Skip to main content
Weddings

MIC King Music and Events LLC Reviews

MIC King Music and Events LLC

MIC King Music and Events LLC

Kansas City, MO
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 159 Reviews
View more information

159 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 159
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

14 User photos

  • Natalie
    Natalie M. Married on 10/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mike is the best!

    We had Mike DJ our wedding on October 23rd 2021 at The Legacy at Green Hills. He’s SUPER easy to work with getting all the wedding music picked out- extremely organized throughout the entire process. His personality is super fun and gets the family and friends smiling and dancing all night long!! Additionally, he helped my now-husband and I with the timing throughout the night to make sure we got to everything, but did it in a way that did not feel rushed! He was able to mix two songs together for our first dance, and had playlists already lined up that matched our indie/alternative favorites! If you are thinking about getting a DJ for your wedding, you can't go wrong with Mike!! He will help ensure you have loads of fun on your special day :)
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey S. Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best dj ever!

    We discovered MIC King Music and Events through the KCPWG wedding convention and through our venue owner. Mike was such an essential vendor! He was SO helpful in the planning process for our wedding during our vendor meeting with him. He went through every detail on our client portal (highly recommend completing your client portal as soon as possible) and gave us valuable tips and wisdom for our wedding. During our wedding, he created such an energetic, fun, positive atmosphere, which is exactly what we were wanting! One of my bridesmaids described him perfectly: "Mike was awesome - part DJ, part mother hen, part wedding planner!" He went above and beyond to make our special day perfect - he nabbed my husband and I some of our cocktail food and drinks, ensured we got a whole box of leftover catering, played a game with the guests when our couple pictures took some time, etc. We can't thank him enough! :-)
  • Ryenn
    Ryenn N. Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The goat!

    GUYS!!!!! This Man!!! IS! THE! BEST!!!!! Hands down the greatest DJ, entertainer, and bonus wedding coordinator! He did everything! He made sure we had drinks all night long! He made sure our families made it to where they needed to go. He even made sure my in law ate dinner, and packed us a midnight snack for our get away car! He also was a fabulous DJ. He mixed together the father daughter dance and clarified with me every step of the way what songs would be played when. He was out of the dance floor getting the party started and kept it going all night long! Would recommend to anyone who wants to have the best wedding ever!!! Seriously made our wedding as perfect as it could have been!
  • Olivia
    Olivia C. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best & affordable DJ

    Mike was the DJ for our May 2021 wedding and was one of our favorite vendors to work with. As soon as I got off the bus to our reception, he was outside with our drinks of choice. He did a great job keeping the event on track and coordinating with other vendors, even breaking down tables for us. He even handed me the microphone when I was goofing off on stage so I could see a song. If you choose Mike, you will know things are going to run smoothly and he will be happy to be there. He is a great price & even let us go over time for a small fee. Thanks for the awesome work Mike!
  • K
    Kourie Married on 02/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely fantastic job

    MIC King Music and Events simply made our event! Without the amazing energy coming from the DJ the people at our event wouldn't have been dancing the way they were. Great Music selection as well! This guy is the full package! We will be using MIC King Music and Events again.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer C. Married on 12/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    When God make Mic King, he first put a heart of Gold in his chest!

    What an entertaining, engaging DJ! As the Proud Parents of the Mother of the Bride, we cannot brag enough about this amazing and talented gentleman! Mike went beyond our imagination to be the endless hero in every stage of our wedding event! He was more kind than words can express to make our day a success! Before we even knew what we needed next, there he was, getting us bottles of water to keep the photography and videography sessions running smooth!

    Mic made certain that our Bride’s Dreams were the gold standard of his Mission! As the Mother of the Bride, I was diligently trying to get to every table to thank our family, friends and guests for coming to this beautiful Wedding Day at The English Barn. Mike was so gracious to kindly insist that I had to enjoy a little dinner before I could visit more and playfully escorted me to my family table. Thanks to Mike, it was the first time I had sat down all evening!

    Mike can get the Party Rolling! His charming character and banter with the audience brought our guests to enjoy the hilarious antics of the Survivor Game so much! Even our friends from Dallas, Texas, shared that they had never had this much fun at a wedding! We had other family members say how delighted they were with the songs he played! Guests loved that they could recognize their era of music also. Mike used his talents to monitor the volume so pleasantly at dinner that guests complimented how nice it was to still be able to visit at their tables.
    Mike was a blessing to have on our Dream Team! He was most attentive, always involved and fearless in making all of our guests have a divine time to cherish!

    Our best advice is to call him today! His calendar is going to be busy! We would adore having him at any future dates for our family and we would adjust our planning dates to enjoy his talents again!
  • Mimi
    Mimi Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Awesome Job!

