McMenamins Old Church & Pub Reviews

13 | Wilsonville, OR
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for McMenamins Old Church & Pub

Recommended by 89%

13

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • B

    Brad · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding rehearsal reception here and it was a fantastic restaurant to do so. We had the outside which was amazing for about 60 people with plenty of room for all the tables, lawn games, and for kids to run around in. The food was amazing and they even brought out extra because the grilled shrimp was so tasty that everyone wanted some. The bar service was great and very flexible. Everyone got one drink token and then it was a cash bar, and my parents really appreciated that type of flexibility.
    Extra shout out to Sabina for being so responsive and helpful during the planning phase. We got a ton of compliments on how nice the area was and how good the food was. I would recommend this McMenamins to anyone!

    Sent on 09/11/2018
  • F

    Francesca · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is a hidden gem! We worked with Juliet, Sales and Catering Manager, and she was wonderful to work with - professional and courteous. Since our wedding was vintage themed the Old Church was a perfect setting. Juliet allowed us to come in at 7AM to decorate the Church. When we arrived the tables and chairs were set up exactly how I asked - family style for 80 people. Juliet stayed throughout the day and helped with our needs - she even helped pass out champagne to guests for the wedding toast!. The staff was exceptional, food was delicious, and the blackberry cider (our signature drink) was awesome. We rented out both the Amphitheater and Church, had cocktails, signature drink, dinner buffet and wine for all. The price of the venue was well within our budget and I would definitely recommend this venue for any event. If I had a chance to do our wedding over, I would not change a thing!!! Thank you Juliet and staff for making our day so special.

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 02/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend having a wedding and reception at this venue. They really went above and beyond to make sure our special day was perfect.

    Sent on 02/24/2015
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our rehearsal dinner was an low key, more "Family" dinner then anything else. We were whisked away to a private back room which was perfect. I had pre-ordered pizzas for the group and they were ready right on time. We had a great time getting to just hang out as a family without worrying about annoying any other guests. It was a great experience and everyone raved about the pizza!

    Sent on 11/09/2014
  • J

    John · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    McMenamins was a great place to have our wedding reception. They were very responsive to our needs, ensuring that the majority of our food was gluten free. They were also a pleasure to work with in regards to bar service.
    They were very helpful in the planning stages. They have a range of colors available for the linens, and are very flexible with how their venue can be decorated.
    The Old Church is a unique location with a lot a charm. We were completly pleased with having our reception there. They ensured we could get into the hall early enough to decorate, the food was set up on time, and there was plenty of food for our guests.
    The Old Church can seat about 96 reception style. An ADA lift is also available for guests with mobility issues.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Truax helped my husband and I plan our wedding at McMenamins Old Church in Wilsonville, OR. Susan was such a pleasure to work with! She helped us coordinate everything and it was all so easy working with her. She also helped us coordinate working with a separate vendor for a tent in case of rain. We loved working with McMenamins and only having to deal with one person for everything! Susan was extremely professional and very responsive via email. To anyone considering having their wedding here-we highly recommend it! Juliette was there on our wedding night and also a pleasure to work with. Thanks McMenamins for making our day special!!

    Sent on 10/24/2014
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 08/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Old Church was organized and ran well. The staff assisted so much in setting up pre-ceremony, and the church and patio looked beautiful. The flip that occurs between the ceremony and reception happened within the hour promised and it looked amazing as well- everything was set up exactly as I'd pictured, down to the centerpieces! The food at dinner was delicious- everyone raved about how much they enjoyed their meals. The drinks from the bar were also well-made, and the staff accommodated my request to even food color our drinks to our colors. The only complaint we heard about food was from some older family members about the appetizers during happy hour being "too trendy"- part of that was what I chose, but most of the appetizers tend to be things like even the pizza appetizer is not traditional pizza- rather, it has provolone and pesto sauce. The younger guests enjoyed the appetizers though- they still tasted great!
    The staff was very helpful throughout the whole event- we'd bought tools to have a s'mores roasting in their fire pit, but the tools we bought didn't fit in the pit, so they accommodated us by moving the pit and ensuring we still got to do the s'mores roast! They were flexible about moving things, timing, and whatever was needed. The only time we needed staff and couldn't find any was when the people who'd been shown how to switch from music to microphone forgot how to do the switch, and no staff were around. However, if you have a DJ, or write the instructions down this could easily be prevented! At the end of the night, the staff was efficient and helpful in wrapping the night up.
    I highly suggest this venue. I had an intimate wedding, and it was much better priced and a great value compared to other venues that want to charge the same amount for small wedding as they do large- and charge very high amounts. The food and beverage minimum here is reasonable & the church is beautiful.

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • K

    Kara · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so happy we decided to use this facility and the catering for our reception. From the beginning to the end, it was a fun, easy process. Everything turned out perfectly!

