Weddings

Mathy Shoots People Reviews

Mathy Shoots People

Mathy Shoots People

Herndon, VA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 71 Reviews
View more information

71 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 71
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

22 User photos

Sort by:
  • Laura
    Laura Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing and fun photographers

    I actually have already recommended Matt and Kathy to a friend who hired them for a wedding 1 month after ours! The pictures speak for themselves, but Matt and Kathy are also incredibly fun and easygoing people. We were typical in not really being into pictures being taken, but we did the engagement shoot to get comfortable at their suggestion and it ended up being great. They were super flexible to what we didn't want (no getting ready shots for the dudes) and generally were able to capture an amazing party. They were definitely a highlight of the wedding experience! Plus best value by far!
  • A
    Ari B. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Easy and fun to work with! Captured amazing moments.

    Mathy, from initial interaction, was a great team to work with. Easy going and not snobby like others we interviewed. Engagement session was a great ice breaker... and we took them to new places in DC. Enough coaching to get a great, natural shot, but not at all overly "pose-y."
    At the ceremony they blended into the crowd, and their personalities are such that our guests wanted to be in their shot. They were experienced with Josephine Butler Parks Center and Meridian Hill Park, and knew exactly how to capture it well. Our first look pics were at the park and they directed a rather nervous moment of the day so well.
    Our teaser set of pics, delivered a few weeks later, was a great first batch. The final batch was delivered 8ish weeks later, after discarding and correcting pics before sending. Very pleased with the result. We had a lot of bright colors from bouquets and flower arrangements, as well as centerpieces, and they popped quite nicely in their work.
    Bonus points for spotting us a few bucks mid-session to get a freshly cracked coconut in the park.
    We highly recommend them... fun, professional, and what better team to shoot a wedding than a husband and wife team?!?!
    THANK YOU MATHY!
  • Mary
    Mary B. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great, personable couple for wedding photo experience!

    Loved working with Mathy! From the beginning, they really worked with us to understand our personalities and the energy we wanted captured in our engagement photos. They even braved the DC Cherry Blossom crazy weekend at peak blossom to make sure we got some gorgeous photos. I wish we could have taken photos all day long with them as the engagement session was phenomenal. From there, it was wonderful to have them as part of our wedding day. They were so attentive and captured wonderful images of our best moments. We were so happy to work with Mathy - and they even got our teaser photos back to us in less than 2 weeks :)
  • J
    Jess Married on 06/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't be happier with Mathy as our photographers! Not only were they phenomenal in their easy-going approach and sense of humor throughout the process - their technical skill and creativity were outstanding!!! Our photos made everyone look their best and they really captured the essence of our big day, without making things too planned or awkwardly posed.

    What made our experience even better was the fact that Mathy went out of their way to truly get to know us prior to our wedding day. Even prior to the complimentary Engagement Shoot, we had a meet-and-greet to know exactly what we were looking for in our wedding photos. Mathy wants to know your personality and preferences first, so they can tailor the shoot accordingly.

    Rarely do you meet a couple of photographers that you would consider inviting to your wedding even if they weren't your photographers - Matt and Kathy were exactly that! Great to work with and worth every penny!!! We cannot possibly over-hype these guys!!!
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 06/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome to work with

    Mathy made shooting photos fun and really brought out the best in us on our special day and you can see that in the photos.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun/easy to work with and beautiful photos!

    An awesome husband and wife team! Mathy shot two of our friends' weddings so we knew how wonderful/fun they were to work with and how great their photos are! They shot our engagement photos in Silver Spring, MD and our wedding day on the Eastern Shore of MD, and everything turned out so beautiful. I was worried about feeling/looking awkward for all the kissy shots during our engagement shoot and that only lasted about 2 minutes because Mathy made us feel so comfortable just being ourselves. Our photos turned out perfect. They even agreed to a chilly mid-December outdoor shoot at the ice skating rink where I taught skating lessons before the rink opened in the morning, and then at the last minute we decided we wanted to grab our dog for a few photos at the end and they were totally fine with that and just went with the flow. Our wedding photos turned out perfect and we treasure them all! They edited quickly and did a wonderful job. It was nice to have Kathy with the bridesmaids while Matt hung out with the groomsmen while we were getting ready and also keeping everyone on time. They worked well with our videographer as well who they just met that day. We are very happy to have picked Mathy for our wedding and highly recommend!
  • C
    Christina Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If I could give Mathy 20 Million Stars- I would! Where do I begin with these two? Simply put, they are the best at what they do and I know my wedding day would not have been as amazing as it was without them. They capture the most beautiful and authentic moments of your big day because they really bring out the best from those around them. We worked with Mathy for our engagement session and seeing how comfortable they made my fiance in front of the camera (not an easy task), I knew we had to book them for our wedding day. Our wedding took place in NE Connecticut and they were extremely flexible and understanding during the chaos of planning from Northern VA. They were there for us every step of the way, and I know it's because of them that I was able to be fully present on my wedding day and not worry about whether or not everything was going to plan. Not only did everything go perfectly, but we received our photos so quickly, we were able to relive it all over again! At the end of the day, not only will you have the most breathtaking photos, but you'll have two new, amazing friends!
  • Ryan
    Ryan V. Married on 09/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mathy helped make our day truly special.

