Michigan League Reviews

25 | Ann Arbor, MI
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Michigan League

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

25
Order by:
  • K

    k · Married on 12/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The League staff were incredible! We booked the Hussey, Vandenberg and Concourse, and we could not have asked for better. The food was incredible, the staff kept everything running smoothly. If you book here, you're working with true professionals!

    Sent on 07/31/2018
  • Hangil

    Hangil Lee · Married on 06/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with great coordinators

    Beautiful place, good coordinators, and accommodating to our needs.

    Sent on 06/28/2019
  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 05/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best decisions we made

    The League was the perfect venue for my husband and I. We both have connections to the university and we wanted to show our family and friends how special Ann Arbor is to us. From start to finish the team at The League was incredible to work with. They kept in close contact with our planner, answered all of our questions, offered ideas based on what we were looking for, and helped us feel comfortable along the way. We walked through multiple scenarios (since we had a rain plan) which turned out to be a lifesaver. If our guests did not know we intended to get married outside, they never would have known we were using our back up because things were just so smooth the whole way. The food was amazing and many guests said it was the best they ever had. Lindsay was the absolute best and everyone on site worked hard to make our day perfect.

    Sent on 07/06/2019
  • T

    Torrie · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    We loved having our cocktail hour and wedding reception at the Michigan league. Lindsay was a pleasure to work with, we live in a different state and Lindsay made planing our wedding via phone calls and emails go so smoothly. We chose the ballroom at the league because it had the largest dance floor and we were not disappointed. The food exceeded our expectations everyone loved it. They chef also made us a dairy free appetizer special so the bride could eat something (lactose intolerance). The staff who ran our event were fantastic and were ready to help with all the small things like getting the groom bandaids and the bride a sewing kit to fix her broken dress strap. We highly recommend the Michigan league for your wedding or event just book early as they are a very popular venue and book up very fast.

    Sent on 08/26/2018
  • T

    Tal · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're so happy we chose the League for our reception (and the Union for our ceremony). From our first meeting with the venue coordinator, Kayla, the whole experience was very smooth (and as stress-free as wedding planning can be). That's a particular feat since we were planning the wedding out of state.

    They provide you with a lot of forms and guidance, so that there were no surprises. We received a lot of compliments on the food—we took advantage of the annual tasting, which allowed us to sample pretty much everything and get to a tasty & eclectic menu.

    Sent on 07/01/2018
  • S

    Forrest + Sneha · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an absolute pleasure working with the Michigan League Events Office. They were prompt, kind, and very helpful throughout the planning process. Our Courtyard Garden ceremony was just beautiful!

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Michigan League was awesome! The setting of the Ballroom for the reception and the Vandenburg/Concourse for cocktails was perfect for 175 people. The team at the League, led by our event coordinator, Chelsea Herlein, was amazing! Chelsea took care of everything, answered any question, and was so wonderful leading up to the big day. Everything went smoothly and she kept me totally calm! The food was delicious (salmon, steak) and the service was wonderful. The venue surpassed my high expectations!

    Sent on 09/29/2017
  • N

    Nora · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on campus at the University of Michigan on September 16, 2017. Our ceremony took place outside at the Michigan League Courtyard Garden, and the reception at the Michigan Union Pendleton Room. The event service at the university so great to work with! Kayla and her team made sure that our wedding day went perfectly. She was very quick to respond to emails and questions, and was so professional. Michigan offered some of the best pricing, and they had so many packages and options to really make our day special. We cannot thank Kayla enough for all of her hard work. Ann Arbor was already such a special place to us, and thanks to Kayla and her team it is now even more special. I highly recommend using the University of Michigan as a venue! It was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • J

    Jay · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, charming venue with outstanding service and coordinators, and competitive pricing. We are so happy we had our reception here! Planning a wedding is not an easy task, but the coordinators and catering team at the Michigan League make it a pleasant experience. We booked the ballroom for our reception, and the adjacent Vandenberg room and concourse for cocktail hour. The ballroom is a large space with very high ceilings that inspires a very elegant feel. The pricing is very competitive, particularly compared to other similar venues in Ann Arbor and Southeastern Michigan. We worked with Chelsea, and she was outstanding. She was transparent, efficient, professional, and very responsive to questions by email, phone, or in-person. The team always does their best to accommodate any requests and changes, even when they are last minute! Most importantly, on the day of the reception, the service and execution was excellent. We received multiple compliments from our guests on the quality of the food, service, and ambiance. The entire team does a great job bringing your vision for the reception to reality.

    Sent on 07/17/2017
  • C

    Claudia · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter got married at the League on June 17, 2017 and everything was perfect thanks to Kayla and her team. The food was fabulous, the wait staff and bartenders professional and the venue was beautiful. It was an absolute pleasure to work with them and I would highly recommend The League for any event. It was a memorable night.

