Skip to main content
Weddings

Matt McClosky Photography Reviews

Matt McClosky Photography

Matt McClosky Photography

Amsterdam, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 83 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
83 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

83
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

104 User photos

  • Sarah
    Sarah B. Sent on 11/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!

    Matt & Ruth were absolutely amazing! They made the entire day so easy and fun while still capturing our wedding day beautifully. They were professional but also easy going and allowed for plenty of candid moments. All communication with them was incredibly easy and responsive. My husband and I cannot recommend them enough!!
  • Nicole
    Nicole D. Sent on 11/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Matt & Ruth are amazing! We loved working with them!

    Words can’t describe how great it was to work with Matt and Ruth! They were so amazing every step of the way. Matt was always available to answer any question we had before the wedding and very helpful! Day of, Matt and Ruth were on top of everything and captured every special moment! Would recommend to any couple looking for some amazing photographers on their wedding day!

    Matt McClosky Photography's reply:

    Thank you for having us Nicole & Nate!
    We can't wait to see what photos you chose for your album :)
  • Amy
    Amy Sent on 11/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Clendaniel’s 9.24.23

    Matt and his wife were absolutely amazing on our wedding day. We knew them from my sisters’ wedding and we just knew they were going to be our number 1 pick for photographers. They go above and beyond and even brought props to make our wedding photos personable, i.e. a soccer ball since my husband and I both love soccer. Matt does not make you feel awkward at all if you aren’t used to having your picture professionally done and makes the whole experience easy and fun. You can’t go wrong with Matt and his wife. Having a team is better than just one photographer, you get the best candid photos everywhere!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • E
    Elizabeth C. Sent on 11/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photos capture amazing memories

    My wedding pictures turned out amazing. Matt and his team captured our personalities and magnified the pure joy of our special day. Getting all the traditional pictures as well as the creative candids lets us relive the day over and over, as well as see things we may have missed.

    I can’t recommend McClosky enough…price, professionalism and quality on your wedding day will let memories live on forever. Thank you!!!

    Matt McClosky Photography's reply:

    Thank you Liz!
    We absolutely loved being there for you and George on your monumental day
  • N
    Natalia Sent on 12/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect picture with and amazing eye

    Matt and Ruth captured our special day perfectly. We right recommend their work
  • Julia
    Julia D. Sent on 10/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience

    Matt and Ruth were very professional and accommodating to our requests for our engagement session and wedding day. We aren't typically comfortable in front of a camera so they did a great job guiding us and the photos came out great!

    Matt McClosky Photography's reply:

    An absolute pleasure and honor!
    Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for trusting us to document your special day.
    Ruth & Matt McClosky
  • V
    Valerie T. Sent on 01/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!

    We cannot recommend Matt and Ruth enough. They were an absolute pleasure to work with, and their photos are amazing. Matt took the time to speak with us before our big day to walk us through the package details. We also had them shoot our engagement session which came out perfectly! Both our wedding day and engagement photos will be treasured forever! We cannot thank Matt and Ruth enough!

    -Kevin & Valerie Talbot
  • Y
    Yolanda R. Sent on 10/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Surprise Engagement Photoshoot

    First things first, Matt’s photos are simply amazing. Next up, having Ruth there to help us with posing and positioning was just the cherry on top. Both were incredibly helpful and intent on helping us create a lasting memory and we can’t wait to work with them again for our wedding!!!!
  • D
    Deerfox A. Sent on 01/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply superb.

    From the first photo to the last (and more than 800 in between) Matt and his wife/assistant Ruth were everything we wanted/hoped for in a wedding photographer. Having previously worked with them for our engagement photos made us even more at ease and comfortable. Not sure about you, but I’ve never had so many pictures taken of me; a model I am not, however Matt & Ruth made us feel like stars!
  • J
    Jean N. Sent on 12/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Matt and Ruth nailed it!

    Ruth and Matt absolutely nailed it with our wedding. We couldn't ask for more. They are the absolute best :)
  • C
    Cassidy C. Sent on 01/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A fantastic photographer duo!!!

    Working with Matt and Ruth was one of our favorite parts of our big day! Their communication leading up to the day was always conducted in a timely manner and Matt was incredibly reassuring and helpful with figuring out the small details regarding our timeline. The photography package we had is unmatched when it comes to pricing in the Albany, NY area, and the quality of our photos was more than what we expected. To top it all off, we received our ENTIRE wedding album back less than two weeks after the wedding!! Thank you, Matt and Ruth, for being an integral part of our special day!
  • E
    Emily G. Sent on 11/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing, we made the right decision hiring them for our engagement shoot/wedding!

    My husband and I could not be more happy that we hired Matt and Ruth to be our wedding photographers! We had a big bridal party and they helped the group photos go by smoothly and quickly so we could get to our reception. We felt so comfortable and they helped keep us calm in all the chaos that comes along with the day. They are so responsive and easy to work with, I highly recommend choosing them for any special occasion you have!
  • A
    Ashley M. Sent on 11/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Matt and Ruth are the best photography duo!