    Mathy Shoots People was a pleasure to work with! They made the planning and logistics of the photography at our wedding very simple and straightforward. We especially appreciated their flexibility when not everything at our wedding went according to plan. They offered great suggestions for locations and poses for the photos, and captured some really nice candid photos as well. We had a very small wedding of 7 people, and having Mathy there felt like having two old friends. We sincerely appreciate their working with us and making our day one we'll remember forever! We highly recommend them :)
  • C
    Courtney Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mathy for the Win!

    Mathy were flexible, funny and all around a great couple to work with all across the board! We had a storm roll through right before and after our (outdoor) ceremony - they were able to adjust to the circumstances and capture fun and timeless photos in the rain. They have a great sense of humor and fit right in with family and friends!
  • Lacey
    Lacey Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They immediately understood the style of wedding photography we were looking for and helped to make our day memorable for years to come.

    Matt and Kathy were super friendly and easy to work with. They captured all aspects of the ceremony and reception, and our couples portraits are gorgeous! It was hard to pick our favorites to hang on our wall because every photograph was beautiful.
  • J
    Jonathan Married on 04/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Meeting Mathy (Matt & Kathy) and having them shoot our wedding (we lived to tell the tale!) was one of the best decisions we made during the entire wedding planning process. From our initial meeting through to the last shot, we had an absolute blast spending time with them. In my experience, a couple wants a photographer(s) that makes them feel comfortable and allows them to be themselves while it's the photographer's job to find the perfect shot, or catch that one candid moment. Mathy allowed us to be our goofy selves while capturing the essence of our relationship in the various photoshoots. They are also extremely creative with their shot selection, but are open to doing what you want as a client. We spent our whole wedding day around one or both of them, and never once did we feel like we were being photographed, which is a testament to their skills. They work very well together and certainly work very well with their clientele.

