Michael J Charles Photography Reviews

63 | Austin, TX
See photos, pricing and details

63 Reviews for Michael J Charles Photography

Recommended by 100%

63
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • E

    Emily Gorton · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Wedding Photography Experience

    My husband and I cannot say enough wonderful things about Michael and his fantastic work. From the very first meeting, it was clear we were working with a true professional. Michael put us completely at ease and was easily able to help us identify what we wanted - even though walking in, we had no clue! On our wedding day, he was able to deftly navigate the chaos and got so many unexpected, beautiful, silly, candid, memorable shots. Aside from the amazing photos, we felt we had made a true friend in the process and are wishing him the very best down in Texas!

    Sent on 05/16/2019
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael J. Charles is an incredible photographer! He was strongly recommended by another vendor and I am thrilled he shoot our wedding day. Michael and Dan are extremely professional, passionate about their work and have a great eye! They were on time with everything which is huge on your wedding day and also engaged with the bridal party and our families beautifully. Our wedding photos are ABOVE and BEYOND our expectations and cannot thank them enough for their work. I highly recommend using Michael J Charles Photography because you in are great hands and know you will receive phenomenal photos.

    Sent on 11/28/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael Charles is incredible!!

    Choosing Michael Charles as our photographer was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! He is such a charismatic, warm, inviting person that we knew from the minute we met him that he was who we wanted to photograph our wedding. From the time we met him, and through our wedding, Michael took the time to get to know us as a couple. He made us both feel so comfortable when the wedding jitters were there on our wedding day. He went above and beyond what you would expect a photographer to do. From helping me put on my wedding veil, to learning the names and personalities of our family members, to knowing the ins and out of our church and wedding venue, Michael Charles was a professional on every level. Additionally, and most importantly, we cannot say enough great things about how our photos came out. His shots are artistic, creative and classic. His attention to detail is unmatched. He never took a photo if anything looked out of place, and went above and beyond to make sure that each shot was right. Michael’s hard work did not stop after the wedding. Within weeks, we received our photos and a draft of our album. We have gotten more compliments on the photos we have in our house and our wedding album! We loved his style and trusted him through every moment of the day on our wedding day! We cannot say enough great things about him!!

    Sent on 04/14/2019
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we were choosing vendors, the photographer was the most important decision to us. Within moments of talking to Michael, we knew he was the right person for us. He cares so deeply about his clients, truly takes the time to listen to their questions and answer in detail that not only shows he cares but showcases his experience, and his pictures are out of this world. We loved how artistic and beautiful his shots were. They really stand out from any other photographer that we looked at. Leading up to the wedding and during the wedding, he calmed all of my concerns (Even when I thought it would pour on my wedding day). He also has such incredible advice such as the best possible timeline and when to change the temperature of the room to make sure the women's updos wouldn't get messed up from the humidity. If you are looking for a photographer, do not look anywhere else but with Michael J. Charles. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 07/23/2017
  • Britney

    Britney Chapman · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection

    I would give Michael 10 stars if possible! He is an incredible photographer, able to capture the story and essence of the most beautiful day of my life. His photographs are unique and he has a great eye for fun shots, especially in new locations. I was blown away by my wedding photos and also the arrangement of my wedding album. Michael's photos made me look/feel like the princess I always wanted to be on my wedding day. Thank you, Michael! Austin is lucky to have you.

    Sent on 04/02/2019
  • E

    Erica · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Michael as our wedding and engagment photographer was the best vendor decision we made throughout the whole process. His attention to detail captured the most important and beautiful moments of our day. He explained to us before our wedding that he wanted to tell a story of our day, and he absolutely did not disappoint. I knew Michael was there taking pictures but he was never intrusive and offered great ideas for shots throughout the evening. I would HIGHLY recommend him.

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • M

    Matt · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of all the decisions that went into planning our wedding, hiring Michael was the best choice we made. We became familiar with his work a year prior at a family wedding, and as soon as we got engaged we wanted to make sure that he was the one that would document our special day. We were also fortunate enough to work with him for our engagement shoot at the Museum of Fine Arts, and he was very accommodating to our schedules and helped make what could have been an awkward experience in a public setting a very fun and enjoyable one. We had high expectations for our wedding photos and Michael got them back to us within a few weeks and we could not be more pleased with how they turned out. He has an amazing eye and was able to capture all the important moments throughout the day, and some of his unique night shots are now among our favorites. We are still getting compliments on our photographs and we will recommend Michael to anyone and everyone!

    Sent on 12/08/2016
  • J

    jim · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was a real pleasure to work with. He was creative and very easy to work with. We are so pleased knowing we made the right decision.....the photos will be cherished for life.

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • User5157376 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He is wonderful to work with. He has so much energy and makes the day so much fun/relaxed. The photos came out beautifully! I couldn't imagine anything better and cannot tell you how happy we were for making him our photographer.