    Sent on 06/28/2017
  • J

    Jennica · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Michigan League was absolutely PERFECT in helping us create the most magical day of our lives. The food was incredible, the venue is beautiful, and the staff was superb. Chelsea did an amazing job answering any questions that came to mind, made suggestions for things we had not considered, and really went above and beyond for us. We cannot thank her and everyone who was involved enough for making this truly spectacular. We have had so many compliments and people tell us it was one of the most beautiful weddings they have ever been too! We are still on cloud nine almost two months later.

    Sent on 06/20/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had some of our wedding events here in the Michigan Room, and it was lovely. Everything was set up well, the food was yummy and the staff was really on top of everything. It was easy to plan and work with Jane Lloyd. We pretty much had the whole place to ourselves (Memorial Day Weekend), and we were allowed to make use of the space. We are very happy with our experience at the League.

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Michigan League was fantastic. We had both our ceremony and reception in the ballroom and our cocktail hour in the Vandenberg Room and Concourse. Jane Lloyd was incredibly helpful throughout the planning process - she was extremely responsive to emails and very detail-oriented. The food was delicious (our guests especially loved the duck and lamb hors d-oeuvres), and the event staff on hand that evening were great. Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of wedding venue!

    Sent on 07/20/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/21/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided on the Michigan League in Ann Arbor because it was important for us to have our family and friends spend time in our home town. We are SO HAPPY we had our wedding reception in the League Ballroom. We worked with Jane in the event office and she was incredibly helpful and responsive. The building is a beautiful setting for brides looking for something beyond the standard hotel ballroom. The food was great and all of our guests complimented the space. This is a great option for those looking to have a larger wedding in Ann Arbor at a reasonable price!

    Sent on 06/08/2016
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 08/13/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our cocktail hour in the Vandenberg Room and our reception in the Ballroom. The food was absolutely fabulous - we got so many compliments on the food and people telling us that it was the best wedding food they had ever had! The room was beautiful and the wait service and bar service were great. Nancy was really great to work with - she answered a ton of my questions over email and over the phone. I would highly recommend the Michigan League to anyone wishing to have the reception on campus.

    Sent on 09/01/2011
  • N

    Nick Caras · Married on 10/21/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Venue/Team right on campus!

    I was married at the League in October, 2018 and was absolutely thrilled with the experience from start to finish. The building and setting are absolutely gorgeous, and the catering and event management teams were professional, organized, and did an excellent job across the board. The building has multiple smaller rooms in addition to the main ballroom, so there is flexibility to design your day the way you want. Especially if you have any connection to the University of Michigan, this venue is a wonderful option, but even if you don't, I highly recommend checking it out - you won't regret it.

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • S

    Shirley · Married on 05/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have picked a better venue for our wedding! Kayla is amazing, she' very responsive friendly and was able to answer any questions that we could think of. The staff and catering made the day so much simpler and more fantastic!

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • A

    Liz · Married on 06/07/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony in the Garden Courtyard at the Michigan League (for $250). It was absolutely beautiful. They normally require you to also book a room inside of the building as a back-up/rain-plan (for half of the price of the actual room cost), but we already had an alternative location available if needed, so we didn't need to book it. The garden was beautiful and didn't need any additional decorations.

    Guest parking in the adjacent UM parking structure is also available as an additional package.

    Sent on 07/03/2008
  • O

    Orna · Married on 05/30/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Michigan League is a beautiful building on UM's campus to get married in. We had our ceremony and reception in the ballroom, which requires a 1.5 hour cocktail hour in between while the staff flips the room. The event staff was easy to work with and provided a step-by-step guide to wedding planning, which made it simple and efficient! The food was great, the staff was great, and everything came together perfectly! We highly recommend this venue for a wedding!

    Sent on 07/22/2010
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/20/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The staff at the Michigan League really helped make the day quite memorable, from a flawless set up of our tables to a kind parting gift at the end of the night. The day itself was very nice. I was nervous at first because the lines of communication didn't really begin until about a month to a month and a half before the wedding, but I realized so much changes up until that point that it really isn't necessary to be in touch until then. From that point on, they asked relevant questions which actually helped keep me on track with the last stages of wedding planning. My only two complaints would be 1. A few of my guests were skipped with champagne (which I suppose happens) and a rather big one 2. Although we discussed hosted parking (where we foot the bill for parking so our guests can park with ease), the message was not delivered to the parking assistant, who insisted cash from all of my guests (who I had previously told that parking was complementary). As an apology, the League later refunded the $25 attendant fee, but I still felt bad for the trouble some of my guests had to go to, finding an ATM to get cash because credit was not accepted. Everything else however went according to plan.

