24 Reviews for Maui Creative Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
High-Res Images (1)
Albums (1)
Digital Files (1)
Sort by:

5.0

Amazing!!! Matt and Madelynne were both fun to work with. They were able to get my shy personality to open up during our engagement photoshoot and also during my wedding day. I really enjoyed and like the fact that they were able to do solo shots of myself and my now wife during both sessions. They really know how to capture special moments w/ out us being awkward. Both Matt and Madelynne were kind, friendly and professional. I highly recommend Maui Creative Photography to anyone and everyone whether you're getting married or not. The work they do is amazing and they really know how to cater to their clients and work well w/ other vendors as a team. Matt and Madelynne went above and beyond my expections and would definely hire them again for other events.

Profile Picture Lorie, 8/17/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We hired Maui Creative Photography on the recommendation of a close friend for our wedding and we it was one of the best decisions we made for the whole event! Madelynne and Matthew were quick to respond and kept in touch leading up to the big day. When we got to the island, we had an engagement session with them and it was so nice to meet them in person and become more comfortable with them - it made everything on the wedding day feel so much more relaxed. Now that we’ve received the pictures, we are blown away! They captured our day perfectly and it’s hard to choose a favorite picture; their pictures highlight all aspects of the event: the scenery, the emotions, the people and we will treasure them for a lifetime! We highly recommend choosing them for your event – their pictures are incredible and is one of the best investments you could make for your big day!

Profile Picture Sarah, 4/22/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Albums, Digital Files, High-Res Images
This review is currently being verified.
5.0

I love this dynamic duo team! They made our photo sessions fun & engaging, and I can't wait until I see our wedding album! My friend introduced us to this wonderful professional team and I cannot thank them enough. We will definitely request them again in the future. Mahalo! Mary & Lou

Profile Picture Mary, 5/30/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

This review has been long overdue. My wife, Christine, and I got married in Maui on 3/21/2015. Since we live in Los Angeles, we planned everything from LA. Choosing Maui Creative for our photography was the best decision that we made. Matt and Madelynne were extremely responsive from the moment we contacted them. They even offered a pre-wedding session at a location of our choice so that we could get together and get to know each other before the wedding day.
We met Matt and Madelynne at a secluded beach and took some amazing photos. Matt and Madelynne are so adventurous and creative. At one point, the four of us were knee deep in water so that we could capture the best lighting for the photos.
This pre-wedding photo session set the stage for the wedding day. Everyone at the wedding loved Matt and Madelynne. Their creativity and artistic eye is truly one of kind. Even our videographer was using the scenes created by Matt for the wedding video. What's more impressive is that Matt and Madelynne have worked for major magazine companies taking large framed photos. This translated into extraordinary photos of our entire wedding guests (80+ people) with the beautiful beach and sunset as the backdrop.
Overall, we could not have made a better decision with choosing Maui Creative for our wedding photography. Their photos are sharp and clear. Their easy-going and free-spirited personalities are contagious. Most importantly, they made us feel calm and allowed us to enjoy our wedding as they captured all the candid moments beautifully.
You will not be disappointed and thank you so much for your amazing work!

Mahalo,
Howard and Christine

Profile Picture Christine, 3/21/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Maui Creative was fantastic to work with. My husband and I planned our wedding in Maui from Alaska and the entire process was seamless. Matthew & Madelynne were lovely to work with and truly dedicated themselves to our event; I cannot say enough to thank them for helping us capture our special day. They were kind, professional, thorough, and they really helped my husband and I feel comfortable getting our pictures taken. Furthermore, they took the time to get to know us so they could emphasize things that were unique or special to us both. Even more impressive is that they handled a torrential downpour on our wedding day and they stuck by us through all of it- they didn’t give up taking pictures! All of our guests enjoyed having them around as well; M&M really added to our day. They are a great team and I would recommend them at a moment’s notice!

Profile Picture Sarah, 2/14/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Matthew and Maddy were part of our wedding dream team - they were such a key component to how well our wedding went on the day.
It was always easy to contact them via email and from the first meeting we had a year prior to the wedding my husband and I were really excited to work with them on the wedding day.
We had a fun time doing the e-session - the two of them will make you feel like professional models even if you're well aware of how far from the truth that is! We haven't got our wedding photos yet but the sneak peeks we've seen from our e-session and wedding day means we're really looking forward to it.
On the day we barely even noticed them at the ceremony/reception and when it came to taking couple photos the way they give direction was always friendly and clear.
Their photo style suited us because it's not just about the scenery (which being hawaii is amazing) but also about the people in the photo looking comfortable and at their best.
I think we got a good mix of natural photography and a few editorial style shots which I'm happy about.

