Mary Harris Events Reviews

35 | Princeton, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Mary Harris Events

Recommended by 99%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jane · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Mary as a day-of coordinator for my Labor Day weekend wedding and I would absolutely recommend her to anyone. Our wedding ceremony was in a church in a small town before guests walked over to the reception venue. While not a ton of people, there were a lot of logistics getting various vendors to the church versus the venue, moving flowers and decor items between the spaces, and generally keeping the day on track. Mary and her team were invaluable. From our first meeting, Mary exuded a sense of calm and was so helpful in tracking all of the myriad details and things that still needed to be resolved. She was always easy to reach when needed. The weekend of the wedding Mary came to the rehearsal and then was on site early the next morning to keep the day running. She took so much pressure off my mom and me (particularly my mom!) knowing that someone else was thinking of all the details. We had a wonderful experience with Mary!

  • S

    Sanden · Married on 06/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary is so chill and very well organized. She swept into our lives and brought such a great vibe and yet got so much done. She communicates well and often, a real draw for a planner. The day of our wedding Mary kept everything moving steadily. She also made sure we had everything we needed. A+ for her and her services!

    Sent on 07/03/2016

    Mary Harris Events's reply:

    Thank you Sanden!
  • User6928073 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Harris, is one of a kind! If I could sum her up in just a couple of words, it would be cool, calm, and collected - all around! When my husband and I first got engaged, I knew immediately Mary was the perfect fit!

    We were living outside of Boston at the time, and were to be married at my parent's house in NJ. Mary was communicative, organized, and professional every step of the way! With planing a wedding from out of state, it can cause additional challenges, but Mary and her team were always there to problem solve and lend a helping hand. As anxious as a bride can be (and I was definitely anxious at times), I felt at ease working with Mary every step of the way - from our initial meeting, tastings, vendor coordination, and on our wedding day - her attention to detail, impeccable style and taste are just a few of her greatest qualities.

    Mary and her staff helped us achieve the wedding of our dreams, and I could not be more grateful for their hard work and thoughtfulness. You will not be disappointed with entrusting your special day with Mary Harris Events! You'll be in great hands!

  • User4987825 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We first heard about Mary through stellar recommendations from the catering manager at our wedding venue. After Skyping together as a first meeting, my then fiancé and I quickly agreed that we felt comfortable and excited to move forward with Mary to coordinate our wedding day. From the first meeting forward, Mary was always prompt and professional via phone and email. Although we had officially hired Mary Harris Events for “day of services”, Mary helped us with so many recommendations and details that it never felt that we were without guidance throughout the process. She even helped us to put out a couple of fires and to quell some anxieties that inevitably arose along the way. A couple of weeks after we’d been married and could catch our breath, we both were able to say that hiring Mary was one of the best decisions we’d made. Even a few months out from our event, Mary has still been in touch just to say hi and see how we are. We can’t speak highly enough about working with her.

  • User5593657 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Mary Harris Events to help plan by 160 person wedding in June 2015 in Princeton. She and her colleagues did a fantastic job! She was very organized, kept me on task, and helped make planning a fun, not stressful process. The weekend of the wedding itself went very smoothly. I was able to focus entirely on enjoying the events without worrying about anything. I recommend her 100%!

  • User5213793 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary is honestly incredible! We hired her as our day-of-coordinator but it felt like she was so much more. From the moment we first talked to the big day she was there for anything we needed. She was extremely organized, knowledgeable and helpful. There were a lot of pieces that needed to come together to make the day perfect and she coordinated them all seamlessly. We were able to just enjoy our wedding and not worry about a thing. We knew we were in good hands and we would not have wanted anyone else to take the lead on such special day.

  • User5571080 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Mary as the day-of-coordinator for my daughter's wedding was the best decision we ever made. I can't imagine what the day would have been like without her. She was calm and organized and we all were able to enjoy the day because we knew Mary had every detail under control. I can't thank Mary enough for helping make my daughter's wedding day perfect!