    Sent on 06/16/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/19/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The League was a beautiful venue for our cocktail hour and reception (Vandenberg and then the Ballroom). The planning staff was great at answering questions and providing suggestions as you planned (though sometimes you had to follow up to get an answer). The day-of staff was fantastic as well, and everything went off very smoothly (at least, that I saw!). The service and presentation were impeccable. The planning staff was a bit difficult about a couple points in planning set-up with a few 'maybe' guests, but the day-of staff was very flexible and pleasant with last-minute adjustments so it wasn't a problem. The bridal party and immediate family also stayed in the League hotel rooms on the fourth floor, which was very convenient - they have a large suite which is perfect for the bridesmaids and brides to prep in, and for the bridal party to hang out in between ceremony & reception. I highly recommend the League!

    Sent on 08/03/2010
  • J

    Janet · Married on 06/22/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Michigan League is a beautiful building in the middle of the University of Michigan Campus. My ceremony was in the garden which holds a maximum of 145 people (my wedding was only 115) and my reception was in the ballroom. The garden is a really beautiful setting for a ceremony because it is outside under a big tree. It is very green and has plenty of shade. The ballroom is a gorgeous big room that can fit 250 but did not fee too big for my wedding. We did a buffet and also had a dance floor. The wedding coordinator at the Michigan League has done many weddings before and thinks of things that you wouldn’t. However, they also have very strong opinions about what they think works best and don’t make it easy to do something different. The price was very reasonable since the rental of the room includes linens, chairs, servers, tablewear.

    Sent on 07/23/2008
  • H

    terry · Married on 08/29/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a great place for a reception. The staff is amazing, the food tasty. There is a little less flexiblity in choices for certain things: alcohol has to be through them and you can only bring in a cake from an outside source.
    but it's a beautiful location and the staff was outstanding

    Sent on 09/29/2009
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/22/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The League did an excellent job for my wedding. The food was great and I heard the same from my guests, particularly that the filet was as tender as butter. I tasted it—it’s true. The chef also made a special request item not on the menu for my vegetarian option, which I had, and it was delicious. Originally, we weren’t happy with the appetizer or wine selections at the group tasting. The League held a special tasting for us to choose other appetizers and ordered in special wines for us to choose from. The venue is an absolute dream. It’s the most beautiful wedding venue. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because it took some coaxing to get the level of excellence we saw on our wedding day. For example, we had to request tree limbs be trimmed in the garden area where (not just mine) but two outdoor ceremonies were being held. The branches were chest height and hung directly where the aisle was supposed to be and where people were sitting. The venue should anticipate these things and have the space ready. Really though, everything on the day of the wedding was perfect. I was very pleased with the whole team at the League and blown away by the food.

    Sent on 10/06/2018
  • User4657221 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We chose to book the League Ballroom for our ceremony, and reserved a room block at the Inn here as well. Unfortunately, we faced more issues with the League than with any other vendor. First, it was noted that the Inn would not be open for our wedding since it was a holiday weekend; then, they asked if we would be willing to commit to booking all 20 rooms and we said yes. They said that they would open the Inn for us and gave us a room block with 15 rooms, telling us that we could book the others once those fill up. Little did we know that after giving us the run-around for weeks about if they were even going to open and making us do all the work to have them stay open, that they were going to go and make another wedding room block for the remaining 5 rooms that we had already said we were going to guarantee for our group! So another couple was able to swoop in without doing any of the hassle and run-around and take 5 of the rooms we had planned on using, and there was no remorse from the manager at the League. In addition, we had planned far in advance to have a ready room as spelled out in our contract also be our storage room for some larger items after our wedding ceremony. We hired day-of coordinators to help move these items into the specified ready room in our contract, and yet after the bridal party and coordinators left the building, the building manager hunted down the bride's PARENTS in their formal attire saying that they needed to move all of these large items to a different room RIGHT THEN, (they were literally on their way out to our reception). We also paid to have parking meters bagged that were never done. The building manager was rude to us and the whole process caused undue stress on the bride's parents. We had worked very hard to have everything spelled out in our contract prior to our event so this was disappointing. When we reached out about the issue they were kind, but nothing was done other than a "sorry, our mistake."

    Sent on 06/21/2016

    Michigan League's reply:


    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take all comments very much to heart.

    We always strive to meet or exceed guest expectations but unfortunately we did not hit the mark with your event. We are deeply sorry for the frustration you experienced on a day that we would have hoped to be perfect for you.

    As part of being a learning institution, we are committed to using events, both good and not so good, as teachable moments for constant improvement. We are taking corrective measures to avoid the miscommunications that occurred with your event.

    So again we thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to continue raising the bar on customer service.