McNay Art Museum Reviews

30 | San Antonio, TX
See photos, pricing and details

30 Reviews for McNay Art Museum

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

30

23 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Johanna · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have chosen a better venue for our wedding!! It was unique to San Antonio and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating for our guest that night. I was sure there would be plenty of complaining but I never heard a thing from anyone - it was a miracle! Considering I had to plan my entire wedding from Dallas, Monica had recommendations and reassured me everything was going to be okay every time she heard the stress in my voice. The McNay is a San Antonio landmark and an experience your guest will never forget - the beauty in the building itself is enough... you can't go wrong.

    Sent on 08/09/2018
  • B

    Bella · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hardly had to buy any decor for the outside ceremony we had on the grounds of the McNay, just some signage and flower pedals for the aisle. The outside itself created the vibe and feel I wanted. Everything went so smooth, my guests loved the open gallery for cocktail hour and being surrounded by art all day! We utilized their projector they offer at a certain rate, to project our favorite photos of us behind the indoor bar! I could go on about just how beautiful my wedding day was, so I highly recommend you see the venue for yourself!

    Sent on 09/29/2017
  • J

    Jan · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First, our compliments to Monica, the events coordinator at McNay Art Museum. She guided us on our daughter's wedding journey for almost a year, and we will always be grateful for her wisdom. We could not have asked for a more perfect evening. The venue is stunning from the moment you walk through the lush grounds to enter the impressive mansion. And then to be able to offer guests the opportunity to view masterpieces from the world's most significant artists--what a privilege. The atmosphere was perfectly romantic from start to finish. We highly recommend this venue to brides searching for a magical night.

    Sent on 07/05/2017
  • E

    Elena · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you like whimsical, romantic, elegant, classy then The McNay Art Museum is the most perfect place to have an outdoor ceremony and a beautiful indoor reception. The gardens are beautiful. The feeling The McNay brought was unlike any other I had. You can pretty much turn the auditorium into whatever visions you have for your wedding. Monica is the wedding venue coordinator and she did a phenomenal job. She was timely with her communication and very professional. She knows the ins and outs of The Mcnay art Museum. She will answer any and all questions you may have. She will communicate with your vendors to make sure everything is ready for your special day. She is so welcoming and sweet and will help put your questions at ease. I am so happy I chose this venue. My wedding photos came out so beautiful. John did our lighting and he was so beyond passionate and amazing.

    Sent on 06/16/2017
  • J

    Jeannette · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is gorgeous and provided exactly what we were wanting (indoor/ outdoor feel). Monica was extremely responsive to all my requests. She worked with our wedding planner to provide a seamless wedding reception! Thank you!

    Sent on 08/07/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THe McNay is absolutely gorgoues. Monica who is in charge of handling all the wedding info is absolutely the best. She made our day the best...

    Sent on 09/28/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I asked my wedding planner where were some of the most beautiful venues she has ever had a wedding at: The McNay. The moment we stepped into the McNay, we knew it was the one. You could completely customize every little detail about this place and make it your own. We had our reception in the auditorium and out cocktail hour in the patio. We got married in October, the one good cool weekend that month. When everything was said and done, everything was perfect. I loved that you could bring in other caters. We had chandeliers, upward lights, and pinpoint lights. Everything was amazing. Monica was very easy to work with. Our wedding day was perfect and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect spot.

    Sent on 03/01/2017
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved this venue and so did my guests- perfect if you are looking for a unique venue!

    Sent on 08/20/2016
  • C

    Christa · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for a unique wedding venue in San Antonio that will make guests feel like they're in paradise, you've come to the right place! Having our wedding at the McNay was hands down the best decision we could have made. From the breathtaking venue itself to its staff, like Monica, it was more than we could have imagined. To this day, more than 6 months after our wedding, our guests are still talking about what a beautiful venue this was. It's definitely an experience, and something you and your guests will always remember. Thank you to everyone involved in making our day so special!

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • K

    Katrina · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monica was a joy to work with. She was always so responsive and quick to all my emails and concerns.

