Mershon Catering & Event Design Reviews

17 | Tulsa, OK
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Mershon Catering & Event Design

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

17
Order by:
  • E

    Erica · Married on 08/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michelle Mershon is the consummate professional and has such brilliant ideas! We were so happy with everything she thought of and put together. Everything she did for us made us so very happy. Their bouquet was the star of the wedding - the most beautiful bouquet that i have ever seen in any wedding. And though there's not many jewish weddings in tulsa, she knew exactly what to do for ours. We love you Mershon!!

    Sent on 11/09/2010
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/20/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Michelle and the wedding was beautiful. My guests at the wedding still talk about it being the BEST they have ever seen. She is a creative genius! She had so many ideas that were perfect for my day from the wonderful hydrangeas, orchids, lighting, table decor, ice sculptures and luge, to the Letter S rug and flower, catering, officiant, Large 7 layer cake, music/DJ, 1954 White Bentley, guest favors and the list goes on and on! Joseph and I didn't have to worry about any aspect of the wedding it was SPECTACULAR!

    Sent on 06/16/2012
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Josh & His Crew were amazing to work with. It was great food and all of my guests were really impressed by the overall presentation.

    Sent on 05/28/2009
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tasty, friendly, professional and cooperative.

    Sent on 04/21/2009
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend Mershon to anyone who wants to have a stress free and elegant event. They did my wedding and my reception. I was impressed with every detail at my wedding.. everything that was taken care of. I told Mershon what kind of wedding I wanted, my budget and a few important things that i wanted and they took care of the rest. they created my perfect day! My friends and family were very impressed and complimented me on how beautiful everything was and I owe it all to Mershon. I didn't have a wedding planner and did most of the wedding coordinating myself, but Mershon made me feel secure with every decision and they even gave great advice. Because of Mershon I was comfortable to enjoy myself on my wedding day.

    Sent on 02/04/2009
  • B

    Becki · Married on 04/19/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wished someone would have told me stop looking, Mershons is the absolute best choice so I will say it to you, stop looking. Michelle and Josh were great to work with during my whole wedding. The food was amazing and Josh and his team added some very unique twists that my guests loved. Michelle did our flowers at The Mayo and they were spectacular. Not only were they breathtaking when you walked in but Michelle did a great job working with our budget and offering advice when it was worth it to step out of our budget. In addition, we used their linens, place settings and glassware and it was great quality. I was an out of town bride that didn't have time and Michelle was very helpful in letting me make decisions over the phone or just meeting with her and making them all at once. I can't say enough good things about Mershon's and would recommend using them for your event.

    Sent on 04/16/2009
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 09/08/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mershon's was the company that really helped to pull my wedding together. I used them for catering & decorations for both the ceremony & reception. They were always willing to go the extra mile for what I dreamed my wedding to be, even purchasing items with my wedding in mind. The food was amazing, & they added so many personal touches it really made my day extra special. They transformed both locations into my dream wedding. They also had great communication throughtout the entire planning process, & were even willing to meet with me during one of my "crazy" bride moments. I would definantly recommend them to any couple wanting their wedding to be a day everyone will really remember.

    Sent on 02/02/2009
  • J

    Jill · Married on 07/28/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had used Mershon's to cater a 4th of July party where my boyfriend surprised me by proposing. Mershon's did such a great job at the party that I knew I wanted them to cater/design my wedding reception as well. They were the best! I had a very strong idea of exactly what I wanted my reception to look and feel like, and they made it better than I could have ever imagined. They coordinated everything from the food to the lighting, table linens, servers, ice sculpture, etc. The reception was held at the Mayo in downtown Tulsa and when my husband and I walked into the reception after our wedding we were completly amazed by how beautiful everything was.

    Michelle and Josh were always available to me when I called or e-mailed or wanted to change or add something, which is a great thing for a nervous bride-to be. Michelle even found a marching band to kick off the reception only 2 weeks before the wedding! I would HIGHLY recommend Mershon's to anyone that is getting married (or having any event). They completely took away the stress of trying to set up the reception so that I could really enjoy my wedding day. We still have people that were at the reception tell us how amazing and beautiful it was, and I give Mershon's all the credit!

