Matthew J. Wagner Fine Photography Reviews

5 | Simsbury, CT
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for Matthew J. Wagner Fine Photography

Recommended by 84% of couples

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

5
Sort by:
  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome pics. We look so much more attractive in these than we do in real life. And hey since life is short and photographs are long, that's what matters.

    He's outgo to guy for family portraits/ business portraits too.

    Highly recommend. Worth every penny.

    Sent on 04/25/2015
  • A

    Ana · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved them! Totally made me feel so comfortable in front of the camera! I would suggest doing an engagement session. Put my nerves at ease!

    Sent on 06/19/2012
  • X

    Holly · Married on 09/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matthew was a joy to work with and certainly has one of the best eyes for a shot in the Hartford area. His prices are competitive with other are photographers, but his quality of work generally exceeds them.

    Sent on 01/26/2010
  • User2503978 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matthew and his team were amazing! Where most photographers would have gotten very frustrated very quickly with my large and crazy family, Matthew was kind, patient, resourceful, and professional. His pictures were amazing and we could not have been happier with his level of professionalism and courtesy.

    Sent on 06/25/2012
  • User6587898 · 2+ years ago

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    When picking a wedding photographer people more often then not go by recommendations, but if someone recommends Matthew Wagner of Simsbury, CT I suggest you move on.

    The transaction with my wife and my mother-in-law began like most with a simple review of past weddings he had done. He put them in a dimly lit room and gave them wine as they flipped through the books. After indicating that if they signed with him now he would include engagement photos, they went for it. The cost at this point was: $3,250.

    Next, we did the engagement shoot and a couple weeks after it agreed to come in for a review session. It was at this review session we began to see how greedy Matthew was. Again, he put us in a dimly lit room and proceeded to turn on his projector. The projector flashed images of us as classical music played in the background. He talked about the photos as if they were some masterpiece and not just photos but art. Before asking if we wanted to purchase the photos he started inquiring what our apartment was like and how it was laid out. We were totally confused but played along to be polite. An hour later we had finished a tiring exercise of assembling framed photos in a virtual house.

    At this point, I was on to his game. "So Matthew what are the costs for these framed photos?" I asked. The response consisted of a photo book that was over a grand, and a framed set of four small photos at over $400. We spent almost $2000 by the end of the review session on prints and the photo book. While we were getting the photos, I asked Matthew how much image rights would cost us after the wedding and if that was an option. He told me that it would cost $1,495 to purchase all of the photo rights, and that would include all of the engagement photos as well. He did mention that if we spent up to $9000 with him we could get them "free of cost. "

    He ended up renegging on the 1,495 and charging us 3k for the rights.

    Sent on 04/12/2016