  • R

    Robyn · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary is just wonderful. My mom and I found her a month or so before the wedding, after we realized how much needs to be done that day. Mary started relieving our worries right away by resolving a communication gap with a vendor. She had experience with several of our vendors, which was really helpful. Mary was available to us when we needed her, and offered great advice that we never would have thought of. My mom and I both felt - and said, on several occasions - that she was just a lifesaver. And the wedding itself went so smoothly - it was really wonderful to be in the moment that day, and not worry about the millions of details Mary was carefully orchestrating in the meantime, or had already orchestrated leading up to the day. Mary's assistant was amazing too. My husband and I ate the food and drank the beer we had so carefully selected for our special day, and it was all thanks to Mary and her assistant. Mary is a polished professional, and a really pleasant person to be around. I highly recommend her.

  • User4482403 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary was a complete joy to work with. We were planning our wedding from out of town so a planner was a must. She met with us from very early on and was highly willing to work within our budget. Our lives are somewhat hectic with our work so we really needed her help to keep us on track. In hindsight, I'm amazed at how little stress we had with planning the wedding all because of her providing us with the right amount of decisions at the right time. Her suggestions for vendors were spot on, and we could not have had a more perfect set of people to work with for our wedding.

    We are both grateful to have had Mary as our planner. I could not possibly imagine a better person to have helped us plan our wedding day. She traveled quite far to meet with us at our reception site on several occasions. Her wedding day coordination services were equally impressive. She coordinated from behind the scenes but was always available when someone had a question, and even though it rained on our wedding day, she made flawless changes in the itinerary without any stress. On top of all of this, she did our flowers and centerpieces, which were perfect. I would recommend Mary to everyone without any hesitation whatsoever.

  • F

    Kristen · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Harris came highly recommended to us from one of our friend's weddings. When we met Mary we instantly knew that she would be an amazing planner and actually didn't even meet with anyone else since we were so confident in her. My husband and I were planning a wedding in my hometown in northern New Jersey. Both of us work in Western PA and have very busy schedules. Mary seamlessly made sure that all of the wedding details were taken care of even though we were at a distance and was very flexible about emailing and calling us within our limited hours. She helped us pick a wonderful photographer, DJ, make up artist and hairstylist when mine cancelled at the last minute. As the wedding day got closer I was so thankful to have Mary taking care of all of the last minute details.

    Mary and her team were extraordinary and by far exceeded our expectations on the wedding day. I was completely relaxed and was able to enjoy my wedding day since I was confident that Mary was taking care of everything. Everything went seamlessly on the day of the wedding and if anything went wrong, neither I, nor any of the guests even noticed. The floral arrangements that she put together exceeded our expectations. It rained on our wedding day and she easily rearranged all of the pictures and everything worked out perfectly. Others highly recommended her for a setting where a lot of coordination is required, but our wedding was at a banquet hall and I would argue that she is just as critical in this type of setting. She is a one of a kind planner and I highly recommend her to anyone looking for a planner.

  • M

    Marie · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Harris coordinated my daughter’s recent wedding. My daughter lives in western Pennsylvania, six and a half hours away from her home in northern New Jersey, where she decided to have her wedding. While I was excited about her choice, I realized that it created many challenges. Hiring Mary was the best decision we made. With her assistance we were able to meet the challenges of planning a long distance wedding. Mary was extremely helpful with every detail necessary to create the wedding of my daughter’s dreams. It was wonderful to enjoy the day knowing every detail was taken care of. I thank Mary for creating a memorable wedding day for my daughter.

  • User4479492 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I both have very busy schedule. As the bride, I wanted to plan as much as I could, but as a student in a demanding professional school, I really did not have the time or energy to plan my wedding. We envisioned a perfect day but did not even know where to start. Since the both of us are the only child in our families, our families had not planned any weddings before. In addition, we haven't been to many weddings to know exactly what we wanted. We had a 3-month engagement, and our schedule wasn't flexible in terms of wedding dates. We tried to contact many planners, but Mary was the only one who promptly responded to us. She has been extremely helpful throughout the planning phase. She is reliable, professional, responsible and always shows up early to meetings. She is also very detail oriented and has very good etiquettes.