    Sent on 12/06/2016
  • S

    Stephen · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael J. Charles photography is truly outstanding! Michael documented our whole wedding day, capturing the most beautiful moments in a truly creative way. Michael is full of energy and immediately clicked with me and my whole wedding party. I would hire him again in a heart beat. He is incredibly responsible and generous. He has a true passion for the craft of photography and it shows in his work!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was an outstanding photographer for our Seaport Boston wedding. For our consultation, Michael welcomed us into his home to show us his spectacular portfolio, provide straightforward and reasonable package quotes, explain his photography philosophy, and answer any questions that we had. As a mixed-race couple who have taken too many “selfies” where one of us was over or underexposed due to lighting, we felt confident with Michael and we could tell he was passionate about his craft and highly skilled.
    Because we were a “Seaport Bride and Groom” and Michael is one of their preferred vendors, he included a free engagement session for us. It was a great opportunity to get comfortable in front of the camera. We were able to use our photos for our wedding website, save the date, and guest book!
    Michael was probably our most reliable and involved vendor. He helped us establish a timeline and remained composed when another vendor we hired dropped the ball with regards to time – which helped me stay somewhat calm when we were running a little late on the day of the wedding. When rain came our way, Michael and his (awesome) assistant ignored the puddles and did whatever it took to get the best shots possible overlooking Boston’s beautiful skyline (the reason why we chose our venue). He kept us on schedule all while being friendly, funny, and professional. It was like having a wedding planner without the extra cost!
    Michael delivered our gorgeous photos to us within the agreed upon deadline and we couldn’t be happier with the final results. He managed to get stunning portraits that could grace the pages of a magazine, great group shots, and he captured the amazing energy of the dance floor. He also produced a beautiful slideshow set to music. In short, Michael’s demeanor is friendly yet professional and his work is artistic and beautiful while also being approachable and timeless. I would highly recommend him!

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • M

    Meg · Married on 05/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had a wonderful time working with Michael and his team. They were professional, fun, creative, and responsive. Michael did such a beautiful job catching so many special moments throughout our day. We were thrilled with his pictures - they really captured the story of our wedding day!

    Sent on 04/04/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was probably my most helpful vendor during this entire process. We chose him as our photographer because he had photographed at both Holy Cross and The Barn at Gibbet Hill before. We met with him so early in our process that he was able to give us advice on other vendors to use! Michael's pictures speak for themselves; they are gorgeous and sharp! He has such an eye for capturing beautiful moments. We loved our engagement photos and we are so excited to see our wedding photos as well! During our wedding day, Michael was such a calming presence for me. He was with us from the very start of the day to the very end, and it was awesome to have someone fun and patient to be with us on such an important day in our lives. Thank you, Michael!

    Sent on 11/04/2015
  • L

    Lori · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael did an incredible job on our wedding photos! We also enjoyed hanging out with Michael throughout the day. He truly added so much to our entire experience. He is very laid back, but also very good at getting everyone organized for pictures. We did not have a specific plan for our pictures and he gave us so many awesome suggestions. We also love that during our reception he got so many awesome pictures of our guests. We had a huge wedding and we are impressed with all the incredible moments he was able to capture!. I would definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • User5640414 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so happy we picked Michael to do our photos. Photos were really important to me for our big day and I wanted them to be perfect. Michael did such a great job, I loved how personable he was and how he was able to deal with our big wedding party and family and get the job done. He isn't afraid to get down on the ground and dirty to get a good picture :) I would definitely recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not be more thankful and amazed by our wedding pictures! They far exceed any expectation I had!! I can't thank you enough Michael J Charles I will cherish our pictures for longer then a lifetime!!!!!

    Sent on 08/20/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was June 2015 at the Boston harbor hotel. Michael was 30 min early and super energetic and excited to start. He is a gifted photographer with a great personality that makes you feel very comfortable. It was a pleasure working with him. His prices are also more reasonable than some of the other photographers I was looking into. I'm a big picture taker so I knew the photographer was going to be very important. The pictures turned out great. He took so many! He also made an unbelievably perfect slideshow. I would definitely recommend Michael Charles. Thanks Michael!!

    Sent on 08/07/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was amazing on our special day. So easy to work with, in the first half an hour of our wedding he already knew my family and wedding party by name. He helped our day run smoothly, knew the pictures he needed to get done and did it in a timely fashion so we could get our party started. He was so great my sister is using him as her wedding photographer this coming September.

    Sent on 01/31/2016
  • E

    Emile Dagher · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Super Awesome!

    We chose Michael as our photographer for our wedding and we are very happy we did so. He was very attentive even to the smallest details. He helped make our big day stress free and run smoothly. The photos we got looked amazing and worth every penny! One thing to add, he was very professional and worked well along side the other vendors. Michael is highly recommended!

    Sent on 04/10/2019
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are SO HAPPY we hired Michael J Charles to photograph our Wedding Day!!!
    The photos are absolutely stunning. He goes out of his way to capture the most creative shots and is a BLAST to work with! We felt so comfortable around him, like we had known each other for years, and that is so important when you are trying to "act natural" in photos! His assistant was great at the wedding too and we never felt bombarded. We got the photos back quickly and could access them from an app to share with family AND he put together a BEAUTIFUL slideshow of some of the best shots which brought us both to tears...so special.
    He also took our engagement photos and suggested a beautiful outdoor location in the fall ...amazing & unique shots we will treasure forever! You absolutely will not regret hiring Michael J for your special event!