    Sent on 02/06/2009
  • M

    Jaime · Married on 08/02/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you desire a unique wedding that will keep your guests talking for years to come and that will truly fulfill your dreams, there's no question about whom you should choose: Mershon. Perfect for busy brides or out-of-town brides, they can design your event to meet your needs just by talking with you on the phone! I met with them a few times to give them ideas and find out my catering options. The food was excellent. They prepare the food for you prior to the wedding day so you know exactly what to expect. If there's something you don't like, they are more than willing to change things up. (Though we had nothing to change; it was so yummy!) Everything's beautifully done, very classy. They planned the perfect event. I brought in pictures and ideas from magazines and things I'd seen. I wanted a truly unique wedding, and they were able to make my dream reality! I said I wanted few to no roses, and the few roses they used weren't the typical red roses: they played with my color scheme and made many different flowers come together in a beautiful way. The table settings were impeccable. We were able to bounce ideas off each other, and they came up with some great personal touches. Everything was memorable, from the tiny fake diamonds sprinkled around the centerpieces to the sweetheart table set aside for the groom and me. If you can dream it, they can do it.
    I'll never forget walking into the reception and seeing everything. It was even better than what I had pictured. They went above and beyond. Every detail was thought out. It was perfect. And now, over five months later, I still have friends and family talking to me about how wonderful the whole thing was. One of my friends always tells me it was her favorite wedding to attend. I know that without Mershon's excellent work, this wedding wouldn't have been as magnificent as it was. I highly recommend them.

    Sent on 02/05/2009
  • M

    Molly · Married on 05/14/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mershons was fantastic and very professional. They did our food, rentals, cake, and bartending and we were happy with it all. We moved to Florida for new jobs before any of our details were finalized and for the most part I felt stress free. I went back and forth on several elements of the wedding and Michelle was really accomodating.

    Sent on 06/01/2011
  • A

    Aundrea · Married on 05/14/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I echo other recent posts. Food was really good. Service was fantastic. Mershon's catering could improve on their responsiveness and overall customer service. At the end of the day, however, they do not disappoint on quality.

    Sent on 07/12/2011
  • G

    Geoffrey C. · Married on 09/01/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We enjoyed working with Mershon Catering quite a bit. I would definitely recommend Mershon Catering to anyone who needed a caterer that provided professional service and quality food.

    More importantly, I have to sing praises to the staff that was at our wedding reception. Having worked in the Food and Beverage industry for a few years, I know how difficult a task it is to please everyone in a large group. Without a doubt, the staff at our reception more than succeeded at pleasing our group. The food was excellent, the staff was responsive to our needs (our bartender was a no-show and one of the members of the staff took charge and became our stand-in drink provider), they were very friendly, and also very professional. We truly meant it when we said that they, "made the best night of our lives, the best."

    The linens and dining utensils were all beautiful and well worth the money we spent on them. We didn't have to lift a finger to clean or put anything away at the end of the reception. The staff had taken care of all that before we even knew it. Talk about great service!

    Our only critique is that Michelle was difficult to keep in touch with at times. We felt like it was hard to get a timely response from her as well. I don't know if it was because she was really busy or something. Overall, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience with Mershon Catering! Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 09/07/2012
  • S

    Stacee · Married on 10/03/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By far my favorite wedding vendor! Very professional & friendly staff were willing to help w/ all aspects of planning. Lots of creative ideas for event design, and able to work within a range of budgets. Also, they made the most delicious food for my wedding, and had a great staff on-site for serving food. I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • matisse0683

    Lesley · Married on 03/20/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Mershon's team was GREAT to work with - from beginning to end. Living out of town (even out of state) a lot of our communication was done via e-mail and over the phone. I only ended up meeting with them twice overall, and each meeting was productive and well-organized. They took so much stress off my plate since they had worked with my venue (Vive le Ranch) so much in the past. It was important for me to have a solid Plan A and Plan B due to the craziness of Oklahoma weather. They were able to organize and plan for each scenario - which was great since an unexpected first day of spring snowstorm magically appeared on my wedding day (March 20, 2010). Their flexibility to move from an outdoor ceremony/reception to an indoor ceremony/reception was seamless and I couldn't have been more pleased at how well the rentals, food, service, etc. went during the day. I didn't witness any problems or obstacles (even with 6 inches of snow on the ground) and they made sure I was well taken care of both before and during the wedding. Unfortunately I didn't try any of the food (big regret!) as I heard everything was fantastic. They worked with me to make a unique menu of Tex-Mex/Southwest food and even changed an Asian action station to accommodate fajitas - in order to keep with the theme. The only hiccup during the entire time working with Mershon's was a rental tent that had seen better days. After my mom expressed her concern for the quality of the tent sides, Mershon's was out a couple of hours later replacing the sides. A very quick fix! I would HIGHLY recommend working with Josh, Michelle and Deidre - they were a joy to work with and made my wedding a true success!

    Sent on 03/29/2010
  • A

    Anja · Married on 03/07/2009

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Mershon entirely planned and catered our wedding. They did an awesome job. However, sometimes we found them to respond slowly to our inquiries and emails which sometimes left us wondering. Also, we found that the pricing was a little high esp. since gratuity kept adding up on every single post of our expenses. Catering was definitely worth its money. They had a great selection of food for good prices.

    Sent on 05/01/2009

    Mershon Catering & Event Design's reply:

    Anja and Daniel were a joy to work with. Even though we did not receive any details or wishes until 3 months before their wedding but we were able to plan their whole wedding, book the DJ and other vendors as well as make all necessary adjustments to meet expectations and budget in a short period of time. We do try our best to get back to everyone as soon as possible. Unfortunately, they had reserved our services in September but did not start their planning until we were into our Christmas season, which is our busiest time of the year. We do try to let everyone know this and that more than likely it will take longer than usual for us to get back with someone. The majority of our printed event orders are 12-18 pages long…of all details! = ) So they do take some time.
    Communication was a bit more difficult than usual in this case because our Bride was not just out of state, but out of the Country so she could not just pick up the phone at any time and call us. All of our contact except for one phone call, one email and the food tasting was with the Groom alone. Anja moved here from Germany just a week and a half before the wedding. Even with the last minute changes of centerpieces, budget cuts, totally changing the floor plan and with not getting the final menu decisions until about a week out, we still pushed in a tasting just 4 days before the wedding to give our Bride and Groom the full experience that we give all of our clients.
    When it was all said and done everyone was happy, the wedding went off without a hitch and the bride and groom did not have to lift a finger. As far as gratuity, PLEASE expect this from anywhere you go that has full-service. Hotels, Country Clubs, etc. This is posted on our website and all of our quotes and contracts for Brides to see BEOFRE they book us. FYI- the standard gratuity in Tulsa is 15-20%. Ours is 15.
    It sounds like they really enjoyed everything but maybe we were not really a great fit for their budget. Which we hate to hear, we always want everyone to be sure of this before booking us. We do wish the couple the best and were honored to be a part of their special day!
    We were very disappointed that Daniel and Ana were not fully satisfied. There were many things that we did for them that were not even mentioned here. After viewing and reading all of their file and all of our contact notes for them, it is very evident that we truly gave 110% as allows to ensure that thier Wedding was flawless.
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 06/20/2009

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    C Mershon�s was okay. They had great food, great set-up and a great ice cream sundae bar. Their wait staff was great, too. BUT, they throw in lot of hidden costs and they are VERY expensive. I wish I had shopped around for a cheaper caterer. They also were very hard to get a hold of and it seems we talked to a different person each time. I didn�t like how I would email them and it would take a week for them to respond, not to mention phone calls. It seemed like they were never there. They also tried to talk us into 2 bartenders, which we didn�t need (based on our numbers) and then was snotty when we were set on 1 bartender instead of 2. Since we had to pay 10 days before (when we thought it was 7 days) it was a big surprise, PLUS, I didn�t think it was going to be sooo expensive. I didn�t like how the handled us at the final payment. Plus, we had the reception venue (and them) until midnight and they started cleaning up at 11:15pm�not a good move. We didn�t like that, either. So, shop around before you use them.

