Melissa Montoya Photography Reviews

18 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Melissa Montoya Photography

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

35 User photos

Melissa Montoya Photography 1
Melissa Montoya Photography 2
Melissa Montoya Photography 3
Melissa Montoya Photography 4
Melissa Montoya Photography 5
Melissa Montoya Photography 6
Melissa Montoya Photography 7
+ 29
Sort by:
  • S

    Sara Labb · Getting married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't Be Happier With Our Photos!

    Melissa was fantastic! She was quick to respond to emails and extremely flexible with our schedule.
    The day of our shoot she had already scoped out different places for our photos and made us feel relaxed and comfortable. She took so many incredible photos and was really fun to spend a few hours with!
    Additionally, the turn around time for our photos was so quick which was awesome as we were eager to see the results.
    We were blown away with the photos she sent us, honestly we can't get over how many of the photos we absolutely love. We can't wait to have her shoot our wedding!!!!

    Sent on 06/28/2019
    Melissa Montoya Photography 8
    Melissa Montoya Photography 9
    Melissa Montoya Photography 10
  • E

    Eric D Miller · Getting married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Comfortable and Easy!

    Melissa was great! She is very friendly and makes the situation comfortable and easy. My fiance and I aren't the most comfortable in front of the camera, but Melissa was really good about giving directions and the pictures came out great. All the pictures are so good and natural we are so excited for her to shoot our wedding as well!

    Sent on 06/29/2019
    Melissa Montoya Photography 11
    Melissa Montoya Photography 12
    Melissa Montoya Photography 13
    Melissa Montoya Photography 14
    Melissa Montoya Photography 15
    Melissa Montoya Photography 16
  • T

    Taylor A Bloom · Getting married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best photos and experience!

    We had the best time at our engagement photo shoot and I can truly say that Melissa went above and beyond to make our engagement photos perfect. We loved our engagement photo session so much we asked Melissa to come to our engagement party to take photos too! We are so happy with our pictures from both our engagement photo session and engagement party and couldn't be happier with the overall experience.

    Sent on 12/11/2018
  • D

    Daniela · Married on 08/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You won’t be able to pick your favorite photo! Melissa will help you look and feel your best

    I adore our engagement photos!! Melissa has been an amazing photographer. She arrived bursting with energy, ready, prepared, professional and she literarly got the best out of us. There is no way in the world any other photographer would make us feel so good and relaxed and take these amazing pictures. She gave great directions such as how to turn, where to look and tips for great poses. She was very creative with the background so our photos looks like we took a trip around the world!

    I can hardly pick my favorite one. Thanks to Melissa we have these beautiful engagement photos to look back at with a smile remembering what a great time we had taking them.

    Sent on 06/26/2019
    Melissa Montoya Photography 17
    Melissa Montoya Photography 18
  • A

    Alex Taylor · Married on 08/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An experienced and professional Photographer that gives her very best

    We met Melissa at the San Diego Bridal Bazarr 2019. She was very engaging to talk with and we had no doubt she would be perfect for us. We wanted to confirm this by having a full interview with no other distractions. We met for coffee and began to go into everything we were imagining for our wedding. Melissa was able to walk us through the process of how she would operate and even created the timeline for our day right there. took into account everything from the ceremony, family photos, dancing, cake cutting, etc. we had the whole plan laid out for us to start working off of. this was amazing!
    Our engagement photo shoot is where we fell in love with her. not knowing what to expect we asked for advice on clothing and she help us create outfits that fit the locations we requested. she is a woman who has a lot of energy and brought the very best out of us and the photos reflected it. Seeing the final product and having the experience with her, my wife had absolute relief and appreciation that she was going there on our wedding day.
    We were both so nervous and taking photos was almost something you don't want as your mind is racing through so many items. Melissa was able to get us focused and remember that we are doing this for each other and memories for our future selves. Having scouted the area prior to the wedding day, she had a well thought out plan on when and where to do our photos. She worked so well with our videographer and created such a wonderful environment of calmness and beauty for us.
    I couldn't believe how incredible the pictures came out until we saw them. my wife had tears in her eyes seeing one with her and her mother, father, and sister. the sunset photos were an amazing idea and truly were magical. A friendship was formed and one that will certainly last. after all, just because the wedding is over doesn't mean the adventure is. Expectancy photos, baby photos, family portraits will be in the future. And we have no doubt she will help be a part of those moments in our lives as well.

    Sent on 08/22/2019
  • C

    Clarissa · Married on 02/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa's work is magic!

    We are so happy with Melissa :D she was one of the highlight of our day. She has a bubbly, fun personality which made us super comfortable posing in front of the camera. She was very intuitive & great with giving out instructions, has great eyes in finding good spots to take pictures -- we are very happy with the result. Everything was handled professionally, we had a contract with DocQuest, she arrived early to the venue and pictures was uploaded within 36 hours! Melissa, you are the best and I highly recommend her for your wedding.

    Sent on 02/08/2019
    Melissa Montoya Photography 19
    Melissa Montoya Photography 20
    Melissa Montoya Photography 21
    Melissa Montoya Photography 22
    Melissa Montoya Photography 23
    Melissa Montoya Photography 24
    Melissa Montoya Photography 25
  • Katie

    Katie Thompson · Married on 10/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smoking hot wedding photos by Melissa Montoya

    I am a professional destination wedding planner in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico and have worked with many amazing photographers over my 14 year career. However, when my own daughter decided to get married in Coronado, California, I wanted to hire a local photographer who knew the area and would have tips for us for this specific location. After careful review, we selected Melissa Montoya and it was the best decision! She is amazing!!!! Her energy is so positive and creative. From the beginning she understood my daughter Grace's vision. She and her fiancé, Caleb, wanted a more moody, editorial look for their wedding photos, with more focus on their couple's photos than group shot type photos. They got exactly what they wanted, and the photos are gorgeous, romantic, sexy, and truly lovely! Every photo reflects the deep love Grace & Caleb have for each other. Not only was Melissa's attitude amazing, but her knowledge of local venues for the type of shots that the couple wanted helped us out so much! She is a truly creative professional who reflected Grace & Caleb's wedding day in a truly beautiful way.

    Sent on 10/31/2018
    Melissa Montoya Photography 26
    Melissa Montoya Photography 27
    Melissa Montoya Photography 28
    Melissa Montoya Photography 29
    Melissa Montoya Photography 30
  • G

    Grace Schumaker · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding photographer ever!

    "Melissa is the absolute best! She showed up early, stayed late just so she could make sure we were happy and got all the shots we wanted. She got all of me and my now husbands best angles and was very receptive to everything we wanted! Our pictures turned out so amazing and Im so thankful for her! Now we get to cherish our perfect day forever!!!"

    Sent on 10/30/2018
    Melissa Montoya Photography 31
    Melissa Montoya Photography 32
    Melissa Montoya Photography 33
  • C

    Charmaine · Married on 08/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is the whole package! Fast turn around, very responsive and organized. She was such a joy to work with. She was also super creative and had us at multiple locations with the most sweet poses. Our wedding photos turned out gorgeous! She definitely exceeded our expectations. We would use her again in a heart beat and recommend her to ANYONE for any event.

    Sent on 08/19/2018
  • J

    JESSICA · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I forgot Melissa was even taking our engagement pictures. I was having so much fun and she made it so easy to feel comfy in front of the camera. The pictures she gave us makes me so happy she took them.
    She sent them in a very convenient file to my email so quick!

    Sent on 08/20/2018
  • B

    bennett · Married on 06/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not have a wedding coordinator. We had NO idea how difficult and complicated a wedding could be. Melissa stepped in, did an amazing job with the photos and took complete control of our whole wedding. She was a LIFE SAVER. Managed everything and everyone, kept everything on schedule, kept everyone on their toes, and had a list for everything. She's amazing.

    Sent on 07/27/2018
    Melissa Montoya Photography 34
    Melissa Montoya Photography 35
    Melissa Montoya Photography 36
    Melissa Montoya Photography 37
    Melissa Montoya Photography 38
    Melissa Montoya Photography 39
    Melissa Montoya Photography 40
    Melissa Montoya Photography 41
  • I

    Isabella · event on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! Talk about exceeded expectations! We had an unbelievable experience working with Melissa as she shot our engagement photos. Her knowledge of lighting and positioning was so precise she made our shoot effortless. She made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and gave a lot of instruction on hand and body positioning, which we loved/needed!

    And then when we actually saw the photos our jaws dropped! They are unreal. We are thoroughly impressed with how they turned kout. The worst part is trying to narrow them down to figure out which ones to frame and display!

    Thank you Melissa for capturing this special time in our life in such a perfect way. You have gained a lifelong client in us, we adore you. Can’t wait for you to shoot our wedding!!!!!

    Sent on 07/19/2018
  • T

    Tatiana Walters · Married on 05/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service and beautiful photos

    Melissa did an awesome job on our photos. She showed up on time, was very understanding when I had to change some plans, understood and acknowledged some of my insecurities when it came to being photographed and helped both of us feel comfortable during the session. I also really love that she used a lot of different backgrounds from the same area instead of keeping us standing still in the same spot. There is a lot of variety in the photos because of this which I love, especially because the venue was so beautiful. Melissa was also very cute and peppy and you could tell she gets excited about her job. She seems to truly love the exchange of energy between herself and her clients as well as being a part of those special moments. Again, GOREGOUS pics with amazing variety in poses, backdrops, and editing. Can’t wait to have them printed.

    Sent on 12/28/2018
  • K

    Katayoun · Married on 12/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mel is phenomenal! I had seen her take photos of my friend for her maternity shoot so I knew we would be in good hands. My hubby and I hate anything too contrived where we feel like we are posing too much and Mel handled what we were worried about like an absolute pro. We got exactly what we were looking for. She is sweet, fun and gets the job done to your liking. We have her photos framed all over our house and I can't recommend her enough. I'm pregnant now so we plan on taking our maternity shoot with her as well. It's awesome to be able to stick with the same person throughout these milestones.

    Sent on 07/24/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing time working with Melissa and her team and the end result was an incredible set of photos! Melissa was super accommodating to our timeline and limited budget, listened attentively to all of our requests and made us feel instantly comfortable in front of the camera. We wanted our photos not to feel too staged and to capture the memorable candid moments of the night, and that's exactly what she produced in end. Can't recommend her enough!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was a pleasure and a delight to work with and we got some really beautiful images!

    Thank you Melissa!!

    Sent on 08/21/2018
    Melissa Montoya Photography 42
  • M

    Maria · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was great. Very easy to work with, fast turn around on photos, and excellent variety and quality of photos. Would use her again in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 07/24/2018
  • X

    Ximena · Married on 04/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING!! Wonderful experience

    Melissa was great to work with! She walked us through the entire photo process and went out of her way to get the best shots. We went up to the mountains in the morning and by 9 PM that evening we had all of our pictures. She sent us soooo many more pictures than what was stated in our contract. We look forward to working with her for our wedding pictures too!

    Sent on 04/16/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review