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • C

    C · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with the quality of work done by Michael J Charles Photography on our wedding day. When it came time to book a photographer, I was extremely selective. I work in a multimedia profession and understand the value of quality photography...because at the end of the day, that would be our tangible reminder of the wedding day! I came across Michael when I happened to see a colleague's wedding photos, and he didn't disappoint on our own big day. Michael and his assistant arrived early and were ready to start shooting. Unfortunately, another vendor put us horribly behind schedule...but Michael immediately went to work, shooting as much of what was ready as he could. Because of our time crunch, he had to work quickly...but managed to capture beautiful bridal "getting ready" shots in two locations, as well as shots of the groom and his family at the church. The ceremony shots in the church are stunning, but the reception shots are really special. I've seen many wedding photos on the ocean...but the lighting and color composition of the ones we now have are unbelievable. Michael also has a creative eye, and got some really unique shots...utilizing the various degrees of daylight to the fullest. My family also raved about him all night. They were amazed that he seemed to be EVERYWHERE...there wasn't a moment he missed! He was professional, energetic, but unobtrusive. And the result is amazing! Both the formal portraits and candid shots are stunning. I enthusiastically recommend him as a wedding photographer. You won't be sorry!

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • F

    Felicia · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am the MOG (mother of the groom) and had not met Michael prior to the event. When he we first met, he introduced himself, even though he was obviously the photographer (you know the only guy with a BIG camera), which was a very nice touch. From the beginning to the end of the festivities he sort of mingled as though he were one of the guests, never intruding on any intimate moments, be they emotional or humorous. I actually spoke with him, something I have never done before, to tell him how pleasant he was. In the posed pictures, which I hate to do, he once again unobtrusive, giving mild instructions when necessary and performed his task quickly so that guests could rejoin the party.

    His manner and professionalism at the event was the least of his attributes: what is really striking is the outcome. I have attended numerous weddings, have a very large family and have been privy to many, many unedited bridal pictures. Until Michael, every single one has been highly staged and artificial, often leaving the viewer cold, the participants too often striking regal poses. You get the picture (ugh, no pun intended). When my daughter in law sent me the initial sampling of the photos, I was delighted as even though there were perhaps 30 photos they managed to tell a very nice story. When I then received the full 760+ photos, I was thrilled as Michael enabled me to re-live the day, from the second we arrived at the front door in the sunshine, to the actual exchange of vows, to the festivities and into the darkness. Table settings were beautifully captured, guests participating in the nuptials were shown in all of their genuine participation, the bride and groom (my son, yeah) were captured with all of the love and intensity that we experienced live. Numerous guests were candidly photographed portrait style. Not even the food was neglected and every time I look at the sushi cones, my appetite stirs. Thank you, Michael, for preserving the day so beautifully.

    Sent on 08/03/2014
  • User3704519 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael J Charles was our wedding photographer. He was recommended to us by friend's whose wedding he photographed. We are writing to glowingly review his engagement shoot and wedding pictures--- both services we highly, highly recommend!! About four months before the wedding we also elected to do an engagement shoot, to get some casual shots, and capture our home neighborhood. He brought great energy to our (very very very) hot weather shoot day; he helped me and my fiancé to feel relaxed and comfortable in front of the camera. He has been consistently prompt, professional, and enthusiastic about working together, which really has made the process extremely enjoyable thus far. He was also quick to turn around our photos, and we were stunned-- great close-up portraits as well as more artistic shots of our home city. It was great to get to work together a little before the big day. We both felt that he was definitely a very talented and professional photographer, and so we were extra excited for him to capture our wedding day.

    Our wedding was about one month ago, and we've already gotten our pictures back. Once again, we are totally and completely thrilled with Michael's pictures, professionalism, and great attitude during the wedding!! He was right on time, energetic, and quickly learned the ENTIRE bridal party's first names. He got everybody organized with an easy touch. Throughout the day he was unobtrusive but still managed to get wonderful candid shots, in addition to all the standard formal pictures---also, he really made the most of our venue capturing the beautiful backgrounds (indoor and outdoor). We already got all of our pictures (after just a few weeks), and they are stunning. His photos truly exceeded our expectations. His photos captured our day beautifully and I cannot recommend him more highly.

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • J

    JohnPaul · Married on 09/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can say with ease that Michael J. Charles is the Most Amazing Photographer walking the earth. He takes great pride in his work. In both our engagement photos and our wedding photos he got on his back on the ground and took pictures looking up at us, made sure he took full advantage of many different scenes, lighting, and detail to make the best photo's possible. He even helped fix my collar on my tux so that I looked nothing but the best. I would recommend Michael J.Charles to any bride and groom. He is definitely worth every penny, and I can say that myself, my wife, groomsmen, and bridesmaids all enjoyed working with him.

    Sent on 11/06/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review