Weddings

Michael Lance Barrett Reviews

Michael Lance Barrett

Michael Lance Barrett

Baltimore, MD
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 76 Reviews
View more information

76 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 76
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

14 User photos

Sort by:
  • Hunter
    Hunter H. Married on 09/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mike Barrett wedding minister

    We both loved how Mike worked with us to make the ceremony what we wanted. The readings he had available helped us shape the day and the ceremony in the best way possible. We are very thankful that he was able to help us celebrate that day.

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    My Friend Hunter: It was such a joy to celebrate the wedding of such a fine couple like you and Brandee! Many Blessings to both your families!
  • Rachel
    Rachel K. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Perfect!

    Mike was exactly what we were looking for in an officiant! He took the time to get to know us and our story and made the whole process feel personal. Mike helped us put together our ceremony from scratch and was amazing at following our direction and with communication over many months. Our family and friends loved our ceremony and also getting to know Mike on our wedding day. He really made our wedding day special and we would absolutely recommend Mike!
    -Rachel & David

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Dear Rachel & David: Your love was truly my inspiration! I know that you shall have a wonderful life together!
  • Maria
    Maria Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Michael was great!

    We can't thank Michael enough for the wonderful job he did on our intimate mini-wedding! We hired Michael before COVID for our large wedding ceremony but due to the pandemic we had to scale back for 2020. Michael was with us every step of the way and helped us create a beautiful ceremony for our day. He provided many options and readings to help us create the ceremony we wanted. He was responsive to all of our questions and listened to what we wanted. Our day was perfect and Michael executed our ceremony perfectly and exceeded our expectations.

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Thanks so much Maria. Yes, this has been a difficult year but weddings like yours does so much to inspire me to stay positive. Many Blessings to you and Steven!
  • J
    Jennifer H. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ceremony!

    We had such a beautiful and thoughtful ceremony because of all of Michael's help. He is professional, so happy for us, and flexible in making our ceremony exactly what we wanted. He helped shaped the ceremony into an event that flowed beautifully. He is a wonderful officiant and person!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Dear Jenny & Zach: Thank you so much for the kind words! It was a profound, delightful experience for all of us!
    Ciao,
    Mike
  • A
    Ashley Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing and sentimental

    We connected with Michael through wedding wire. He was flexible, responsive, and professional. He made our ceremony perfect and was willing to work with us to make it exactly how we wanted. It was sentimental when it needed to be, yet funny at the right times. Perfect for us.

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Deare Ashley & Trevor: your kind spirits and enthusiasm were a profound memory. Excellent job with the "knot ceremony"!
  • S
    Stephen K. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exactly what We Hoped!

    June 19, 2021... This was the greatest day of my life, as I marry the woman I love and my best friend! Booking the perfect officiant for the “Big Day” is no small task. Look no further... Michael helped to write, and then delivered a beautiful traditional ceremony that was so personal and meaningful to my Wife and I. It was a comfort to find him and immediately relate to him, and a Blessing to have Michael officiate our wedding. Thank You!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Stephen: you both were a BLESSING to me! During these challenging times of a Pandemic, hot & humid weather and my Orioles in a death spiral, your wedding gives me HOPE! Many Blessings! Rev. Mike
  • Christina
    Christina F. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Flaskamp Wedding

    Mike was amazing. He sent several samples for us to look over and decide what we liked and didn't like and when I felt this just didn't fit us he changed things. After telling him about who we are and our life together he wrote a ceremony that fit us perfectly. He tailored readings to us and included one I found that I loved. Our wedding was perfect. Everything was perfect. Mike was such a joy and i felt like he really understood us. Thank you, again Mike for everything!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Dear Christina: Every moment was a joy. You and Scott gave me a wonderful memory. Thanks so much for the kind words. Mike
  • N
    Nick D. Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommended!

