Melissa Elaine Photography Reviews

19 | Ann Arbor, MI
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Melissa Elaine Photography

Recommended by 99%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is wonderful to work with. We were both very nervous about having professional photos taken. Melissa made us feel at ease right away. She had great ideas for locations and poses. The photos were beautiful, romantic, fun and came back quickly. Highly recommend working with Melissa for your big day. She's top notch!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I knew Melissa as an acquaintance from high school, so it was an easy choice when we were looking for a wedding photographer. But she went way above and beyond our expectations throughout the whole process. She made us feel comfortable in front of the camera, and she was very attentive. When we received our wedding photos back a week ago, I was blown away with how many photos were in our gallery, and most importantly how great they all looked! AND she was prompt with returning the photos in about one months time! She remained calm and flexible during our wedding day which was definitely under a time crunch, and guests arriving early to the ceremony.
    We cannot thank you enough for photographs we will cherish for a lifetime.
    Cheers!

  • User4638102 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa did an amazing job with our wedding photos! She was very easy to work with and always very responsive to emails. We are so happy with our photos! We received our sneakpeak photos 7 weeks after our wedding and all of our photos less than 2 months after the wedding. We really appreciated the fast turn around!

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was AWESOME! She was SO easy to work with during planning and at the wedding... she was flexible and creative and even stood out in the rain with us to take some of the most amazing photos I have ever seen. Our photos are so wonderful and will be displayed in our home for years and years to come... Melissa went above and beyond and captured the best day of our lives PERFECTLY!

  • C

    Carrie · Married on 06/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa Elaine Photography was one of the best decisions we made in terms of our vendors. Melissa (owner) was incredibly professional, responsive, understanding, patient, and creative in her dealings with us. I felt a great sense of calm regarding the photography leading up to the event. She heard our desires and she ran with them!

    The day of the wedding, she and her assistant were punctual, friendly, and blended in well with the day's events. She came to shoot my bridesmaids and me getting ready and took some beautiful shots of my dress and accessories. We all almost forgot she was there most of the time - she was THAT stealth!

    At the ceremony, she and her assistant were, again, very good at blending in and not being a distraction, while still achieving excellent pictures to capture our ceremony. When the madness of the "formal" pictures began after the ceremony, she was to the point, but she wasn't rude in any way about it. We really appreciated her approach to directing everyone. She made it enjoyable and fun! And the quality of the photos is outstanding!

    I highly recommend her photography services. You won't be sorry!

  • A

    Amber · Married on 04/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved all my pictures and I will refer you to everyone I know whose getting married.

  • M

    Marissa · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is hands down the best photographer! From the minute I found her online, to our first meeting, I knew that I was going to have a great experience.

    Melissa is professional, patient, talented, detail-oriented, and extremely kind! I was not the easiest bride to deal with because I wanted to ask a million questions, look at every photo, and triple check everything. Melissa had no problem with this and answered all my questions and explained everything in detail. I met with several photographers before I met Melissa, and after meeting her I was sold! Melissa’s style was perfect for us! She didn’t pose us or make us stand a certain way – she let the moment happen! She would ask us to go stay over there and talk to each other, but never moved our hands or made us look unnatural. Melissa had the perfect balance of photography style for us because my family is huge and so was my wedding party and she was able to do all the traditional photos in the Catholic Church and pose the family pictures.

    Melissa shot our engagement pictures in an apple orchard and nearby field! It was so fun and we love the pictures! I also asked Melissa to photograph my bridal shower and the pictures were unbelievable. The photos showed the excitement and joy from everyone. Our wedding pictures, to say the least, are amazing! Melissa captured every moment perfectly! She has a quick turn around and the lighting on the photos was perfect. Our wedding was in a barn with a live band from Nashville, so it was little different of an event! Melissa was the perfect person to capture our special day!

    If you don’t hire Melissa, you are nuts! One more reason to go with Melissa: My husband during the wedding planning process and after the wedding said Melissa was his favorite vendor and was happy she was a part of our special day! What guy says that? Thank you Melissa for our amazing pictures! We will be hiring you in the future for our next life events!

  • Marissa

    Marissa · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is hands down the best photographer! From the minute I found her online, to our first meeting, I knew that I was going to have a great experience.

    Melissa is professional, patient, talented, detail-oriented, and extremely kind! I was not the easiest bride to deal with because I wanted to ask a million questions, look at every photo, and triple check everything. Melissa had no problem with this and answered all my questions and explained everything in detail. I met with several photographers before I met Melissa, and after meeting her I was sold! Melissa’s style was perfect for us! She didn’t pose us or make us stand a certain way – she let the moment happen! She would ask us to go stay over there and talk to each other, but never moved our hands or made us look unnatural. Melissa had the perfect balance of photography style for us because my family is huge and so was my wedding party and she was able to do all the traditional photos in the Catholic Church and pose the family pictures.

    Melissa shot our engagement pictures in an apple orchard and nearby field! It was so fun and we love the pictures! I also asked Melissa to photograph my bridal shower and the pictures were unbelievable. The photos showed the excitement and joy from everyone. Our wedding pictures, to say the least, are amazing! Melissa captured every moment perfectly! She has a quick turn around and the lighting on the photos was perfect. Our wedding was in a barn with a live band from Nashville, so it was little different of an event! Melissa was the perfect person to capture our special day!