    Sent on 05/21/2012
  • D

    Dave · Married on 08/16/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel like this is the "hidden gem" of the McMenamins wedding venue options. We had our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception here for our wedding and the staff was phenomenal in helping bring our vision to life. We started with Dani who helped us make our initial selections, and then Susan sat down with us for our final meeting and that was when everything finally clicked together for me. Day of, Juliet and the catering team were amazing at coming up with solutions and working creatively within our vision. Our wedding had about 120-130 people and our rehearsal dinner had about 65-70 people and they had no trouble accommodating both sizes.

    Things you need to know:
    - The location is in a Fred Meyer parking lot. This was a plus for us since it meant we could easily pick up anything we needed day of that we didn't think of before. However, if you're looking for an "idyllic" countryside setting or something of that nature - then this will probably not work for you.
    - They don't have fridge space for flowers or your cake so you will need to make other arrangements if that is an issue for you. Our florist took care of the flowers for us, and we were able to use nearby Holiday Inn where some of our guests were staying to store our cake overnight.

    The best thing: the price. You have to meet the food minimum, but that is not too hard to do depending on the size of your wedding. For the price of the food you get McMenamins to set up and take down everything but your decorations. We had the ceremony in the church, dinner in the amphitheater, and dancing back in the church. They reset the church during dinner from ceremony to dance floor set up. You also get their wedding experience at no extra cost.

    I haven't even mentioned how great their food is yet!

    Overall: Great venue, great service, and great food/beer. We loved them and definitely recommend them to anyone that wants to plan a unique wedding!

    Sent on 08/19/2014
  • C

    Christene · Married on 09/15/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The church was gorgeous, the food was really good and we were able to use the outside as well. Even better, it is easy to get to and has lots of parking. Everyone was very pleased with the venue. My only complaint is that because it is used as an entertainment venue as well, we couldn't get in for a rehearsal.

    Sent on 12/09/2012
  • J

    Jenesa · Married on 07/26/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were a few things stipulated in our contract which were not followed through on initially, but we were able to correct the miscommunications. The food was ok, not as good as you would get in the restaurant, but you lose a little quality when you make a plated dinner for a large number of people. Other than that, the appetizers were delicious and the space is gorgeous and elegant.

    Sent on 08/13/2014
  • User4414818 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner here, not out in the church but in their Steamboat room. It was great! The service was good and the food was delicious. We wanted a casual and low key rehearsal dinner so this was perfect! There was no charge for this room and I like that they don't add on gratuity, I always like to tip based on 20% anyways but it's nice that they give that option.

    Sent on 09/21/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/12/2012

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I can't tell you what its like to get married at McMenamin's Old Church Pub. We never made it that far.
    We drove the 90 miles from Eugene to Wilsonville because we were looking for a suitable venue for a Scottish themed wedding. First off I was a little disappointed when we got there. You can't tell by the photos but the church and restaurant are actually in the parking lot of a strip mall. Not exactly the quaint setting I was hoping for.
    However, when we got to go inside I instantly fell in love. The place is absolutely beautiful and it was perfect for our theme.

    Now the downside. Dani, the event coordinator for the location is the worst thing to happen to weddings since drunken uncles.

    First problem:
    She emailed us a copy of our contract to sign and send back to her. The contract was for $1000 more than the agreed up on amount. I emailed her and she corrected the problem, sending us a new contract.

    Second problem:
    My finance called her with our debit card information to pay our deposit. She charged us $250 more than the deposit stated in the contract. When we asked her why they over charged us she blamed it on her assistant.

    We then waited two weeks for the money to be refunded. When it still hadn't arrived in our bank account we called her back. She then informed us she would contact accounting and have the money refunded right away. Apparently she had never put the refund through.

    Third and final straw:
    After having his debit card declined my fiance then called our credit union to find out why. We had a pending $750 charge on our account to McMenamins. Long story longer, she had used our debit card information by mistake to pay for another couple's deposit. Which means our card information was just floating around in the office somewhere?

    After dealing with their accounting department to try to get our money back we attempted to contact Susan, Dani's supervisor. Her form of an apology was to give Dani a talking to about proper handling of customer's card information and to offer us a gift card for "dinner". There was never a specified amount.

    My fiance and I are on quite a budget. Having $750 withdrawn from our checking account less than a week before payday is crippling. Not to mention the complete lack of faith I have that this woman could plan her way out of a paper bag much less plan a wedding. We had also sent out our save the dates which means I get to spend more money sending out cards letting our guests know that plans have changed. Not to mention the embarrassment.
    I can only hope my photographers can be flexible so I don't loose the $500 non-refundable deposit I placed with them.

    But, hey, they offered us dinner, right?

    Sent on 07/13/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review