Weddings

Matt Loter - Justice of the Peace Reviews

Matt Loter - Justice of the Peace

Matt Loter - Justice of the Peace

East Haven, CT
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 28 Reviews
View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
Sort by:
  • Jessica
    Jessica N. Married on 05/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing officiant

    Matt was amazing! I cannot even begin to say how great he was at our ceremony. He was exactly what we wanted and would highly recommend him. He is awesome, funny, flexible, and open to any suggestions. HIRE HIM!!!
  • C
    Christina Married on 02/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Saved the day!

    Matt was great - responsive, easy to work with, and accommodating. He helped us pull together a very last minute wedding!
  • T
    Thea Married on 05/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was great. We ended up writing our whole ceremony, so we didn't use him for that part, but he was supportive and enthusiastic, gave us great feedback, and the best compliment we got was that several guests didn't realize he was a for-hire officiant- they thought he was a friend of ours. He was professional and has a great voice, and was warm and personable.
  • User2213071 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was absolutely amazing - we were having a destination wedding and he was able to ensure we had a legal wedding in the USA without feeling like we had a wedding - this kept our destination wedding still feeling very special for us. Absolutely amazing with response times, flexibility and ensuring you're getting the type of ceremony or service that you want! HAve already recommended him to others and will continue to do so!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the day we met with Matt, he was very professional, funny and we knew he was exactly what we were looking for. We met him for drinks, he got to know us and took notes, then a couple months later we e-mailed him some random details about ourselves and our life together. Then he showed up at our wedding and spoke about us like we had been friends forever. It was the most beautiful ceremony and everything we had hoped for and more. Our guests laughed, shed tears, and even told us that it seemed like he knew us forever. That was the goal, and Matt succeeded!
  • User2195600 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was great to work with! He is very professional, yet easy going. He gave us exactly the ceremony we wanted. I would highly recommend!
  • E
    Ed Married on 06/13/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt married our sorry asses in 2015. Here we are, three years later, and we're still happily married. He made the occasion special, treating it with all due respect but just a touch of irreverence. Great sense of humor and joi de vivre. Highly recommend.
  • User2178983 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just got married yesterday and Matt was very laid back and easy to get along with he made the process so natural
  • User2207899 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was such a pleasure to work with. He is very flexible and truly wants the day to be however you want it. Similar to other reviews he has, everyone thought he was a long time friend of ours - he's just that warm and personable!
  • J
    James Married on 04/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt is one of those rare professionals who not only loves what he does but is actually very good at it. We connected with him through his website and he immediately returned the call while he was in FL.
    We challenged him with a very short timeline in which to work and he accommodated us with great ease. Our ceremony was held in our home and although it was just the three of us - plus a wonderful friend - the love and energy of the moment was more than we ever expected.
    The man is pure charm and grace. No doubt he can deliver whatever is needed.
  • T
    Tracy Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He was absolutely amazing! Very easy to work with. He listened to our requests and wrote us a very beautiful sermon.
  • User1844729 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My now husband and I were very apprehensive about finding someone for our very non-traditional ceremony - just me, my husband, and Matt! Matt was excellent - he made us feel very comfortable and we loved the simple and sweet vows. We will most definitely have Matt host our vow renewal in the future, great guy!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was easy to work with and put my husband and I at ease from the moment we met him. We really felt like he understood exactly what we wanted and worked with us to give us the wedding ceremony of our dreams. He was up for anything and had just the right vibe for our casual beach wedding and we couldn't have been more pleased.
  • User1621769 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Perfect is the best word we can use to describe Matt. He is one of the nicest people we have ever met and he is great at what he does. He was so helpful and understanding of what we wanted to do for our ceremony and helped make it perfect! He made us so comfortable and it was as if we have known him for years. He is the best officiant we could have ever asked for and we HIGHLY recommend him!
  • User1502340 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was great to work with! We actually had a unique situation where we planned to have a friend officiate the ceremony but learned later that Ct is unlike other states where u can just go online and be certified. In CT you can only be legally married by a JP or judge. So we searched for a JP that would agree to let someone else officiate and then do the legal
    stuff in the background. We met with a few before Matt. Even though they werent doing the actual ceremony, we just didnt get good vibes from any we met with before meeting with Matt. Matt was very refreshing to deal with - no set price or ridiculous contract unless you wanted one. He provided a range for money and you chose what you thought was fair. He helped my friend Ryan who did the officiating with ideas, etc. he was very responsive via email and just down to earth.
  • N
    Null Married on 12/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I traveled to New Haven CT from Miami, Florida to marry my partner in the home of friends and found Matts site to officiate, after several correspondences with Matt to ensure my craziness in organization would go right. Matt far exceeded my expectations, He was helpful from the beginning and friendly and turned what was to be a very simple ceremony into one that was more heartfelt and special to my partner and I than I had imagined. After the ceremony Matt stayed a little while and joined into the celebration with a toast and well wishes and conversation. Matt is a people person and Is so fitted to what he does and enjoys in being a Justice of the Peace. Cant thank him enough
  • R
    Robin Married on 10/13/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was wonderful to work with. We were really struggling with what to do for our ceremony and Matt was very helpful in giving us ideas. The day of our wedding he was on time and very professional. I love how organized he was by having our vows on his iPad! He was very down to earth and overall just fun to work with. He really helped make our ceremony fun and unique.
  • User1418541 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was absolutely phenomenal at our wedding. Guests raved about our ceremony and many said it was the most beautiful they had ever seen. Matt did a great job keeping the ceremony very personal and intimate - so much so that guests thought we had known him for years! We can't thank him enough for making our day so much more special!

    Matt is so great to work with, and passionate about what he does. We highly recommend him to anyone looking for a wedding officiant!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 06/22/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was a great Justice of the Peace! We relocated to California and handled all of the organization & planning via phone - and Matt couldn't have been more accommodating and easy to work with. He really listened to what we wanted for the ceremony, and turned our feedback into a memorable ceremony that was exactly what we wanted for. What's even better - he's just a really nice guy, which made it so easy to be comfortable with him in such a private moment! Would HIGHLY recommend Matt for anyone in the area who needs a JP!
  • littlewed13
    Shannon Married on 06/01/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was great! He was responsive and flexible and he basically charges whatever you're comfortable paying. He was extremely professional and even helped us figure out a few last-second details right before the ceremony. He did a wonderful job with the ceremony and we were very happy!
  • User1193708 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We came across Matt on the CT JP website when looking for an officiant. We met with him about 1 year prior to the wedding and he was great. Email communication throughout the planning time was prompt. He was very professional and let us make the ceremony our own and gave recommendations for readings. We only met once prior to the wedding and multiple guests came up to us during the reception and asked if we were friends with or knew Matt personally prior to the wedding due to how great the ceremony was and how personal everything felt. I would recommend Matt wholeheartedly to anyone who wants a personalized, secular wedding/marriage/union ceremony.
  • Ludivine
    Ludivine Married on 08/18/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was amazing. He was super flexible with everything and so easy going. We would not have it any other way. Thank you!
  • Kim
    Kim Married on 07/13/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt is one cool dude! Easy to work with and has a wonderful presence! We would definately recommend him to anyone getting married.
  • Z
    Zach Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt was very professional and our ceremony was exactly how we pictured it. He is very accommodating and specific to your requests. We definitely recommend Matt!