    We had a tight budget, and Mary listened to us and was willing to work around our budget. On the day of the wedding, Mary made sure everything went smoothly. We didn't need to worry about anything other than to be ourselves and enjoy our special day. We have received so many compliments from guests about how beautiful everything was for our wedding, and we really couldn't thank Mary enough for what she has done for us.

    Many people ask me how I was able to plan a beautiful wedding in such a short time, and all I can say is "I had the BEST planner!"

    Thank you, Mary!

  • User4485764 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We started planning not very early on because we had a short engagement and decided to get married in about three months. We were in a panic mode and started reaching out to wedding planners through theknot and weddingwire. Mary was the first one that responded to our inquiry and from there we decided to take her as our planner. I'd say we made the best decision that we talked with Mary. We were a bit concerned about the budget at the beginning and Mary was able to work out a proposed plan that both of us felt comfortable with. Along with the proposal, she also gave us a clear time line of the preparation stage so that the both of us could see how it could be done and done well.

    Mary is always on time with everything in terms of communications, meetings and emails. Most of our communication was done through emails since we were living quite far away from Princeton, but she would go out of her way to touch base with us.

    Mary contacted many venues on our behalf and all we needed to do was to pick one from the list. During our visit to the venue, Mary was there with us to meet the sales manager and worked out a deal for us. She also asked questions that we didn't think of asking but were important and I completely felt that Mary was on our side helping us achieve our big day. In hindsight, we did have to travel and meeting people to make decisions but a lot of the leg work or detailed preparation were taken care of by Mary.

    On the wedding day, everything fit in place and was a lot better than what we had envisioned. She was there early and set up all the arrangements for the wedding. We enjoyed the whole process, and I was very glad that we chose Mary as our planner to create this beautiful wedding. I would definitely recommend Mary as a wedding planner.

  • F

    Farren · Married on 08/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we met Mary we felt so relieved. My husband and I were just launching our new business together and had a wedding to plan in the middle of all of that and grad school. We knew we needed someone to pull all of the pieces together and keep us on track. Mary anticipated things that we didn't even know we needed and she kept us calm throughout the whole process. I was so relaxed and so was my mom (hard to do)! I'll miss working together and would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone looking for a planner that is focused on style as much as service. Thanks Mary!

  • User4315394 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary is terrific...a true professional! She has great ideas, is creative, and knows the vendors well. It was a pleasure to work with her.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary was a pleasure to work with. She was flexible around creating a contract to meet our needs, given that we had already hired most of the vendors by the time we got in touch with her, and went above and beyond in helping with arrangements of all the little details. Mary exuded calm throughout the planning process, reminding us not to worry about the finicky last minute vendor phone calls/requests, and giving us rides/loaning us umbrellas in the midst of surprise rain storms (not during the wedding, thank goodness!). At every step of the way Mary had helpful suggestions. As the bride, I was aware of being in very good, capable hands on the day of the wedding right up until the last moment, at which point Mary reminded me that she could not in fact move back to San Francisco with me, much to my dismay. I would highly recommend Mary for any wedding or other event!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so excited when Mary asked us to write a review. I'd love to relive our wedding day. We had such a great experience and were able to focus on the fun things and allow Mary to run everything. I really had no real vision of what I wanted for my wedding, Mary took a few pictures and a pretty sparse Pinterest board of mine and was able to hire all of the right vendors and give creative guidance that was just so perfect.

    We were also impressed with how she and her staff that day were so behind the scenes and then we would see them working with the vendors, helping us and our guests all at the same time. They really covered all of the bases. She made all of those months of planning so stress-free and with our busy schedules she would always make sure to accommodate us. Being out of town I thought would make this process so much harder but we found the right person to get us through!

