with a lot of forms and guidance, so that there were no surprises. We received a lot of compliments on the food—we took advantage of the annual tasting, which allowed us to sample pretty much everything and get to a tasty & eclectic menu.
  • S
    Forrest S. Married on 10/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was an absolute pleasure working with the Michigan League Events Office. They were prompt, kind, and very helpful throughout the planning process. Our Courtyard Garden ceremony was just beautiful!
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 09/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Michigan League was awesome! The setting of the Ballroom for the reception and the Vandenburg/Concourse for cocktails was perfect for 175 people. The team at the League, led by our event coordinator, Chelsea Herlein, was amazing! Chelsea took care of everything, answered any question, and was so wonderful leading up to the big day. Everything went smoothly and she kept me totally calm! The food was delicious (salmon, steak) and the service was wonderful. The venue surpassed my high expectations!
  • N
    Nora Married on 09/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married on campus at the University of Michigan on September 16, 2017. Our ceremony took place outside at the Michigan League Courtyard Garden, and the reception at the Michigan Union Pendleton Room. The event service at the university so great to work with! Kayla and her team made sure that our wedding day went perfectly. She was very quick to respond to emails and questions, and was so professional. Michigan offered some of the best pricing, and they had so many packages and options to really make our day special. We cannot thank Kayla enough for all of her hard work. Ann Arbor was already such a special place to us, and thanks to Kayla and her team it is now even more special. I highly recommend using the University of Michigan as a venue! It was absolutely perfect.
  • J
    Jay Married on 07/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful, charming venue with outstanding service and coordinators, and competitive pricing. We are so happy we had our reception here! Planning a wedding is not an easy task, but the coordinators and catering team at the Michigan League make it a pleasant experience. We booked the ballroom for our reception, and the adjacent Vandenberg room and concourse for cocktail hour. The ballroom is a large space with very high ceilings that inspires a very elegant feel. The pricing is very competitive, particularly compared to other similar venues in Ann Arbor and Southeastern Michigan. We worked with Chelsea, and she was outstanding. She was transparent, efficient, professional, and very responsive to questions by email, phone, or in-person. The team always does their best to accommodate any requests and changes, even when they are last minute! Most importantly, on the day of the reception, the service and execution was excellent. We received multiple compliments from our guests on the quality of the food, service, and ambiance. The entire team does a great job bringing your vision for the reception to reality.
  • C
    Claudia Married on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our daughter got married at the League on June 17, 2017 and everything was perfect thanks to Kayla and her team. The food was fabulous, the wait staff and bartenders professional and the venue was beautiful. It was an absolute pleasure to work with them and I would highly recommend The League for any event. It was a memorable night.
  • J
    Jennica Married on 05/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Michigan League was absolutely PERFECT in helping us create the most magical day of our lives. The food was incredible, the venue is beautiful, and the staff was superb. Chelsea did an amazing job answering any questions that came to mind, made suggestions for things we had not considered, and really went above and beyond for us. We cannot thank her and everyone who was involved enough for making this truly spectacular. We have had so many compliments and people tell us it was one of the most beautiful weddings they have ever been too! We are still on cloud nine almost two months later.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had some of our wedding events here in the Michigan Room, and it was lovely. Everything was set up well, the food was yummy and the staff was really on top of everything. It was easy to plan and work with Jane Lloyd. We pretty much had the whole place to ourselves (Memorial Day Weekend), and we were allowed to make use of the space. We are very happy with our experience at the League.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 05/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Michigan League was fantastic. We had both our ceremony and reception in the ballroom and our cocktail hour in the Vandenberg Room and Concourse. Jane Lloyd was incredibly helpful throughout the planning process - she was extremely responsive to emails and very detail-oriented. The food was delicious (our guests especially loved the duck and lamb hors d-oeuvres), and the event staff on hand that evening were great. Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of wedding venue!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/21/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We decided on the Michigan League in Ann Arbor because it was important for us to have our family and friends spend time in our home town. We are SO HAPPY we had our wedding reception in the League Ballroom. We worked with Jane in the event office and she was incredibly helpful and responsive. The building is a beautiful setting for brides looking for something beyond the standard hotel ballroom. The food was great and all of our guests complimented the space. This is a great option for those looking to have a larger wedding in Ann Arbor at a reasonable price!
