Mathy Shoots People Reviews

69 | Herndon, VA
See photos, pricing and details

69 Reviews for Mathy Shoots People

Recommended by 100%

69
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

17 User photos

Mathy Shoots People 1
Mathy Shoots People 2
Mathy Shoots People 3
Mathy Shoots People 4
Mathy Shoots People 5
Mathy Shoots People 6
Mathy Shoots People 7
+ 11
Sort by:
  • Mary

    Mary Beth Tyler · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great, personable couple for wedding photo experience!

    Loved working with Mathy! From the beginning, they really worked with us to understand our personalities and the energy we wanted captured in our engagement photos. They even braved the DC Cherry Blossom crazy weekend at peak blossom to make sure we got some gorgeous photos. I wish we could have taken photos all day long with them as the engagement session was phenomenal. From there, it was wonderful to have them as part of our wedding day. They were so attentive and captured wonderful images of our best moments. We were so happy to work with Mathy - and they even got our teaser photos back to us in less than 2 weeks :)

    Sent on 06/26/2019
  • J

    Jess · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier with Mathy as our photographers! Not only were they phenomenal in their easy-going approach and sense of humor throughout the process - their technical skill and creativity were outstanding!!! Our photos made everyone look their best and they really captured the essence of our big day, without making things too planned or awkwardly posed.

    What made our experience even better was the fact that Mathy went out of their way to truly get to know us prior to our wedding day. Even prior to the complimentary Engagement Shoot, we had a meet-and-greet to know exactly what we were looking for in our wedding photos. Mathy wants to know your personality and preferences first, so they can tailor the shoot accordingly.

    Rarely do you meet a couple of photographers that you would consider inviting to your wedding even if they weren't your photographers - Matt and Kathy were exactly that! Great to work with and worth every penny!!! We cannot possibly over-hype these guys!!!

    Sent on 08/06/2018
    Mathy Shoots People 8
    Mathy Shoots People 9
    Mathy Shoots People 10
    Mathy Shoots People 11
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 06/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome to work with

    Mathy made shooting photos fun and really brought out the best in us on our special day and you can see that in the photos.

    Sent on 11/28/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fun/easy to work with and beautiful photos!

    An awesome husband and wife team! Mathy shot two of our friends' weddings so we knew how wonderful/fun they were to work with and how great their photos are! They shot our engagement photos in Silver Spring, MD and our wedding day on the Eastern Shore of MD, and everything turned out so beautiful. I was worried about feeling/looking awkward for all the kissy shots during our engagement shoot and that only lasted about 2 minutes because Mathy made us feel so comfortable just being ourselves. Our photos turned out perfect. They even agreed to a chilly mid-December outdoor shoot at the ice skating rink where I taught skating lessons before the rink opened in the morning, and then at the last minute we decided we wanted to grab our dog for a few photos at the end and they were totally fine with that and just went with the flow. Our wedding photos turned out perfect and we treasure them all! They edited quickly and did a wonderful job. It was nice to have Kathy with the bridesmaids while Matt hung out with the groomsmen while we were getting ready and also keeping everyone on time. They worked well with our videographer as well who they just met that day. We are very happy to have picked Mathy for our wedding and highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/02/2019
    Mathy Shoots People 12
    Mathy Shoots People 13
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Mathy 20 Million Stars- I would! Where do I begin with these two? Simply put, they are the best at what they do and I know my wedding day would not have been as amazing as it was without them. They capture the most beautiful and authentic moments of your big day because they really bring out the best from those around them. We worked with Mathy for our engagement session and seeing how comfortable they made my fiance in front of the camera (not an easy task), I knew we had to book them for our wedding day. Our wedding took place in NE Connecticut and they were extremely flexible and understanding during the chaos of planning from Northern VA. They were there for us every step of the way, and I know it's because of them that I was able to be fully present on my wedding day and not worry about whether or not everything was going to plan. Not only did everything go perfectly, but we received our photos so quickly, we were able to relive it all over again! At the end of the day, not only will you have the most breathtaking photos, but you'll have two new, amazing friends!

    Sent on 01/06/2018
    Mathy Shoots People 14
    Mathy Shoots People 15
    Mathy Shoots People 16
    Mathy Shoots People 17
    Mathy Shoots People 18
    Mathy Shoots People 19
    Mathy Shoots People 20
  • Ryan

    Ryan Verhey · Married on 09/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy helped make our day truly special.

    Mathy Shoots People was a pleasure to work with! They made the planning and logistics of the photography at our wedding very simple and straightforward. We especially appreciated their flexibility when not everything at our wedding went according to plan. They offered great suggestions for locations and poses for the photos, and captured some really nice candid photos as well. We had a very small wedding of 7 people, and having Mathy there felt like having two old friends. We sincerely appreciate their working with us and making our day one we'll remember forever! We highly recommend them :)

    Sent on 01/15/2019
    Mathy Shoots People 21
    Mathy Shoots People 22
    Mathy Shoots People 23
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy for the Win!

