Mayo's Classic Catering Reviews

15 | Reading, PA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Mayo's Classic Catering

Recommended by 97%

15
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • P

    Patrick · Married on 01/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were in trouble when, at the last minute, our caterer went out of business. Philip Mayo of Mayo's Classic Catering answered our call and with only 3 weeks of preparatory time, served our 210 guests a deliciously beautiful meal and provided tremendous service during our daughters wedding reception. We will be forever grateful to Phil and his staff.

  • E

    Eddy · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In a world where wedding food ranges from edible to "I think there's a McDonald's down the street," Phil Mayo and his catering team are a revelation. Their food was so tasty and their service exemplary.

    My wife and I REALLY wanted to keep our wedding as simple as possible and have food that reflected our tastes. People get married and all of a sudden, it's like, "let's get the weirdest most expensive thing imaginable!" We would have been happy with some Panda Express, sushi and Cuban food from a place down the street. The venue, of course, had other plans as they required us to pick a preferred caterer. I wasn't thrilled at first but that would soon change!

    I reached out to all eight of their options. Four never replied, three got back to me within a couple of days but none of them wanted to make what we wanted (they expect you to pick from their limited options and pay them thousands for the privilege) and the last one was Phil.

    Phil didn't waste any time. He hit me with this killer menu he prepared based on my e-mail. I quickly realized he took the time to craft something special. He was going to give us what we wanted and at a great rate! After 20 minutes on the phone, I knew Phil was our guy. He's passionate about food. He REALLY knows his stuff. He REALLY cares. Most importantly, Phil and his team focus on YOU. When it's your day, everyone else waits.

    With only a six-month planning period, we didn't have time to taste test (we live in a different state) and that was worrying but Phil didn't disappoint. The food was OUTSTANDING. The service was LEGENDARY. Our families were thrilled. Such a nice guy. Such a great team. Phil went above and beyond and we will always be grateful for his service and hungry for his food!

    Phil Mayo and his team made magic for us on our dream day and I have no doubt they can do the same for you!

  • D

    Dee · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mayo's Classic Catering did an exceptional job with our daughter's wedding. The entire staff was so helpful and accommodating. Phil and his staff set up our table centerpieces and other decorations as they placed the linens on the tables. Phil was a pleasure to work with during the planning, he gave us great advise. He took care of so much for us from the rental of the linens and china to taking out the trash. They served the plated meals efficiently, from the first guest served to the last the meals were perfect. All of the Hors D'oeuvres at the cocktail hour tasted amazing. Phil made sure he served the cheeses that the groom specified. I recommend the Mac and Cheese bites and the Mini Crab Cakes. We were very pleased with the plated meal selections we offered our guests. We had Roast Chicken Breasts w/Apricot Glaze, Salmon w/Martini Sauce, and Baked Penne. Our guests gave the following compliments on the meals served: "the Penne was so good", "the salmon was fantastic", "the chicken tasted great", and "the green beans were perfect". The bartender, Brenda, did an excellent job. She even came to our home and met with our daughter and her groom to discuss the bar set up. If you want great service and excellent food served to your guests we highly recommend Mayo's Classic Catering.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED Phil. I had his food at a friend's wedding and knew I had to have it at mine. He was so much fun to plan the menu with and he took his time going over all the options with us. His food is to die for and tastes nothing like the usual wedding food. Our guests said it was the best food they ever had at a wedding and that it was more on caliber with a fine restaurant (we couldn't agree more). His prices are also extemely resonable. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • User4857668 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil made our wedding day magical. He listened to all of my details (and there were many) and made all of my dreams into a reality. After talking to a few food vendors in Reading, I realized that Phil was the ONLY one that could give me the personalization that I wanted and attention to detail. All of our guests said how unique and amazing the food was and they cannot stop raving. It was so fun to see the looks on their faces as they mentioned the little choices or the sauces he chose to use. AHHmazing!
    His food and service was the best that I have ever seen across the whole country. Fran did an amazing job with the bar orchestration as well; everyone absolutely loved the service. Everyone said they could not believe how quickly they were able to get their food and drinks. Phil and his team truly made it the best day ever.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Right off the bat, Phil was a joy to work with. He met us at a local restaurant and passionately talked with us for more than two hours about the very unique desires we had for our seven course wedding feast. He delivered brilliantly, and kept in our budget - something that was vitally important to us. Our guests are still talking about the Cajun catfish!

    Phil also made sure that we were well taken care of. His staff was very attentive and on the ball, and everything moved very smoothly (despite some timing issues with weather and traffic). If you are looking for someone passionate, talented, and unique, I cannot recommend Phil more highly!

  • W

    Warren · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in our home catered by Phil Mayo. We could not have been more pleased with every aspect of his services.
    During the pre-planning, Phil was extremely helpful in guiding us to the right selections for both food and decor. At the event itself, every element was executed perfectly to our expectations, and beyond. The food was excellent, the service impeccable. His staff was friendly and courteous The fee was appropriate for the quality provided.

    I would enthusiastically recommend Mayo's Catering for any function

  • S

    Sara · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil is an excellent chef and he did a great job catering our wedding. His food, staff and presentation absolutely exceeded our expectations. He took the time to get to know us and surprised us with some awesome features that our guests loved! We received many compliments on the food and our food stations were so unique, well planned and beautifully presented! His staff were extremely helpful and they were so pleasant to work with and be around. Brenda did a great job as our bar tender. We highly recommend Phil and his entire team at Mayo's Classic Catering.

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil Mayo was the caterer for our wedding at the GoggleWorks on 10/25/14. I can't say enough about the food. Everything was incredible!! All the guests I talked to couldn't stop raving about how delicious the food was. And the servers were all wonderful and extremely hardworking. At the end of the night they even broke down the tables and chairs which they didn't have to do:) It made cleanup the next day so much less painful. I would recommend Phil to anyone to cater their special event. He is so incredibly talented!

  • T

    Tara · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil Mayo and his team are amazing. I really cannot say enough wonderful things about them. They went above and beyond on our wedding day. They made a personal barn door for my PA Dutch food station, he had a gorgeous, personalized ice sculpture made for me and my husband, the food was made with us in mind, I could go on. Every detail was thought through and quite frankly, amazing. Phil could have probably planned my wedding, he was always thinking of everything. He was very flexible and creative. Like him, his team was kind, thoughtful and efficient. The bartenders were spot on with their recommendations of what to buy, even though my husband bought more (he was afraid of running out of booze) but Fran was very right, we have a ton left! The food was spectacular, it even impressed our picky NYC guests palates.

    I HIGHLY recommend Mayo's classic catering!!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil was great. He gave us exactly what we wanted and more. He was easy to work with and made concessions to our unusual needs. When I had a complete change if heart in my linins after I ordered them he went out if his way to change the order at the last minute. Everyone loved the food and the professionalism of his staff.

  • J

    Jarrod · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil Mayo, owner of Mayo's classic catering, is amazing. He thinks of everything, has so much experience and so much passion for what he does. Phil has been awesome with helping plan not only what our guests will be eating, but also various other details of our special day. By the end of the evening he felt like part of the family especially since he was so sincerely happy for us. He is so family oriented he even has his wife and children on his staff. There is no end to what Phil will do to be as helpful as possible. We found Phil when we first began going to bridal shows a year and a half before our wedding. Since then we've been to too many to count but Mayo's classic catering remained our favorite. We are so glad we were able to book such a wonderful staff of people. I definitely recommend Mayo's for any event, especially weddings.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phil and his staff are the consummate professionals! They made our wedding day more awesome than we ever hoped it could be. We got married in an outdoor ceremony at my parent's home. Phil met with us on numerous occasions and arranged all of our tent, tables, glassware, linens, etc needs. He was like a mini-wedding planner and took care of so many details that we would have never thought of if we had to arrange it on our own. For our food, we wanted something a little outside of the normal wedding fare. When we told Phil about our somewhat unorthodox requests (fried chicken, tacos, and doughnuts), he got just as excited about it as we were! His creativity and suggestions made our wedding so fun and delicious. People are still reaching out to me to tell me that our wedding food was the best they have ever had. Lastly, Phil's staff are incredibly polite, competent and friendly. His wife Carolyn serves as a maitre' d of sorts and made sure that Chris and I had everything we needed through the whole evening. I can't wait to work with Phil and his staff again; now I just need to find a reason to party! Thanks Phil!!

  • S

    Sheryl & John · Married on 10/05/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food was very good. The level of service Phil & his staff provided before & during our reception was exceptional.

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 05/26/2018

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Phil was very easy to work with, and came in at the right moment after our venue lost their caterer and staff. However, we were not thrilled with the differ entrees. They lacked flavor and were not prepared to the correct temperature. My maid of honor was allergic to nuts and her plate came out cold. I’m extremely disappointed with the staff. I went to my venue ahead of time, laid out all of my linens, and folded all of my napkins and put on our napkin rings to save the staff a lot of time. At the end of my wedding I was informed that Phil went to my decorator and told her that he is not going to clean up. I ended up having to stay on the night of my wedding to clean up some trash and petals that were on the floor. He claimed he isn’t contracted to clean up...when he knew from the gate that there was no one else there who would be taking on that responsibility. I hired his staff and was charged a labor fee.... We aren’t talking about anything extreme. Just some things on the floor here and there. He didn’t even have the common decency to have his 15+ staff members spend 5 minutes to clean up when I saved them waaay more time than that by prepping the venue as mentioned earlier. I wish I had more positives to say, but I unfortunately will not be recommending him to friends. The service is what did it for me.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review