    I can safely say you will not have a more fun experience with a wedding vendor than you will with Mathy. And if you're having fun, you'll get some great photos. We've already got a few of our engagement photos framed around the apartment and I can't wait to do the same with the wedding photos. You'd be doing yourself a disservice not to look into them for your wedding - they are that. good.
  • N
    Nada Married on 12/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We found Mathy while looking at photographers in Annapolis for an elopement wedding. They stood out as the ones with the best photography skills combined with editing and taking candid spontaneous shots ( not too posey). Kathy was fantastic, acommodating and had a talent for visualising the photo before taking it and then giving us a bit of guidance.
    We got the photos in about 3 weeks and they were fantastic. She took photos of moments I didn't know she was there. We're so happy with Mathy Shoots People. They're fantastic.
  • S
    Shawn Married on 12/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used MathyShootsPeople for our elopement in December. They were a lot of fun to work with and we were very happy with how the pictures turned out! I would highly recommend them!!
  • K
    Kerrianne Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mathy was hands down one of the best decisions that we made for our wedding. They were really great to work with, and our pictures turned out amazing. They went above and beyond their job as photographers, as they were willing to help out with the wedding day any way that they could. Also, they were so much fun to be around that it felt like they were one of our friends helping us get ready, rather than just another vendor. If you are considering hiring Mathy, I'd definitely do it! You won't regret it!
  • N
    Nahush Married on 07/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mathy are amazing! Excellent doesn't even being to describe them, cant recommend them enough!! :)
  • C
    Claire Married on 07/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mathy were our wedding photographers... twice! We had a small elopement wedding in May 2015 followed by a big, family wedding in July 2016 and Mathy were our photographers for both occasions. Their work blew us away - we have so many stunning photos from both events and get so many compliments on our wedding pictures. We were so impressed by their professionalism and I really appreciated their expertise and direction for different shots during the chaos of the big day. Mathy were so much fun to work with too - super friendly, down to earth, and a calming influence during the more stressful moments (like when your hairdresser shows up 2 hours late)! Mathy kept our elopement secret for over a year at our request, too, which was really great of them considering they had to hold off on posting their work on their site/social media for so long. They really went over and above our expectations of photographers, both in the sheer quality of their work and their awesome service! They were far and away our favorite wedding vendor. We can't wait for another excuse to work with them again :)
  • J
    Jenny Married on 06/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After having Matt and Kathy shoot a spectacular engagement session, we knew straightaway we needed them to capture the big day itself — and could not have been happier with our decision! They were truly exceptional across every dimension: from arriving onsite at (virtually) the crack of dawn absolutely ready-to-go, to capturing phenomenal shots (both candid and staged) while effortlessly navigating the complexities of shooting for hours on a moving boat with significant space constraints. Not only does Mathy completely blow away expectations as photography professionals, their technical expertise is matched by an unflagging positivity and friendliness which put everyone present at ease, even those who would typically steer clear of being caught on camera. The photos we received were not only stunning, but perfectly captured the spirit of the day and our dynamic as a couple — we will cherish them for years to come. We could not recommend Mathy more strongly and would without a doubt enlist their talents again on our next photography-worthy occasion!
  • User2977559 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mathy was amazing! They were a pleasure to work with and provided amazing pictures. They are knowledgeable, work perfectly together as a team, communicate clearly and effectively, and are a blast!
  • User2981846 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So much love for Mathy! My sweetheart and I knew they were the right photographers for our big day straight away. When we first met Mathy, my cheeks hurt from laughing about all sorts of random things, like our mutual adoration of Bill Hader--we knew they are solid, kind souls. We felt comfortable with them immediately and that natural comfort is tough to beat. Although we didn’t originally plan on an engagement session, after talking it through with Mathy, we understood that it would help the day of the wedding--and sure glad we did. They captured wonderful moments for our wedding, which felt like an extension of the ease we established during the engagement session. From the balloon game with kids, soul train line, glow stick, special moments with our moms, and traditional cultural aspects of the wedding reception, Mathy got it all on film. Mathy remained cool and collected even though we all literally in a sweat for our first look wedding photos out in the park on a particularly hot, humid day in DC. We love the wedding photos and received heaps of compliments from our wedding guests, even friends who wished they found Mathy for their wedding. Before the night was up, they were attentive and made sure they were available for the moments we requested. And since then, Mathy remains endlessly responsive. When I had trouble downloading photos, Mathy quickly found a solution. Highly professional, tons of fun--we recommend Mathy wholeheartedly.
  • User2982699 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Easy to work with, quality photos, fast delivery of final images.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kathy and Matt were the most amazing photographers we could have asked for. They were 100% supportive of what we wanted and were crazy flexible as things changed last minute due to weather. All of our pictures are beautiful and we are so glad we were able to work with them. We recommend them to everyone a bajillion times.
  • L
    Logan Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mathy was a lot of fun to work with. They made us feel very comfortable and understood our feelings. They were extremely natural and professional on the day of the wedding. They are very responsive and prompt. I would highly recommend them.
  • User2499570 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kathy was so great to work with! It was very awesome that she wanted to talk on the phone first, which is rare these days. We have anniversary photos taken each year in the location that we travel. She was our DC pick and I was super pleased with the photos and really loved them so much. We really enjoyed Kathy, too, since she is so great to hang out with. We were so lucky to found a great photographer and I highly recommend her! We will definitely use Manthy Shoot People when we travel back to DC.
  • User2350304 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Matt & Kathy are awesome! From our very first meeting, we felt so comfortable with them, like we were long-time friends. I'm not a fan of being in the spotlight, but they made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera. They delivered our engagement and wedding photos ahead of schedule, and the images are beautiful!
  • A
    Allison Married on 07/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mathy was great to work with every step of the way. When we were searching for photographers we contacted them and even though we were not local, they offered to meet us for coffee in DC when we were down there visiting friends for the weekend. They were super helpful and friendly and laid out our options without being pushy. After we hired them, they traveled up to Baltimore to do an engagement shoot. We brought our dog and they were very patient with him. We were really pleased with the engagement photos. They took their time and made sure that we went to all of the locations that we wanted to.

    On the day of the wedding they arrived on time and were really helpful throughout the day. They worked with other vendors and really helped to make the day run seamlessly. They paid attention to the details and were doing far more than just photography. We absolutely loved our wedding photos. They captured the big events, as well as all of the small details and moments. We're so glad that we have these memories to look back on.

    Overall, Mathy is excellent at their job, but are also awesome people. They're the kind of people that you want to hang out with and be friends with. They are very laid back, but also very professional, awesome photographers. They were a pleasure to work with, and we're so glad that we chose them.