Profile Picture Angie, 10/1/14, 9 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

y wife and I chose Matthew and Madelynne as our wedding photographers and they were fantastic! They are genuine, friendly and fun! They both have a great energy that is infectious which let us know that we picked the right people right away. The reason we chose them was because their pictures were vibrant and fun without looking staged or overly enhanced. The finished photos we got back from them were beautiful and all our family and friends love them! The engagement session that they include in their wedding package was a great opportunity to get comfortable in front of the camera and we got some shots that were just awesome in Lahaina town. I'd definitely recommend them!

Profile Picture Bryce, 7/17/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

These are the few times in life I wished I have majored in English so I can elegantly and descriptive express my wedding experience through words. One can overuse the word “happy”, “no regrets”, or “best” to describe what they think about their photographer(s). Foremost, I want to start by saying “Thank You” to Matthew and Madelynne for one of the most memorable experience in our lives. We were pleasantly surprise by the number of talented photographers offered in such as small place like Maui. It’s all about style preference. Style, style, style. We chose Maui Creative Photography because we loved how they brought photos to life. Each photo is extremely clear, vibrant, vivid and detailed. They tell a great story. A really popular style choice that has been popping up in the market is the vintage look. Some photographers can take amazing photos with the vintage effect. We wanted our wedding photos to be natural and raw. We wanted the surroundings of Maui pop out in photos. Did Maui Creative Photography achieve this for wedding? I can bet on my life they did. I will let their photos on their website speak for themselves but in a personal level, you will not find a more down to earth couple of photographers to work with than Matthew and Madelynne. Two extremely young and talented photographers who will set a new bar in wedding photography in Maui. From our initial conversation with them, you can tell they have a passion in photography. They are always happy, warming and welcoming to any ideas you may have. Besides their awesome personalities, they are very technical behind the camera. Matthew and Madelynne both have an educational background in photography. From the time they have penciled us in as their client to the Day Of and when we received our photos and album, we always received timely updates, feedback or recommendations. If anyone can appreciate this, they will understand the stress it takes away from planning a wedding if you can completely trust them.

Profile Picture Quoc, 6/27/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Our wedding in Maui was magical and to be honest, we have been enjoying the magical day even after the event. And that's all due to the amazing work Matt and Maddie did for us. Their work is simply absolutely amazing. Every photo was a winner and everyone (even those who are very picky) was extremely impressed!

I am really detail-oriented and we went through at least 30-40 photographer portfolios before we picked out final 2. As soon as we spoke with Matt, his easy going personality won us over right away! Communication was extremely prompt (which was really important since we were planning this from Seattle) and sharing our visions and needs with Matt was really easy.

We signed up for Engagement shoot, a 5-hour Package and an out-of-the world underwater Trash the Dress shoot the day after.

On the day of the Engagement shoot, it started to rain/drizzle. Matt were communicative right from the start of the day (hours before our scheduled meeting) and they spent hours scouting the best location for our shoot (ended up at beautiful Iao Valley). We are not really used professional photography, but they made us feel really comfortable and the whole process was a lot of fun, despite the dribble

On the wedding day, they were efficient and got all the shots we wanted and by partnering, they were able to also get amazing candid shots of our guests as well. They listened to ideas well and are able to add their artistic touches to really make our vision come true (and then some).

For the trash the dress shot, they again went out hours ahead to scout out the best beach/water condition. It was an out of the world experience and the photos show that. They were very careful with our comfort during the shot and made sure we were safe always as we were underwater a lot (wearing the full wedding getup!)

Time limit was never a factor! Their focus is to get us the best shots which we truly appreciated! Simply couldn't ask for better Photographers for our special day!

Profile Picture Alice, 5/24/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

My wife and I were married on Maui in May of 2014. We used Maui Creative Photography and couldn't be happier with our decision. Matthew and Madelynne are two of the most genuine and kind people you could possibly meet. Their enthusiasm for what they do is infectious and we had a blast during our time with them. Always professional and prompt with communication, we were at ease with them throughout the whole process.