    Our wedding was September 12, 20
    We are forever Thankful for our vendors who helped us make our wedding the best!
    Specifically Mike King! Thanks to this specific man and his partner we had an awesome and fun night! Our guest & our family were so happy, laughing and dancing having a great time!
    This men went above and beyond not to only play music but to make sure we were taken care of, making sure mi tia (my aunt), family and guest didn't need anything to drink or eat! Amazing care!
    I would love to share pictures from our favorite game "survivors" :)
    What a wonderful memory we share!
    We thank you guys with all of hearts for everything you did for us!
    Continue to being AWESOME!
  • Kristen
    Kristen D. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing music and entertainment!!!

    I have never seen a DJ better than Mic king Music and Events. Mike was amazing and went above and beyond. I've never had so much fun at wedding, but I may be biased because it was mine. He is not your typical stand in the corner DJ. He had the crowd pumped with awesome games and music. There was never a dull moment. He interacted with the guests and made everyone feel welcomed. Mike was engaging and made you want to get on that dance floor. He even showed some moves!! He's was catering to us and added so many special touches. Due to Corona we couldn't do a dollar dance, but he saved the day with an alternative raise money with cake in the face. Mike kept the party flowing smoothly. He even took pictures during our last dance and I didnt even notice he was there. He caught such an amazing moment for us. Let's not forget his awesome beautiful wife Darthy for all her help from hair and entertaining. You all were amazing!! Mike made my day truly special
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream Wedding!

    Mike did an ABSOLUTE perfect job with our wedding! It was way beyond expectation and he created a moment between my father and I that neither of us were expecting and will ever forget. He incorporates his wonderful personality into everything he does which makes it worth every penny! Look no further, this is the DJ company you want! Thank you so very much Mike! I am eternally grateful! :)
  • Janelle
    Janelle R. Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    customer service to infinity and beyond

    Mike King (or Mic King), was an absolutely incredible addition to our wedding experience. He handled the audio for the ceremony perfectly, and with little direction from us, delivered on exactly what we wanted for the entire event. But the true benefit of having Mike as a DJ and entertainer for your wedding, is that he is also there for you in every respect, as a party planner, photography entertainer (for kids photos), personal drink and food delivery. He literally was at our beck and call all evening, and made sure that we had everything we needed. We had a treat bar at our reception, and Mike made a grab bag of goodies for us before all the sweets ran out. If he hadn't done that, we wouldn't have been able to enjoy them. We both now consider Mike to be the best in the business and a trusted friend. Every other vendor we hired for our party was excited that Mike would be a part of it. If you are looking for a DJ for your wedding, don't think. Just book him now before someone else does.
  • Emilee
    Emilee Married on 12/31/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best dj ever.

    Hannah was AMAZING! She was so helpful the entire night. We booked her for 7 hours and we couldn't have been more impressed with her or her services. Our parents raved about her and our friends and guests could not quit talking about how amazing she was the entire night! We are wedding professionals ourselves (Photo and Video team) and we haven't seen anyone better than this DJ!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding 10/27/18

    I don't know where to start. First if I could give more stars I absolutely would. We Initially had Connor as our DJ and he ended up having to cancel due to a Concussion. We ended up having Mike King himself be our DJ for our wedding and he was the most amazing DJ I could have ever asked for. Not only was he a DJ, he helped pin Boutonnieres, he helped coordinate the processional, He ran beverages out to us in the apple orchard while we were taking pictures( I literally mean he ran, and not just once but he brought us drinks a few times!) He brought me out a plate of appetizers in the field while taking pictures. He held my plate while I put food on it at the buffet. He served everyone drinks at the head table, he cleaned up our table after we were done eating, He was the best DJ and played a super fun game of Survivor. In a Nut Shell, you'd have to be crazy not to hire Mike. At every point of the night he made sure to go above and beyond. All of our guests are still shocked at how amazing he was. I would hire him a million times over!!!
  • J
    Janet Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I wish I could give Mike more than 5 stars. He was fabulous and I have already booked him for our next wedding. His enthusiasm made everyone want to get up and dance. He made sure the flow of our event went smoothly and everyone was happy! Absolutely the best!
  • K
    Kristin Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was amazing!! He went above and beyond for our daughter's wedding. I would give him more stars if I could. I never expected such great service from a DJ. Our guests are still raving about the event and it's because of MIC King. Worth every penny.
  • K
    Kaarn Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hannah went above and beyond what was expected of her. She played a large portion of the songs we wanted to have played. She kept everyone engaged and even participated in the fun. One of the things that stood out was the fact that she offered to prepare a plate for me to save any risk of spilling food on my dress. She also bussed tables and made sure my husband and I's and our family's drinks were always full. Her set up was great and she was very punctual and professional. We would recommend her a thousand times over! We also appreciated the easy booking by Mike and the check-up by his wife at the wedding.
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 09/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a great corporate event! It was made all the better because of MIC King Music. Mike, our DJ, read the attendees and match the music to the crowd. When it was time for the speakers, he added appropriate drums rolls at all the right places. He even made a personalized gobo for the entrance floor. That was such a special touch! The crowd didn't want to stop dancing. Thank you, Mike.
  • M
    Megan Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved working with Mike!