    Mathy were flexible, funny and all around a great couple to work with all across the board! We had a storm roll through right before and after our (outdoor) ceremony - they were able to adjust to the circumstances and capture fun and timeless photos in the rain. They have a great sense of humor and fit right in with family and friends!

    Sent on 12/05/2018
  • Lacey

    Lacey D. · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They immediately understood the style of wedding photography we were looking for and helped to make our day memorable for years to come.

    Matt and Kathy were super friendly and easy to work with. They captured all aspects of the ceremony and reception, and our couples portraits are gorgeous! It was hard to pick our favorites to hang on our wall because every photograph was beautiful.

    Sent on 12/16/2018
    Mathy Shoots People 24
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meeting Mathy (Matt & Kathy) and having them shoot our wedding (we lived to tell the tale!) was one of the best decisions we made during the entire wedding planning process. From our initial meeting through to the last shot, we had an absolute blast spending time with them. In my experience, a couple wants a photographer(s) that makes them feel comfortable and allows them to be themselves while it's the photographer's job to find the perfect shot, or catch that one candid moment. Mathy allowed us to be our goofy selves while capturing the essence of our relationship in the various photoshoots. They are also extremely creative with their shot selection, but are open to doing what you want as a client. We spent our whole wedding day around one or both of them, and never once did we feel like we were being photographed, which is a testament to their skills. They work very well together and certainly work very well with their clientele.

    I can safely say you will not have a more fun experience with a wedding vendor than you will with Mathy. And if you're having fun, you'll get some great photos. We've already got a few of our engagement photos framed around the apartment and I can't wait to do the same with the wedding photos. You'd be doing yourself a disservice not to look into them for your wedding - they are that. good.

    Sent on 04/20/2017
  • N

    Nada · Married on 12/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Mathy while looking at photographers in Annapolis for an elopement wedding. They stood out as the ones with the best photography skills combined with editing and taking candid spontaneous shots ( not too posey). Kathy was fantastic, acommodating and had a talent for visualising the photo before taking it and then giving us a bit of guidance.
    We got the photos in about 3 weeks and they were fantastic. She took photos of moments I didn't know she was there. We're so happy with Mathy Shoots People. They're fantastic.

    Sent on 01/08/2017
  • S

    Shawn · Married on 12/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used MathyShootsPeople for our elopement in December. They were a lot of fun to work with and we were very happy with how the pictures turned out! I would highly recommend them!!

    Sent on 02/17/2017
  • K

    Kerrianne · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy was hands down one of the best decisions that we made for our wedding. They were really great to work with, and our pictures turned out amazing. They went above and beyond their job as photographers, as they were willing to help out with the wedding day any way that they could. Also, they were so much fun to be around that it felt like they were one of our friends helping us get ready, rather than just another vendor. If you are considering hiring Mathy, I'd definitely do it! You won't regret it!

    Sent on 03/10/2017
  • N

    Nahush · Married on 07/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy are amazing! Excellent doesn't even being to describe them, cant recommend them enough!! :)

    Sent on 02/20/2017
  • C

    Claire · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy were our wedding photographers... twice! We had a small elopement wedding in May 2015 followed by a big, family wedding in July 2016 and Mathy were our photographers for both occasions. Their work blew us away - we have so many stunning photos from both events and get so many compliments on our wedding pictures. We were so impressed by their professionalism and I really appreciated their expertise and direction for different shots during the chaos of the big day. Mathy were so much fun to work with too - super friendly, down to earth, and a calming influence during the more stressful moments (like when your hairdresser shows up 2 hours late)! Mathy kept our elopement secret for over a year at our request, too, which was really great of them considering they had to hold off on posting their work on their site/social media for so long. They really went over and above our expectations of photographers, both in the sheer quality of their work and their awesome service! They were far and away our favorite wedding vendor. We can't wait for another excuse to work with them again :)

    Sent on 04/07/2017
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After having Matt and Kathy shoot a spectacular engagement session, we knew straightaway we needed them to capture the big day itself — and could not have been happier with our decision! They were truly exceptional across every dimension: from arriving onsite at (virtually) the crack of dawn absolutely ready-to-go, to capturing phenomenal shots (both candid and staged) while effortlessly navigating the complexities of shooting for hours on a moving boat with significant space constraints. Not only does Mathy completely blow away expectations as photography professionals, their technical expertise is matched by an unflagging positivity and friendliness which put everyone present at ease, even those who would typically steer clear of being caught on camera. The photos we received were not only stunning, but perfectly captured the spirit of the day and our dynamic as a couple — we will cherish them for years to come. We could not recommend Mathy more strongly and would without a doubt enlist their talents again on our next photography-worthy occasion!

    Sent on 02/17/2017
  • User7792154 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy was amazing! They were a pleasure to work with and provided amazing pictures. They are knowledgeable, work perfectly together as a team, communicate clearly and effectively, and are a blast!