    Mike was the officiant for our elopement wedding at Chase Court in Baltimore. He did a wonderful job, from the pre-wedding planning through the ceremony. He worked with us to personalize the exact ceremony we wanted, and was incredibly positive, professional, and enthusiastic throughout. We really appreciate his effort and highly recommend him. Thanks again Mike!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Nick & Lizzy: It was a total pleasure! I enjoyed collaborating with you both.
    Best Wishes,
    Mike
  • N
    Nadya T. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great officiant for intimate ceremony

    Mike was an officiant for our elopement ceremony at Chase Court on April 10th, 2021. Working with Mike was really easy. He was interested in hearing exactly what we wanted our ceremony to be and listened to all of our comments. He was extremely nice and made sure we knew what to expect. He let us customize every part of the ceremony and did a wonderful job with everything we chose including our readings. Everything went as planned, and we had a great touching intimate ceremony.

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Nadya, I loved every moment! You could tell that I too really liked your readings. I wish you and Christopher much success and happiness! MIKE
  • R
    Ryan F. Married on 03/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Married April 27th, 2019

    Michael was absolutely wonderful. He is very genuine, kind, and vested in his work, we couldn't have asked for a better ceremony. He made our day special and we recommend him to anyone who is getting married. Thank you Michael, you will always be a part of our lives.

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Thanks so much! It was a pleasure to be part of your wedding! Couples like you give me reason to continue this work!
  • T
    Tara S. Married on 02/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Such an amazing experience!

    Mike was the officiant for our quickly planned ceremony at our wedding in St. Michaels, MD on 2/20/2021. With the help of my mother, we ended up contacting him less than a month before our ceremony, and THANKFULLY he was available for that weekend. Mike was very accommodating, responsive, personable, and made me feel completely at ease through the entire process of planning out the ceremony. It felt as though we had known him for years! I would recommend Mike to absolutely anyone in need of a wonderful officiant. Thank you Mike!!!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Your wedding was such an honor for me. Thanks for your kind words. Please say hello to your family.
  • K
    Katherine G. Married on 10/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    September 26, 2020

    Michael was phenomenal! Like many others this year, we had to reimagine our wedding due to COVID. We ended up postponing our big celebration to next August but decided to still get married this year with our family and wedding party. We hired Michael just over a month before our wedding. He crafted a beautiful ceremony. He truly listened to what we envisioned for our ceremony and made it happen. Michael is wonderful to be around and makes you feel like you’ve known him for years. We could not have been happier with our choice to have him marry us. Thank you again Michael!
  • Kayla
    Kayla F. Married on 09/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Easy to work with, relatable and flexible

    We had so many requests for personalization and he accommodated all of it! Very easy to work with!
  • KATHI
    Kathi Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional!

    Mike was the officiant for our wedding. Mike was warm and personable and went out of his way to make our day very special. Mike even put some special touches in our ceremony like the blessing of the rings and the guest consent for us (the couple). Although we did not know Mike prior to our wedding, it felt like he was part of our extended family. I highly recommend Mike to officiate any wedding. He will surely make it special.

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Thank you so much Kathi. And thanks to our friend Larry for making it all happen! I always say that there really are no coincidences. Officiating your wedding was a joy from start to finish!
  • S
    Sam Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome!!!!!

    Michael is the ultimate professional and wonderful officiant. He gracefully officiated our wedding making our special day even more special. His words and superb demeanor left a lasting impression on us and he will be a part of our life forever.

    Sam & Leah

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    The feeling is mutual! You have my best wishes and prayers for a wonderful life together! Success!
  • A
    Abigail C. Married on 07/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Experience with an Incredible Officiant

    Mike officiated our wedding two weeks ago and we could not be happier with how everything went! We started planning with him for a large wedding months ago, and he was so helpful. He has tons of experience, so he had many different ceremony outlines and numerous readings, both religious and non-religious. He is as active in the planning process as you want him to be, and he is willing to give any prayers or sayings in any languages. He’s well-versed in many wedding rituals; he took the time during the ceremony to explain the reasonings behind our unity candle and glass-smashing. When we had to switch to a small backyard wedding, he made the transition as easy as possible. Everyone who attended the ceremony or watched the live-stream cannot stop raving about how great and well-done it was! He is always fun to speak with, and he’s just a great man in general. We cannot say enough about how happy we are with our ceremony and to have worked with him.
  • C
    Christopher K. Married on 07/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Knowledgeable and efficiant

    Mike helped us every step of the way. I had zero knowledge of the marriage process. We contacted him and it was so easy and convenient. Mike is passionate about weddings and loves what he does. Very easy going and efficient. I recommend his service to a broad range of weddings shall and large.
  • Molly
    Molly M. Married on 06/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful officiant!