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 02/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as we walked into the McNay we knew it was the perfect venue for us. The property is obviously beautiful, but the auditorium can truly be amazing as well. The rental coordinator, Monica, was more helpful than I could have ever imagined. We had our heart set on having our ceremony in the Blackburn Patio (the outdoor courtyard in the middle of the museum), even though this isn't typically where ceremonies take place. Monica helped make our dream a reality and provided layouts, photos, and her expertise to all of our vendors to be sure everything was perfect. She also helped us choose uplighting and gobos for the auditorium for our reception, and in the end it looked incredible. On our big day many of our guests told me it was the best wedding they've ever been to, and I'm still getting emails and texts about how incredible the McNay was. It was truly our dream wedding, and I know a big reason for it's success was Monica's help! She guided us through the entire process and always had an answer for my seemingly endless questions within an hour or two, and was always kind and enthusiastic. We truly felt like she cared about making our wedding day perfect, and it definitely showed in the end. I can't recommend the McNay highly enough!

    Sent on 02/19/2016
  • V

    Vicky · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express how happy I was with my wedding venue, it was perfect! I used the McNay for my wedding reception on Aug. 22, 2015. Monica the museum's event coordinator is wonderful and extremely helpful. She is so organized always responded quickly to all my emails and phone calls. She made sure I had all the necessary information about their preferred vendor list, which made the search a lot easier. She even made me a diagram of the furniture setup inside the Leeper (reception site) and I was able to give it to all my vendors. Whatever question or request I had, Monica always followed through. This venue was perfect and the lighting inside the Leeper just made my wedding even more unique. It was worth every penny to have my wedding here. Beautiful facility with excellent service from Monica.

    Sent on 09/06/2015
  • M

    Mary · Married on 05/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris, Roger, and Julie were all wonderful! They helped make our wedding the most wonderful day of our lives! Having our wedding at the McNay was absolutely the best decision we could have made. Our guests loved the beautiful galleries during the viewing and the courtyard that is the Blackburn Patio for the ceremony and dance floor. Our wedding and reception were more beautiful and memorable than we ever imagined it could be! Everyone was very helpful and made us feel so much more comfortable with the whole process right through the end of the night.

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • M

    Mirian · Married on 04/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was incredible!! Gorgeous and perfect !! Staff was amazing,helpful and kind !!

    Sent on 04/23/2014
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 02/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannot say enough about how perfect this venue is for a beautiful wedding! If you are looking to have your ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all in a beautiful venue, McNay is the place for you! We had our wedding in February and received a $1,200 discount because it was the off season. February was perfect because the weather was not too hot or too cold....67 and sunny :). Our ceremony took place in front of the water fountain and it was breathtaking. Our cocktail hour immediately followed in the courtyard area and our guests were stunned at the beauty. The museum is also open for an hour for guests to view art work during the cocktail hour which many guests appreciated! Following the cocktail hour guests moved into the BEAUTIFUL reception hall with all wood floors. If you have your reception at this location, you MUST get the uplighting on the walls and the pin lights. Guests could not stop commenting on how beatiful it was! Elise (McNay coordinator) was very easy to work with and responsive to all my needs. This was one of best decisions I made for my wedding day and one of the most important, choosing the McNay! Thank you Elise and all McNay staff for making my wedding perfect and so memorable!!!

    Sent on 02/23/2013
  • S

    Sierra · Married on 02/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very pleased! I had a last minuet booking on this venue and everything was beautiful and perfect. No better place to get married then the Mcnay Simply Amazing...

    Sent on 04/21/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/03/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fantastic experience with the McNay and Monica. Our vow renewal was beautiful and ran smoothly in part because of the stellar staff at the museum. The grounds and building are beautiful backdrops for photos (as is evidenced by its popularity for photo shoots) and make decorating easy because of how beautiful it is. We had a small gathering (less than 50 people) and chose to have dinner in the Octagon, which turned out to be amazing. The fountain is a beautiful backdrop for the ceremony and is gorgeous at sunset. The price is a bit high for a venue that doesn't include anything (you'll have to bring everything you need in and take everything, including trash, out when you leave) but the uniqueness of the site and the beauty are worth the price.

    We only had a couple of quibbles with the entire process. The first is that it was difficult to get complete answers to questions we posed and so at times we received information piecemeal and after asking multiple times. The second was that they closed the gallery we had access to two weeks before our vow renewal and we were forced to choose another gallery, and for us less desirable (we had selected the venue in part because you had access to the main gallery), for our guests to walk-through.

