Mary Poppins Cake Factory & Chocolate Fountain Rental Reviews

15 | Woodville, OH
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Mary Poppins Cake Factory & Chocolate Fountain Rental

Recommended by 92% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

15
Order by:
  • User1625467 · 1+ year ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE THEM THEY TREATED ME LIKE FAMILY

    Sent on 08/04/2012
  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for an awesome cake this is the place, they did my cake it was beautiful and outstanding .our guests enjoy it so much. Dennis and Jackie Kennedy are the nicest people

    Sent on 07/16/2018
  • T

    Teri · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After my previous cake baker decided to back out of making my cake, I found myself scrambling for a cake maker the month of my wedding. I found Mary Poppins through the knot and wedding wire and decided to give them a try.

    My friend and I showed up at our appointment, and she had forgotten about us. We were flexible and were able to come back later that night, after we got some errands done... and honestly, the wait was worth it. The cake was probably the best I've had in a long time.

    She was very thorough and went through the history of weddings, and showed me how to pose for wedding cake cutting pictures. I decided to book her despite the mishap with the tasting appointment (her daughter got married the week before).

    She offered me a discount for her mishap, which really made it worth it. (She's inexpensive to begin with). The design of the cake was a very vintage, lace cake design, and it couldn't have been more perfect the day of. Everyone wouldn't stop raving about the cake and that we had SO MANY flavors. Guests were also happy they got to pick which one they wanted, instead of being force fed whatever was given to them. We had a ton of leftover cake, and we were able to take it home with us. She makes extra cake to feed the kitchen and waitstaff, and doesn't charge you for it. (Makes you look like a rockstar).

    They stayed to cut the cake for us, and were super professional. They even brought their own boxes. They would have brought napkins, plates, forks, knives, etc. if the venue wouldn't have provided those for us. Jackie was even nice enough to lend us a cake cutting set (I forgot to buy one... OOOOPS). I would highly recommend Mary Poppins Cake Factory for a wedding cake. I can't wait for my 1 year anniversary cake. I will be using them again in the future.

    Sent on 10/19/2016

    Mary Poppins Cake Factory & Chocolate Fountain Rental's reply:

    Thank you for letting us be part of such an important event in your life. I am sorry so sorry about the appointment, but I now know the stress of being on the other side! Congratulations on your journey together, may you have many years of joy and happiness!
  • User5045090 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing less than perfect! Everyone loved our pleated cake. It was designed perfectly and matched everything at our venue. Not to mention the cake flavors and fillings were fab!

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • C

    Casey · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only were the business owners absolutely wonderful every time we met, their cakes tasted awesome (including the fondant) and looked beautiful. We had several changes and they worked with us to create exactly what we wanted. It ended up being amazing. Added perks like cutting/boxing/teaching how to cut the cake for pictures :) made their services an even better deal. We would definitely use them for events in the future.

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • User2722345 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jackie was great to work with. The cake was beautiful, tasted great and was the great quality. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

    Sent on 10/18/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jackie and Dennis were wonderful- they let us try a million different flavors that we were interested in and made sure that our cake looked EXACTLY the way we had envisioned it. They did a great job- it was beautiful and we got lots of compliments on the taste!

    Sent on 01/15/2012
  • K

    Kimmie · Married on 07/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jackie was amazing! The actual wedding cake was a surprise for my husband, he thought we were getting a very girly, formal cake. What we actually came up with was a Super Mario themed cake. It was absolutely amazing, and everyone loved it! He was quite surprised and couldn't believe I had managed to do something like that. On top of which the actual cake taste was fabulous! The first time we met Jackie she even went over with us how to cut the cake so that we could get good pictures. =) Very talented and very reasonably priced! Everything is included in the price, so you don't have to worry about cake stands, set up and delivery or anything llike that.

    Sent on 08/20/2010
  • U

    Jill · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Poppins Cake Factory made a fabulous cake. It was beautiful and exactly what I wanted in a design. The cake flavors were unique and tasted great. I heard some to the guests wanting to get seconds. They taught us how to cut the cake properly to get good photos. It was a pleasure having them bake our cake for us.

    Sent on 06/06/2010
  • L

    Brandan · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had great rentals at grat prices. Cakes were delicious!