We had our e-session a couple days before the wedding in a beautiful secluded location and it was a great way to get to know them and get comfortable in front of the camera. Such a great idea! On the day of the wedding, it was like meeting up with two longtime friends. Their creativity and eye for the perfect shot was on display from the beginning as we effortlessly moved from one jaw-dropping location to the next. They were always open and excited about any ideas we might have had as well. During the wedding and reception they seamlessly blended into the background and you wouldn't even know they were there. We have so many amazing photos it's going to be hard to pick our favorites! Everything arrived super fast and packaged in a very cool and thoughtful manner as well.

If you are like me and have spent countless hours reading reviews and researching photographers for one of the biggest days of your life... stop the search. You've found them!

Profile Picture Jason, 5/13/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

My wife and I did a lot of research into photographers in Maui most of whom had a longer history than Maui Creative Photography. Despite this, we decided to go with Maui Creative because of some of the recent glowing reviews, and it was one of the best decisions we made.

Within minutes of meeting them for our engagement photo shoot, we were blown away by their professionalism and enthusiasm. When they realized we were comfortable with getting wet, Matt proposed we do a series of gentle splash shots. That, along with Matt’s supernatural ability to read incoming waves, resulted in the shot of our lives, and something we’ll treasure forever. After that shot, they continued to shoot until dark, well beyond the amount time we were promised. We realized pretty quickly that Matthew and Madelynne weren’t just paycheque photographers and it wouldn’t be the last time they showed up early and stayed late on.

On the day of the wedding, true to form, they showed up 30 minutes ahead of schedule to scout out our wedding day prep location. At the end of our wedding day with the ceremony finished, they enthusiastically stayed with us shooting until we ran out of light. These guys were truly great, and I couldn’t have imagined anyone else been our photographers for our wedding.

Profile Picture Justin / Winnie, 5/8/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I agree 110% with my husband, Justin’s comments and feel so much gratitude towards Matthew and Madelynne for making our wedding week (both e-photo session and wedding day) so special that I am delighted to add my own glowing review. This duo deserves double the recognition!

Not only are they amazingly talented and creative photographers, but they are genuinely sweet and considerate human beings that radiate so much positive energy and enthusiasm that our photo sessions felt more like fun adventures with our friends, full of laughter, climbing lava rocks and getting splashed by waves! It was evident from the initial emails, phone calls and especially, during the photo shoots to the final delivery that they put all of their heart (and bodies!) into their work.

Our family and friends were equally blown away by the awe-inspiring and unique shots and pleased that they were able to capture our personalities and the story of our wedding day. We were so excited when we first opened the final package to find a very cute and unique wooden keep sake box with a personalized engraving and a wooden USB stick along with our slideshow.

Everything was just perfect. In fact, we are so happy with the whole experience that my husband and I have talked about how wonderful it would be to book them for our 10 year vow renewal in Maui! Sending lots of aloha and gratitude to Matt and Maddy!

Profile Picture Winnie / Justin, 5/8/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We couldn't have asked for better photographers for our wedding than Matthew & Madelynne from Maui Creative Photography. They truly listened to what we wanted from our photos but they also anticipated things that we either thought we didn't want/hadn't thought of so that the end result are unbeatable photos and wonderful visual memories of our wedding.

It was close to a year between when we booked them and the wedding date and, as we weren't local, we corresponded a lot by email and by phone when I wanted. They were always exceptionally responsive.

As you would expect, they are not only excellent photographers but also very creative (not your stock standard typical wedding poses/shots). At the wedding they were really unobtrusive/not "in our faces" but when we wanted particular photos they were always on hand. Loved the composition, color and details that they managed to capture in our photos. We are thrilled with our photos.

I cannot recommend Maui Creative Photography enough.

Profile Picture C, 4/19/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Matt and Maddy of Maui Creative photographed our wedding day for us and I have to say I could not have asked for more amazing photographers to capture our special day! I don't have to say much with regards to their photography as their work clearly speaks for itself. Their photos are crisp, clean, creative, artistic, emotional, and natural. And I haven't seen too many photographers that can take the kind of amazing beach photos the way they do. The lighting and colors from sunsets are spot on, and show a technical skill that even in Maui few photographers really achieve. The icing on the cake is that the two of them are genuinely sweet and fun. And on your wedding day when you're spending 8+ hours with your photographers it's great to be surrounded by such good people! I'd absolutely recommend them to anyone looking for a photographer in Maui. They truly made me feel like the most beautiful bride and captured our most important memories in a way that I only dreamed of.