    Sent on 02/16/2017
  • User6416442 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So much love for Mathy! My sweetheart and I knew they were the right photographers for our big day straight away. When we first met Mathy, my cheeks hurt from laughing about all sorts of random things, like our mutual adoration of Bill Hader--we knew they are solid, kind souls. We felt comfortable with them immediately and that natural comfort is tough to beat. Although we didn’t originally plan on an engagement session, after talking it through with Mathy, we understood that it would help the day of the wedding--and sure glad we did. They captured wonderful moments for our wedding, which felt like an extension of the ease we established during the engagement session. From the balloon game with kids, soul train line, glow stick, special moments with our moms, and traditional cultural aspects of the wedding reception, Mathy got it all on film. Mathy remained cool and collected even though we all literally in a sweat for our first look wedding photos out in the park on a particularly hot, humid day in DC. We love the wedding photos and received heaps of compliments from our wedding guests, even friends who wished they found Mathy for their wedding. Before the night was up, they were attentive and made sure they were available for the moments we requested. And since then, Mathy remains endlessly responsive. When I had trouble downloading photos, Mathy quickly found a solution. Highly professional, tons of fun--we recommend Mathy wholeheartedly.

    Sent on 02/21/2017
  • User7817698 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with, quality photos, fast delivery of final images.

    Sent on 02/22/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kathy and Matt were the most amazing photographers we could have asked for. They were 100% supportive of what we wanted and were crazy flexible as things changed last minute due to weather. All of our pictures are beautiful and we are so glad we were able to work with them. We recommend them to everyone a bajillion times.

    Sent on 03/10/2016
  • L

    Logan · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy was a lot of fun to work with. They made us feel very comfortable and understood our feelings. They were extremely natural and professional on the day of the wedding. They are very responsive and prompt. I would highly recommend them.

    Sent on 03/13/2016
  • User6176457 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kathy was so great to work with! It was very awesome that she wanted to talk on the phone first, which is rare these days. We have anniversary photos taken each year in the location that we travel. She was our DC pick and I was super pleased with the photos and really loved them so much. We really enjoyed Kathy, too, since she is so great to hang out with. We were so lucky to found a great photographer and I highly recommend her! We will definitely use Manthy Shoot People when we travel back to DC.

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • User4417878 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt & Kathy are awesome! From our very first meeting, we felt so comfortable with them, like we were long-time friends. I'm not a fan of being in the spotlight, but they made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera. They delivered our engagement and wedding photos ahead of schedule, and the images are beautiful!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • A

    Allison · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mathy was great to work with every step of the way. When we were searching for photographers we contacted them and even though we were not local, they offered to meet us for coffee in DC when we were down there visiting friends for the weekend. They were super helpful and friendly and laid out our options without being pushy. After we hired them, they traveled up to Baltimore to do an engagement shoot. We brought our dog and they were very patient with him. We were really pleased with the engagement photos. They took their time and made sure that we went to all of the locations that we wanted to.

    On the day of the wedding they arrived on time and were really helpful throughout the day. They worked with other vendors and really helped to make the day run seamlessly. They paid attention to the details and were doing far more than just photography. We absolutely loved our wedding photos. They captured the big events, as well as all of the small details and moments. We're so glad that we have these memories to look back on.

    Overall, Mathy is excellent at their job, but are also awesome people. They're the kind of people that you want to hang out with and be friends with. They are very laid back, but also very professional, awesome photographers. They were a pleasure to work with, and we're so glad that we chose them.

    Sent on 03/19/2016
  • User3926328 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Matt and Kathy was the best decision my husband and I made for our wedding. They were completely flexible with us - we moved the wedding date a time or two with no problem! The two of them are the perfect team and they really take the most amazing photos. We went in with some ideas of photos that we wanted to take, and they took them to the next level, finding the perfect spots to take picture. The engagement shoot was great! Matt and Kathy made us feel comfortable and were able to joke and laugh to help us relax to take better pictures.
    The wedding day was completely seamless - they got every moment without being intrusive at all and were always around if we needed them. Not only did Mathy take amazing photos, but they really went above and beyond their job description, helping tie ties, find our spots, stay on time...They made our wedding day great. They also were very quick at getting us our photos, which was very fun! I can't say enough great things about Mathy - we will be sticking with them for any photography needs we have in the future and would definitely recommend them for your wedding!

    Sent on 05/16/2016
  • Marlo

    Marlo · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt and Kathy are whimsically cute, creative and charming. Their love for each other resinates in their work and my husband and I wouldn't have wanted to entrust anyone else to capture our day. They did our engagement photos and after seeing their work, we simply fell in love. They are extremely attentive and personable which makes them worth every penny. I love that they work together and we get two perspectives in our photos. Often, photo packages have additional up charges for another photographer, but Matt and Kathy come as a combination so that not one moment is missed.

    We'll be using them to capture all our future life events. :)

    Sent on 04/27/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review