Marcelles Sweets Du Jour Reviews

7 | Arden, NC
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Marcelles Sweets Du Jour

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

7

8 User photos

Order by:
  • Jaime

    Jaime Honaker · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decadent rich cake with quality ingredients

    Going with Marcelle to do our wedding cake was an easy decision. For our tasting, she let us choose from quite a few different options, and my fiance and I were so wowed. First of all, the tasting was such a fun experience, and it was nice to learn about her ingredients, and about her as well. She has such a fun personality, but we loved how professional she was - it's clear she takes so much pride in what she does. It was obvious by the taste of the cake/icing that she was professionally trained, and that it wasn't just a hobby. Her cake was rich without being overly sweet, and it is clear that she uses quality ingredients. We LOVED having her do our cake. Did it go over well at the wedding? Our guests demolished it. One guest, who has been on the keto/low carb diet for a long time, decided he was having a cheat day, ate two pieces of his cake, and somehow managed to take the icing off the piece intended for me, which I had left abandoned. It was that good! We ended up being able to finish off a couple leftover the pieces the next day, and it was so very delicious. It was great, because, like I mentioned, it was rich, but not so sweet that you couldn't finish the slice. It was the absolute perfect cake.

    Sent on 12/24/2018
  • D

    Diana · Married on 07/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcelle’s cake was delicious!
    I had my wedding reception at Twisted Laurel and they recommended Marcelle for the cake. I reached out and she called me right back.
    I told her what we were thinking and gave her other options. She then came with at consolidated proposal that was better than what I had in mind.

    We had one first layer of vanilla cake and raspberry filling and 2 other layers of caramel and chocolate ganache! The icing was

    She brought the cake to the location and when I saw it I got super happy!! It was beautiful!

    Definitely 5 stars!

    Sent on 07/09/2018
  • C

    Carly · Married on 12/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcelle is super personable and has GREAT quality cakes and cupcakes. Many of my guests told me they were the "best cupcakes they'd ever had." She is professional, great to work with, and very reasonably priced. Hire her for all your wedding needs and you will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/19/2017
  • S

    Shelley · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcelle was very good at interpreting our vision. My husband works at the zoo and she was able to make us a lifelike Eurasian eagle owl cake for our grooms cake. It looked just like the real thing. I also have some issues with gluten she catered to that with our wedding cake, it was delicious and moist! Would absolutely recommend to everyone!

    Sent on 02/11/2018
  • N

    Nate · Married on 06/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I were coordinating a wedding from a distance and were not able to sit down prior to our wedding with Marcelle. We provided some broad directions with our desire for flavor. She EXCEEDED all expectations. The cake was incredibly decorated and received compliments from all the guest: "best tasting cake we have every had" "gorgeous cake" and more! She really delivered on her quality, design, and capabilities. Every detail was flawless!

    Sent on 08/26/2018
  • Lauren

    Lauren Scanlan · Married on 08/03/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious and local!

    Marcelle made us a delicious, decadent, three layer cake for our wedding! She did 3 different flavors with three different fillings and was open to all of our ideas. When we went for a tasting she definitely gave us the best of her flavors and we were able to mix and match for the cake we wanted. It was so delicious!! Thank you Marcelle!!

    Sent on 08/17/2019

    Marcelles Sweets Du Jour's reply:

    Thank you Lauren! I loved working with you and creating custom flavors for your cake! It was so much fun!
  • A

    Agata · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Marcelle is great at what she does! Delivered on time and helped decorate the cake and set up cupcakes. Would use her again for the amazing price. Could be a bit more responsive but I understand she is busy.

    Sent on 09/26/2017