  • User3344324 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me first explain that as a former wedding coordinator myself, I was incredibly selective as to who would coordinate my own wedding. All I can say is Mary far exceeded my expectations. She was on top of EVERYTHING! Things I failed to remember, she was on it. From instructing our cake cutting tutorial to calming my fears down regarding the possible rain on our big day (oh, and we had sunshine during our ceremony!), she proved herself as reliable, professional, experienced, calm, kind, generous, and certainly a detail-oriented expert! If you want above and beyond service, look no further, Mary is the "it" woman in the wedding industry!

  • M

    Mother of the · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're the proud parents of a recent bride, made even more proud by the wonderful wedding staged for her with the capable and talented help of Mary Harris Events. Our event was outdoors at the rustic Updike Farmstead in Princeton on a beautiful late autumn afternoon and evening, with a proper interfaith ceremony, followed by a catered dinner feast, capped by a rousing, high energy DJ dance party. All 150 of our guests couldn't contain their enthusiasm for the event: the venue, the spectacular weather, the beautiful ceremony, the simple and elegant reception, the sumptuous dinner, the great music, the lively dancing.

    Such a spectacular wedding takes a lot of work. Fortunately, early on we were wise enough to bring Mary Harris on board. Mary was an excellent complement to our busy bride-to-be, her mother, and her future mother-in-law throughout the many preparations. She kept everything and everyone on point and on schedule. She was available in the weeks before with helpful and steady advice. She conceived and applied light, deft, graceful flourishes to the program. She contributed with her steady, gentle, thorough, professional demeanor to an uncommonly relaxed feeling among all the principals at the events themselves. Mary was truly a pleasure to work with.

  • S

    Steven · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we contacted Mary, we had a fairly good idea of what we wanted out of our event (or so we thought) and what we needed her services for. We wanted a unique backyard carnival wedding with a vintage style. A lot of our stylistic preferences were influenced by things we saw on Pinterest. We had no artistic sense, and no idea what goes into a wedding, so Mary was key on both of those fronts. She produced lots of great ideas for everything from our stationary to our decor to the flow of the evening. She also got us in contact with a lot of vendors, all of whom turned out to be top notch service providers as well. She was on-site day of the wedding, making sure that things were getting done and folks knew where to be. Without her, our day wouldn't be as big a success!

  • V

    Vickie · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Harris was a fantastic wedding coordinator for our daughter's dream wedding. She is very organized, smart, talented, and went beyond what we expected of her to make sure our daughter's wedding day was perfect. As the mother-of-the-bride, I never worried about any detail since I knew Mary was handling it. She enabled us to have a joyous, relaxed day without worries. It was absolutely perfect. If you want someone who is a kind, amazing, professional expert, then hire Mary and you will not be disappointed.

  • T

    Trina · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have planned our Pittsburgh wedding without Mary Harris Events. We travel so much for work that we really depended on Mary to keep us on track throughout the whole process.
    She was able to give such special attention to all of the little details throughout and we really appreciate all she did from planning and décor to calming our nerves.
    Everyone had an amazing time and we wish we could do it all over again!

  • J

    Jo Anne · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deciding to work with Mary Harris Events was one of the first and best decisions we made when planning my daughters wedding.

    Her professional and calm demeanor made our planning fun and stress free.

    The wedding was everything my daughter dreamed of and we received wonderful compliments from our guests. The day proceeded flawlessly!!

  • User2197795 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Mary work on my wedding was the first planning decision made, and the best of them. She simplified the process by recommending wonderful vendors. She had such a sense for my style and dream for the wedding and was able to incorporate the many clippings I had shown her into the day. So many people commented throughout my engagement how calm I seemed to be, and amazed that I wasn't stressed. I was calm and never stressed because I knew Mary was taking care of everything - I had nothing to worry about! The wedding was perfect, and in large part to Mary's help. I received many superlative compliments - "the best wedding I ever went to," "the most beautiful flowers," etc, etc. I suggest whether you are considering hiring a planner, or not - hire one! And make the planner that you hire Mary Harris.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Harris was an absolute pleasure to work with! She made my wedding experience much easier being I had baby to care for as well as plan a wedding! I would highly recommend her!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review