    Sent on 03/02/2010
  • L

    lucy · Married on 05/03/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "This was the best cake I've ever had!"---so may of our guests told us that. It truly was work of art. I'm amazed. Our cake was just what I had been dreaming of since I was a little girl. Jackie & Dennis are true master bakers.
    They bake their cakes fresh. No yukky frozen cakes. They are so creative and really DO prefer to make cakes that are like no one else around! The thing that really impressed me was that EVERYTHING was included! They don't nickel and dime their couples.
    No one else around can compare to Mary Poppins! We tried a many others in the area before we went with them and we are SO glad we did! Thanks again, Dennis & Jackie for all of your hard work and for putting up with our crazy questions!
    We can't wait for anniversary to come so we can have more of your delicious cake! :)

    Sent on 08/10/2009
  • Chelsea35

    chelsea · Married on 06/18/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Just used them last year for a wedding and I am planning on using their services again. I enjoyed the experience as a planner very much. My bride was very happy about the services she received, not to mention the delicious cake. Both my bride and groom were able to get what they wanted. At the time of service there were some technical difficulties with there website which caused some problems, but overall it was just a wonderful experience and I look forward to using Mary Poppins once again for my next bride!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • strzyzza

    Scott · Married on 05/29/2010

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The cake flavors were absolutely delicious! I couldn't believe how many flavors they could use! As far as design, I was a little disappointed in their interpretation of the photograph we gave them. The chocolate fountain also was poorly lit and I feel like nobody even knew it was there until the DJ announced it would be closing soon.
    If judging on the flavor and appearance of the cake, it was extravagant and extraordinary but I just would have liked to see it a little closer to the picture.

    Sent on 06/12/2010
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 09/09/2017

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    They talk a big talk and make it seem like they will be in contact with you. Unfortunately I was the one hunting her down the week of my wedding. The day of, she dropped off the cake and disappeared. My sister ended up cutting half of it and when Jackie finally showed up, she scolded her for not wearing gloves. Everyone was already finished eating and moving outside for our dances by the time cake was served. My cake was also crooked and looked mediocre at best. The top layer was supposed to be rose gold and it was a sparkly peach. They also cut into the actual cake to serve guests when I was told that would go home with us and guests would be served from sheet cakes.
    The cake was good, needed more filing, and the service was crap.

    Sent on 10/02/2017

    Mary Poppins Cake Factory & Chocolate Fountain Rental's reply:

    I am sorry you feel the service was sub par. We did have some communications issues, but I returned everyone of your phone calls. I am sorry the cake was crooked. I did not see that when I set it up. I do not see it in my pictures, but it could be from a different angle. You did not give me any color swatches to work with. I had to go with what I thought rose gold looked liked. They do not make that color it has to be created so in different light it can look different. I am sorry, I did not disappear, there was no place for me to wait. So I sat in my car, I did time it wrong, but I was not so late that your wedding party needed to cutup the cake. They did not have gloves on, and had no idea what they were doing. My job at the wedding reception is to cut cake for your guest, not to make sure you have more free cake to take home. The cake that was left over was left for you. You are given free sample cakes, and a free anniversary cake. We never guarantee you extra free cake at your reception. May you have a safe and happy journey on this next chapter of your life.
  • User3550219 · 2+ years ago

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I went to Mary Poppins Cake Factory based on the reviews I read on multiple sites. I had a mixed review for their company

    Good:
    - Price is very reasonable
    - Allowed us to taste multiple flavors and had good suggestions when we could not decide on flavors
    - Cake at the wedding tasted wonderful
    - We got the cake server, decorating (cloths under cake) and stand included in the price of the cake

    Bad:
    - The design of the cake was not at all what we asked for...the colors were wrong, the design was overly large and again not what we asked for on the cake. Even the lettering on the cake was sloppily done for our initials which is obviously an important detail. I was particularly annoyed by the design flaws considering I printed out multiple pictures of what we wanted for our cake with plenty of details and yet the cake design was still very off
    - Jackie was suppose to cut the cake at our wedding but we found out afterwards that the chef had cut our cake b/c Jackie was unavailable. I found this annoying since we were all set for her to cut the cake and then she was not there to do so (we had troubles with having enough cake)

    Overall I would recommend her if you want a cake that taste wonderful but I would be leery of the design of the cake.

    Sent on 11/05/2013

    Mary Poppins Cake Factory & Chocolate Fountain Rental's reply:

    Again, I am sorry you feel this way. However, you changed the design from the pictures you gave me. I explained to you that the cake was not going to look the same. However, your cake featured a tree branch as in the pictures. In addition, I used the actual colors from the swatches you gave me, along with the gold highlights you requested.
    In your e-mail to me (which I have included)
    Hi Jackie, I had heard at the wedding we did not have enough pieces of cake to serve to all of the guest. This confused me as I know you stated you were going to make extra pieces, enough for about 200 so the vendors could be served (we had 170 guests). I was also surprised to hear that you did not cut the cake as stated in the contract, and instead the chef at the hall cut the cake. I am very upset to hear about this after the fact and not having a heads up before the wedding. I am disappointed in the overall service we received from you.
    Kari
    You said nothing about the colors, or sloppiness that you are now claiming. You only stated that you were upset that I did not cut the cake. We spoke to your wedding coordinator who was informed of the change, and she gave the OK for you. Our cake cutting service is complimentary. It is not a service that you are charged for. When we returned to pick up our equipment that night, the manager on duty told us that everything was fine.
    I am truly sorry that you seem so upset. This is not at all how we like to be remembered by the families we serve. We would like to extend our best wishes to both you and your husband.