    We had such a great time working with Matt McClosky Photography for our engagement photos. As soon as we hopped on the phone with Matt, we knew he was our guy. He made the scheduling process so seamless, which is truly a godsend amidst wedding planning. Matt and Ruth are an incredible team when it comes to capturing photos that we'll cherish forever. This was our first time getting professional photos together, and they made us feel so comfortable. It was actually quite fun. In the end, the photos were beyond our expectations (and we knew they would be good). We're so excited to work with them again next year for our wedding day!
  • K
    Kayla V. Sent on 01/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10-02-22 wedding!

    Stunning photos, fast turn around time, super friendly and professional. They were such a fun time goofing with the family and getting everyone comfortable for photos but disappearing into the background while doing candids. Love Matt and Ruth they were fantastic.
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 12/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Matt and Ruth are an amazing team!

    We had so much fun working with them for our engagement and wedding photos. They are very down to earth and easy to work with and professional. Very helpful / flexible with scheduling everything and helped make the day flow smoothly. Matt was very responsive when we had any questions. Our pictures turned out incredible!
  • Matthew
    Matthew L. Sent on 10/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Photos & Wonderful to Work With

    Matt and Ruth are fantastic! They were so patient and flexible and easy to work with. They did a great job working with us and helped us with little details. I can't thank them enough for everything they've done.
  • R
    Rachel R. Sent on 02/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very pleased

    Matt and Ruth were absolutely fantastic! They made everything so easy and comfortable. We really didn't have a specific vision for photos but they figured it out. Our engagement session and wedding photos were out of this world. One of our biggest requests was to have pictures of our fur baby at our big day, and they got some awesome shots of him that everyone still raves about. We have so many memories captured from our perfect day to look back on and enjoy! Thank you again!!!
  • B
    Bridget Sent on 11/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Engagement Photo Session!

    Had a great time in our engagement photo session and the photos came out looking fantastic!
  • L
    Lauren M. Sent on 08/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Photographers!

    Matt and Ruth were the perfect duo to capture our wedding. They shot our engagement photos, our civil ceremony, and our wedding day! They were both very flexible and accommodating and listened to our vision of what we were looking for. We interviewed a lot of photographers and felt they were the most professional and reasonably priced. Matt made me laugh throughout the night; he has a great sense of humor. Our guests also commented at how personable they were on the day! We are so happy they were available for the days we needed them!! Included in our wedding package are wedding thank you post cards and a wedding album, which is outstanding. We can't thank Matt and Ruth enough for their services!! We hope to use them for a maternity shoot in the future! :)
  • K
    Kristin K. Sent on 01/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best photographers!

    Matt and Ruth documented our special day perfectly.
    We absolutely love our photos and our wedding album is simply gorgeous. Our families are still talking about how great they were.
  • Mallory
    Mallory F. Sent on 07/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding photographer EVER

    Matt was recommended to us by our venue and we are SO glad they did! We had our initial zoom meeting with Matt about 18 months before our wedding and from that first interaction we could feel his commitment to our wedding photos. Over the course of planning he was very communicative, responded promptly to all my questions, and constantly put me at bridal ease. On the day of our wedding, Matt & Ruth completely blew us away from the moment we arrived at the venue. They were never pushy or intrusive but became part of the celebration.
    We received our photos promptly after our wedding and I was left speechless, viewing hundreds of photos over and over again. Every photo captured was more that I could have dreamt them to be. I will recommend Matt & Ruth to anybody getting married in the capital region as my experience with them was incredible and our photos will give us a lifetime of memories. Thank you for being part of our day!
  • R
    Rob B. Sent on 06/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection

    We chose Matt and Ruth to photograph our wedding. They did such an amazing job capturing every little detail we had asked of them. Their professionalism, experience, and attention to detail really showed through on one of our most important days in our lives. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!
  • S
    Stephanie R. Sent on 07/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Memories

    Matt was absolutely wonderful to work with, he truly captured the happiness of our wedding and made my husband and I feel so comfortable in front of the camera and did a excellent job of making us laugh to get natural smiles. Leading up to the wedding, he was easily available to discuss the timeline of the day and help with any questions. He captured so many great moments of our day that I am so happy to have. We loved that his package included Thank you notes and an album. Matt was also incredibly flexible and was able to stay for a additional hour making it so we got some great shots of everyone dancing! We were so happy to have the photo gallery ready a month after our wedding, being able to relive the day so quickly was amazing. We loved having Matt as our Photographer and will be recommending to all family and friends!
  • M
    Maria F. Sent on 12/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent and Professional

    Matt and Ruth were amazing to work with! They were accommodating, flexible and attentive to detail. Our photographs came out beautiful!
  • B
    Brian L. Sent on 12/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply The Best!

    Matt and Ruth McClosky are simply the best! McClosky Photography where the premier photographers for mine and my wife's wedding a few weeks ago. Aside from being extremely talented, both are spectacular people and so much fun. They were our go-to photographers for our wedding engagement and then again, for our special day. We CANNOT wait to see our final photos; but if they are anything like our engagement photos, we have no doubt we will be blown away by them!

    Matt and Ruth, thank you both from the bottom of our hearts for being part of our special day!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message