    If you don’t hire Melissa, you are nuts! One more reason to go with Melissa: My husband during the wedding planning process and after the wedding said Melissa was his favorite vendor and was happy she was a part of our special day! What guy says that? Thank you Melissa for our amazing pictures! We will be hiring you in the future for our next life events!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of having Melissa photograph my wedding day! She was amazing, and so was the second photographer she brought with her. I had a huge (and semi crazy) wedding party of 12 on each side, and she did an awesome job organizing us for photos. She had a great attitude the entire day, even though I know our group could be frustrating and chaotic. My pictures turned out gorgeous. I had such a hard time picking out which ones to frame in my home and to include in the album because I loved them all. Her talent, work ethic, and overall attitude were phenomenal. A big thank you to Melissa again!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was amazing to work with! My husband and I had actually meet her a year prior to setting an actually date. After interviewing several other photographers, we knew that she was the option for us! Everything was natural and effortless. She makes you feels completely comfortable through the day!

  • M

    Marcie · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa and her team were outstanding! Melissa is a very talented photograher and has a great personality. She is very professional and knows exactly what she is doing. We had our engagement photos taken by her as well and she did a wonderful job with those too.

    The affordable prices do not compromise the quality she produces. Everyone has commented how beautiful the pictures came out, Melissa really out did herself! We had Melissa all day with us and not one time did we feel she was intrusive. You didn't even know they were there. We also did the photo booth she offers and it was a huge hit! We heard comments saying that was one of the best things that night of the wedding!!

    Melissa Patterson Gallery was the BEST wedding vendor decision we made. I highly recommend Melissa and her team, you won't be disappointed.

  • M

    Mandy · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was AWESOME! The value that you get for your dollar is amazing. After our initial meeting, Melissa was available anytime to answer questions we had. Melissa worked so hard the day of our wedding. She and her second shooter, Danielle, took SO many photos. The best part was that we didn't feel like we were being pulled in a million different directions all night for photos. Melissa was right in the mix with all our guests, getting great candid and posed shots of us and our guests. From the very beginning, when looking for a wedding photographer, I said that all I wanted was to be able to look back at my photos and see the emotions everyone was feeling on that day. That's what we got with Melissa. Our wedding photos turned out so beautiful. Thank you Melissa, for capturing our special day and taking pictures that were even more beautiful than we could have imagined. You have given us a gift that we will cherish FOREVER! :)

  • J

    Jo · Married on 07/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa did an amazing job shooting our wedding. She was so friendly and made me feel very comfortable in front of the camera so that my shots didn't look posed or forced. We got to see our photos back really quickly and we even got a CD of the images to show our family and friends. Melissa has such a unique style and is surprisingly affordable for the quality of images she produces.

  • R

    Ron · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was absolutely amazing! We had two shoots with her so far: an engagement session and our wedding in the Dominican (destination wedding). We will also have one more shoot in August for our reception. And the pictures turned out gorgeous! She was very friendly and fun to shoot with.

    She is very free-flow with her pictures, that is, she will provide minimal instruction and tell you to be you (aside from the group photos and family photos, those are a bit more structured). This might be great for some and not for others. For us, it worked out great because my wife and I had a blast being together snapping fun and cute photos. If you are a couple that demands to be told to do this or do that or tilt your head up two degrees, she might not be the photographer for you. But our pictures turned out amazing, so she obviously knew what she was doing!

    Lastly, I recommend having an engagement session with the same person who will shoot your wedding. It helps you loosen up in front of the camera and with the photographer before the big day. While we ended up with beautiful pictures on both days, we definitely felt more relaxed the second time in front of the camera.

    Overall, she was wonderful and an absolute delight! We recommend her to anyone that wants stunning pictures and a very personable photographer.

  • L

    Lori · Married on 12/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have never worked with such a professional, friendly, and wonderfully creative person as Melissa Patterson. She captured the special moments of our engagement pictures to the wedding with such a beautiful, personal touch. Every person that has seen our personal website has been wowed by the truly beautiful work she has done for us. I would recommend Melissa, without hesitation, to anyone.
    Lori and Gene Morningstar

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/13/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa is GREAT, she is very talented and has a way with her camera and editing. She was super helpful with all things. 100% recommend you won't be disappointed!

  • User4302323 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Melissa! I was sooo nervous to pick my wedding photographer, and she was very patient with me in answering all my questions. I am so glad I trusted her because the photos she took are absolutely BREATHTAKING. I keep getting compliments on how beautiful they turned out. Totally worth every penny!

  • T

    Tarah · Married on 09/21/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa's photos were amazing and the prices were perfect for our wedding on a budget. The photos were much more artistic and candid than traditional. There were so many shots that I wasn't expecting because I didn't even know she was there.

  • User3801799 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melissa was great! We had a ton of fun taking pictures around town between our wedding ceremony and reception. She was very flexible and went along with the party bus to different destinations. Her photos were great, particularly the less formal ones outside of the church were my favorites.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review