Profile Picture Eric, 3/29/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I cannot say enough good things about Matthew and Madelynne. They are excellent photographers. We had an engagement session with them to get comfortable in front of the camera. When we arrived at the location they were already there and had already walked around and scouted locations they wanted to use. They were amazing during the session. They provided direction which we definitely needed. They had us climbing up lava rock and into pools, it was awesome and they were right there with us doing anything they needed to do to get the shot. They were so excited about everything and worked as a great team together and were really able to get us relaxed. One the wedding day they were even more amazing. While we were getting ready I hardly even knew they were there, they just seamless moved around all the chaos and got beautiful shots. They got so many lovely photos they really have an eye for beautiful moments! They work very hard to capture these moments and are awesome and so fun to work with.

Profile Picture Shannon, 3/22/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We were extremely pleased with Matthew & Madelynne! I could tell with my first correspondence with Matthew, they were professional and prompt in getting back to me. They answered all my questions quickly and were so detail oriented. They were friendly and smiled and I could see they genuinely cared about making sure to capture all of our special day. All of our friends and family keep complimenting on how wonderful our photos are. I, myself, have looked through them all about 12 times :)
Thank you Matt & Maddy!

Profile Picture Lora, 1/20/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I've never been to Maui so when my hubby decided that Maui would be the destination of choice, I was quite happy to get married on a beach with beautiful palm trees and gorgeous sunsets.

I found Maui Creative on theknot.com after reading some great reviews and visiting their website to check out their portfolio. Their spoken style and photos on their website attracted me to them right away. I felt really comfortable even before speaking to Matthew and Madelynne and even more so when we had our skype session to go over the entire process.

When we met during our e-session, we were totally amazed with the location they picked out for us and had a great time interacting with these two amazing photographers. They absolutely compliment each other in all they do from the beginning to end.

We were so impressed with them we invited them to our wedding and they helped us capture additional moments during our reception.

I've since shared my photos to my friends and family from all over the world and everyone was impressed by their photography.

I don't think you'll find two amazing combinations like this for wedding photography anywhere else.

Profile Picture Mei, 1/18/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

These two are absolutely incredible! We loved their fun presence, their exceptional service and our beautiful photos!
From our initial communication, we were impressed. Instead of a generic “here is what we offer and our price list” response, they sent us a personalized email, commenting on where we were from, how much we will enjoy Maui and other pertinent details of their service. Of course a personalized email is by no means expected from businesses when inquiring about services, but we thought that was just a really nice touch. They were always prompt and professional with communications and were happy to answer any questions. We were offered an engagement photo session with them in order to get to know them before the big day – what a great idea! It was so nice to meet them before the wedding, start feeling comfortable in front of a camera, and discuss preferences for photo ops, etc. The day of the wedding they arrived early and went right to work. They were not afraid to politely round up guests for group photos. We felt so calm and relaxed having them there the day of our wedding. They were so positive and made us feel comfortable in front of the camera. They were professional and friendly, and of course are incredibly talented.
Our package of photos was sent to us in a VERY timely fashion. We were surprised with how quickly we received our photos. The package was beautifully presented and the photos were beyond spectacular! They blew us away! They really captured the right moments and our feelings that day, and of course, capturing feelings means the difference between good photographers, and exceptional ones. They truly are EXCEPTIONAL! Even if our photos turned out less than spectacular (which they didn’t – they were INCREDIBLE), it was just such a joy to have them photograph our wedding because they have such a warm presence. We are ever grateful that they were a part of our wedding day and that we have such beautiful photos to look back on. Thank you!

Profile Picture User3813995, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

PHOTOGRAPHER –MAUI CREATIVE PHOTOGRAPHY
We did a lot of googling on our hunt for solid photographers. We’d look at the photos and then check out their prices. Generally, there was a $$$$$/ quality relationship that wasn’t favoring us! That was until we found Madelynne and Matt at Maui Creative!!! We LOVED working with them- easy to work with, great prices and beautiful work! Just cool- with a definite style.

A bonus—we got an hour session of photos so that we could get to know each other when we arrived on island. Now we have a whole album of photos taken a week before our wedding day. It was such a fun experience.