    Note: I put a variety of photos from the venue and as you can see you have quite a few beautiful options for photos. We only scratched the surface of the options since we didn't have unlimited time.

    Sent on 11/17/2017
  • User4893151 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé and I had our first date at the Mcnay so we could not have thought of a better place have our wedding. I have always loved the Mcnay not only for the beauty of ten grounds and modern art but for the atmosphere the professional staff brings to this venue. I have actively volunteered and visited this museum for 20 plus years and I have never been disappointed. They do have have some strict rules as it pertains to catering and security however it is a small price to pay for such a serene and sophisticated setting

    Sent on 03/19/2015
  • A

    Ali · Married on 05/02/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The McNay Art Museum is an absolutely beautiful venue! Monica R. did an excellent job of assisting me throughout the process, helping me with the lighting and a/v vendors, as well as all aspects of the reception planning. I booked pretty far in advance, so would definitely recommend doing so if you're interested in the venue. I will note that a lot of items are not included in the rental price, including lighting, table and chair rentals, insurance and SAPD (if having alcohol). Good news is you can bring in your own alcohol which is a great way to save money. Also, wonderful way to utilize indoor and outdoor space, having our cocktail hour on the patio and reception inside. All of our guests loved the venue and I've never received so many compliments!

    Sent on 06/21/2015
  • M

    Meagan · Married on 05/28/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot rave enough about the McNay. Its a little bit more work, they require you pick one of the caterers from the approved list (I think around 25 companies), they have some tables and chairs to rent, but they are not all inclusive. The work is completely worth it. We saved SO much money by bringing in our alcohol that it made up for the extra rental price compared to other venues. All the caterers we talked to were very helpful. The backdrop was beautiful. I have a gorgeous picture with the Monet Water Lillies. My guests had an awesome time and can't stop talking about our wedding being the best they have ever been to! Gloria was very helpful and was super accomodating as I was an out of town bride. She worked with our day of coordinator and made our wedding go off without a hitch. Just a tip - the lighting guy is expensive but totally worth it - people said our wedding looked like a movie set (purple uplighting on the side with white pinspots on the flowers).

    Sent on 06/27/2011
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 04/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding reception was held at the McNay Art Museum and we could not have been happier with the results! Gloria is wonderful to work with and can provide lots of advice when planning your event. You do have to select one of the caterers from their approved list and must use their lighting vendor, but we were happy with both. Side Notes: Do not have a separate room to have someone watch kids (if you are looking for that).

    Sent on 07/20/2011
  • Dina

    Dina H. · Married on 10/12/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flawless Experience

    We had our daughter's wedding ceremony and reception at McNay Art Museum in October 2019, and what a fabulous event it was! The entire property is beautiful and our out of state guests were just amazed at the grounds, the galleries, and the reception hall. Such a unique venue!
    The sound was good, the dance floor spacious, and the lighting specialist magically transformed the auditorium into a beautiful reception hall.
    The event coordinator, Monica, is a gem, also. She is one of the most organized, knowledgeable, and responsive professional we've had the pleasure of knowing.
    To say it was a flawless evening is not an exaggeration.
    Richard and Dina Houston

    Sent on 11/22/2019
  • E

    Eric · Married on 07/14/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mansion is gorgeous and the courtyard is one of the top things that people remarked about. The grounds are lovely (even in the middle of summer), and the reception hall was perfect for our 220-person reception with band. Our McNay coordinator, Monica, was very helpful in explaining everything and setting expectations, as well as working with vendors for site visits. They were understandably strict when it came to time for loading and start time. But beyond that, everything was perfect--we couldn't have imagined a better venue for our reception.

    Sent on 08/21/2018
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 04/01/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were truly pleased with all the service McNay and Monica gave us. The venue was absolute beauty the night of our reception, it's so elegant yet different type of scenery. Who can say they are having dinner and celebrating the night away at a museum! Guest from all around the world appreciated the simplicity yet romantic vibes it gave off and it was nothing that many had expected!

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • K

    Krystiana · Married on 10/09/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The McNay Art Museum was an incredible venue for our wedding. Everyone was in awe of the beauty! The staff is so kind, responsive, and a joy to work with. Everything was absolutely wonderful except that they are slightly strict in certain areas, which is totally understandable due to it being a museum. It is definitely a museum first, then a wedding venue.

    Sent on 10/19/2015