    Sent on 09/27/2009

    Mershon Catering & Event Design's reply:

    First of all, I was very surprised at this review. We never throw in hidden costs. We actually receive compliments all the time of how detailed and itemized or contracts are. Every costs is listed and nothing is ever added unless a client has asked us to add it. Each time an order is changed, we email our client a revised copy to verify. As far as getting a new person every time, we only had three people in our office that ever answer the phone, two of which are the owners. = ) As far as response, this Bride gave a deposit in August and we never heard from her again until January. Which is typical of a lot of Brides who want to lock in their date and start the details after the Holidays. From there, we have frequent communication every single month. Unfortunately, we are not always right by the phone or in front of the computer…we are out on events as well. We make sure that the people on the phone going over the details and planning are the ones overseeing that those details at the events.
    We definitely recommended two bartenders for 130 people. Which is defiantly not outrageous when serving the client’s wine,, beer, making a mixed signature drink and for a champagne toast. Our bartenders are great but not super heroes that pour at the speed of lighting. ha.ha. We recommended two to ensure great service for their guests.
    All far as our Bride not liking how we handled final payment, I am not sure what that means but tit seems we were more than accommodating. Our payment structure is noted on our contract as well and this particular order had multiple people paying and payment types so we ran more payments than usually required. I feel we handled it fine.
    As far as a bad ‘move’ on our part of breaking down at 11:15pm. The client did have the venue booked until midnight…but looks like the did not ready their contract gain…the facility is booked until midnight but that includes an clean up time as well. Our contract had the event ending at 11 pm, Giving us an hour to clean up and be out by midnight so the client did not endure extra costs. This is standard of almost every venue in Tulsa. We actually gave them an extra 15 minutes …that sounds unappreciated.
    Sounds like this Bride certainly should have gone ‘Cheaper’. We are definitely not in everyone’s price range but our menu and service prices are listed online for the public to see and do not vary unless a client asks to add something to the order. Our price and our treatment is the same for everyone. My advice…make sure your eyes are not bigger than your pocket book. The most important thing is that you are getting married. So, do not add the stress of committing to something that you cannot afford because in the end you will stress your self out, not be able to enjoy your day and become bitter. Then, no one wins.
  • M

    Brandon · Married on 04/30/2011

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Food was excellent. Servers at the wedding were excellent. Everything else required babysitting, arguing, negotiating or it ended in disappointment. We gave them our budget up front, reminded them every step of the way, and still every quote was thousands over budget. Finally had to nit pick every detail, and at that point Michelle tried to change the contract terms, saying "the paper we signed and the website are out of date". Even after everything was said and done we found a couple hundred dollars in charges that were incorrect and had to be corrected. Michelle argued constantly, even during the wedding. Josh (owner) showed up to the wedding wearing plaid shorts and flip flops. Maybe we weren't bossy or demanding enough, but that's not what we wanted.
    If we had it to do all over again, we would NOT use them for the planning and decorations, just for the food.

    Sent on 07/08/2011

    Mershon Catering & Event Design's reply:

    We just read this review and were floored. This was totally unexpected, especially from this Bride. This whole review is filled with lies and we find it very distasteful. This is so ridiculous that it does not even justify a rebuttal of contradicting facts. Anyone who knows Mershons, knows that Michelle would be the furthest vendor from anyone’s mind to argue with a client, especially on their wedding day?!? That is just a ‘no-brainer’. It is a real shame that so much hard work went into this wedding, all the changes, last minute accommodations and unexpected requests being thrown at us on the wedding day. Mershons fulfilled every aspect that we were hired for, as well as many that we were not hired for to make this special day a wonderful experience. Our team worked very hard and tried to be nothing less than a blessing to Brandy. Apparently, all the effort went unrecognized, or worse…unappreciated. And for the Bride to portray herself as the victim, that is even more mind boggling. She dictated all costs and was well aware of all of her budget choices. We only provide and charge what our clients ask us to. This is a huge disappointment on our side. Furthermore, we require all client s to pay in full 11 days before their event. We deliberately do this upfront so that there is NO confusion or miscommunication on costs. If budget was a problem, this would have been the perfect time for Brandy to say something or to cut back.
    We are very sorry that her view of things is so tainted. We wish she were grateful for the fact that we she hired a vendor to do what was agreed upon and that it was 100% carried out and delivered. Literally. = )
    This whole review is irrational. Thank you for reading.