  • W
    Whitney Married on 08/13/2011
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our cocktail hour in the Vandenberg Room and our reception in the Ballroom. The food was absolutely fabulous - we got so many compliments on the food and people telling us that it was the best wedding food they had ever had! The room was beautiful and the wait service and bar service were great. Nancy was really great to work with - she answered a ton of my questions over email and over the phone. I would highly recommend the Michigan League to anyone wishing to have the reception on campus.
  • N
    Nick C. Married on 10/21/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue/Team right on campus!

    I was married at the League in October, 2018 and was absolutely thrilled with the experience from start to finish. The building and setting are absolutely gorgeous, and the catering and event management teams were professional, organized, and did an excellent job across the board. The building has multiple smaller rooms in addition to the main ballroom, so there is flexibility to design your day the way you want. Especially if you have any connection to the University of Michigan, this venue is a wonderful option, but even if you don't, I highly recommend checking it out - you won't regret it.
  • S
    Shirley Married on 05/14/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Couldn't have picked a better venue for our wedding! Kayla is amazing, she' very responsive friendly and was able to answer any questions that we could think of. The staff and catering made the day so much simpler and more fantastic!
  • A
    Liz Married on 06/07/2008
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony in the Garden Courtyard at the Michigan League (for $250). It was absolutely beautiful. They normally require you to also book a room inside of the building as a back-up/rain-plan (for half of the price of the actual room cost), but we already had an alternative location available if needed, so we didn't need to book it. The garden was beautiful and didn't need any additional decorations.

    Guest parking in the adjacent UM parking structure is also available as an additional package.
  • O
    Orna Married on 05/30/2010
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Michigan League is a beautiful building on UM's campus to get married in. We had our ceremony and reception in the ballroom, which requires a 1.5 hour cocktail hour in between while the staff flips the room. The event staff was easy to work with and provided a step-by-step guide to wedding planning, which made it simple and efficient! The food was great, the staff was great, and everything came together perfectly! We highly recommend this venue for a wedding!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 05/20/2017
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff at the Michigan League really helped make the day quite memorable, from a flawless set up of our tables to a kind parting gift at the end of the night. The day itself was very nice. I was nervous at first because the lines of communication didn't really begin until about a month to a month and a half before the wedding, but I realized so much changes up until that point that it really isn't necessary to be in touch until then. From that point on, they asked relevant questions which actually helped keep me on track with the last stages of wedding planning. My only two complaints would be 1. A few of my guests were skipped with champagne (which I suppose happens) and a rather big one 2. Although we discussed hosted parking (where we foot the bill for parking so our guests can park with ease), the message was not delivered to the parking assistant, who insisted cash from all of my guests (who I had previously told that parking was complementary). As an apology, the League later refunded the $25 attendant fee, but I still felt bad for the trouble some of my guests had to go to, finding an ATM to get cash because credit was not accepted. Everything else however went according to plan.
  • S
    Sara Married on 06/19/2010
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The League was a beautiful venue for our cocktail hour and reception (Vandenberg and then the Ballroom). The planning staff was great at answering questions and providing suggestions as you planned (though sometimes you had to follow up to get an answer). The day-of staff was fantastic as well, and everything went off very smoothly (at least, that I saw!). The service and presentation were impeccable. The planning staff was a bit difficult about a couple points in planning set-up with a few 'maybe' guests, but the day-of staff was very flexible and pleasant with last-minute adjustments so it wasn't a problem. The bridal party and immediate family also stayed in the League hotel rooms on the fourth floor, which was very convenient - they have a large suite which is perfect for the bridesmaids and brides to prep in, and for the bridal party to hang out in between ceremony & reception. I highly recommend the League!
  • J
    Janet Married on 06/22/2008
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    The Michigan League is a beautiful building in the middle of the University of Michigan Campus. My ceremony was in the garden which holds a maximum of 145 people (my wedding was only 115) and my reception was in the ballroom. The garden is a really beautiful setting for a ceremony because it is outside under a big tree. It is very green and has plenty of shade. The ballroom is a gorgeous big room that can fit 250 but did not fee too big for my wedding. We did a buffet and also had a dance floor. The wedding coordinator at the Michigan League has done many weddings before and thinks of things that you wouldn’t. However, they also have very strong opinions about what they think works best and don’t make it easy to do something different. The price was very reasonable since the rental of the room includes linens, chairs, servers, tablewear.
  • H
    Terry Married on 08/29/2009
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    This is a great place for a reception. The staff is amazing, the food tasty. There is a little less flexiblity in choices for certain things: alcohol has to be through them and you can only bring in a cake from an outside source.
    but it's a beautiful location and the staff was outstanding
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message