    I am so glad I hired MicKing for my wedding! I was really torn on what to do for a photo booth until I stumbled across Mike at a wedding vendor event and fell in love with his camera, (and his incredibly fun personality)! I knew he would be the perfect fit to help our guests have a blast at the photo booth with his hats and props. He was also awesome to work with leading up to the wedding while we were designing the templates for photos. Our guests LOVED the fact that they could send the pictures they had taken directly to their phone and post them on social media - that was my favorite part about his equipment!! People lose track of the print outs but the digital memories last forever!! I'm so glad I hired MicKing for our special day.
  • K
    Katlyn Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He very professional and was always willing to get us whatever we needed. He brought us drinks, served my food for me, and checked on us numerous times!
  • C
    Caitlyn Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a great wedding reception thanks to MIC King Music and Events. We came to Hannah with a unique combination of music and she was able to make it work at our reception. Hannah and Darthy went above and beyond at our reception, doing more than just playing music, but also making sure we had everything we needed all night long. We attended multiple wedding shows in the months leading up to our wedding, and whenever we ran into Mike and Darthy, they were always so friendly and recognized us. Mike, Darthy, and Hannah were great to work with, and we would recommend MIC King to anyone.
  • D
    Debby Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike was AMAZING! He knew what questions to ask to make sure we had a great party. The games were great ice breakers and the music was right on target for our group. Everyone had a super time

    THANKS!!!
  • A
    Austin Married on 07/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    MIC King was absolutely amazing. Our DJ Hannah was right on with our song selection and transitioned things so smoothly throughout the night. Not only that, but she regularly checked in on us to make sure we were doing okay, getting things like waters, food, etc. if we needed them. These people truly do go above and beyond and are definitely worth every cent!

    MIC King Music and Events LLC's reply:

    Thank you Austin and Jordan. Congratulations on your wedding and we wish you all the best.
  • A
    Ashlee Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best DJ ever!! Catered to not only my every move but my bridal party, and parents as well. They acted more as my coordinator/wedding planner and made the entire day flow beautifully. I received several complements not only about their sound and music but also their personalities and participation!! My sister will be using this DJ for her wedding next year!!!

    MIC King Music and Events LLC's reply:

    Thank you Ashelee and Seth. Hannah and the rest of the team wish you guys all the best and thank you for allowing us to be apart of your celebration!
  • O
    Orrianna Married on 06/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have used other DJ's in the past for resident events, But Mike with MIC King is by far my new favorite. He really engaged with our residents and made them feel even more at home. We couldn't have selected a better DJ for our 1st Annual Pool Party!!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 06/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    DJ Mike went above and beyond what my husband and I would have asked from him for the wedding and reception. He helped make our day extra amazing! He even helped bus the tables after dinner and brought us drinks through our the night! Also he is so fantastic with making the kids at the wedding feel apart as well!
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Both me and my husband have some pretty eclectic music tastes and we knew our wedding DJ/MC had to live up to our high standards, and we are pleased to say that MIC King delivered! We searched high and low for someone who would fit the bill, but Mike won us over with his professionalism and energetic personality. Unfortunately just a few weeks before our wedding, we found out our perfect DJ Mike had chosen for us would be unable to DJ our wedding! I was more than stressed about this news and fretted about what to do, but Mike stepped up! He got us another DJ, Jackson, to play our reception, and on top of that Darthy also joined to facilitate the night. Jackson and Darthy sat down with us to make sure they got all of our songs and details right (and to help calm my nerves!) Jackson took our list of songs, did a great job tracking down some uncommon pieces of music, and made a superb mix that kept the dance floor going all night long. In fact, I maybe left the dance floor once throughout the night! The MC job between the two was just fabulous and they helped keep the events of the night going smoothly. They did a great job letting us know what was coming up and modifying our timeline to accommodate last minute changes to keep it flowing. Everyone had a blast the entire night. DJs and MCs can really make or break a wedding reception, and we are so happy that MIC King made ours!