    Mike was kind enough to officiate our mini ceremony last weekend. After postponing our original June 2020 wedding to 2021, my fiancé decided we still wanted to get married and hold an intimate ceremony at our new home. Mike did a beautiful job and has been a joy to work with. Easy-going, thoughtful, and an all-around great guy. We can’t wait for him to officiate our larger nuptials next June!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    I felt like we were on top of the world up on your roof-top deck. You and Barry are a terrific Couple. See you next JUNE 2021!
  • Audrey
    Audrey R. Married on 05/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend

    We feel so lucky to have found Michael! We first met with him in Baltimore and talked for over an hour about our relationship, his background and how he became a minister. We knew right away he was the perfect person to officiate our wedding. Michael is genuine, enthusiastic, and one of the kindest people we have ever met.

    Michael provided us with plenty of material to help create the ceremony we were looking for and he did an excellent job performing the ceremony on our wedding day. We had to change our original wedding date due to COVID, he was flexible and understanding about rescheduling. He was easy to communicate with throughout the process, organized, showed up everywhere on time - truly didn’t miss a beat! He took care of submitting our marriage license after the wedding which was so helpful.

    Our friends and family kept coming up to us throughout the weekend saying what a wonderful job Michael did and how much they enjoyed meeting him (of course we agree!). We would recommend Michael to any couple getting married - he will perform a fantastic ceremony and bring a joyful spirit to your wedding day!
  • Anne
    Anne S. Married on 03/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    October 2020 Micro Wedding

    Michael came to us by chance. We had gotten the go-ahead from our venue that we would still be able to have our micro wedding about a month prior so we had to find an ordainer quick. He worked with our venue previously and came to us that way. Michael worked quickly to put together an incredibly personal and intimate wedding ceremony that we felt had our special touches and welcomed our guests' involvement. He is dedicated to make sure your vision comes to life. We were in crunch time and he got us our ceremony outline to us within 48 hours of meeting. We met over Zoom twice in the three weeks leading up to our wedding to hash out the details and Michael incorporated everything we desired including vows in a different language. Michael was a wonderful surprise and addition to our wedding. We adored having him and our guests adored him as well. Thank you, Michael!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    I got to officiate for a great couple and received help with my Spanish at the same time. I am blessed! The personal declarations that you both shared were inspiring!
  • Laura
    Laura Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't have been better!

    Mike was the perfect officiant for our wedding! He was very responsive, helpful, and just a genuinely nice person. He provided all the materials and guidance we needed to put together our ceremony. Highly recommended!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    A Review like this makes me feel great to just be alive! This work has become a very important part of my life in retirement.
    Thanks Laura!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Saved Our Day! (11/2/2019)

    We hired Minister Barrett about a month before our wedding, due to a mishap with the original minister. By the time, we met him down the aisle, I felt as though I had known him for years. Minister Barrett was absolutely AMAZING! He was very professional and personable. He was ready to give advice and listen to exactly what we wanted and needed without being pushy or judgmental. I would certainly recommend him to my friends and family for future nuptials!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Thank you for such kind words! You and Tim deserve the best! Many Blessings to you and your families!
    Mike
  • Nick
    Nick J. Married on 11/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Married 01Nov2019

    Mike did a wonderful job at our wedding. As soon as we met him he seemed like an old friend. His professionalism and guidance was a life saver for my wife and I. His aura exudes peace and understanding and it ripples throughout anyone he greets. I cant recommend him highly enough!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    I get my energy directly form my couples. Nick, you and Natalie were so inspirational! I wish you all the best!
  • Heather
    Heather Married on 10/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best officiant!

    We absolutely loved working with Mr. Barrett! From the very beginning, he was very responsive and you could immediately tell he has a great passion for his work! He was readily available to answer any questions and had numerous ceremonies to choose from and customize to suit our personal style and beliefs. He performed our ceremony beautifully and kept it short and sweet, just how we wanted! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for an officiant for their wedding!

    Michael Lance Barrett's reply:

    Heather, thank you. Perfect Day, Perfect Couple and some amazing little Boys make for one fine memory!