Profile Picture Melissa, 8/16/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Matthew and Madelynne,

Words cannot express the gratitude we have to both of you for capturing our wedding day in all its beauty, excitement, joy, love, and even a few tears. Thank you just doesn't seem like enough for providing us with these memories that will last us a lifetime. Going through the pictures really has taken us back to that day and helped us to relive all of those emotions and remember what an amazing day it was. We were so lucky. It's going to be very hard to pick our favourites, but our house really doesn't have that much wall space! So some choosing will be required!

From the bottom of our hearts, thank you. It was so wonderful to have met you and really we never could have imagined that we would have turned out with such an amazing portfolio of pictures that really does tell the story of the entire day.

All our best wishes for the future and we will definitely let you know the next time we are in Maui!

Krista and Dan

Profile Picture Krista, 8/13/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.6

Let me just start off by saying I absolutely hate taking pictures! But of course with this being my wedding day, I knew that they were a must. Madelynne and Matt accompanied us out on a catamaran for our wedding and reception (for much longer than they had planned on I am sure!) and they were just so wonderful to work with that I almost forgot they were there. I told them that I wasn't a huge fan of "staged" photos and they got so many impromptu shots that were just incredible! There was some miscommunication with the decorator, but you would have never known it by the pictures.

We have some of the most beautiful pictures of our wedding day than I could have ever imagined. They are so captivating that they almost look unreal! Matt even jumped in the water to take some incredible shots of my husband and myself from the ocean view.

I will never be able to thank them for the memories they captured for us. They are both so professional and personable, you almost feel like you have known them forever. We will always remember you fondly when we think of our wedding day.

Profile Picture Elaine, 4/20/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Maui Creative Photography-Matthew and Madelynne
I loved these two!!! This couple is so much fun and were so great at my wedding. My original photographer had to cancel a month before my wedding (Julian Allen due to some health issues) and I immediately went on the search and thanks to wedding boards I found them. Included in our package was a portrait session a few days before the wedding. It was such a great way to meet them and get to know them and for them to get to know us. It’s also a great way to break the photography ice and get comfortable with people taking your picture. They picked a really fun location in Olowalu and had us climbing trees and wading in the water…it was a great time! I haven’t received all the pics yet, but I have seen some sneak previews of our portrait session and wedding on their blog. If you scroll down you can see our two entries under Dave & Kate: http://blog.mauicreativephotography.com
I think the pictures are amazing and they were such fun to have around. It’s also great to have Madelynne be able to be with the girls and Matt with the guys before the wedding. They also have extremely reasonable prices relative to Maui standards.

Profile Picture Kate, 3/1/13, 9 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Matthew and Maddy were professional, on time, and put me and my bride at ease. They are lovely people and they have done every wedding in my family since mine! They will be photographing my brothers wedding next summer!

Profile Picture Ian, 3/24/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I could sing their praise all day! Maui Creative Photography is amazing! Both Matthew and Madelynne are exceptionally talented photographers. They share a similar style that is professional, clean, crisp, natural, artistic, and awe-inspiring. My husband and I were more than thrilled when Maui Creative Photography agreed to shoot our wedding. They did an outstanding job and helped make our day both special and fun. I think it's unusual to have multiple guests from your party comment on how great the photographers are! Since our wedding, we've used them again (now that we are pregnant) for our maternity shoot, and of course they have exceeded our expectations and we are so happy with their work! Plus two other family members have each used Maui Creative Photography for their weddings and one of my Bridesmaids used them for her engagement shoot while they were on island. EVERYONE raves about them :)

They are so easy to work with. They took continuous shots of the entire day, without getting in our way. They carried calming and positive energy. It was obvious they were having fun doing their job, which helped us to relax as they were behind the camera. Before even seeing their images, we had multiple guests compliment the wonderful job Matthew and Madelynne did. We were able to laugh, have fun, and be ourselves.

They took incredible snapshots of our day in an artistic and professional photo journalistic style. Their beautiful images both told the story of our day and captured the authentic and raw emotions we shared.

Finally, we received our edited images much faster than we anticipated. They even sent us a digital copy of one of the best photos the day after the wedding.
I highly recommend Maui Creative Photography for any photo needs! I truly believe they are one of the best teams of photographers on the island. There isn't a single disappointment I've had with their work. We had so much fun sharing our most intimate wedding moments with them and absolu

Profile Picture Liz , 3/24/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography