46 Reviews for Meridian House

4.6
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Uncovered Outdoor (6)
Indoor (2)
Chairs (1)
Tables (1)
Parking (1)
46 Meridian House Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We were so happy with every aspect of our wedding at Meridian House. The venue is beautiful, and the event staff are truly a pleasure to work with from beginning to end! I would highly recommend Meridian House to anyone planning a wedding or special event -- it is simply exquisite.

Profile Picture Copeland, 12/9/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Parking, Uncovered Outdoor, Chairs, Tables
4.8

Meridian House is a stunning venue straight out of an architecture magazine. We fell in love with it immediately, but what we weren’t prepared for is how much our guests would gush over it too -- the word “exquisite” was used more than once! It was such an ideal location to showcase the history of DC to our many out-of-town guests at a location right near the center of the city.

The house is immaculately maintained both inside and out, with museum-esque touches that transport you back to 1800s France. We needed very few pieces of extra decor because Meridian House is so well-appointed. It’s a fairly compact venue, but the various rooms allowed guests to mingle and explore and enjoy.

And outside, the beauty and coolness of the Linden Grove is unparalleled. Some guests came inside only for dinner! Of course, it helped immensely that we had an ideal August day, with no humidity or negative weather to contend with.

Just be aware that your event will be hustled out by 10:55pm, with no possibility of extending it, owing to some very strict rules from the venue and neighborhood association.

Overall, our event was picture-perfect and we’ve received so many compliments on the stunning venue.

Profile Picture Nick, 8/5/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Meridian House is an absolutely stunning venue. Our guests kept commenting on how impressed they were with the venue: from the historic building itself, our cocktail hour in the Linden Grove, and most importantly to our wedding in the garden. Meridian House was a perfect backdrop for our photos and to showcase to out of towners a beautiful historic DC building. However, what sets this venue a part is their amazing staff. Maria is an absolute joy to work with. She helped ensure that we had an absolutely perfect wedding, reception, and dance party. She accommodated our request to get married in a circle in the garden, she recommended outstanding vendors, and she served as a sounding board for ideas and any questions we had.

Profile Picture Danielle, 7/8/17, 7 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Meridian House is by far one of the most beautiful venues in Washington, D.C. From the Linden tree grove to the beautiful rooms indoors it is the perfect location for a small intimate wedding. The event staff at Meridian House were prompt in answering emails and were so helpful with vendor walk throughs and on the night of the wedding. They did a fantastic job!

Profile Picture Sarah, 3/11/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

It was the perfect venue for our black-tie optional fall wedding! Very flexible and accommodating and we loved the indoor/outdoor options.

Profile Picture Heather, 11/19/16, 7 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
4.7

The Meridian House is the perfect wedding venue in DC - and Maria and Jessica are fantastic! After attending several black tie events in DC, my husband and I thought this would be the perfect place for the reception. We had a few walk-throughs with Maria to figure out the best use of the space and talk through the flow of the evening. It's perfectly suited to cocktails outside, dinner and dancing inside, and when the weather is nice (like spring and fall) the doors are open and the light sparkles just right. Beautiful! It's not the best space for a huge wedding (under 150 max, we had 120 and it was perfect) Unfortunately the weather was really windy on our wedding day but that didn't deter guests from being outside for at least some of the time - we changed a few logistics last minute because of that (like moving the toasts inside) but none of it caused an issue. Maria and Jessica were responsive, helpful and professional, making sure they understood our vision from day one. What's great is that the house needs very little decor - we just did flowers on the tables and there was no need for anything else. The red carpet at the entrance is elegant, garden already has flowers, and with some candles and low lighting it looks very romantic without a lot of effort (or money!). While it isn't the cheapest space in DC, the rental costs includes all tables and chairs so that was a huge money saver (no need to rent additional ones). They recommended several vendors to us including Main Event Catering (who they work with often) and you could tell they had a good working relationship. Everything flowed and was just perfect - the staff all evening was so helpful. My favorite part is that there is a piano there that you can use if you want - my dad is a pianist and he played our first dance which was extra special. Thank you for such an amazing wedding!!

Profile Picture Laura, 10/22/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This place is amazing and was a dream venue for us. If you live in DC area it is the perfect location for out of town guests since it is so close to the airport. It makes for a great spot for gorgeous pictures inside and outside so be sure to hire an amazing photographer to capture your day in this insanely beautiful venue!!!

Profile Picture User5220502, 1+ year ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Don't look any further: Meridian House is an absolutely beautiful venue with a manicured lawn, blooming flowers, an area under a Linden Grove, and the interior of the house is just stunning, elegant, formal. and yet the venue lends itself to celebrate a garden ceremony that is intimate, romantic, enchanting. Every one of our guests commented on the beauty of Meridian House. The house is a treasure. And Meridian's Event Manager, Maria Canellis, is another treasure. She is a gem, helpful, willing to share all the information about wedding vendors that you might need, with a wonderful disposition, responsive and delightful. I cannot say enough good things about Meridian House and Maria Canellis except to say that we were very fortunate to have celebrated our daughter's wedding at Meridian House.

Profile Picture User5578237, 1+ year ago, 11 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
4.5

Meridian House is so beautiful. The grounds are really unexpected and the website photos absolutely don't do it justice. I'm getting married there next May. Note that it books up way ahead of time! The venue fee is pretty high but it becomes more reasonable of you have both the ceremony and reception there, which is so convenient anyway. Maria is also very helpful and responsive and all of the other vendors I've spoken to have very positive things to say about it and say they love working there. Will update after the wedding!

Profile Picture Andrea, 5/28/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Meridian House was simply our dream venue in every way. They were incredibly accommodating. The most unique and spacious venue in DC that is not a hotel ballroom.

Profile Picture Ali, 4/16/16, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
5.0

Meridian House is a dream come true; the first time I saw it as a possible wedding venue, I knew my husband and I needed to get married there. (Come on: it feels like you've been transported to Paris in the middle of DC--what's not to like?!?!) We worked with a couple different people over the course of about 17 months, and both event coordinators were incredibly helpful, flexible, and a pleasure to work with. My husband and I had both our ceremony and reception at Meridian House, and we felt very lucky to find such an amazing location in the heart of the city for the price we did considering some of the other venues and other logistics (e.g., transportation, lodging, etc.) we looked at. It was a perfect location for not only us, but for our guests, who were mostly out of town, and therefore had access to DC throughout the weekend during their stay. I would highly recommend Meridian House to anyone considering it as a venue.

Profile Picture Hannah, 8/29/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Uncovered Outdoor
4.6

The Meridian was such a classy, beautiful venue. It was exactly what we wanted with the option for indoor/outdoor reception. We lucked out with perfect weather too! The staff is friendly and easy to work with, my only complaint is that they are not very responsive.. sometimes took a week to hear back from them, but over all it was a great place for us!

Profile Picture Michele, 8/15/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

As a native Washingtonian, The Meridian House has always been one of my favorite places, a hidden gem in DC! When planning my wedding, I wanted to have an old world/eurpoean ambiance and couldn't have picked a better place. My wedding guest list was too big to have the wedding at the Meridian House, but it turned out to be the PERFECT spot for our rehearsal dinner. Marie was so generous and kind to help make my dream come true and allowed us to do a RD on Friday even though they did have another event on Saturday. She was gracious to work with us on pricing as well since our guest list was on the smaller end.
Luckily it was a gorgeous night so we were able to use the outside courtyard during cocktail hour. Went inside for dinner and the buffet was set up in the library. Then we had a welcome drinks, the layout is perfect where guests could arrive for that while we finished dinner and then joined them in the logia and courtyard. Thank you Marie and all those at the Meridian House for making the Friday night a great start to the wedding weekend!

Profile Picture Kate, 5/23/15, 13 Reviews
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Not only is this place gorgeous but Maria is a delight! Trust her advice and get her opinion- she knows the space and genuinely wants you to have a wonderful wedding!

Profile Picture User4426580, 2+ years ago, 12 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My husband and I had both our ceremony and reception at the Meridian House in October. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and romantic. We had our ceremony in the garden, the cocktail hour in the tree grove and then dinner and dancing inside. We had 150 guests and we fit perfectly for dinner in the library and drawing rooms. Alison Grace was our coordinator and she was so helpful and responsive during our coorespondence. She was also there on the day of to make sure everything was going smoothly. All of our guests kept commenting on how beautiful the space was, and our pictures look amazing! We would definitely recommend this for a venue for anyone looking to get married in DC!

Profile Picture Julia, 10/4/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to hold our wedding reception. Not only was it stunning, but the staff catered to our every need at no extra cost. I only wish we could do it all over again!

Profile Picture Katelyn, 8/9/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

Maria and her team did a great job facilitating our event and working with all our vendors. The space at Meridian is also beautiful. We had our ceremony in the garden, cocktail hour in the linden grove, and the reception inside. The price is a little high, but it does include all the tables and chairs, which isn't true at all the comparable sites.

Profile Picture Sonja, 7/19/14, 11 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Meridian House was an exceptional venue. The beauty of the house and the grounds made it so very little needed to be added in terms of decor--it's wonderful on its own. We had an outdoor ceremony in the garden, a cocktail hour in the Linden Grove, and dinner and dancing inside the house. Maria was absolutely terrific to work with--she made sure all the vendors had the info they needed and helped everything to flow perfectly the day of the event. She was also very helpful and responsive with all of my questions during the planning process. This place is magical!

Profile Picture Miriam, 5/10/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8

Meridian House was a great venue for my wedding reception! Everything looked beautiful, and went off without a hitch. Maria was very accommodating and helpful when dealing with other vendors. It was everything I had ever dreamed of and more.

Profile Picture Jessica, 4/5/14, 10 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We couldn't have had such a beautiful and gorgeous wedding were it not for the Meridian House. Maria and everyone else on staff was very helpful throughout the entire process, especially during the day-of preparations. The five different rooms made it easy to separate the different parts of the wedding while having everything flow smoothly. We only wish the night could have gone on longer!

Profile Picture Team, 3/1/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Amazing. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. Maria was a dream to work with and accommodated my every request. She was always available and flexible. It was perfect for our 100 people wedding, and the wedding felt cozy, elegant and intimate. I can't recommend enough!

Profile Picture User3114359, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7

This venue is stunning. You will save on flowers and decor because the venue itself is so beautiful. Maria, the venue coordinator, is incredibly responsive, knowledgeable and helpful. The space was perfect for hosting both our ceremony and reception. It's convenient to hotels so guests don't have to travel far. We were worried about splitting guests up into two adjoined rooms for dinner because we thought people in the smaller room might feel excluded, but it didn't feel that way at all. We sat near the door that joined the rooms and it was fine.

Profile Picture User3685549, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Beautiful venue! Especially the Linden Grove where we had cocktail hour! Maria was great to work with!

Profile Picture User3378155, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

When planning our wedding, we knew that we did not want a typical "big box" wedding in a hotel. The Meridian House is an absolutely gorgeous location for your event. With no rain plan, I wanted a location where the inside was just as beautiful as the outside. We had SO many compliments about our venue and were told that our wedding was "the most elegant wedding" that many people had ever attended.

Not only is the venue itself an unforgettable setting, but Maria is absolutely amazing to work with. She is extremely helpful and sweet and I cannot imagine having worked with anyone else. There was construction on the entrance and we were unable to enter through the front door AND there was a massive storm on our wedding day just as the ceremony was about to begin. Those 2 things would create tears for any bride, but I was calm knowing that I was in good hands with Maria and that our venue was so gorgeous, it would make no difference in the world to any of our guests.

If you chose the Meridian, you will have beautiful pictures and an extremely memorable location for your big day.

Profile Picture Catherine, 9/8/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We looked at wedding venues all over Virginia, Maryland and DC and the Meridian House was by far the most stunning. It took our breath away when we first saw it and it did not dissapoint the day of the wedding. Maria Canellis was our point of contact at the venue and she was a pleasure to work with and provided a wealth of wedding information. She even helped us with the planning process at times by providing tips and knowledge even though that wasn't really her role. This venue will surely exceed your expectations.

Profile Picture Michelle, 6/30/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue