Mama Donna Henes Urban Shaman Reviews

20 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Mama Donna Henes Urban Shaman

Recommended by 100%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jamie Rubin · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Warm & Whimsical

    Warm, whimsical, and understanding, Mama Donna beautifully fused our heritages together to make a perfect wedding ceremony.

  • J

    Juliana · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't have enough words to share how truly special and gifted this City shaman really is! Me and. Y partner found her page on the fly and weren't sure what to expect, although her page was very professional and sincere. When we arrived at her magickal space, we instantly knew we had made the right decision, when Poppy (her loyal pup and furry companion) greeted us and made us feel so welcomed and excited! The space it self exudes love and harmony and Mama Dona sets the vibes and every just right. The ceremony itself was so truly beautiful, I had pure tears of joy the entire time as she delivered and spoke some of the most resistant words I could have imagined to bless us on our very special day. I can not express how special and loving Mama Donna is, except that I am eternally greatful to have crossed paths and had shared space and guidance on my list special day with my beloved. Thank you Mama Donna for all the beautiful blessings and ceremony you so graciously put together for us. We will never forget it, and Poppy, nor YOU! Blessings of the heart and eternally greatful.

  • A

    adam · Married on 04/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding on the boardwalk of Coney Island on what happened to be the busiest day ever. While gathering the party proved incredibly difficult in the dense crowd Donna remained poised and calming even after we had to change the location. The service itself was beautiful and was so much more than I had imagined. She delivered a beautiful ceremony in the middle of a lot of chaos and we were touched to have her play such an integral role in our wedding.

  • P

    Pierluigi · Married on 02/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna was incredibly accommodating, and helped us put together the exact ceremony we wanted. She was very professional during planning and execution, and was a very genuine, helpful, and encouraging officiant who delivered a very heartfelt and memorable ceremony. Her personality was so delightful that we wish we could've spent more time with her!

  • User7020212 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On the half of my lovely wife and I we can surely say that for any couple looking to tie the knot this is one the best experiences that you will never forget!

    Mrs. Donna's professionalism and kind tender heart essures that you and your mate will have the best wedding that you have never dreamed possible. As a man seeing my bride wall down in her weeding dress will melt you your and Mrs. Donna will be their right by your side.

    So what are you all waiting for? Your dream can come true Mrs. Donna's Urban Wedding is best for any range of size or crowd. She the grandmother of weddings my wife and I will never forget the day we set foot their.
    John 3:16

  • M

    Maria · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mama Donna was extremely welcoming and the words she prepared for our service were beautiful. I recommend getting marrried at her charming chapel of love! It was an unforgettable experience.

  • S

    Simon · Married on 02/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have chosen a better officiant. Everything was just as we had wished, we booked Donna for a small ceremony at the Statue of Liberty and it took place on valentines day, Which I believe was the coldest day in New York for 100 years. This posed no problems to Donna though. We discussed the ceremony and vows before the day via email. Then we arranged to meet in Battery Park, we then got the ferry across to the Statue and proceeded to find a spot we liked for the ceremony. We chose to get Married inside the Statue by the old torch, we had decided it was too cold (-15) outside. Donna married us and the ceremony she had written was perfect for us and reflected many of our thoughts. Donna also brought her assistant to take some photographs for us. All in all she was excellent and extremely good value, especially as it included her assistant. We were supported from start to finish with licences, etc. I would definitely recommend Donna to any one .

  • User6316407 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best of the best .PERIOD . mama Donna saved our wedding .even tho on short notice she was able to pool out miracle for us . Thank you so much mama Donna . god bless you. highly recommended

  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mama Donna is great! She gave us the wedding we wanted and more. My partner and I are a non traditional couple and I especially didn't want to have any sort of traditional wedding. Mama Donna sat down with us twice (though if we needed more meetings, she said that we could have them) to discuss us as a couple, our vision for the wedding. I knew her before from other activities (which is why my hubby to be and I wanted her to officiate), but she took the time to ask questions, listen to us and understand us better.

    When the day came, she met with us beforehand to discuss what was going to happen and then did her thing! Because of Mama Donna, we had a warm, inclusive celebratory ceremony that exceeded our expectations. Because some of our families are more traditional, I thought that they might be put off by our spiritual rather than religious, feminist rather than patriarchal, non traditional rather than conventional ceremony. But I heard nothing but love and praises. Mama Donna, with our help, created a beautiful ceremony that reflected who we are as a couple.

    I highly recommend Mama Donna for your wedding!

  • S

    Susannah · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with Donna's services as our wedding officiant. We felt very comfortable with her right away, almost as if she were a member of our family! We wanted a spiritual, but non-religious ceremony that would incorporate some elements of a traditional Greek Orthodox wedding. Our ceremony turned out better than we could have ever imagined and our guests were raving about it. I still get compliments about how beautiful it was. We will cherish these memories always. Thank you, Donna!

  • B

    Beth · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married a few weeks ago by Mama Donna and we couldn't have asked for a more professional, warm, and attentive ceremonial officiant! Though we had given some thought to what we wanted for our special day, during our planning meetings, Mama D came ready with all the right questions which guided us to think about aspects of the ceremony we hadn't given shape to yet. She actively listened to our ideas of what we absolutely wanted, and also provided us with ideas and suggestions that inspired us to craft a ceremony that was a true expression of who we are as a couple. At our reception, and in the weeks to follow, so many of our friends and family told us that our wedding was one of the most beautiful, meaningful, and memorable ceremonies they had ever been a part of and we agree 100%! We highly recommend Mama D - her vibrancy, wisdom, and lightness of spirit was a blessing to us on our wedding day!

  • I

    ILYA · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancé found Mama Donna when we were searching for an officiant for our elopement ceremony - after the austere experience we had getting the marriage license she didn't want a ceremony confined between four walls. I agreed to play along and hold our ceremony in open air, in Prospect Park - we found a nice spot and contacted Donna with our intention and she was very responsive and happy to comply with our wishes and location.

    She also accommodated our wish to have an interfaith marriage ceremony, with vows of our choices read during the rite. We were even late, and she was kind enough to wait for our friends and setup, for which we were grateful to her.

    The ceremony was short but meaningful, she read her ceremony and our vows and gave us her blessings and we felt most happy. My bride fiancé was most beautiful that day.

    Then we signed the license, she mailed it next week, and we received the official marriage certificate with our most unique location mentioned on it.

  • J

    Jason Mitchell · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding planner I've worked with Donna twice, and both experiences have been wonderful. She brings her unique voice to weddings that she officiates, but expresses great detail about each individual couple.

  • E

    Egidio · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Donna thank you so much once again! Your contribution to making our wedding special was incomparable and highly appreciated by everybody! Your words, smile and kindness will stay with us ..... forever!!!!!

  • D

    Dorien · Married on 07/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Immediately we fell comfortable with Mama Donna, She asked all the important questions about what we wanted and what were our expectations,Every expectation was met we had a beautiful,
    awesome day. She was perfect and it was a perfect day!! I highly recommend Donna Henes!

  • I

    Isabel · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I aren’t exactly religious people, but we agreed we wanted something special and spiritual without being “overly Catholic” or “overly Pagan.” What we got was more amazing than we could have ever imagined. Mama Donna was easy to work with and through her experience and professionalism; she was able to understand the vision of what we wanted for our ceremony. She put together a beautiful ceremony that was unique to our personalities, with a sprinkling of poetic words from her about marriage and about us. Mama Donna came up with great ideas to involve our friends and family, and also flawlessly improvised on the spot when one of our ceremony tools went missing! It was everything we wanted and more. We received so many compliments on the ceremony that day and still continue to get them! It was truly perfect. - Isabel and Kevin, New Rochelle, NY June 2, 2012

  • D

    Darren · Married on 09/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love what Donna created for our wedding! And so did our guests. Although we were both very reluctant to have any type of traditional ceremony, Donna helped us customize something very personal and unique to celebrate our marriage with our friends and family. She guided us through incorporating just enough elements from our different backgrounds while still helping us to create something new for ourselves. The ceremony was so lovely - we couldn't have been more pleased!

  • User4882534 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donna Henes created a truly beautiful ceremony for our wedding. It was perfect in every way. Our married life will always be blessed by the joyous spirit of that day. She provided just the right guidance, environment, and ritual - simple but very meaningful. We give thanks to her from the bottom of our entwined hearts.

  • User4879147 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    “We want to thank you for the lovely ceremony you performed! It was wonderful and moving and we are both so happy with our wedding. We have such great memories, and cherish all the advice, love, ideas, and handholding you did with us before the wedding, when we were planning the ceremony. We really liked that part, and it was great to see how it all came together and made sense with the ritual involving all of the senses included. The ceremony itself was more amazing then we imagined. It was everything we wished for multiplied. You are wonderful, and such a generous, strong and very loving presence. It was an amazing event. We eloped to City Hall for us, but did not feel married until you guided us through the ceremony later. Thank you again for that, and for your wonderful blessings. They worked! We feel VERY fortunate to have found you!”

  • J

    Jon · Married on 10/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    When we were looking for an officiant, we wanted somebody who could weave together our spiritual side with our secular humanist side, and, truly, Donna was the right person. She did an excellent job both preparing and performing our ceremony and was responsive to all of our questions and requests. From the first meeting at our apartment through the follow up at her urban oasis and finally to our wedding day, Donna was a wonderful guide and helped make our wedding special. If you plan on working with Donna, which we highly encourage you to do, our only suggestion would be to tie up any loose ends, including payment, or working out other details before your big day. Otherwise, Donna Henes was the ideal officiant. We highly recommend her.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review